SUVs Are Drinking All The Gas Fuel Efficient Cars Are Saving // Discuss

NarendZORCE

SUVs Are Drinking All The Gas Fuel Efficient Cars Are Saving // Discuss

Postby NarendZORCE » October 17th, 2019, 12:35 am

What do you all think? True or not true?

Re: SUVs Are Drinking All The Gas Fuel Efficient Cars Are Saving // Discuss

Postby aaron17 » October 17th, 2019, 3:28 am

Suvs are heavy, inefficient ( even though it gets more mpg as technology progresses, less aerodynamic.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 17th, 2019, 4:41 am

daz for small totie men and women who like to sit one big ting. it pretty much pointless as it too big to get the job done. big van big on the outside and small on the inside. rite in guyana they have the toyota tundra and it big inside and out. suv the same with no trunk space. them is like a lil hatchback on 40 inch rims. the point is to get from point A to point B. is a vehicle value$30000 or a vehicle $300000 yuh go still reach so what is d point ?

No_Name

Postby No_Name » October 17th, 2019, 5:31 am

A long standing issue in my mind and convos at times...

Now in addition to valid points above, Vigo & Navara spaceships Etc...
1) these vehicles utilize diesel fuel, termed "gas/oil" by refinery workers. As it plainly suggests, gasoline fuel with oil additives. So, most of these vehicles carry their muffler angled towards the roadway for emission reasons, what goes in will come out basically. Ever noticed when rain falls, the colouration of the water in the lowered part of the asphalt where the wheels frequent, especially on the highways? Slippery when wet...

2) tho I understand the reason for choice or personal taste of SUV consumers, these same vehicles are mostly registered as "T" in T&T, signifying Goods vehicle. Basically, if yr proposed purchase or asset does not add value to the nation via goods and services & registered "T", ideally one should have paid more in taxes/duties upon registration/purchase seeing that yuh jus wa it fuh style...

3) & yea, dey take up too much damn space on the roadways, in addition to the drivers who utilize such vehicles as a form of Power Control on the Nation's roadways at the cost of others lives...

Postby maj. tom » October 17th, 2019, 6:41 am

8-) 8-)

Postby Ben_spanna » October 17th, 2019, 7:39 am

Many families almost live in their suv due to their location, they wake up in darkness, eat breakfast on the way to school and get ready in the car and by the time kids extra classes end its night time, all their bags, clothes and personal belongings are in that suv, it would be almost unimaginable to have them try to function in a small compact car.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 17th, 2019, 8:07 am

I thought gas oil was kerosene. Diesel have heavier fractions than that.

SUVs do burn more fuel. Trade off is that they are generally safer due to visibility; both for the driver and of the vehicle. They do carry more than cars (cause for whatever reason station wagons have been phased out locally). More ground clearance which is helpful if you have to navigate areas that flash flood. Easier to get in and out of for some disabled persons.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 17th, 2019, 8:14 am

maybe we need more Hybrid SUV's?, japan seems to have so many Hybrid models in all makes, Trinidad needs to lobby for these as new alternatives.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 17th, 2019, 8:41 am

kamakazi wrote:I thought gas oil was kerosene. Diesel have heavier fractions than that.

SUVs do burn more fuel. Trade off is that they are generally safer due to visibility; both for the driver and of the vehicle. They do carry more than cars (cause for whatever reason station wagons have been phased out locally). More ground clearance which is helpful if you have to navigate areas that flash flood. Easier to get in and out of for some disabled persons.

What about the person behind them in a normal car that can't see anything in front, and can't even see through their vehicle glass because it too high. It good for the SUV man, but suffers the others

Postby sMASH » October 17th, 2019, 8:42 am

we need to get some people to chip up and pay for gas, then ask them to find 4 more people to chip up for gas, and then ask them to find 4 more people each to chip up for gas, and in 5 years, we could afford to buy gas for the mercedes benz.

cryotec

Postby cryotec » October 17th, 2019, 8:52 am

"how about a green tax which progressively gets larger the more fuel inefficient a vehicle is" imbert, propbably

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 17th, 2019, 9:27 am

Kronik wrote:
kamakazi wrote:I thought gas oil was kerosene. Diesel have heavier fractions than that.

What about the person behind them in a normal car that can't see anything in front, and can't even see through their vehicle glass because it too high. It good for the SUV man, but suffers the others
If they can't see anything in front they are following too closely. Never really made it a problem... Look under and around and stop tailgating.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 17th, 2019, 9:31 am

Fuel efficiency is great but we are lacking far more in the road and transport infrastructure department. There is waaaay too much traffic caused by too many cars on too little roads. We need better public transport, HOV lanes and to encourage carpooling to improve overall efficiency.

Taking an hour longer during rush hour traffic than it usually takes to the same destination is insane, especially on such a small island. Most cars only have the driver in it.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 17th, 2019, 9:39 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Fuel efficiency is great but we are lacking far more in the road and transport infrastructure department. There is waaaay too much traffic caused by too many cars on too little roads. We need better public transport, HOV lanes and to encourage carpooling to improve overall efficiency.

Taking an hour longer during rush hour traffic than it usually takes to the same destination is insane, especially on such a small island. Most cars only have the driver in it.

Will you use it (Carpooling and Public Transport) ?
In most discussions on this the current drivers want those things so it can clear up the roads for them to continue to drive but with less traffic than before.

Postby pete » October 17th, 2019, 9:43 am

First step should be to implement measures to make public transport faster than driving. Segregated bus lanes that normal cars cant get onto. Then ban cars from certain streets in the cities and allow buses to move freely on those.

Of course, if it becomes more convenient to use P.T. than drive ya know what gonna happen to car sales. Especially if people start to only use their cars to go to the grocery etc.

link

Postby link » October 17th, 2019, 9:47 am

infrastructure & ROAD USE.........that's the key to maximising use of fuel
can u imagine 2 or 3 overpasses within 2 miles of each other ??? simply because Trinis have the 'I want to reach EXACTLY where I'm going"...even if it means illegally parking on the roadside or next to someones' private property/driveway/roadway...
a one-way road system in/around built-up areas will eliminate lane crossing/traffic lights & ensure smooth, continuous traffic flow & eliminate ,for example, the Wrightson Road horror ....
but, as I mentioned, if trini cyar drive 800m to the access road to the overpass............build ah nex one......aka Curepe overpass & the announced UWI overpass........ :?

abbow

Postby abbow » October 17th, 2019, 10:34 am

^^ you are right........typical "throw money at it, and hope it goes away" mentality

These days im going the long route from Rousillac, through Fyzo, San Francique, Woodland, HW to claxton bay, then through Pheonix Park to Pt lisas to avoid the horrors on the creek....

Do you think that is right given the amount of years we have been told the creek getting fixed....?
Last edited by abbow on October 17th, 2019, 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 17th, 2019, 10:35 am

BAck fill that entire area after sea lots and construct a Massive Transport hub that will service the entire POS area and environs, new overass so no more cars turning at lighthouse.
PArk and ride into the city or taxis, buses etc at this point. New road from Sealots before into transit and new exit out of redone existing city gate which will also be converted into parking.

Postby aaron17 » October 17th, 2019, 10:36 am

Tesla teases a new pickup...looks like a rectangle...its the future (blade runner)

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 17th, 2019, 10:48 am

NarendZORCE wrote:What do you all think? True or not true?

Depends on which perspective you're coming from.

Increasing numbers of fuel efficient cars will eventually offset the consumption, and the trend towards large SUV's with large motors are dwindling. It will be a long game tho
Manufacturers are now dropping the engine sizes across the board and using technology to increase efficiency and economy. Works out better for the consumer (less gas $$), and the environment (less fuel burned = less emissions)

Postby sMASH » October 17th, 2019, 11:14 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Image
BAck fill that entire area after sea lots and construct a Massive Transport hub that will service the entire POS area and environs, new overass so no more cars turning at lighthouse.
PArk and ride into the city or taxis, buses etc at this point. New road from Sealots before into transit and new exit out of redone existing city gate which will also be converted into parking.

ill do u one better; instead of major transport hub to bring people in, why not bring them and leave them there, never let them leave?
put the people who have to come from far, in housing close to the towns, so they save time, save money, u dont have to upgrade hundreds of kilometers of roads around the country, u dont need to get thousands of vehicles to shuttle them in, and back.

what u do, is u make varied hosusing options. not houses but high rise, high quality living spaces. from single bedroom to 4 bed room for families. u pup play parks with day cares/ early childhood centers, and primary schools, and health centers etc. just like hdc developments all over but with high rise buildings. sumting like edinghbourough 500. where u have mass transits like small maxis the major transport in and out, to the city. u dont put many car park spaces, cause the idea is, to keep using mass transits, at least to for the day to day movements.

i was thinking to get rid of beetham and lavantille to do that. but that woudl be expensive to move them and complicated as u would have to make places for them to move out TO. backfilling there might actually be simpler. and u could leave the beethamites to do their business.

but this whole thread was really to distract away from the bump of the pyramid thread. look how much establishment accounts jump out to prop it.

Postby maj. tom » October 17th, 2019, 12:42 pm

doh worry, that's PNM Vision 2230. Just 250 more years of Red&Ready.

Postby adnj » October 17th, 2019, 12:47 pm

Car-based SUVs that are near the top of the line from Porsche, Honda, Toyota, GM, etc., can be rated very safe.
Nearly all pickups manufactured receive crash worthiness ratings of "marginal" or worse. The only exception is the Honda SUV-derivative Ridgeline pickup.

SUV and pickups facts:
Have a more commanding view of the road due to driver position and ride height.
Are more likely to cripple or kill pedestrians because of ride height.
Are more likely to be involved in collisions than passenger cars for drivers of the same age group.
Have drivers that are more often classified as "aggressive."
Heavier vehicles inflict more damage during collisions with lighter vehicles.
Heavier vehicles are subjected to greater forces during collisions with fixed barriers.
Pickups and SUVs are more prone to roll over and handling error.

frydry

Postby frydry » October 17th, 2019, 1:47 pm

sMASH wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:Image

ill do u one better; instead of major transport hub to bring people in, why not bring them and leave them there, never let them leave?
put the people who have to come from far, in housing close to the towns, so they save time, save money, u dont have to upgrade hundreds of kilometers of roads around the country, u dont need to get thousands of vehicles to shuttle them in, and back.

what u do, is u make varied hosusing options. not houses but high rise, high quality living spaces. from single bedroom to 4 bed room for families. u pup play parks with day cares/ early childhood centers, and primary schools, and health centers etc. just like hdc developments all over but with high rise buildings. sumting like edinghbourough 500. where u have mass transits like small maxis the major transport in and out, to the city. u dont put many car park spaces, cause the idea is, to keep using mass transits, at least to for the day to day movements.

i was thinking to get rid of beetham and lavantille to do that. but that woudl be expensive to move them and complicated as u would have to make places for them to move out TO. backfilling there might actually be simpler. and u could leave the beethamites to do their business.

but this whole thread was really to distract away from the bump of the pyramid thread. look how much establishment accounts jump out to prop it.

I like that idea very much to keep people close to their daily activities but will the resulting housing be affordable?

Postby Redman » October 17th, 2019, 2:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Fuel efficiency is great but we are lacking far more in the road and transport infrastructure department. There is waaaay too much traffic caused by too many cars on too little roads. We need better public transport, HOV lanes and to encourage carpooling to improve overall efficiency.

Will you use it (Carpooling and Public Transport) ?
In most discussions on this the current drivers want those things so it can clear up the roads for them to continue to drive but with less traffic than before.

We should just use the Gulf of Paria- run a serious organized and well run water taxi service-scalable, cheap and re taskable.

If we reduce the Point Sando POS traffic we can probably reduce the volume on the roads sufficiently to ease the EW corridors access and egress.

We have a crappy history building roads.

I dont know why we aint using the sea to our advantage-oupr population is largely on the West Coast-a sheltered bay with predictable conditions.

Hovercraft,Ferries and sea planes/flying boats for the Bago run should all be assessed.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 17th, 2019, 2:47 pm

No need to worry about extra fuel $$$ when I be making tones of extra cash from my side hustle trading forex

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » October 17th, 2019, 5:54 pm

maj. tom wrote:8-) 8-)
:lol: :lol: :lol: On point sir!

Postby sMASH » October 17th, 2019, 6:17 pm

speedmelter wrote:No need to worry about extra fuel $$$ when I be making tones of extra cash from my side hustle trading forex

destraction, successful, SIR!!!

Postby MG Man » October 17th, 2019, 6:22 pm

NarendZORCE wrote:What do you all think? True or not true?

oh lord, post de link to de article nah

Postby Rovin » October 17th, 2019, 6:39 pm

this topic cud hit 10 pages with ease but in d end nothing gonna change by d powers that be or by d public drivers\consumers ....