Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby j.o.e » July 27th, 2019, 3:00 am

The snails are immigrants. Register them

Postby j.o.e » July 27th, 2019, 3:01 am

cornfused wrote:I have been trying to control these for more than a year. Calls to the MOH have yielded nothing.

Two methods have been effective.

1. Spread the salt. Salt as in raw salt kills them instantly. As the flesh comes into contact with salt it's over.

2. Black Disinfectant. A diluted solution and a spray bottle and its extermination party.

Generally, I have killed 30-40 every 48 hours for the last year and some

This is a serious infestation. What area is this ?

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2019, 6:44 am

the story is they originated from an italian expat living in alyce glen who kept them for his escargot consumption
so they are rampant in petit valley, diego area

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 27th, 2019, 7:18 am

pugboy wrote:the story is they originated from an italian expat living in alyce glen who kept them for his escargot consumption
so they are rampant in petit valley, diego area

before zoom get ban again i go say it
that is PNM area. Pests will be at home there and make many offsprings to create destruction . surprisingly the gobernment doh want to put up housing there for them to mashup

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 27th, 2019, 12:19 pm

Upper St. Augustine

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 27th, 2019, 2:08 pm

Efforts some years ago by the ministry to eradicate the snail failed. It then became a control program when a certain deviant minister cut funding. Then despite the warnings people moved dirt and other material from Diego and the snail spread to other areas

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2019, 2:19 pm

I wonder what the snail doing in all this rain

Postby maj. tom » July 27th, 2019, 5:48 pm

reproducing.
in your bed.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 27th, 2019, 5:50 pm

So......back to cooking this snail.....

How?
What to use to take out the slime? Lime?, flour?, both?

Method of preparation?
Curry?
Stew?
Steamed?
Soup?
Sushi?

Cuz if the alleged french man was rearing them to eat, i feel we could try a lion fish special and eradicate an invasive species while bussin a pot

I find we lapsing....

#NOTENOUGHGIANTSNAILCOOKING

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2019, 8:52 pm

Probably plenty garlic and butter
That is how the escargots normally are
I’ve had it before, not much taste in the meat
And feels soft and slippery like a mushroom

Postby matr1x » July 27th, 2019, 11:11 pm

President fatso?

Postby *KRONIK* » July 27th, 2019, 11:22 pm

Snail hunt lime?

We go range them out at 100yrds and see if could buss the shell
pugboy wrote:Probably plenty garlic and butter
That is how the escargots normally are
I’ve had it before, not much taste in the meat
And feels soft and slippery like a mushroom

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2019, 7:04 am

them thing easy to ketch, a padna in cascade everytime his palm tree drop leaves
the next day they hiding under the leaves
they like to hide under things and in shade

Postby gastly369 » July 28th, 2019, 9:47 am

Roast over coconut

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 29th, 2019, 1:22 pm

Risk stated is meningitis?
That's serious inno

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/morning-brew/afr ... sks-humans

Postby redmanjp » July 29th, 2019, 1:26 pm

Threat eliminated

20190729_003135.jpg

And just in case he survived that he soaking in bleach now

Postby *KRONIK* » July 29th, 2019, 3:24 pm

*prepares seasoning for snail curry
redmanjp wrote:Threat eliminated

20190729_003135.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2019, 4:14 pm

I bet if you throw a few in with curry conch
Nobody will know the diffrrence

Postby adnj » July 29th, 2019, 6:31 pm

pugboy wrote:I bet if you throw a few in with curry conch
Nobody will know the diffrrence
I heard that some are already in the pot at some road food vendors.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 29th, 2019, 7:14 pm

Our river conchs are actually snails
*KRONIK* wrote:*prepares seasoning for snail curry

20190729_003135.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2019, 7:21 pm

yeah very far related from sea conch

So who gonna try cooking them ?

Dizzy28 wrote:Our river conchs are actually snails

20190729_003135.jpg

Postby adnj » July 29th, 2019, 8:56 pm

Ripped from the web... just for the brave:

Giant land snail is frequently served as a finger food -- much like you'd eat boneless chicken wings at a bar. The meat is low in fat and cholesterol and is relatively easy to cook once it's been cleaned.

INGREDIENTS

6 Large land snails

Salt

Alum (a powdery chemical that helps get rid of the slimy goo from the snails)

Lemon juice

Onions

Peppers

Tomatoes

Water

DISCLAIMER: Improperly prepared snail meat can be dangerous. According to Lanier, washing the snails free of slime with the alum/salt/lemon juice mixture is the best way to prepare the meat for consumption. However, no means of preparation should be considered risk-free.

DIRECTIONS:

Remove snails from shell and slice in half, removing the insides.

Wash snails with alum in a mixture of salt and lemon juice.

Wash snails until no longer slimy -- the process may take 30 minutes

Place cleaned snails into a pot of lightly salted water. Bring to a boil and then simmer for an hour .

Remove from water.

In a separate pot, pan-fry onions, peppers and tomatoes, adding enough water to create a saucey stew. Season as you'd wish.

Add snails.

Cook until snails are tender.

Serve with rice, or pounded yam.

https://www.wlrn.org/post/how-make-stew-giant-african-land-snails

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2019, 9:56 pm

I say we was eating the whole innards, poo bag and all like oysters
I feel safer dunking them first in boiling water to kill the pathogens then shelling and removing the meat

Postby maj. tom » July 29th, 2019, 10:18 pm

Regarding snails in cuisine i know that you're supposed to keep them in a container for a week to clean out their guts before eating. Feed them lettuce alone, or fresh dry cornmeal everyday to decontaminate them from all the stink drain water parasites and toxic poisons that they may have ingested. You see, snails love to eat rat sheit. Which contains the rat lungworm. When that live parasite or its eggs are ingested they continue their life cycle in the human body. When they reach the brain and spinal cord it means meningitis. So ALL snails should be purged, as well as cooked thoroughly to avoid that disease.

(this is why they also tell you to never drink from the garden hose, unless you drain and store your hose indoors after every use. snails get in them and leave trails of rat lungworm).

Postby *KRONIK* » July 29th, 2019, 10:29 pm

Come nah man.....
We cleaning the ting proper

Kinda like this

20190324_111426.jpeg

pugboy wrote:I say we was eating the whole innards, poo bag and all like oysters
I feel safer dunking them first in boiling water to kill the pathogens then shelling and removing the meat

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 29th, 2019, 11:08 pm

maj. tom wrote:(this is why they also tell you to never drink from the garden hose, unless you drain and store your hose indoors after every use. snails get in them and leave trails of rat lungworm).

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
fleckme

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 29th, 2019, 11:14 pm

20190729_003135.jpg

is curry snail

Postby De Dragon » July 30th, 2019, 1:50 am

There is a huge one in Diego Martin.....

Rowley.png
Rowley.png (65.57 KiB) Viewed 4616 times

Postby *KRONIK* » July 30th, 2019, 6:43 am

The guyanese way is the best way, ok!
hong kong phooey wrote:

20190729_003135.jpg

is curry snail

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » July 30th, 2019, 3:22 pm

De Dragon wrote:There is a huge one in Diego Martin.....

Rowley.png

At least he does not drink and vomit all over like your hero from Siparia