Giant African Snail?

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby Chimera » February 7th, 2023, 10:03 pm

I think if something eats snails that died from bait...they would die also.

On YouTube there are videos of dogs that ate or inhaled snail bait and died....no cure

Postby j.o.e » February 7th, 2023, 11:20 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I think if something eats snails that died from bait...they would die also.

On YouTube there are videos of dogs that ate or inhaled snail bait and died....no cure

Damn no idea it was so toxic. I thought it was more specific to snails ….. or required large amounts to kill anything bigger

Postby pugboy » February 8th, 2023, 5:21 am

yeah that metal chemical in it is pretty toxic
thiovin too

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 8th, 2023, 8:26 pm

j.o.e wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:I have observed opossum eating them, which. Is good and bad,
If they eat the snails that have died from poisonous baits....

M.j
Those snails die from such a small amount of bait I wonder if the animals that eat them even affected by the trace amounts. Talking about the pellets and not the deadlier stuff like thiovin

A process called biological magnification, but opossum hardly has predators

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 8th, 2023, 8:53 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I think if something eats snails that died from bait...they would die also.

Yes snail bait is highly toxic, esp to dogs, cats and birds

Postby pugboy » February 8th, 2023, 9:02 pm

what is the distribution of snails though?
are they close to humans and farming ?
or are they found deep in the bush?
i suspect the former

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 9th, 2023, 7:18 pm

I initially, via my job did an investigation into gas around 6 years ago,
What i saw was unbelievable. Thats all i can say....

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 9th, 2023, 7:19 pm

But i think in some areas opossum is keeping the population down, if persons keep hunting them then the snail pop in these areas will escalate, a study should be done

Postby timelapse » February 9th, 2023, 7:25 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:I have observed opossum eating them, which. Is good and bad,
If they eat the snails that have died from poisonous baits....

M.j
Those snails die from such a small amount of bait I wonder if the animals that eat them even affected by the trace amounts. Talking about the pellets and not the deadlier stuff like thiovin

A process called biological magnification, but opossum hardly has predators
Opossum hardly have predators? Clearly you have never been to Trinidad.

Postby pugboy » February 9th, 2023, 7:35 pm

things will be exponentially worse
the best we can hope for is that they will be supressed in certain areas based on poison or natural predation
problem is that other areas will be totally decimated but who knows maybe when a place becomes over populated with them, then some kind of natural predation may step in
just dont see humans making a serious overall dent based on poison realistically and safely

in africa the weather keeps them at bay

streetbeastINC. wrote:I initially, via my job did an investigation into gas around 6 years ago,
What i saw was unbelievable. Thats all i can say....

Postby 88sins » February 11th, 2023, 2:43 pm

Manicou eat them, hawks as well, so a means natural population control for GAS is available, at least in some areas.

Wrt to manicou eating poisoned dead snails, I have no idea if that happens or not. But what I will tell you, is that they don't need to. Manicou are actually omnivorous hunters and scavengers. Yes, they are hunters. But they don't scavenge like cobo do, specifically targeting rotting carcasses. They prefer eat a fresh dead carcass, not a rotten one. They will target fruits or a live bird long before they study a to feed at a rotting maggot-riddled carcass.
So a slow moving live snail is easy pickins and a better option for them than a dead rotting one.

But if they were to eat a poisoned snails that haven't died yet? That's what I eh sure about. Who's to know how much of which poison they can handle from secondary consumption? And how long before they totally eliminate that poison from their system?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 13th, 2023, 8:34 am

20230213_080330.jpg

Watch this nasty lil MC

He get some ammonia followed by a heavy dusting of chlorine granules

Postby 88sins » February 16th, 2023, 5:04 pm

I wonder
Anybody here ever made piranha solution? Might be a good way to dispose of them.

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2023, 6:41 pm

finely ground shells are used for calcium treating soil

Postby 88sins » February 16th, 2023, 8:40 pm

Yeah, but who wants to wait for the dead snails to decompose and smell up d place then go thr all d wuk to grind them shells to powder?

Postby j.o.e » February 28th, 2023, 8:28 am

Did my first treatment of thiovin on the yard last night. Wish me luck

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 28th, 2023, 8:53 am

Heard about this on 95.1 this morning.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/guinea- ... 7fc26ce2b5

Apparently there's a local hatchery selling the Guinea fowl for $25 each. Buy a couple and let them loose on your property. :)
They are edible too, so I mean you can cycle them out into a pot every once in a while

Postby gastly369 » February 28th, 2023, 10:00 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
20230213_080330.jpg

Watch this nasty lil MC

Man was doing ah burnout

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 28th, 2023, 2:34 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:20230213_080330.jpg

Watch this nasty lil MC

Don't over bull the cow my brother, salt works fine.

They does pull in and die one time.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 28th, 2023, 2:35 pm

pugboy wrote:finely ground shells are used for calcium treating soil

I aint touching that padnah,,, egg shells work fine as well, and you can use your kitchen mortar/pestle or grinder to do it without having to cleanse it with acid and fire afterwards...

Just wash out the egg shells prior to drying so it wont smell too.....

MEEN TOUCHIN SNAIL SHELL OR INHALING THE DUST

Postby *KRONIK* » February 28th, 2023, 5:58 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:20230213_080330.jpg

Watch this nasty lil MC

Don't over bull the cow my brother, salt works fine.

They does pull in and die one time.
Mih "frog salt" did finish

Lol

I used what i had on hand

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2023, 6:14 pm

if you planting, salt aint good for the soil

Postby *KRONIK* » February 28th, 2023, 7:06 pm

pugboy wrote:if you planting, salt aint good for the soil
Nah
Daz across the road by the abandoned building

If is by me i have a bowl of chlorine water and a old tongs to pick up

Across the road, anything can spray or sprinkle

Postby Chimera » March 1st, 2023, 4:51 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
Nah

Y u does put on a old tongs to pick them up? That does attract them more or something? Where u learn to do that?

Postby *KRONIK* » March 1st, 2023, 6:45 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
Nah

Y u does put on a old tongs to pick them up? That does attract them more or something? Where u learn to do that?
This is correck
They goes come out to gape

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2023, 7:28 am

2023 and we still aint figure out how to eat this delicacy in the rest of the world

Postby Chimera » March 1st, 2023, 7:54 am

Wha u mean? Ppl eating it locally.

When last u buy a conchs roti

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2023, 8:48 am

ain’t buy conch roti in donkey years
i rather sea conch anyways

Phone Surgeon wrote:Wha u mean? Ppl eating it locally.

When last u buy a conchs roti

Drea

Postby Drea » April 27th, 2023, 10:48 am

As a bit of rain fall, back to square one with these pests :x

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 27th, 2023, 10:54 am

This worked on our side:

Salting the ones you see and baiting the ones you don't.