Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby pugboy » August 27th, 2022, 7:24 pm

yeah that’s what i meant
the bucket rat traps are made like that
so once rat walks past pivot it drops away into bucket of water and flies back up when rat is off and in water

issue is the snails may be stuck on the trap door and keep it down

the door could be made to dip into the bleach which will cause the snail to let go the door and it will swing back up

nervewrecker wrote:Or just make an unbalanced trap door with a pivot at the center. Like a throttle body and a few gramms of weight at the next end.

Snail falls in and bye bye snail. Door closes and waits for next snail.

Postby nervewrecker » August 27th, 2022, 7:55 pm

That's how you guys catch rats now? Allyuh gone high tech.

I have cats so rats is not an issue. Unless is some of them barrackpore gosay rat. Them different, yuh need big cat. Ocelot and thing.

matix

Postby matix » August 27th, 2022, 8:31 pm

nervewrecker wrote:That's how you guys catch rats now? Allyuh gone high tech.

I have cats so rats is not an issue. Unless is some of them barrackpore gosay rat. Them different, yuh need big cat. Ocelot and thing.

Couva have some rats that does gangster the cats and dogs.

Postby pugboy » August 27th, 2022, 9:02 pm

i never use that bucket trap but it is popular on youtube

peanut butter and crushed pellets is the best thing for rats esp the big ones that cat aint dealing with

Postby Chimera » September 1st, 2022, 3:29 pm

This is a trap I use for rhino weevil. Thats what eats the heart of the coconut trees and causes red ring disease and ultimately kills the tree .

It uses a pheremone plus molasses sugarcane and sevin powder to attract and kill the beetle.

I put this up last night.

Snails crawling up the tree...onto and into the bucket lol

The black beetle you see is the rhino weevil.

Attracts beetles within a 2 acre perimeter.

20220901_152903.jpg
20220901_152501.jpg

Postby gastly369 » September 1st, 2022, 10:19 pm

pugboy wrote:i never use that bucket trap but it is popular on youtube

peanut butter and crushed pellets is the best thing for rats esp the big ones that cat aint dealing with
Tried it as neighbour has his premises like de mc Beetham dump and end up getting some master splinters almost like mini capybaras in our yard a time... Bucket trap nothing dem mc huge and move de bucket one hook and drag it to the drain exit.... Got some that pink poison and next day no rat....

Postby pugboy » September 2nd, 2022, 6:25 am

sounds like you needed a barrel, not bucket
the water has to be high enough so the rat must be swimming and feet not touch bottom or it will be able to jump out

gastly369 wrote:
pugboy wrote:i never use that bucket trap but it is popular on youtube

Tried it as neighbour has his premises like de mc Beetham dump and end up getting some master splinters almost like mini capybaras in our yard a time... Bucket trap nothing dem mc huge and move de bucket one hook and drag it to the drain exit.... Got some that pink poison and next day no rat....

Postby Chimera » September 2nd, 2022, 1:45 pm

Check this mc.

Leave d whole ground to climb a tree to rappel into a bucket of molasses
20220902_093910.jpg

Postby pugboy » September 2nd, 2022, 2:03 pm

so the molasses attracting them?

Postby Chimera » September 2nd, 2022, 2:26 pm

Its molasses and sugarcane and the rhino weevil pheromone in that bucket so idk what pulling them

Postby pugboy » September 2nd, 2022, 2:32 pm

try a bucket with some beer

Postby Chimera » September 2nd, 2022, 2:56 pm

That trap isn't for the snails.

Its for the rhino weevil.

Postby Rovin » September 4th, 2022, 6:17 pm

so i doing some yard work & spotted a few, my snail bait run out & i also out of lacquer thinners, had some purple blaster & i drop it pure on them - works great as d lacquer thinners , instant squealing death ...

Postby timelapse » September 4th, 2022, 7:42 pm

Rovin wrote:so i doing some yard work & spotted a few, my snail bait run out & i also out of lacquer thinners, had some purple blaster & i drop it pure on them - works great as d lacquer thinners , instant squealing death ...
For some reason, I not seeing too many of them around.I suspect some fellas of catching to eat.They mad enough to do it.They curry caimate already

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2022, 7:44 pm

what is caimate ?
caiman is commonly eaten, not sure what is caimate

Postby Dizzy28 » September 4th, 2022, 7:50 pm

The fruit?
timelapse wrote:
Rovin wrote:so i doing some yard work & spotted a few, my snail bait run out & i also out of lacquer thinners, had some purple blaster & i drop it pure on them - works great as d lacquer thinners , instant squealing death ...
For some reason, I not seeing too many of them around.I suspect some fellas of catching to eat.They mad enough to do it.They curry caimate already

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2022, 8:48 pm

pugboy wrote:try a bucket with some beer
That might catch Indo trinis

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2022, 8:52 pm

pugboy wrote:what is caimate ?
caiman is commonly eaten, not sure what is caimate
Caimet, proper name star apple I think.

Soft smooth skin, size of an orange. Some are purple when ripe, some are green. Has a fleshy to jellylike insides that's clear to white with a few black seeds like sapodilla. Stains up your skin real bad, recommend rubbing some coconut oil around your mouth prior to eating.

It's amazing of how much how many don't know. A guy bought some "monkey apple" for us about a week or two ago. One guy come asking me what it is, if I get one, if is a joke or something.

Had a coworker didn't know what mamesepote was either. Someone bought one for us. Goes without saying I lick down the whole thing while my city slicker feel we pranking him. Idiot knew about dongs, went and eat mancheneel (sp). Nearly kill he ass

Postby maj. tom » September 4th, 2022, 8:59 pm

^ Google say monkey apple is a thing in Guyana. He is Guyanese?
How come they eh bring that to grow here? I swear I never see this locally. The fruit looking good. "The fruit is edible for humans and its taste is reminiscent of ripe Honeydew melon" Image

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2022, 9:07 pm

yeah I know the fruit but I thought he typo some animal or something to curry

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2022, 9:07 pm

Incorrect name as usual.

Forgot the correct name for it. It looks like a cross between mamesepote, koya and chatigine or soursop. It's as big as a big grapefruit with large spikes for skin. Skin is tough like the mamesepote and the spike base are wide like the pattern on pineapple. It looks like a cousin to soursop or chatigine but insides like koya (forgot the name for that as well).

Smells heavenly and tastes pretty good. Toncabean is another with a high aroma. I think it's blended in the angostura 1824 which gives it the unique taste.

Postby nervewrecker » September 4th, 2022, 9:13 pm

Now I thinking to myself, we need monkey apple here.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 4th, 2022, 11:09 pm

Isn't kowa jackfruit
nervewrecker wrote:Incorrect name as usual.

Forgot the correct name for it. It looks like a cross between mamesepote, koya and chatigine or soursop. It's as big as a big grapefruit with large spikes for skin. Skin is tough like the mamesepote and the spike base are wide like the pattern on pineapple. It looks like a cousin to soursop or chatigine but insides like koya (forgot the name for that as well).

Smells heavenly and tastes pretty good. Toncabean is another with a high aroma. I think it's blended in the angostura 1824 which gives it the unique taste.

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2022, 6:00 am

Yea, was tryin to remember the name as well. Not common things to me so names slip me.

Next one is baraha. Yellow soft fruit with orange insides.

Postby timelapse » September 5th, 2022, 7:05 am

Nah is the fruit.Dem fellas with their drunken selves curried a paint bucket of caimate last month after some failed attempts to catch an iguana.If you could eat curried caimate , I highly doubtful if there's anything else that you wouldn't eat.That thing smelled vile.
One night after a small flood, there were two fellas from the village in somebody garden right behind my house.They supposedly were picking up conchs. I have never seen conchs here, and I always in the bush.
Caiman, iguana,mongeese,wild ducks.No conchs.I suspect one of these days I will probably find out.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » September 5th, 2022, 8:05 am

maj. tom wrote:^ Google say monkey apple is a thing in Guyana. He is Guyanese?
How come they eh bring that to grow here? I swear I never see this locally. The fruit looking good. "The fruit is edible for humans and its taste is reminiscent of ripe Honeydew melon" Image

nervewrecker wrote:Now I thinking to myself, we need monkey apple here.

We do have it locally. Here's it on my work compound.

DSC_3005.jpg

Postby timelapse » September 5th, 2022, 8:09 am

Oh wow, I would like to try that

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 5th, 2022, 8:49 am

Cashima
2ac5hmj.jpg