Giant African Snail?

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2022, 6:11 am

what it smells like?
i would never eat dog simply because the dead dog by cars on road smell is etched in my mind

Postby Chimera » November 30th, 2022, 6:19 am

Like burning plastic or hair. That sickening singeing scent

Postby timelapse » November 30th, 2022, 6:47 am

Roast snail,yuck.
Curry,it awful.
Garlic butter , real good,but you absolutely have to cook it on high heat

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 3rd, 2023, 11:14 am

Govt offers $ bounty for GAS

https://guardian.co.tt/news/govt-offers ... e82b9352f5

Curious how this gonna play out and pay out. Down by me RIDDLED with them, so might as well full the van tray and drop it off for beer money

Postby Rovin » January 3rd, 2023, 11:20 am

saw this story on tv last night , they didnt say how much they paying

with thousands of shells all over ppl wud pick up them up in bags to get paid

depending on what they paying a new industry cud open - * passing with oh old van n shovel with a mic playing : "old snail shell buying\collecting" ...

Postby pugboy » January 3rd, 2023, 11:39 am

how they checking for “loaded” snails?

Postby MG Man » January 3rd, 2023, 11:50 am

men gonna start minding snails to sell now

Postby pugboy » January 3rd, 2023, 12:00 pm

they want live or dead?

Postby Chimera » January 3rd, 2023, 12:31 pm

Would love to see how they implementing this and I really hope they succeed.

Snails causing havoc on most farmers.....

Down to my coconut trees have snails in them

Postby aaron17 » January 3rd, 2023, 2:57 pm

Gary better watch out :lol:

Postby timelapse » January 3rd, 2023, 3:10 pm

I'll be rich!!!!1% here I come.I knew I kept these shells for a reason

Postby pugboy » January 3rd, 2023, 3:21 pm

better to just put cepep crews to go after them
do some real work

Postby Chimera » January 3rd, 2023, 3:28 pm

They much easier to find in the night though .

Postby MG Man » January 3rd, 2023, 3:29 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Would love to see how they implementing this and I really hope they succeed.

Snails causing havoc on most farmers.....

Down to my coconut trees have snails in them

I was amazed to see them buggers even going after my pineapple plants!

Postby Chimera » January 3rd, 2023, 3:51 pm

What I do now is I soak all the veggie scraps in a pigtail bucket with thiovin and a beer....let is fester for a 2 days....then throw it in the empty lot next to my house and sprinkle bait in the middle of it....it attracts the snails to an area that i can just throw gas and burn them or leave their dead bodies to keep attracting more snails that end up dying.

Postby adnj » January 3rd, 2023, 8:29 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:What I do now is I soak all the veggie scraps in a pigtail bucket with thiovin and a beer....let is fester for a 2 days....then throw it in the empty lot next to my house and sprinkle bait in the middle of it....it attracts the snails to an area that i can just throw gas and burn them or leave their dead bodies to keep attracting more snails that end up dying.
Thiodicarb (Thiovin/Larvin) is effective against eggs and very effective against newly hatched larvae, also. If you can directly apply thiodicarb by spraying, you will be able to kill the snails even before you would be able to see them.

https://www.crop.bayer.com.au/products/ ... nsecticide

Postby *KRONIK* » January 3rd, 2023, 8:32 pm

adnj wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:What I do now is I soak all the veggie scraps in a pigtail bucket with thiovin and a beer....let is fester for a 2 days....then throw it in the empty lot next to my house and sprinkle bait in the middle of it....it attracts the snails to an area that i can just throw gas and burn them or leave their dead bodies to keep attracting more snails that end up dying.
Thiodicarb (Thiovin/Larvin) is effective against eggs and very effective against newly hatched larvae, also. If you can directly apply thiodicarb by spraying, you will be able to kill the snails even before you would be able to see them.

I buy a bottle and i fraid to mix/spray this yes

Ting seems really deadly

Postby pugboy » January 3rd, 2023, 8:58 pm

yeah i hear it’s pretty strong stuff, can it be used watered down?
is it originally an insecticide?

Postby adnj » January 3rd, 2023, 9:10 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
adnj wrote:

Ting seems really deadly
It's a step worse than paraquat, for sure. Definitely not for the 3/4 pants and rubber slippers misting crews.

pugboy wrote:yeah i hear it’s pretty strong stuff, can it be used watered down?

I use it at the label dilution rate. Calm day, coarse spray, low pressure. Organic vapor respirator, goggles, rubber boots, long pants and sleeves.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 3rd, 2023, 9:32 pm

adnj wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
adnj wrote:

Ting seems really deadly
It's a step worse than paraquat, for sure. Definitely not for the 3/4 pants and rubber slippers misting crews.

pugboy wrote:yeah i hear it’s pretty strong stuff, can it be used watered down?

I use it at the label dilution rate. Calm day, coarse spray, low pressure. Organic vapor respirator, goggles, rubber boots, long pants and sleeves.
Its me
The short pants, rubber slippers, no gloves, no mask, no goggles guy

But i usually just spray fungicides and some instecticides
Evenings only when the breeze ease up, heavy spray.

I usually hire a guy to do the heavy/deadly stuff (paraquat, 2,4-d, swiper etc)
I feel i go give him a wuk to spray that yes.

Postby Chimera » January 3rd, 2023, 9:38 pm

I does spray everything myself....

Recently I start to wear rubber boots and I buy a pair of real nice gloves in bhagwansingh that chemical resistant that I using for everything.....

But that thiovin i firetruck up myself the other day....

I usually spray low and thick when it have no breeze but some blow back on me and for the rest of the day it was like my face was numbing up on me and I wasn't feeling anything.

Since then I buy back filters for my full face respirator and using that when I hadda spray thiovin

Postby j.o.e » January 3rd, 2023, 10:48 pm

Glad I read this. Short pants and sneakers sprayer here. Will use it to set trap on land next door. Don’t want to commit to all that equipment. Tbh don’t even want to spray yard if it so dangerous with family around

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 4th, 2023, 12:36 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Govt offers $ bounty for GAS

https://guardian.co.tt/news/govt-offers ... e82b9352f5

Curious how this gonna play out and pay out. Down by me RIDDLED with them, so might as well full the van tray and drop it off for beer money

This will make the problem worse in the long run. I thought the cobra problem was more well known. Smartmen going to breed snails to collect bounty. Then when the government catches on and scrap the program, the smartmen going to release the snails, making the problem far worse than it was originally.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/forbesbusi ... -business/

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » January 4th, 2023, 10:08 am

"Buying african snail... african snail buying.."

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 10:22 am

they need to pass a law banning cultivation growing of them in conjunction to the collection paybacks
otherwise the speed at which they multiply makes it too easy for scamps to grow in any lil empty lot

Postby sMASH » January 4th, 2023, 10:45 am

So u mean, I could drive in the the forest a 20 mins, clear diwn some spots that nobody use, put down some cabbage lettuce any ting they eat, and put down a population there that nobody will no about?
And Jess pass in every month with a few crocus bag?

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 10:53 am

wait til them ghost gang criminals jump on this gold mine

Postby redmanjp » January 4th, 2023, 11:49 am

why they didn't fine the person who brought it in in the first place?

Postby pugboy » January 4th, 2023, 11:53 am

too late for that
although everybody in alyce glen know the italian guy

redmanjp wrote:why they didn't fine the person who brought it in in the first place?

Postby Rovin » January 4th, 2023, 12:34 pm

suppose ppl really go looking all over to collect snails like dem pipers & hustlers who might use their bare hands to pick it up & possibly spread meningitis from humans to humans

did d ministry get proper advice on this & think it through ? ...