Giant African Snail?

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2022, 1:11 pm

yet ppl eating tattoo which supposedly can carry leprosy just like how snail carrie’s rat lungworm

Postby meccalli » August 10th, 2022, 1:25 pm

You have a higher chance of getting rat lungworm and other parasitical infections from eating improperly prepared raw greens.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 10th, 2022, 1:26 pm

meccalli wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:So....you have eaten them?

Very much so lol.
*gasps

Postby Dizzy28 » August 10th, 2022, 1:36 pm

After catching if you keep in a closed environment and feed it things you provide like greens etc. would it be flushed of its parasites?

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2022, 1:39 pm

give it a lil ivermectin and you safe

Dizzy28 wrote:After catching if you keep in a closed environment and feed it things you provide like greens etc. would it be flushed of its parasites?

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2022, 1:40 pm

imagine eating raw lettuce from a field where the snails pass thru every night and pooping

meccalli wrote:You have a higher chance of getting rat lungworm and other parasitical infections from eating improperly prepared raw greens.

Postby Chimera » August 10th, 2022, 1:44 pm

pugboy wrote:imagine eating raw lettuce from a field where the snails pass thru every night and pooping

meccalli wrote:You have a higher chance of getting rat lungworm and other parasitical infections from eating improperly prepared raw greens.
If snails passin tru a lettuce field you wouldn't have lettuce left in the field. I first discovered we had them in a pumpkin field where they were leaving big gouges in the pumpkin as if a Manitou was clawing it

Postby Dizzy28 » August 10th, 2022, 1:50 pm

pugboy wrote:give it a lil ivermectin and you safe

Dizzy28 wrote:After catching if you keep in a closed environment and feed it things you provide like greens etc. would it be flushed of its parasites?

I good, was just asking.

I'm in the middle of the east west corridor and there are no agricultural lots in close proximity. Everybody yard is essentially concrete or tiles. TB I have never seen or heard about them snails in our neighborhood.

The closest I have seen is my BiL who lives around 5 mins away but closer to the Northern Range foothills where vegetation becomes more prevalent.

Postby RedVEVO » August 11th, 2022, 9:59 am

Why is the Gov't not making the African Snail eradication a priority ?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 11th, 2022, 10:20 am

RedVEVO wrote:Why is the Gov't not making the African Snail eradication a priority ?

Might be a hard push to get a cut or big money. Agricultural and environmental sector will have to take over a bit and well once money get put on that side it hard to get it back in yuh pocket.

Postby adnj » August 11th, 2022, 10:36 am

pugboy wrote:give it a lil ivermectin and you safe

I good, was just asking.

I'm in the middle of the east west corridor and there are no agricultural lots in close proximity. Everybody yard is essentially concrete or tiles. TB I have never seen or heard about them snails in our neighborhood.

The closest I have seen is my BiL who lives around 5 mins away but closer to the Northern Range foothills where vegetation becomes more prevalent.

Tl;Dr

The MoA stated that there have been many, many reports of GAS in the E/W corridor in yards with grass or trees.

Postby maj. tom » August 11th, 2022, 10:48 am

Have a lot in the little grass strip by uwi grocery and triangle near the pumping station.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 11th, 2022, 11:45 am

maj. tom wrote:Have a lot in the little grass strip by uwi grocery and triangle near the pumping station.

These were in UWI since back in my days, circa 08-ish i noticed them

All in the trees and ting hiding, big ones too

Postby Chimera » August 11th, 2022, 11:55 am

RedVEVO wrote:Why is the Gov't not making the African Snail eradication a priority ?
They tried years ago when it could have been contained. People didn't take it on.

Every man for dey self now

Postby *KRONIK* » August 11th, 2022, 12:32 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
They tried years ago when it could have been contained. People didn't take it on.

Facts yes

Postby timelapse » August 11th, 2022, 1:16 pm

Because is not Injun Snail

Postby MG Man » August 12th, 2022, 1:53 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

yup
even after all the public education campaigns, my neighbour telling me does crush them with a stone and leave them -__-

Postby Chimera » August 12th, 2022, 1:56 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

yup
even after all the public education campaigns, my neighbour telling me does crush them with a stone and leave them -__-

alot of persons replying on on the ministry of agriculture facebook page talk about crushing them or throwing salt on them or stepping on them

invasion could never stop if its that dotishness they doing

Postby MG Man » August 12th, 2022, 2:13 pm

yup
Where I live, my wifey and I used to walk along the main road into the neighborhood with buckets, picking up as many as we could each night, and sprinkling snail bait
Nobody else saw the need to help

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 12th, 2022, 3:12 pm

I've been battling these things for the past year and I can safely say I've killed a couple thousand snails.

The pellets work the best, but you do have to constantly clean up the dead ones every day or their shells will cover the poison. The trick is to lightly sprinkle the pellets over a wide area (1-2 square feet) so they don't get cluttered together.

Use a fan rake and a dustpan with a handle to collect them (this helps a lot of you have a bad back like me.)

I put them in a box, soak it with kerosene and light them up in a burn barrel.

I lost a lot of plants to these things when the infestation started last year (mostly green seasoning, tomatoes and peppers) So now I have my food growing in pots, 5 gallon buckets and troughs elevated with bricks and also I have poison placed under each container.

I also lightly sprinkled poison around the perimeter of my property to keep them out. Fortunately my pets don't touch the poison.
Hope some of these tips can help you guys out.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 12th, 2022, 6:33 pm

There was an entire eradication program where vanloads of workers would go to Diego Martin and bait for the snails, residents were warned to not move soil etc from the affected areas but who gave a sheit. Snails travelled in soil, on vehicles etc to other areas of the country and now its near impossible to contain.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 12th, 2022, 6:37 pm

cause it from africa and anything from africa cant do no wrong for them and is holier than the guru

Postby 88sins » August 13th, 2022, 7:50 am

Small man doh business

Postby pugboy » August 13th, 2022, 8:35 am

it seems snails are eaten in all parts of the world except western hemisphere

Postby maj. tom » August 13th, 2022, 8:50 am

dem go survive the apocalypse and climate change easy.

Postby adnj » August 13th, 2022, 1:56 pm

pugboy wrote:it seems snails are eaten in all parts of the world except western hemisphere
Most of the Romance language countries cook snails but I don't know if any eat GAS.

Postby nervewrecker » August 13th, 2022, 2:41 pm

Have people here that eat snails.

We used to have an infestation some years ago. The whole yard was snails clearing everything from aside.

This lady at work asked me to bring her some, she said it's a delicacy. Me, not knowing better, I just dismiss it as anything curry could stick to we does eat.

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2022, 1:45 pm

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 14th, 2022, 2:07 pm

Ent we used to eat "conks" in T&T? Doesn't that belong to the snail family?

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2022, 2:09 pm

used to?
the black river conch is a river snail which ppl eating more than sea conch