Giant African Snail?

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby timelapse » September 12th, 2022, 2:21 pm

Madman update:
I tried a piece curried with coconut milk.
I don't like it.
If I die, curiosity kill mih kyat

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2022, 3:00 pm

you supposed to keep them unfed for a week to purge them
maybe try grilled on skewers like in africa
or in garlic butter in typical european way

timelapse wrote:Madman update:
I don't like it.

Postby timelapse » September 12th, 2022, 3:10 pm

pugboy wrote:you supposed to keep them unfed for a week to purge them
maybe try grilled on skewers like in africa
or in garlic butter in typical european way

I don't like it.
I didn't cook it.Was a neighbour that cooked it.They purged the snails and seasoned heavily with alcohol.
Either way, I didn't like the texture or taste.Not going to be eating it in a hurry

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2022, 3:16 pm

like yuh write it off after one try

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 12th, 2022, 4:28 pm

supposed to be edible, it's just a known disease vector.
Lots of recipes online.

I good tho, pa.

For some reason I can eat conch without a blink, but I can't see myself eat that nah

Postby maj. tom » September 12th, 2022, 4:36 pm

yeah but if you cook it at high temp for a safe length of time there shouldn't be any problems with parasites.

I'm not going to acquire that taste anytime soon though.

Postby nervewrecker » September 12th, 2022, 5:02 pm

pugboy wrote:I saw a guy selling plenty black conch in debe namdevco market thursday
it is alleged south parts of the gulf more polluted

there is a guy by caroni roundabout who has heaps of the brown ones, allegedly from venez
Conz from stink water will be sweet. Unsure about polluted, can you define polluted? Plenty detritus and rotting matter with lots of h2s?

How the vene conz, more meat, meat softer, lighter color? Yeh? Neh? Maybe?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 12th, 2022, 5:08 pm

pugboy wrote:I saw a guy selling plenty black conch in debe namdevco market thursday

there is a guy by caroni roundabout who has heaps of the brown ones, allegedly from venez
Conz from stink water will be sweet. Unsure about polluted, can you define polluted? Plenty detritus and rotting matter with lots of h2s?

Industry pollution is more worrying than normal natural decomposition.

Postby nervewrecker » September 12th, 2022, 5:12 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Industry pollution is more worrying than normal natural decomposition.
*chokes*

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2022, 9:56 am

20220930_093155.jpg

Watch the nasty MF nah

I been snail free for a good few weeks
But like the weather calling them out

Also, i just found out my dotish cousins been crushing them in the land behind the house so they just creating a breeding ground
Ignorance is pain yes

dogg

Postby dogg » September 30th, 2022, 10:00 am

*KRONIK* wrote:20220930_093155.jpg

Watch the nasty MF nah

Also, i just found out my dotish cousins been crushing them in the land behind the house so they just creating a breeding ground
Ignorance is pain yes

WTF man!!

How the hell you get your tomato plants to get so big????

Share the secret!!

Postby maj. tom » September 30th, 2022, 10:02 am

dat snail juice ewww

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2022, 10:56 am

dogg wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:20220930_093155.jpg

Watch the nasty MF nah

Ignorance is pain yes

WTF man!!

How the hell you get your tomato plants to get so big????

Share the secret!!
These are heatmaster. I was told they are bred for our climate

Also, for soil, i'm using a mix of coconut husks + potting soil + growmoor compost + sand + perlite
Liquid fertilizer on the days rain dont fall

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2022, 10:56 am

maj. tom wrote:dat snail juice ewww
Yea boi, it have me feeling "kinda way" too

Postby matr1x » September 30th, 2022, 11:01 am

What do venes and the snails have in common?

Level slime

Postby j.o.e » September 30th, 2022, 11:02 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
20220930_093155.jpg

Watch the nasty MF nah

Ignorance is pain yes

Oh geeedd

Postby Rovin » September 30th, 2022, 6:22 pm

pugboy wrote:i had some river conch the other day and it was exactly like gizzard
sea conch gets rubbery but not like gizzard
I say was just me.

I don't like the river conch at all. Sea conch on the other hand, yum yum

so last friday i was in price club & i see they get what looking like some fresh clean lambie , $50\lb , long time i eh eat it so i say i will try ah pound & if it come out good then next time i will buy more

so i slice it up small like 3/8" forgetting it does shrink in d pot - that measly pound still turned out a decent amt along with seasoned dumplings , cook it about 1.5hrs to make sure it get soft , it come out good so i give my sis & bro in law a lil bit , so few days after i asked them how d conchs taste they watching meh like they eh know what i talking about, then they say oho we tort it was gizzard :shock: ... :lol: ... i say bwda allyuh eh know what allyuh eating , d actual conch taste was mild so like they wasnt expecting is conchs i give dem ... :lol:
Last edited by Rovin on September 30th, 2022, 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » September 30th, 2022, 6:25 pm

I don't like it.

serious boi ? ,,, :shock: , like d texture was soft\squishy orr, or i guessing it tasted kinda metallic ?

bwda u really good yes ... :lol:

Postby timelapse » September 30th, 2022, 6:36 pm

Rovin wrote:
I don't like it.

serious boi ? ,,, :shock: , like d texture was soft\squishy orr, or i guessing it tasted kinda metallic ?

bwda u really good yes ...
Texture like gizzard.The taste kinda weird too.Not like conchs.

Postby maj. tom » September 30th, 2022, 6:37 pm

:sick: :sick: :sick: :out:

Postby Rovin » September 30th, 2022, 6:43 pm

boi when i cutting up meh good clean sea lambie last wk it was making think of how it sort of related to d GAS how we scorning dem but eating up their tasty distant sea cousins .... :lol:

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2022, 8:40 pm

they mighta microwave the lambie which does mess up meat proteins and make them tough

Postby maj. tom » November 27th, 2022, 4:32 pm

The GAS now has a strong foothold and heavy presence on our island. They are the vectors of a deadly parasite rat lungworm (and many others in fact) and it's now in our food chains. I recently saw an ad on tv about worm medicine and I talked to a pharmacist about it. She said it's two pills in the package 200mg each and the dose is 400mg for an adult. She gave me Zentel which is GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) the same company that makes the high purity acetaminophen for this market (Panadol). Plus with so much chronic flooding now, all the crops getting drowned in contaminated flood waters, I personally think it's a good idea to do as the ad suggested and deworm twice a year now, something that I had never thought about my entire life.

That's just me. I bought the box and took the 2 pills. No side effects to report so far 8 hours later. I consulted a registered pharmacist for advice on my concerns that lead me to take this OTC prophylactic. If anyone else is thinking along these lines, talk to your doctor because this isn't medical advice.

Postby paid_influencer » November 27th, 2022, 4:42 pm

yea i deworm after reading this ched too. the albendazole i got was a suspension and i had to suck down the bottle suck it down

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2022, 5:08 pm

what happen to good ol ivermectin

Postby timelapse » November 27th, 2022, 6:17 pm

pugboy wrote:what happen to good ol ivermectin
That's for covid, not for worms

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2022, 6:44 pm

only matter of time before it is cooked and grilled

Postby timelapse » November 27th, 2022, 7:02 pm

pugboy wrote:only matter of time before it is cooked and grilled
You didn't see my earlier post.I ate it.Twice.
If you like gizzard, you'll like it.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 27th, 2022, 10:51 pm

it edible, but I doh want it.

Just google it and you'll find where it's eaten and how to prepare it.

Postby 88sins » November 30th, 2022, 4:46 am

If I'm in a situation where options for sustenance are limited, like I in d bush on survivalist training or sumn, I wouldn't hesitate to eat them.

But is d smell when they roasting tho.