"Official" POLICE & Police Commisioner Related Matters thread ...

Re: "Official" POLICE & Police Commisioner Related Matters thread ...

Postby alfa » September 25th, 2022, 11:12 am

pugboy wrote:i remember when gg first bring out that polygraph talk
the great sandra was backpedaling on it too just like the body cams
of course this was before he got promoted to sort

Next thing we see him jump on the NTA bandwagon

Postby gastly369 » September 25th, 2022, 4:31 pm

sMASH wrote:Not sure where to put this...
But they re-writing their rules on social media
FB_IMG_1664112708459.jpg
Sink forkin pedal and neyummmmm!

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 25th, 2022, 4:31 pm

Postby MaxPower » September 25th, 2022, 5:26 pm

Cool vid.

Sounding like something GG will say….but where is he now?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 10th, 2022, 9:20 pm

Soooooo....out goes jacobs....

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2022, 9:47 pm

stopped farming?

Postby alfa » October 10th, 2022, 9:47 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Soooooo....out goes jacobs....

What you talking bout Willis :shock:

Postby rollingstock » October 10th, 2022, 10:56 pm

I see you got the forward

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 11th, 2022, 6:18 am

The proposal have me scratching meh head

Postby timelapse » October 11th, 2022, 7:17 am

You finally going to stop playing the arse and be commissioner?

Re:

Postby rollingstock » October 11th, 2022, 7:25 am

timelapse wrote:

You finally going to stop playing the arse and be commissioner?

Not me bro. Mrs Christopher.
I barely qualify to shine boots.

Postby K74T » October 11th, 2022, 8:00 am

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2022, 9:11 am

hope is not another "acting" cop
seems we spend more time with actors than actual

Postby The_Honourable » October 11th, 2022, 9:34 am

Yeah it's an acting position until the selection and confirmation process are finished for a CoP

Postby hover11 » October 11th, 2022, 9:53 am

Welcome to the public service
pugboy wrote:hope is not another "acting" cop
seems we spend more time with actors than actual

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2022, 10:12 am

and how much years left to retirement ?
yuh know they have a way of putting ppl with couple years left to retirement

Postby hover11 » October 11th, 2022, 10:17 am

Lol that's what they do so their pension will look nice.

Re:

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2022, 10:18 am

correct
it’s actually a kinda favor to somebody with limited job shelf life left
don’t want to say buying them

hover11 wrote:Lol that's what they do so their pension will look nice.

Postby rollingstock » October 12th, 2022, 12:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Yeah it's an acting position until the selection and confirmation process are finished for a CoP

No it's just a cobo sweat

Postby hover11 » October 12th, 2022, 12:16 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Yeah it's an acting position until the selection and confirmation process are finished for a CoP
Is just until farmer come back from his vacation as he will be out of the country.

Re: Re:

Postby redmanjp » October 12th, 2022, 1:48 pm

alfa wrote:
hover11 wrote:JACOB WANTS LIE DETECTOR TESTS FOR CUSTOMS OFFICERS:
Via the Express Newspaper

ACTING Police Commissioner McDonald Jacob is recommending yearly polygraph testing (lie-detector testing) of those who work in Customs and Excise and constant vetting of these persons, as well as of those who work in intelligence.

The top cop made the recommendation as he noted that the majority of illegal guns flowing into Trinidad and Tobago are not coming through the borders, but right under the nose of Customs and Excise at the legal ports.

Jacob said, however, that there are challenges because the Customs and Excise Division falls under the Finance Ministry and not under the National Security Ministry, adding he believes this was being reviewed by the Government.

Question, are lie detector tests admissible in a court of law in Trinidad?

I believe before one enters the service a polygraph test must be undertaken so I can't understand why they can't do one at any time after. Tuner rum shop lawyers chime in

standard of evidence in a court especially criminal court is higher than elsewhere. for a prospective officer if by chance the lie detector falsely say u lying then d most that would happen is u doh get d job, if a suspect in a criminal case is convicted by that same lie detector falsely, then he is going to jail for something he didn't do!

that said u can still use in criminal cases but not as evidence in court- but perhaps to aid in just cause for instance in getting a search warrant or something or just so investigators would have clues that would put them on the right track, and when u find evidence after searching, then THAT will be admissible in court.

so let's say u suspect someone of being in possession of child porn, give them a lie detector test and if they fail, then use that to get a warrant to search phones, computers, etc.- when u actually find the pics u charge them.

Postby The_Honourable » October 15th, 2022, 12:08 pm

GARY BACK ON SHORT LIST

Former police commissioner Gary Griffith is officially back in the race for top cop.

The Police Service Commission (PolSC), headed by Justice Judith Jones, has completed its shortlist in its hunt for Trinidad and Tobago’s new police commissioner.

The Express learnt that Griffith, deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) Erla Christopher, Lt Col Sheldon Ramnanan, a former chief legal officer of the Defence Force, and ACP Andre Norton are among 16 on the shortlist.

Griffith said yesterday he hopes this time around external elements, inclusive of politicians, “drink their water and mind their business”.

“I think at this time, it may be inappropriate for me to comment. Whatever correspondence submitted to me by the Police Service Commission I would deem as confidential unless, until it is leaked, which has been the case during the tenure of the last PolSC chairman Bliss Seepersad,” said Griffith.

He continued, “What I can say is that whoever is shortlisted and whatever the result, it is hoped that external elements, inclusive of politicians, would drink their water and mind their business and not interfere in the process, as we saw during the last merit list fiasco.”

He said because of such “interference” in the last year, from August 2021 to August 2022, Trinidad and Tobago has seen the highest spike in crime, the highest number of murders and the greatest fear of citizens being victims of crime in the country’s history.

“Let the independent body do their work and select who they deem as being the best person to lead the TTPS and serve the country to turn this around,” said ­Griffith.

Ramnanan: I’m the best man for the job

Ramnanan, who is also an attorney, said yesterday he is not fazed by the controversy that hampered the process previously, and he believes he is the best man for the job who can curb crimi­nality.

“I trust the process and I think I have the competency, the skills, qualifications and experience to ­fulfil the job moving forward, so I have no fear,” he said in an interview with the Express. He said the office of the Commissioner of Police is a position at the strategic level.

Pointing out he has served the Defence Force for 15 years, Ramnanan said: “I have never been involved in any controversy. What would have happened in the past in relation to the Police Service does not in any way deter me. I’m in the military and I’m here to serve.”

He said he proudly wore uniform as a Cub, a Scout, and even after he graduated as a lawyer he returned to service in the Defence Force.

Ramnanan said he has an effective crime-fighting plan to implement if he is the chosen one.

Norton told the Express he cannot confirm or deny whether he was shortlisted as he has not seen any correspondence. He, however, said he believes he can be the best ­police commissioner for Trinidad and ­Tobago. He said he has a crime plan but it all depends on whether he is shortlisted, as it would be of no value if he isn’t.

The Express tried contacting Christopher, but calls to her phone went unanswered.

Background

Griffith was appointed police commissioner in 2018 and served for three years.

During that recruitment exercise for police commissioner, Griffith emerged as the top candidate following the first phase of the process by accounting firm KPMG.

In 2021 after his tenure came to an end, he served as acting Police Commissioner for a short time, after the Cabinet and Parliament approved a law to allow a former contract officer to act as top cop.

In the same year the recruitment process was marred with controversy after Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley met with PolSC former chairman Bliss Seepersad at President’s House and provided her with information with respect to alleged corruption in the issuance of firearms under Griffith’s purview.

The Police Commissioner Merit list, which had named Griffith as the choice for top cop, was withdrawn by Seepersad.

Rowley later disclosed that he had lost confidence in Griffith as Police Commissioner. The entire PolSC collapsed as every member resigned.

There have been three separate investigations into the issuance of firearms licences.

In December 2020, the National Security Council commissioned a two-man fact-finding committee into reports of an FUL-for-sale arrangement in the TTPS. That committee, comprising Hayden Pritchard and Arthur Barrington, interviewed stakeholders over a two-month period before presenting a report.

Then-retired Justice Stanley John was commissioned by the PolSC to investigate. John said he found a “well-oiled criminal enterprise” and recommended a police probe into several matters raised during his investigation, “and the errant persons brought to justice and not be allowed to go free”.

Last year National Security Minister Fitzgerald Hinds said an ­in-depth and comprehensive audit into the operations of the FUL unit would be undertaken following the report from retired Justice Stanley John, who described the issuance of FULs “a thriving well-oiled white-collar criminal enterprise”.

The FUL report was prepared by retired ACP Wellington Virgil, retired ACP Raymond Craig and retired Inspector Lennard Charles, who were appointed by acting Commissioner Jacob.

The prime minister’s stated intention to lay the executive summary of this report in the Parliament was challenged by Griffith’s attorneys, and the office of the Attorney General conceded the report would not be laid in the Parliament at this time ­until all parties are heard.

Griffith’s attorneys had written to the PolSC, requesting that none of these reports be used in considering him for police commissioner, as he was got given the opportunity to be heard and respond to allegations.

The PolSC had indicated to Griffith’s attorneys in writing that the commission does not intend to depart from applying the rules of ­justice.

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 1b3c7.html

Postby alfa » October 15th, 2022, 12:33 pm

So how he going and be cop and pm at the same time

Postby hover11 » October 15th, 2022, 12:33 pm

Lol the politics , he would make the shortlist so they cant say he is being victimized ,however, he will not be the given the position. It all comes down to who they want and interviews are very subjective.
The_Honourable wrote:GARY BACK ON SHORT LIST

Former police commissioner Gary Griffith is officially back in the race for top cop.

The Police Service Commission (PolSC), headed by Justice Judith Jones, has completed its shortlist in its hunt for Trinidad and Tobago’s new police commissioner.

The Express learnt that Griffith, deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) Erla Christopher, Lt Col Sheldon Ramnanan, a former chief legal officer of the Defence Force, and ACP Andre Norton are among 16 on the shortlist.

Griffith said yesterday he hopes this time around external elements, inclusive of politicians, “drink their water and mind their business”.

“I think at this time, it may be inappropriate for me to comment. Whatever correspondence submitted to me by the Police Service Commission I would deem as confidential unless, until it is leaked, which has been the case during the tenure of the last PolSC chairman Bliss Seepersad,” said Griffith.

He continued, “What I can say is that whoever is shortlisted and whatever the result, it is hoped that external elements, inclusive of politicians, would drink their water and mind their business and not interfere in the process, as we saw during the last merit list fiasco.”

He said because of such “interference” in the last year, from August 2021 to August 2022, Trinidad and Tobago has seen the highest spike in crime, the highest number of murders and the greatest fear of citizens being victims of crime in the country’s history.

“Let the independent body do their work and select who they deem as being the best person to lead the TTPS and serve the country to turn this around,” said ­Griffith.

Ramnanan: I’m the best man for the job

Ramnanan, who is also an attorney, said yesterday he is not fazed by the controversy that hampered the process previously, and he believes he is the best man for the job who can curb crimi­nality.

“I trust the process and I think I have the competency, the skills, qualifications and experience to ­fulfil the job moving forward, so I have no fear,” he said in an interview with the Express. He said the office of the Commissioner of Police is a position at the strategic level.

Pointing out he has served the Defence Force for 15 years, Ramnanan said: “I have never been involved in any controversy. What would have happened in the past in relation to the Police Service does not in any way deter me. I’m in the military and I’m here to serve.”

He said he proudly wore uniform as a Cub, a Scout, and even after he graduated as a lawyer he returned to service in the Defence Force.

Ramnanan said he has an effective crime-fighting plan to implement if he is the chosen one.

Norton told the Express he cannot confirm or deny whether he was shortlisted as he has not seen any correspondence. He, however, said he believes he can be the best ­police commissioner for Trinidad and ­Tobago. He said he has a crime plan but it all depends on whether he is shortlisted, as it would be of no value if he isn’t.

The Express tried contacting Christopher, but calls to her phone went unanswered.

Background

Griffith was appointed police commissioner in 2018 and served for three years.

During that recruitment exercise for police commissioner, Griffith emerged as the top candidate following the first phase of the process by accounting firm KPMG.

In 2021 after his tenure came to an end, he served as acting Police Commissioner for a short time, after the Cabinet and Parliament approved a law to allow a former contract officer to act as top cop.

In the same year the recruitment process was marred with controversy after Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley met with PolSC former chairman Bliss Seepersad at President’s House and provided her with information with respect to alleged corruption in the issuance of firearms under Griffith’s purview.

The Police Commissioner Merit list, which had named Griffith as the choice for top cop, was withdrawn by Seepersad.

Rowley later disclosed that he had lost confidence in Griffith as Police Commissioner. The entire PolSC collapsed as every member resigned.

There have been three separate investigations into the issuance of firearms licences.

In December 2020, the National Security Council commissioned a two-man fact-finding committee into reports of an FUL-for-sale arrangement in the TTPS. That committee, comprising Hayden Pritchard and Arthur Barrington, interviewed stakeholders over a two-month period before presenting a report.

Then-retired Justice Stanley John was commissioned by the PolSC to investigate. John said he found a “well-oiled criminal enterprise” and recommended a police probe into several matters raised during his investigation, “and the errant persons brought to justice and not be allowed to go free”.

Last year National Security Minister Fitzgerald Hinds said an ­in-depth and comprehensive audit into the operations of the FUL unit would be undertaken following the report from retired Justice Stanley John, who described the issuance of FULs “a thriving well-oiled white-collar criminal enterprise”.

The FUL report was prepared by retired ACP Wellington Virgil, retired ACP Raymond Craig and retired Inspector Lennard Charles, who were appointed by acting Commissioner Jacob.

The prime minister’s stated intention to lay the executive summary of this report in the Parliament was challenged by Griffith’s attorneys, and the office of the Attorney General conceded the report would not be laid in the Parliament at this time ­until all parties are heard.

Griffith’s attorneys had written to the PolSC, requesting that none of these reports be used in considering him for police commissioner, as he was got given the opportunity to be heard and respond to allegations.

The PolSC had indicated to Griffith’s attorneys in writing that the commission does not intend to depart from applying the rules of ­justice.

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 1b3c7.html

Postby Chimera » October 15th, 2022, 12:55 pm

alfa wrote:So how he going and be cop and pm at the same time

if he becomes cop he can easily step back from the NTA and let his wife or someone else take over.

be true to yourself, we all know that the criminals in trinidad don't want gary to get back COP post

Postby The_Honourable » October 15th, 2022, 1:46 pm

I believe the fix is already in and that the next Commissioner of Police more than likely will be Ms. Erla Christopher.

She's a DCP, already on the list, and currently acting temporarily as CoP by cabinet approval.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... b6d52.html

The PSC may put her in a position higher than Gary on the merit list so when it goes to Parliament for debate, and they reach her name, the government simply approves her. Government would not need to debate why Gary should not get the job.

The PSC did their part and gave Gary a second chance, the President would obviously forward the list to Parliament, the Government approves Erla without debating Gary, police service would be ok with the decision because she "came through the ranks", she would be the 1st woman to lead the TTPS, PNM looks good, Gary doesn't get the job, and he would have to hold his mouth as any critique of her especially in the first year or two can simply be dismissed as sexism.

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2022, 1:51 pm

the final selection can be vetoed anyways
so if the list reach rowlee desk and he doh like the name he can shove it aside and tell them come again afaik

Postby hover11 » October 15th, 2022, 2:12 pm

Exactly you feel them don't know who they want from the 16 candidates. Like most interviews this is just a formality.
pugboy wrote:the final selection can be vetoed anyways
so if the list reach rowlee desk and he doh like the name he can shove it aside and tell them come again afaik

Postby Chimera » October 15th, 2022, 2:47 pm

whats the point of having a list and a appointment committee and rankings if the prime minister can still veto it in any event

let dem hull dey mc yes, they like crime the way is is in trinidad

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2022, 2:52 pm

when ppl talk about how eric williams setup things from long time for control
they ain’t make joke yuh know
and these kinds of things just perpetuate
to keep us the way we are