Giant African Snail?

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby 88sins » August 17th, 2022, 2:56 pm

What happen vevo, u looking for a man again?

Look somewhere else, nobody here eh want you.

Postby adnj » August 18th, 2022, 10:11 am

The next Trini fast food franchise.

Postby matr1x » August 18th, 2022, 10:43 am

Wasn't it a restaurant owner who brought them in?

African escargot?

Postby *KRONIK* » August 18th, 2022, 1:58 pm

Saw this on the yootoobz

https://youtu.be/5hbenumAaJM

Postby 88sins » August 18th, 2022, 5:11 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Saw this on the yootoobz

Another reason to thank God I'm a man

Postby gastly369 » August 18th, 2022, 6:21 pm

Soap face body and hair... Throw on jersey pants and out

Postby timelapse » August 18th, 2022, 9:50 pm

gastly369 wrote:

Doh soap your beard dan.It will turn to wire

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2022, 10:39 pm

I now take a walk tru my yard to see wha going on with the bait

Almost depressing yes. Soo much snails

Need some of them guinea fowl

Postby gastly369 » August 18th, 2022, 11:11 pm

timelapse wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

Meh Chinese genes get ah 1up dey

Postby timelapse » August 19th, 2022, 6:08 am

gastly369 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

Meh Chinese genes get ah 1up dey
Yuh gt.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2022, 11:30 pm

Postby *KRONIK* » August 27th, 2022, 7:54 am

pugboy wrote:https://www.facebook.com/groups/1630983533832119/permalink/3253311524932637/

Huge amount dead
Nice

I need to fond out this mix ratio tho

Postby Chimera » August 27th, 2022, 9:10 am

Gonna try this later for sure
Screenshot_20220826-213652_Facebook.jpg

Postby Chimera » August 27th, 2022, 9:11 am

Yuh hadda put that bait somewhere easy to burn or pick up the shell though.

Probably dig a hole and out the bait..so is just to gas and burn dem after or cover up the whole.

Them thing does smell terrible when sun hot and they rottening.
Endless ants and flies does come as well

Postby pugboy » August 27th, 2022, 9:25 am

yeah somewhere easy to rake up
he must be have a good 20-30lb meat on the ground there

Postby *KRONIK* » August 27th, 2022, 10:50 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Gonna try this later for sure
Screenshot_20220826-213652_Facebook.jpg
Let us know how u mix it plz, i curious to know how its mixed

Postby *KRONIK* » August 27th, 2022, 10:52 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yuh hadda put that bait somewhere easy to burn or pick up the shell though.

Probably dig a hole and out the bait..so is just to gas and burn dem after or cover up the whole.

Yea
I realized this
I initially didnt know they bait attracts them, i thought they does get poisoned of they cross its path.
But i start putting it heavy in a open spot so i can actually find them in 1 area.
Easy pickup...
In the past i sprinkle all over and keep finding 1 here, 1 there...

Postby Rovin » August 27th, 2022, 12:20 pm

that came across my YT feed last night & i watched it & now seeing u posted it here - wtf eh , interesting while gross at d same time , didnt know ppl used stuff from snails to put on themselves , i learn something there ...

Postby pugboy » August 27th, 2022, 12:36 pm

them have super sense of smell
if you see how slugs does climb up the rack holding my hydroponic greens just to pick out the patchoi and leave other stuff

*KRONIK* wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Yuh hadda put that bait somewhere easy to burn or pick up the shell though.

Yea
I realized this
I initially didnt know they bait attracts them, i thought they does get poisoned of they cross its path.
But i start putting it heavy in a open spot so i can actually find them in 1 area.
Easy pickup...

Postby pugboy » August 27th, 2022, 12:38 pm

if they are being attracted so easily to the beer and veggies,

I think a trap can be made with a one way door or motor operated to occasionally sweep/flick them into a chamber with the salt water
could even be operated with a timer every 15mins to rotate tthe door to push them into the salt water compartment

Postby Rovin » August 27th, 2022, 2:23 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Gonna try this later for sureScreenshot_20220826-213652_Facebook.jpg

yall see d video of this on FB ? , d most i ever seen yet , it look like is thousands like a nightmare , cud imagine d stink scent of so many & d clean up , i wuda hire ah piper or 2 vennies to do dat ... maybe pile them up & try burning or a dig a big deep hole to bury so many

Postby *KRONIK* » August 27th, 2022, 4:10 pm

pugboy wrote:them have super sense of smell
if you see how slugs does climb up the rack holding my hydroponic greens just to pick out the patchoi and leave other stuff

*KRONIK* wrote:

Yea
I realized this
Easy pickup...
You learn something new everyday

Postby *KRONIK* » August 27th, 2022, 4:12 pm

Rovin wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Gonna try this later for sureScreenshot_20220826-213652_Facebook.jpg

yall see d video of this on FB ? , d most i ever seen yet , it look like is thousands like a nightmare , cud imagine d stink scent of so many & d clean up , i wuda hire ah piper or 2 vennies to do dat ... maybe pile them up & try burning or a dig a big deep hole to bury so many
I just happy too see a really effective method to kill them...

Postby Chimera » August 27th, 2022, 5:02 pm

The normal bait is very effective. But the bait gets expensive. This is a cheaper method

I now put some fig and pawpaw scraps to soak in thiovin and beer.

Will set it later ontop a galvanize and then put 4 blocks on the galvanize and then another galvanize ontop it. Thats to stop my dogs from being able to access it
20220827_170029.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » August 27th, 2022, 6:06 pm

Put it on a slope with a bin on the bottom.

Drill a few holes, not straight through to hold liquid. put a few screws to the solid media in place.

When they die the roll down in the bin.

If you creative, put a trap door.

Automatic snail killer and collector.

Sign saying "free food" optional.

Postby 88sins » August 27th, 2022, 6:11 pm

allyuh getting creative to deal with them snails boi

Postby nervewrecker » August 27th, 2022, 6:21 pm

If was me I build a rail gun or CO2 gun with solenoid valve and regular.

Pew pew.

Postby pugboy » August 27th, 2022, 6:38 pm

a trap door which activates based on their weight is an idea similar to the bucket rat traps
need to unstick them from the door platform

Postby nervewrecker » August 27th, 2022, 7:05 pm

Or just make an unbalanced trap door with a pivot at the center. Like a throttle body and a few gramms of weight at the next end.

Snail falls in and bye bye snail. Door closes and waits for next snail.