Sabga upset over facebook, tax-free online shopping

Re: Sabga upset over facebook, tax-free online shopping

Postby Rovin » August 22nd, 2019, 11:20 am

cyar use d word burger - wtf who copyrighted that word , dem is is some frighten lil imps or wa ....

Postby matr1x » August 22nd, 2019, 11:48 am

paid_influencer wrote:
matr1x wrote:A certain condiment girl was seen ina party having a few powered donuts. Hah hah

not seeing the funny part. :?

maybe i get too ole

Slang for snorting cocaine

Postby eliteauto » August 22nd, 2019, 12:20 pm

Rovin wrote:cyar use d word burger - wtf who copyrighted that word , dem is is some frighten lil imps or wa ....
They're doing better sales than the other restaurant who are the main tenants ( assuming they aren't the owners) I wasn't going to lose sleep over a name change for a sandwich. Let the big chain take the hollow victory I'd concentrate on sales

Postby Rovin » August 22nd, 2019, 12:23 pm

funny how trinis pronounce d word burger though : bo-ga ... :lol:

Postby zoom rader » August 22nd, 2019, 12:43 pm

If 1% get a chance they will charge you for inhaling air.

Postby gastly369 » August 22nd, 2019, 12:59 pm

Pizza boys should close down with dey sheit food anyways ewwww

Postby nemisis » August 22nd, 2019, 2:27 pm

Show me your friends..... never heard someone pronounce it that way, you have some realllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll ghetto roots
Rovin wrote:funny how trinis pronounce d word burger though : bo-ga ...

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » August 22nd, 2019, 2:27 pm

pugboy wrote:Popular burger place in st Ann’s with pizza boys on same compound

D0D43F74-4CC4-44C2-83C9-CAAD8777A75F.jpeg

quite normal, just like how you can't even enter coke compound with a beverage of a competing firm ex: blue waters, much less have it displayed on your vehicle or person or in this case menu.

Postby Rovin » August 22nd, 2019, 2:48 pm

nemisis wrote:Show me your friends..... never heard someone pronounce it that way, you have some realllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll ghetto roots
Rovin wrote:funny how trinis pronounce d word burger though : bo-ga ...

not me dan :lol:

u never walk pass near a random burger cart & over hear some ppl speaking like that ... some of them really butcher d queen's English

yes i know i sometimes type trini dialect here on tuner especially with "d" , just for kix though ... 0X

Zetski

Postby Zetski » August 22nd, 2019, 4:07 pm

zoom rader wrote:If 1% get a chance they will charge you for inhaling air.

give them a chance they will put interest on exhaling

Postby gastly369 » August 22nd, 2019, 4:07 pm

Hamburguesa!!!!!

Postby MaxPower » August 22nd, 2019, 5:21 pm

They should.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 23rd, 2019, 11:33 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
matr1x wrote:Imagine a certain Syrian owns 500 acres in Las cuevas.....

No need to be subtle. That story made news so much time that we know it's George Aboud of Starlite Plaza you referring to.
http://www.looptt.com/content/george-ab ... -destroyed

Lol. Nice to see people actually starting to use names.

Quick question for any actualy lawyers out there, does using the lord voldemort approach when referring to someone in a public forum do anything to protect you from libel? Assume that you are identifying the person in everything but names (like saying a prominent business owner from south trinidad that owns several groceries, gyms and a night club, but not saying Anand low price, The Rig etc.)
It's public records of who owns estate in TT.

No libel of indentiying who owns which estate.

However if you say a that person is MC as then they can sue you as defamation of character.

Ken Gordon vs Panday , where Panday in short words called him a MC and got sued my Gordon and had to pay out money

But what if you said the person own the bar at 123 Random Road is a MC. Pretending that Ken Gordon owned said bar and it was public knowledge. Would that have protected Panday at all? (I'm guessing not)

Postby zoom rader » August 23rd, 2019, 12:29 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
matr1x wrote:Imagine a certain Syrian owns 500 acres in Las cuevas.....

No need to be subtle. That story made news so much time that we know it's George Aboud of Starlite Plaza you referring to.
http://www.looptt.com/content/george-ab ... -destroyed

Lol. Nice to see people actually starting to use names.

Quick question for any actualy lawyers out there, does using the lord voldemort approach when referring to someone in a public forum do anything to protect you from libel? Assume that you are identifying the person in everything but names (like saying a prominent business owner from south trinidad that owns several groceries, gyms and a night club, but not saying Anand low price, The Rig etc.)
It's public records of who owns estate in TT.

No libel of indentiying who owns which estate.

However if you say a that person is MC as then they can sue you as defamation of character.

Ken Gordon vs Panday , where Panday in short words called him a MC and got sued my Gordon and had to pay out money

But what if you said the person own the bar at 123 Random Road is a MC. Pretending that Ken Gordon owned said bar and it was public knowledge. Would that have protected Panday at all? (I'm guessing not)
Defamation of character

Postby matr1x » August 23rd, 2019, 1:42 pm

They should.

You a caca nutz?

Postby 88sins » August 23rd, 2019, 3:39 pm

daxt0r wrote:

quite normal, just like how you can't even enter coke compound with a beverage of a competing firm ex: blue waters, much less have it displayed on your vehicle or person or in this case menu.

not the same thing at all, no way, no how, no day
a company disallowing competitors products on their premises is not the same thing as a company/person trying to intimidate ppl into accepting that they unofficially claiming sole ownership of a generic word.
By your logic, you can claim exclusive ownership to the letter A, both common & capital, & everybody need to get your permission to use it.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » August 23rd, 2019, 4:28 pm

daxt0r wrote:

not the same thing at all, no way, no how, no day
a company disallowing competitors products on their premises is not the same thing as a company/person trying to intimidate ppl into accepting that they unofficially claiming sole ownership of a generic word.
By your logic, you can claim exclusive ownership to the letter A, both common & capital, & everybody need to get your permission to use it.

Well the business place is there premises [just as coca cola compound] thus having another vendor displaying a menu [advertising] with a competing product using similar language [burger] isn't a good idea so i understand the logic.
But y even beat up with it, dem is d 1% they can do wa dey want at the end of the day.

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2019, 6:49 pm

You know for a fact they own the premises ?

Postby 88sins » August 23rd, 2019, 7:56 pm

daxt0r wrote:
But y even beat up with it, dem is d 1% they can do wa dey want at the end of the day.

u see that right there? that is why they will feel that they can do whatever they want.

Postby rspann » August 23rd, 2019, 8:00 pm

pugboy wrote:You know for a fact they own the premises ?

The burgers is Troy's?

Postby maj. tom » August 23rd, 2019, 8:14 pm

The real question should be who the ass goes to Pizza Boys for a burger?! (or pizza!)
As far as i have ever seen it's only when you're having an office party or some kind of drinking lime that you should order pizza from there because it cheap and it tastes nasty... which is good food for when you're drunk.

"hmm feeling for a burger tonight, let's pass by Pizza Boys."
Who are these people!!!!

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2019, 8:35 pm

Dunno
They have a branch on maraval rd

rspann wrote:
pugboy wrote:You know for a fact they own the premises ?

The burgers is Troy's?

Postby MaxPower » August 24th, 2019, 1:46 pm

matr1x wrote:

They should.

You a caca nutz?

Lol

But you do know if they really charge you for inhaling air you WILL pay right?

#trinibobolees

Postby Monk BANzai » October 9th, 2019, 12:18 pm

meanwhile...thais my desktop dey....

Screen Shot 2019-10-09 at 12.16.23 PM.png

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 9th, 2019, 12:24 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:meanwhile...thais my desktop dey....

Did JC do this for the Latin America and Caribbean region in which TT falls in ?

some US companies have different products and offering based on the regions
DELL , NETFLIX, YOUTUBE, AMZON PRIME all have different products or limited offering based on regions

Postby Monk BANzai » October 9th, 2019, 12:26 pm

mitch1980 wrote:

Did JC do this for the Latin America and Caribbean region in which TT falls in ?

DELL , NETFLIX, YOUTUBE, AMZON PRIME all have different products or limited offering based on regions

ahh #knowledge...but still theres no "region selection" like other sites that use that policy...even when you google "JC Penny Latin America" is salting on the weng

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 9th, 2019, 12:31 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:
mitch1980 wrote:

ahh #knowledge...but still theres no "region selection" like other sites that use that policy...even when you google "JC Penny Latin America" is salting on the weng

Saw a few ple say the same about JCP via social media early today.

Would not be surprised if this applies to TT being part of a region and that is a Global decision JCP took.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 9th, 2019, 12:45 pm

JC Penny always had a geofence on their website, like 10 years now afaik.
They have a total block to anyone outside the USA, while other sites like BestBuy have a soft wall.
You can use a VPN or proxy and get past it.

Postby maj. tom » October 9th, 2019, 12:50 pm

JCPenney: We appreciate your interest in shopping at JCPenney. At this time we are not able to operate our e-commerce site from certain countries.

This is JC Penney's problem though. They're a sinking ship, much like Sears and they've cut costs all over. They don't do ecommerce with ANY countries outside USA and that even includes APO/FPO addresses. Hard luck for them, don't see it as anyone's problem in TT using online shopping. Just use the thousand other retail ecommerce websites + skybox. Poor example.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 9th, 2019, 12:52 pm

JC Penny always had a geofence on their website, like 10 years now afaik.
They have a total block to anyone outside the USA, while other sites like BestBuy have a soft wall.
You can use a VPN or proxy and get past it.

#knowledge