OFFICIAL STOCK MARKET (TTSE) THREAD

PariaMan

Re: OFFICIAL STOCK MARKET (TTSE) THREAD

Postby PariaMan » February 3rd, 2023, 1:19 pm

dogg wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Are any of you guys dollar cost averaging into any of the local stock market companies?

If you're a long-term investor, dollar cost averaging is standard practice.
I try to put up a greater amount in the start . If the news continues to be good and the price drop I consider the share on sale and buy more. But I keep monitoring the news carefully to see if any further action is required

That's why I say NGL is on sale right now. It's a great time to buy

Not so much for me because my average buying price less than the present by about 10 percent. But if I had the money to invest I would still buy more

Postby DVSTT » February 3rd, 2023, 5:24 pm

PariaMan wrote:
dogg wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Are any of you guys dollar cost averaging into any of the local stock market companies?

If you're a long-term investor, dollar cost averaging is standard practice.
I try to put up a greater amount in the start . If the news continues to be good and the price drop I consider the share on sale and buy more. But I keep monitoring the news carefully to see if any further action is required

That's why I say NGL is on sale right now. It's a great time to buy

Not so much for me because my average buying price less than the present by about 10 percent. But if I had the money to invest I would still buy more

Thanks for the response, I guess it doesn't make sense using the DCA approach.

Can you elaborate why you say NGL is on sale ?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 3rd, 2023, 11:08 pm

Last few quarters have shown constant growth.

Mt Belvieu prices have been high which directly affect their profits

Worldwide energy issues with Russian invasion.

They declare 2 dividends every year the bigger one at end of the first quarter.

Prices have pulled back from around 23 dollars last year.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 10th, 2023, 1:52 pm

Good results from AGL

Hope you guys in

Republic . Massy. FCB. Nothing special

NGL making some foreign investments. Shares on sale right now. Buy up

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 14th, 2023, 10:00 am

Nel results out

Rockram

Postby Rockram » February 15th, 2023, 9:42 am

PariaMan wrote:Nel results out

See they are considering quarterly divdends.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 15th, 2023, 11:27 am

Rockram wrote:

See they are considering quarterly divdends.
Yes that will be a good thing to maintain prices thru out the year

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 15th, 2023, 11:28 am

Jmmb down.

Share price climb down today

Sold mines awhile ago

Definitely not a winner going forward

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » March 1st, 2023, 11:32 am

Interim Dividend Declared

snatman

Postby snatman » March 14th, 2023, 10:27 am

Why I'm builish on PHL-

PHL end-of-year EPS was 57c. Revenue was $1.1B
At $7.4 its trading at PE 13.
Its paying ~4.25% dividend at this price.

For most of 2 quarters, the industry was on lockdown. The 57c EPS included only 2 full quarters where covid restrictions were removed.

Conservatively, 2023 EPS should come in at around 85c.
Using the same 13 PE, that translates to a price of $11.05.

Dividends might be 38-42c. Revenue should come in at $1.3B

In his statement the Chairman said:
In 2023, we expect to build on the progress made in the last year and also restart our new store and remodeling investment programme. Already in 2023, we have opened two new Starbucks restaurants at Brentwood and Aranguez, and will open a third in O’Meara in March. In April 2023, we will open our first Starbucks restaurant in Guyana at the Amazonia mall. Additional new stores in Trinidad are also planned during the financial year.
- Expansion like dat!

I've sold all my other holdings and dumped it all into PHL at an average price of $6.60.

I did the same with AGL when it was trading at $24.5 not long ago, because I saw the same signs of earnings growth. AGL is today trading at ~$60.

At $7.50 PHL is still a screaming buy. Even at $9 it will be a buy.
Final dividend of 20c will be paid on May 15. Record date is April 13. Prices should begin trending up closer to April.

PHL best quarter is always the one in which Carnival falls in. Q1 results should be out in early April and it will include the Carnival bump. That should come in at around 27c.

So that's that. Take it as you will. Remember though, I'm not a pro, just a regular trader, and I'm often wrong.
Talk to your advisors before making any investment decisions.

Rockram

Postby Rockram » April 7th, 2023, 8:34 pm

Seeing UCL paying a healthy dividend $2.80.

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2023, 10:38 pm

good thing i never dumped them

Postby DVSTT » April 24th, 2023, 7:32 am

I see NGL making news again.........

Postby pugboy » April 24th, 2023, 8:32 am

what was the news?

what allyuh think about the ifrs17 changes to financial reporting this year?

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2023, 6:43 am

guardian group record a profit decline of 68%
blaming ifrs17
some in the industry say it bring to light a lot of the book cooking going on before

snatman

Postby snatman » May 24th, 2023, 11:28 am

something of an upheaval in the local market.

Local banks are all trending down. Could that be due to a fallout from the US banking sector issues?

Jamaica companies are in a slow freefall. NCBFG and JMMB might not recover til 2024, if so early.

NGL is down from a recent high of $23 to ~$18
Not too long ago Witco was in the mid 30s, now its ~$13

UCL is holding price for now, but that should go down to around $10 after the dividend is paid. If i was a holder, i woulda sell out.

I'm holding my PHL tight, it looks to be a safe haven right now.

But allyuh know the truism - the stock market is an early predictor of economic downturns!
As if things could even get worse

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2023, 12:09 pm

people ready to press the panic button with ncb

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 22nd, 2023, 9:28 pm

To me, the best bet right now is NGL

They have not released their year-end results, which ended in March .

They usually declared final dividend at the same time. Last year was 50 cents but they did better in the First 3 quarters Also in August they usually declare a second dividend

Buy and enjoy the ride

Postby pugboy » July 22nd, 2023, 10:57 pm

I hope so, I holding a bunch through the ups and the downs and ups again

PariaMan wrote:To me, the best bet right now is NGL

They usually declared final dividend at the same time. Last year was 50 cents but they did better in the First 3 quarters Also in August they usually declare a second dividend

Buy and enjoy the ride

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 24th, 2023, 9:09 am

Doh worry, you good to go, that's a sure thing. Money to be made
pugboy wrote:I hope so, I holding a bunch through the ups and the downs and ups again

Buy and enjoy the ride

snatman

Postby snatman » July 24th, 2023, 9:30 am

NGL year-end actually was actually in Dec 22.
They've had to go to the stock exchange twice to get permission to delay publishing- due to an extended audit of PPGPL.

Right now, two sets of financial results are overdue. And the 3rd set - 1/2 year - is typically released mid august.
So this has some traders a lil nervous, along with low gas prices and the recent PPGPL maintenance shutdown. Hence the price going from ~23 to ~17

There should be around $1 in combined dividends though, so we'll see how that plays out.

NCBFG will probably see $5 EOY once dividends - however miniscule - is restarted.

Happy trading.

Buy and enjoy the ride

Postby pugboy » July 24th, 2023, 9:59 am

ncb under pressure right now to appease

originalbling

Postby originalbling » July 24th, 2023, 10:51 am

Brydens now owned by the Jamaicans and will be publicly listed by year's end.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 24th, 2023, 12:24 pm

Deserve a try with that ipo?
originalbling wrote:Brydens now owned by the Jamaicans and will be publicly listed by year's end.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 24th, 2023, 12:35 pm

Correct about year ending . I was looking at when the report usually comes out at the end of March.

Profits at the end of September was 165 million for the nine months, which was 31 million over the previous year's nine month period

Logical to me to mean that the year end will be good as well

Looking at the prices, it seems to have dropped when the news of the delay was announced.

If a dividend of 1.00 is declared, the price will go up substantially

People buy at 18 and you will do well by the time the results are declared on August 13th
snatman wrote:NGL year-end actually was actually in Dec 22.
They've had to go to the stock exchange twice to get permission to delay publishing- due to an extended audit of PPGPL.

Right now, two sets of financial results are overdue. And the 3rd set - 1/2 year - is typically released mid august.
So this has some traders a lil nervous, along with low gas prices and the recent PPGPL maintenance shutdown. Hence the price going from ~23 to ~17

There should be around $1 in combined dividends though, so we'll see how that plays out.

NCBFG will probably see $5 EOY once dividends - however miniscule - is restarted.

Happy trading.

Buy and enjoy the ride

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 24th, 2023, 12:49 pm

The first delay was announced on 31st March. The price then was 20 by April 13 it was down to 18.79 .

On May 24 a next delay was announced it was 18.94 by June 16th it reached a low of 17.85

For me, it's clear that the main issue for the drop in price was the delay in results

Buy now, and you will get both a healthy dividend and capital growth

originalbling

Postby originalbling » July 24th, 2023, 1:53 pm

PariaMan wrote:Deserve a try with that ipo?
originalbling wrote:Brydens now owned by the Jamaicans and will be publicly listed by year's end.

Maybe, just factor in that they took a usd60mil loan to help finance the acquisition and last years dividend was JA 0.50c per share

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 24th, 2023, 1:58 pm

Guess we will have to wait to see the prospectus and hear what Bourse says about it as well

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 27th, 2023, 10:29 am

Good performance from nfm.

Screenshot_20230727_102854_Samsung%20Notes.jpg

snatman

Postby snatman » August 3rd, 2023, 10:04 am

Trading volumes have completely collapsed over the last couple weeks.
Very unsual!
I wonder what's up with that??