Choice of Car

sharonr12

Choice of Car

Postby sharonr12 » June 3rd, 2019, 8:28 pm

Hi Everyone,

So I am new to TriniTuner and need some advice.

With reviews from the Kio Rio 2019, KIA Cerato 2019, Ioniq 2019 and Honda City 2019 whats your best bet in order.

I am seeign reviews on the Honda City with customers complaining of rust etc. Which would would have a better resale value? I was looking at roll on & roll off but i'm not sure if i should or just go new brand at a reasonable price.

Thanks in advance fo ryour feedback.

Re: Choice of Car

Postby Country_Bookie » June 3rd, 2019, 10:01 pm

If you're still deciding between brand new or roll on roll off, then tell us about your budget. Both the budget for the initial purchase and maintenance thereafter.
A new car would have a higher resale value than a RORO , but new cars come with a warranty from the dealership. If you don't service at the dealership, your warranty is voided. My experience with servicing at the dealership was that a regular service cost double than if I went to a regular mechanic.

Regarding the cars u mention, I have a 2015 cerato koup and it works great. It's nice to drive, lots of power, handles well and came fully loaded.... bluetooth controls on steering wheel etc. Haven't had any issues since it was bought.
The loniq is a hybrid and the city uses cng, so you'll save on gas should u decide to go with either option. Maybe 2nrs with these vehicles can say how much they save on gas.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 3rd, 2019, 11:30 pm

Newer Kia cars drive well in my experience, and you can generally get at least 5+ trouble free years out of them no problem. The suspension might be on the firmer side than what you might be accustomed to. However their resale values plummet rather quickly.

If you have Kia Cerato budget, why not go for a new Yaris?
Also on a side note, if resale value going to bother you this badly, just go roro or 2nd hand.

sharonr12

Postby sharonr12 » June 4th, 2019, 6:46 am

Thanks everyone. I am looking gas efficiency and a budget max of $175000. I do a lot of driving but i only intend of keeping thevehicle for 2 yrs - 3 yrs max.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 4th, 2019, 7:10 am

Gas efficiency....yaris ftw....neighbor has one, does Grande to Trincity(mon-fri) and burns a little under half tank(using A/C) all the time too.

Resale value and KIA.....not in this country....read through some cheds, ud see, there is also another ched wrt to the IONIQ

Postby MaxPower » June 4th, 2019, 7:36 am

^ yes hoss Yaris taking that win.

Ugly AF though

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 4th, 2019, 8:06 am

MaxPower wrote:^ yes hoss Yaris taking that win.

Ugly AF though

Doh really like the new one...neighbor has the one before the new one
622_2be78302f83a81122bafead3fc664ffa.png

Postby aaron17 » June 4th, 2019, 8:10 am

Wait...the yaris has a mazda engine?

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » June 4th, 2019, 8:42 am

havent heard good things about the honda city in terms of build quality but the newer kia are good vehicles except for the poor resale due to their past spotty reliability.

saw someone complaining about the cng honda city stating that after 3 years he had to change the starter and the windows stopped working properly etc

Postby MG Man » June 4th, 2019, 8:46 am

sharonr12 wrote:Thanks everyone. I am looking gas efficiency and a budget max of $175000. I do a lot of driving but i only intend of keeping thevehicle for 2 yrs - 3 yrs max.

Buy ah Aqua and stop pretending

Rockram

Postby Rockram » June 4th, 2019, 9:59 am

With your budget and concern with fuel efficiency, i would recommend a roro Honda Vezel....I have the Z grade model....8 months in no problems, nice drive too...Cant Speak for resale values though.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » June 4th, 2019, 10:44 am

My wife has a 2014 Rio (70,000km) and so far no issues, just regular maintenance. No rattling or anything feeling loose, just as others said the resale value isn't good but she has no plans to do so, she's just gonna run it till some major issue occurs like tranny going or something so then she will upgrade and sell this one as a parts car for cheap.

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » June 4th, 2019, 10:56 am

sharonr12 wrote:Thanks everyone. I am looking gas efficiency and a budget max of $175000. I do a lot of driving but i only intend of keeping thevehicle for 2 yrs - 3 yrs max.

Honda City is $170k, finance it with InOne package and they can do the insurance for the full financing term. Plus 2 years/40,000km free servicing. I have had zero issues with ours, they even changed a battery under warranty. Gas bill went from $1300-1500/mo on the Swift we had before to $200-240/mo with the City, including putting $60 super. We drive it a lot so every other day we fill i.e. about 4 times/wk but at $8-12 per tank, it's never a problem. Starts up on gas and switches automatically to CNG. Car runs well, has features Bluetooth, Reverse cam, touch screen radio, booming audio etc.

I imagine when it's time to sell people will grab it like hot cakes. They keep moving quickly at Car Max as well.

Postby MaxPower » June 4th, 2019, 11:02 am

amd-dude wrote:My wife has a 2014 Rio (70,000km) and so far no issues, just regular maintenance. No rattling or anything feeling loose, just as others said the resale value isn't good but she has no plans to do so, she's just gonna run it till some major issue occurs like tranny going or something so then she will upgrade and sell this one as a parts car for cheap.

This model isnt bad at all. Very quiet cabin and soft suspension like a toyota. Lil crappy interior and wears very easily, but a mate of mine has one and no issues to date.

death365

Postby death365 » June 4th, 2019, 12:15 pm

the kia soul not every body cup ah tea but dont drink no gas.
foreign used slyphy is bout that price too, and its a very good car

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » June 4th, 2019, 12:29 pm

Went Tobago and drove a rental Honda City. It felt like a cheap, tiny car. I did not like it. Was also pretty slow and sluggish on hills. The Yaris feels like a much better quality car. I haven't driven or ever been in a Rio, but I think you'll get much better bang for your buck with Kia.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » June 4th, 2019, 1:02 pm

l33t2 wrote:Went Tobago and drove a rental Honda City. It felt like a cheap, tiny car. I did not like it. Was also pretty slow and sluggish on hills. The Yaris feels like a much better quality car. I haven't driven or ever been in a Rio, but I think you'll get much better bang for your buck with Kia.

A rental is a terrible car to "review". Ppl does beat it out, the company don`t maintain it well etc.
Yaris *not on the list*.
Ioniq seems to be popular, check the thread for review and issues http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=697429

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 4th, 2019, 1:12 pm

The most fuel efficient will be those hybrid vehicles currently.

If you are trying to save money however; the cheapest vehicle with any one of these technologies (cng, hybrid) should be where you start.

CNG stations are a bit limited and fill up takes some time, not to mention having a bomb inside the trunk is not always reassuring.

Postby eliteauto » June 4th, 2019, 2:27 pm

could get the fully fully Aqua and still save 90K of your budget

Postby MaxPower » June 4th, 2019, 5:03 pm

OP,

You could also buy a Toyota Corolla 2013 (NZE 141) for like 75k if so much and spare no expenses on a complete service.....thank me later

computercentral

Postby computercentral » June 4th, 2019, 5:31 pm

How no body suggested a prado

Postby maj. tom » June 4th, 2019, 6:07 pm

get a 3-4 year old hybrid Honda/Toyota RORO and do a full 100,000km service as stated in the manual at a certified mechanic.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 4th, 2019, 11:41 pm

A roro aqua, Corolla fielder, Corolla axio or Corolla altis.

Postby RedVEVO » June 5th, 2019, 12:09 am

Yes !

Postby Country_Bookie » June 5th, 2019, 5:06 pm

Some kind the smaller dealerships have good deals on hybrids. P&V marketing in chaguanas have hybrid Honda and Toyota sedans for under 200k.

Postby De Dragon » June 5th, 2019, 5:27 pm

Pics of yourself so that we can advise better?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 5th, 2019, 10:55 pm

De Dragon wrote:Pics of yourself so that we can advise better?

Nah she doh want no tusty man sufferer to see her pics Pallos....move along. Anyway a good used or Roro Toyota Corolla or hybrid will serve you well.

Postby Monk BANzai » June 5th, 2019, 11:07 pm

A very very good option......or go Ioniq...

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=741010

Postby RedVEVO » June 6th, 2019, 4:37 am

Get a Toyota or Suzuki .

iForget Kia - Junk
iForget Ford - Junk
iForget Hyundai - Junk

pinkz

Postby pinkz » June 6th, 2019, 5:10 am

With your budget you shud screw all those sheitty cars that cant get good resale value/mpgs/parts...you can get a low milage hilux vigo champ for that kinda money..diesel giving you abt 650kms per tank(approx
$190)..resale value holds on toyota and you can drive the "smooth" roads of tnt in peace without worrying abt suspension

On a side note..kia is crap..aftersale service is poor..resale value is toots..i have a coworker currently kia a 2016 sportage and the abs module gone and its costing 13k to replace and they dont have in tnt..dey have to ship it in..she's been travelling for the last 2 months