Leaving Trinidad for good...

SuperiorMan

Re: Leaving Trinidad for good...

Postby SuperiorMan » January 16th, 2023, 11:46 am

leavingforgood wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Just curious, would anyone move if they were making >30k/month?

You will be surprised how many of the "1%" have left in recent years.

I am not a "1%" but I make a healthy living and since I decided to start putting my ducks in a row to leave for good, I have saved a large percentage of my income on a monthly basis, I transfer money to a US-based investment account every month, and I have zero debt.

For many of the "1%" I know personally, they choose to stay because they put so much blood, sweat, and tears into their companies that they do not want to start from scratch. Many of the older "1%" stay 6 months here and 6 months abroad visiting their children and grandchildren. The offspring of the "1%" have either decided to work in the family business, stay in their small social circles and travel as often as possible, or they are planning to enroll in graduate programs abroad and never return to Trinidad.

In my opinion, deciding to leave T&T is more than a monetary decision. If it was only about money I could stay here and be comfortable in my little bubble, but I am not comfortable because every day is a headache in this country.

Can you expand on the last point? It may seem obvious but what exactly is causing it?

Postby MaxPower » January 16th, 2023, 12:34 pm

Just because a 1% “left” T&T, it doesn’t mean that business is bad.

They just choose not be be around third world people and their behavior.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » January 16th, 2023, 12:37 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
leavingforgood wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Just curious, would anyone move if they were making >30k/month?

You will be surprised how many of the "1%" have left in recent years.

I am not a "1%" but I make a healthy living and since I decided to start putting my ducks in a row to leave for good, I have saved a large percentage of my income on a monthly basis, I transfer money to a US-based investment account every month, and I have zero debt.

For many of the "1%" I know personally, they choose to stay because they put so much blood, sweat, and tears into their companies that they do not want to start from scratch. Many of the older "1%" stay 6 months here and 6 months abroad visiting their children and grandchildren. The offspring of the "1%" have either decided to work in the family business, stay in their small social circles and travel as often as possible, or they are planning to enroll in graduate programs abroad and never return to Trinidad.

In my opinion, deciding to leave T&T is more than a monetary decision. If it was only about money I could stay here and be comfortable in my little bubble, but I am not comfortable because every day is a headache in this country.

Can you expand on the last point? It may seem obvious but what exactly is causing it?

I would summarize and give an example. The culture T&T has held on to is nothing short of laziness, incompetence, and rudeness. Two things I will always value more than money are my time and my safety. In T&T my time is constantly wasted due to the laziness and incompetence of others, and I do not feel safe even behind my tall walls, gates, and security.

An example that incorporates both of these things is the struggle to get foreign currency. The hoops I had to jump through to get consistent foreign wire transfers were unacceptable and the lack of financial vehicles available locally makes me afraid for my safety should there ever be an event that requires me to leave the country in a haste with my family e.g. another coup.

I'm sorry but my ego and energy do not get off on "pulling strings" and "flexing my status". I want what I want and I don't want to have to bend over backward just for the basics. I know my life in this country is easier than most but that is not enough for me to put up with the daily headaches.

Also, T&T is boring to me. On other continents, flying to fun destinations is much easier and much cheaper than flying out of T&T.

Hope this answers your question.

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » January 16th, 2023, 10:44 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Can you expand on the last point? It may seem obvious but what exactly is causing it?

I visited Portugal a couple of times out in the rural farmland areas. One thing that shocked me was that some of their rural government service centres open until 10pm to cater for farmers and laborers who work til late and need government services. Where in Trini you finding a licensing office/id card centre openin past 2pm (and cashiers available)

Banks is another thing. In some countries they open weekends, even if it's reduced hours. No need to take time off work to deal with bank

Some places public transit (not even taking developed countries) so good you don't even need a car if you willing to stay around the city, like in Bogota, Kuala Lumpur and mexico city. Doh hada fightup wit PTSC and short drop maxi

Leaving Trinidad for good...

Postby MaxPower » January 17th, 2023, 4:08 am

leavingforgood wrote:I would summarize and give an example. The culture T&T has held on to is nothing short of laziness, incompetence, and rudeness. Two things I will always value more than money are my time and my safety. In T&T my time is constantly wasted due to the laziness and incompetence of others, and I do not feel safe even behind my tall walls, gates, and security.

An example that incorporates both of these things is the struggle to get foreign currency. The hoops I had to jump through to get consistent foreign wire transfers were unacceptable and the lack of financial vehicles available locally makes me afraid for my safety should there ever be an event that requires me to leave the country in a haste with my family e.g. another coup.

I'm sorry but my ego and energy do not get off on "pulling strings" and "flexing my status". I want what I want and I don't want to have to bend over backward just for the basics. I know my life in this country is easier than most but that is not enough for me to put up with the daily headaches.

Also, T&T is boring to me. On other continents, flying to fun destinations is much easier and much cheaper than flying out of T&T.

Honestly and truly said. T&T has gone through for quite some time and the solution from the typical and ignorant mentality is….”well leave nah”. The majority of Trinis in T&T really sinked this country and continue to do so. Many Trinis have migrated because they simply do not see a bright future in T&T and they have invested themselves in other countries and Trinis feel “repped” when their countrymen make success in other countries. Look a Trini just got some big post at Nike…you think he would apply to anything in T&T?

The incompetency, laziness, rudeness, culture, irresponsibility, littering, food inconsistency, failed tourism and crime is the reason where T&T is where it is today.

Can T&T ever recover?

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » January 17th, 2023, 9:01 am

unimatrix-001 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Can you expand on the last point? It may seem obvious but what exactly is causing it?

I visited Portugal a couple of times out in the rural farmland areas. One thing that shocked me was that some of their rural government service centres open until 10pm to cater for farmers and laborers who work til late and need government services. Where in Trini you finding a licensing office/id card centre openin past 2pm (and cashiers available)

Banks is another thing. In some countries they open weekends, even if it's reduced hours. No need to take time off work to deal with bank

Some places public transit (not even taking developed countries) so good you don't even need a car if you willing to stay around the city, like in Bogota, Kuala Lumpur and mexico city. Doh hada fightup wit PTSC and short drop maxi

That is something I have always said I wish T&T would do but then I look at its workforce and crime rate can understand why businesses close early. It is highly inconvenient though.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » January 17th, 2023, 9:23 am

leavingforgood wrote:I would summarize and give an example. The culture T&T has held on to is nothing short of laziness, incompetence, and rudeness. Two things I will always value more than money are my time and my safety. In T&T my time is constantly wasted due to the laziness and incompetence of others, and I do not feel safe even behind my tall walls, gates, and security.

Honestly and truly said. T&T has gone through for quite some time and the solution from the typical and ignorant mentality is….”well leave nah”. The majority of Trinis in T&T really sinked this country and continue to do so. Many Trinis have migrated because they simply do not see a bright future in T&T and they have invested themselves in other countries and Trinis feel “repped” when their countrymen make success in other countries. Look a Trini just got some big post at Nike…you think he would apply to anything in T&T?

The incompetency, laziness, rudeness, culture, irresponsibility, littering, food inconsistency, failed tourism and crime is the reason where T&T is where it is today.

Can T&T ever recover?

I believe T&T can recover but it will take a VERY strong arm from Trinis who have experienced life abroad and actively try to incorporate the foreign mindset and infrastructure into the country. I recently registered a company in T&T that I intend to use as a local subsidiary for the company I will be starting soon in the US. After fussing for years I decided to be the person who changes the local things I want to be changed. The problem with my plan is, like many other companies in T&T, only a select few within our population would benefit. Before this, I have had multiple companies fail because I believed that I must put rebuilding T&T at the forefront, and try to give the less fortunate a chance rather than use nepotism. When I tell you some of these young people from less fortunate circumstances are some of the most entitled people I have ever come across in my life, I might as well just use friends and family and call it a day.

My mindset has shifted from trying to be a savior for T&T toward being a greedy capitalist who intends to milk this country for all that it is worth. If the citizens of T&T know the abundant resources the country has yet they refuse to use them to develop the nation and would rather wait for government handouts, why should I tie a cape around my neck and try to be captain save-a-hoe?

Maybe one day I will regain a conscience but until then, I will happily be one of the rich who gets richer. And if Keith Rowley thinks he will raise corporate taxes yet again I will simply take my business to Guyana and Barbados since my company is 80% software-based.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » March 6th, 2023, 11:28 am

If you are an only child, who takes care of your parents when you leave?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » March 6th, 2023, 2:02 pm

Hopefully they go through the sponsorship route and they also move in a few years. Having left my own parents this is what happened. Though they primarily still reside in TnT they have the opportunity to come as they want. In time they may need to be here full time or if one of them passes away.
Moving is not easy and it's not something to be entered into lightly.

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2023, 2:59 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Just curious, would any one move if they were making >30k/month?

Yes, there's people that make good money here that still opt to leave. Simply because the money you making now is not everything. Those who do usually do so to set it up so that their kids and grandchildren can have more opportunities and a better standard of life down the road. They see the direction that this country is headed and decide to get out before the shtf.

So what usually happens in these cases, is they bank as much money as possible for as long as they can, so that when they leave they have enough money to be able to transition easily. Buy property, vehicle, get qualified in that country if needed, start a business, etc

I get you but I was wondering why some of the 1% decide to stay or even some rich indians.
Rich people here...know that trinidad is where alot of $$$ can be made. They lime abroad and socialize in smaller circles etc.....but as a businessman or contractor or politician.....the money you can make here or in guyana .....you cannot make easily in more developed countries......

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2023, 3:01 pm

I not talking about the small businessman like me who could be content with paying bills and having money to fly out and lime hard ever so often....

I talking about them families who does bring in 3 4 5 10 million plus a month.....

When you at that level of income....you send the family abroad possibly but you not leaving Trinidad til you done milk it.

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2023, 3:04 pm

damn right

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 6th, 2023, 3:30 pm

What kind of businesses making 3-10 mill a month in Trinidad?

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2023, 3:56 pm

Contractors. Ppl with contracts to supply government with diff product and services. Real estate developers.

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2023, 3:59 pm

tents

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2023, 4:06 pm

U think it doh have insane money passing tru trinidad that propping up businesses.

Right now it have some cartel members who trying to launder 800 million usd within the next 2 months with trinidad businesses. They paying 30% for the assistance.

I didn't type anything wrong there eh.

800 million usd

Postby adnj » March 6th, 2023, 4:15 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:U think it doh have insane money passing tru trinidad that propping up businesses.

Right now it have some cartel members who trying to launder 800 million usd within the next 2 months with trinidad businesses. They paying 30% for the assistance.

I didn't type anything wrong there eh.

800 million usd
You need at least 20 Starbucks franchises to handle that kind of volume.

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2023, 4:17 pm

Hardwares. Cellphone stores. New car dealerships. Roro dealerships. Jewelery stores.

Ever wonder why people does be selling back newly registered vehicles so much?

Postby MaxPower » March 6th, 2023, 7:34 pm

Warehouse rentals raking in a mint.

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2023, 7:40 pm

you sometimes see businesses who pop up in last few years and wonder how they financing the level of goods they selling
and unlikely they connected to a political party to get that level of usd

some opening branches all over the place and paying premium rent and nobody in their stores
doh want to call names but I doh buy seasoned chicken

the chinese have it down pat
they use the grocery/fastfood as the cash generating washing machine in conjunction with casino and other under table stuff plus buying up usd at black market rates

Postby Dizzy28 » March 6th, 2023, 9:09 pm

pugboy wrote:you sometimes see businesses who pop up in last few years and wonder how they financing the level of goods they selling
and unlikely they connected to a political party to get that level of usd

some opening branches all over the place and paying premium rent and nobody in their stores
doh want to call names but I doh buy seasoned chicken

the chinese have it down pat
they use the grocery/fastfood as the cash generating washing machine in conjunction with casino and other under table stuff plus buying up usd at black market rates

That chain of poultry shops is real old money ah.
They are not no newcomers to money.

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2023, 9:29 pm

What really wrong with washing money tho? Yuh expanding and creating jobs for alot of ppl. If u don't do it, your competition will

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2023, 9:44 pm

dont assume the money was not ill gotten,
you might be washing money which was used in very illicit activities which affected your family when you check it out

Phone Surgeon wrote:What really wrong with washing money tho? Yuh expanding and creating jobs for alot of ppl. If u don't do it, your competition will

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2023, 9:58 pm

pugboy wrote:dont assume the money was not ill gotten,
you might be washing money which was used in very illicit activities which affected your family when you check it out

Phone Surgeon wrote:What really wrong with washing money tho? Yuh expanding and creating jobs for alot of ppl. If u don't do it, your competition will

well i talking about washing money from the cocaine trade

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » March 8th, 2023, 1:52 pm

Are the Chinese more wealthy than the Syrians?
The injuns have all the land too..
Which group is the wealthiest in Trinidad?

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » March 8th, 2023, 2:15 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Are the Chinese more wealthy than the Syrians?
The injuns have all the land too..
Which group is the wealthiest in Trinidad?

Chinese don't own anything, it's a consortium of Chinese that are all linked back to the Triads and CCP

Postby redmanjp » March 8th, 2023, 2:37 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
pugboy wrote:dont assume the money was not ill gotten,

well i talking about washing money from the cocaine trade

u will be contributing to a drug which cause brain damage and ppl to go crazy

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2023, 4:08 pm

i guess the assumption that assisting the laundry trade has no link back which affects anybody in some form or fashion down the road

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 9th, 2023, 12:44 pm

Anyone ever migrated to SE Asian countries like Singapore or Malaysia? or know anyone that did?

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » March 9th, 2023, 1:30 pm

Leaving Trini for good ... TT government opened up more sectors for CARICOM nationals to come in and work ... mind you these are for the most part lower end jobs but the gaps regards teachers and nurses tell you something.

New categories of caricom nationals allowed to come and work in Trinbago

agricultural workers, security guards, beauty service practitioners, barbers, non-graduate nurses and non-graduate teachers eligible for free movement of labour within Caricom.

https://newsday.co.tt/2023/03/08/carico ... ation-act/