Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 18th, 2023, 4:54 pm

pugboy wrote:that good, maybe crabs will evolve a taste for them
the limpkin bird, local name crao or something like that eating them plenty
I think our neighbourhood hawk eating them too
I have seen him a few times at near that same drain and found 3 big empty shells nearby.
So i dunno if he bringing them there to eat

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2023, 5:03 pm

hard for any animal to find such an easy source of meat and quantity otherwise

Postby Rovin » January 18th, 2023, 6:34 pm

wda - so if crabs eating d snails hopefully ppl doh eat dem same crabs cause diseases cud be transferred to us humans ? ...

Postby MaxPower » January 18th, 2023, 7:09 pm

So Trinis stuffing Snail shells with mud for more weight?

Really??

Postby hover11 » January 18th, 2023, 7:12 pm

Trickidadians
MaxPower wrote:So Trinis stuffing Snail shells with mud for more weight?

Really??

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2023, 7:25 pm

depends if the pathogen that the snails carry can use crabs as a vector, but have never heard of crabs being a carrier for rat lungworm

Rovin wrote:wda - so if crabs eating d snails hopefully ppl doh eat dem same crabs cause diseases cud be transferred to us humans ? ...

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 19th, 2023, 9:39 am

[YouTube]https://youtu.be/5hbenumAaJM[/YouTube]

Postby Chimera » January 19th, 2023, 9:50 am

Snail caviar....snail burgers....lol

I guess if yuh really growing them up on plain veggies and food then it's a whole different thing than what they eat locally.
No different from dogs reared to eat as meat

And we does eat manicou and gouti and all kinda thing down here so wuz the difference between snail and conch

Postby *KRONIK* » January 20th, 2023, 9:40 am

1 day of rain by me and they come out.

Picked up some decent size ones near my bait heaps.
I realize the not dying with the bait, the bigger ones like they going into shock or paralysis but they not actually dying

So i have to pick them up and still put them jn the chlorine solution

dogg

Postby dogg » January 20th, 2023, 10:05 am

*KRONIK* wrote:1 day of rain by me and they come out.

I realize the not dying with the bait, the bigger ones like they going into shock or paralysis but they not actually dying

What bait? the blue pellets?
That appears to work by me in killing them. I haven't seen any around in a few weeks though, so I dunno if they developing an immunity or what.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 20th, 2023, 10:16 am

dogg wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:1 day of rain by me and they come out.

What bait? the blue pellets?
That appears to work by me in killing them. I haven't seen any around in a few weeks though, so I dunno if they developing an immunity or what.
Yea
The blue pellet.

I not sure if i get a weak batch or something.
But the ones under ½" dying normal
But the ones over 1" still alive, but not moving.
But the rain seems to be reviving them after they take the bait

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 20th, 2023, 10:18 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol the slime does really cause a dred reaction to your skin.

I have some thick rubber gloves I use to pick them up. Use to use disposable gloves but the gloves use to melt and fall apart while touching the snails.

The slime that dread? Wtf

I isse just scoop them up with a trowel or some sheit

Might get a old tongs and use that , just hadda remember not to cook with that again :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » January 20th, 2023, 10:45 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol the slime does really cause a dred reaction to your skin.

I have some thick rubber gloves I use to pick them up. Use to use disposable gloves but the gloves use to melt and fall apart while touching the snails.

Might get a old tongs and use that , just hadda remember not to cook with that again
I buy a cheap tongs for 10dollars just for that.
I does leave it chook in a plantpot

Postby timelapse » January 20th, 2023, 11:05 am

Snail slime?
Gig-git-ty!

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » January 20th, 2023, 4:46 pm

how many snail does weigh 1kg

Postby Chimera » January 20th, 2023, 4:55 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:

Might get a old tongs and use that , just hadda remember not to cook with that again
Yuh does wash the tongs before yuh wear it?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 20th, 2023, 5:40 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:

Yuh does wash the tongs before yuh wear it?
No sir, i like the residual slime to keep things moist

Postby Chimera » January 20th, 2023, 5:45 pm

From wha I seeing here the slime wud help rejuvenate the nans/cocolooks

Postby timelapse » January 20th, 2023, 6:26 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:From wha I seeing here the slime wud help rejuvenate the nans/cocolooks
Gig-git-ty

Postby pugboy » January 20th, 2023, 6:27 pm

that is a good rumor to start
serve like oysters

Postby maj. tom » January 20th, 2023, 6:38 pm

https://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-19077138

Disgusting as this may sound to some, the belief that snail slime has restorative properties is not a new one. The mid-90s saw an explosion in "wonder creams" from companies processing snail slime on an industrial scale. The cream is used by some people to treat varicose veins and skin blemishes.

According to Rob Cowie, a research professor at the University of Hawaii, if a snail skin product is manufactured on an industrial scale it is not going to present a health hazard because the nematodes present in the snails will die before the product is put to use.

However, if people are extracting slime from snails for their own use, the situation is different.

"If you're manufacturing slime on a backyard scale, then [the processing time] will be faster and if you're smearing it on your face, there's a chance it could go in your mouth," he says.

"I wouldn't discount the possibility you could get ill that way."

It is thought that the trade in snails for private medicinal or cosmetic use is what caused the outbreak in Colombia in the first place. The creatures were reportedly brought into the country by a "culebrero", a salesman of herbs and animals with supposed healing properties. These salesmen are often seen in South American cities, selling snails and homemade snail creams in jars.

That can be the next local Trini scam after the OmegaXL old ppl ded out.

Postby Rovin » January 20th, 2023, 7:07 pm

i now coming to say since d year start no setta rain but about 5 quick very light showers yesterday & i see 1 crawling in my yard - couldnt find my lil bottle of lacquer thinners to done hmc so he get away ...

Postby *KRONIK* » January 20th, 2023, 7:13 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:From wha I seeing here the slime wud help rejuvenate the nans/cocolooks
Daz wah i saying too

Postby Rovin » January 20th, 2023, 7:18 pm

so u hadda let d live snail\s crawl over d area to be rejuvenated ? .... :skurry:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 20th, 2023, 7:31 pm

^ Try it and lewwe know how it goes nah!

Postby Rovin » January 20th, 2023, 7:41 pm

i doh even let ants crawl on me ...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 20th, 2023, 7:45 pm

Postby nervewrecker » January 20th, 2023, 7:52 pm

maj. tom wrote:
https://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-19077138

Disgusting as this may sound to some, the belief that snail slime has restorative properties is not a new one. The mid-90s saw an explosion in "wonder creams" from companies processing snail slime on an industrial scale. The cream is used by some people to treat varicose veins and skin blemishes.

According to Rob Cowie, a research professor at the University of Hawaii, if a snail skin product is manufactured on an industrial scale it is not going to present a health hazard because the nematodes present in the snails will die before the product is put to use.

However, if people are extracting slime from snails for their own use, the situation is different.

"If you're manufacturing slime on a backyard scale, then [the processing time] will be faster and if you're smearing it on your face, there's a chance it could go in your mouth," he says.

"I wouldn't discount the possibility you could get ill that way."

It is thought that the trade in snails for private medicinal or cosmetic use is what caused the outbreak in Colombia in the first place. The creatures were reportedly brought into the country by a "culebrero", a salesman of herbs and animals with supposed healing properties. These salesmen are often seen in South American cities, selling snails and homemade snail creams in jars.

That can be the next local Trini scam after the OmegaXL old ppl ded out.
Facesitting guys, facesitting is all you need.

Postby Chimera » January 20th, 2023, 7:59 pm

Rovin wrote:so u hadda let d live snail\s crawl over d area to be rejuvenated ? .... :skurry:

No u jus hadda rub it over it

Postby maj. tom » January 23rd, 2023, 6:58 pm