Express say i cyar share meh PDF newspaper that I pay for....

Postby Monk BANzai » October 30th, 2019, 3:04 pm

KEYBOARD LAWYERS!!!

ah know allyuh in here is bantons of everything....LEGAL BANTONS!!! ALLYUH!!! LEMME HEAR ALLYUH!!

so this hit we daily bacchanal Tuner Whatsapp group....

NOTICE
Unauthorised PDF copies of the EXPRESS newspaper are being shared on social media , particularly among certain WhatsApp community groups.
Please note that unauthorised duplication and distribution of the EXPRESS newspaper and all of its other publications in any form is illegal and in breach of the Copyright Act 1997 under which the maximum penalty for copyright infringement is $250,000 or ten years imprisonment.
The copyright holder - Trinidad Express Newspapers - has the exclusive right to grant copyright permission and no other entity.
The EXPRESS is acting against this unauthorised and illegal action and has formally filed a complaint with the police Cybercrime Unit.

Key phrase - Copyright Act of 1997. *snickers ...20 yr old legislation to deal with modern challenges

Is this the same as saying "Ah could buy a Playboy but I cyar share it with meh pardners in class?" allyuh koreck me please and thanks....

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Re: Express say i cyar share meh PDF newspaper that I pay for....

Postby SR » October 30th, 2019, 3:14 pm

So after yuh buy yuh papers yuh cyar lend ah nex man to read either??

Asking for a friend as they does have papers in the waiting room for customer to read

Postby Monk BANzai » October 30th, 2019, 3:17 pm

SR wrote:So after yuh buy yuh papers yuh cyar lend ah nex man to read either??

Asking for a friend as they does have papers in the waiting room for customer to read

hoss.. i killing myself with the implications.... but leh we hear from the lawyists n dem.... less our mirth is in vain...

Postby pete » October 30th, 2019, 3:27 pm

Once ya have no snitch in the group ya safe.

Postby maj. tom » October 30th, 2019, 3:27 pm

You worse than dem bandit and good boys. Just now yuh go cause the 1% to complain again and bawl for a next online tax, which Inbret probably already scheming for October 2020.

P.S. Express could haul dey red and white mc though. Shittiest locked down website, just close that tab and read other news sources. I mustbe begging for dey dotish journalism and stolen crossword puzzles when the Guardian, Newsday, Loop and CNC3 giving me all the free news content i care to obtain online.

Postby hydroep » October 30th, 2019, 3:45 pm

Worked in the book industry when the discussion about electronic texts was in it's infancy. Basically it worked similar to software, you would buy a single user licence.

No different really to records/CDs and other similar media. I think you were/are allowed to make one backup copy of the media but that's it, no sharing allowed.

Now whether or not they could enforce that is another question...:|

Postby sMASH » October 30th, 2019, 3:56 pm

put it for u dog to mess on.
what ever u click 'yes' to in the end user license agreement, should be what ever they are able to come at u at.

unless it have like a statute of limitations on the copy right.

i not sure if u could rename a pdf... (never really had to do that in the past). and send that pdf to u padnah.

Postby The_Honourable » October 30th, 2019, 4:10 pm

lol with loopholes in that copyright law specially in 2019, good luck express :lol:

Only way they can catch you is if the put a different code (or your outright name, account number, etc on the side or bottom) on the pdf that is assigned to your account. Every subscriber will have a different code so when you download the pdf, the code is there where it can be hidden or seen when you open it.

So once you share it...

Postby aaron17 » October 30th, 2019, 4:35 pm

Guardian like that too?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 30th, 2019, 7:36 pm

No need to share a pdf.

Copy and paste the URL of the paywalled article into outline.com

You're welcome.

Postby paid_influencer » October 30th, 2019, 8:18 pm

express is lucky. In the rest of the internet, you have to pay for google ads and hire SEO experts to get traffic. and your revenue stream is jack sh- unless you get some sweetheart sponsorship deals.

I would love if I could put out a PDF every day and have that shared massively online. Especially when corporations and government entities give me millions of dollars every month to run ads in it.

but law is law, and them not greedy, they just want more money. like blood from a stone

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 30th, 2019, 8:35 pm

Express personals available online though. Why is the pdf version necessary?

Postby zoom rader » October 30th, 2019, 10:06 pm

Fake rass, I told you all to stop buying PNM/1% media rubbish .

Stop giving them your money

Postby wagonrunner » October 30th, 2019, 11:41 pm

wording is important.

MS couldnt get enough protection against multiple copies of same software installed.
now we are in the era of software as a service. :|

if the express sold you a copy of a pdf, no worries.
if the express sold you limited access to their publication in pdf form, hang in tight.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 31st, 2019, 11:59 am

wagonrunner wrote:wording is important.

MS couldnt get enough protection against multiple copies of same software installed.
now we are in the era of software as a service. :|

if the express sold you a copy of a pdf, no worries.
if the express sold you limited access to their publication in pdf form, hang in tight.

hmmmm....

Postby Gem_in_i » October 31st, 2019, 1:33 pm

I think the Guardian had said something similar. They stopped sharing all newspapers on the whatsapp group I in

Postby 16 cycles » October 31st, 2019, 1:59 pm

Local journalism is a joke...would be interesting to see how much govt contributes to bottom line for media..

Postby zoom rader » October 31st, 2019, 2:29 pm

16 cycles wrote:Local journalism is a joke...would be interesting to see how much govt contributes to bottom line for media..
The PNM and 1% control the media bro. They all a joke , I stopped buying propaganda media about 10 years now. My money is well saved

Postby rspann » October 31st, 2019, 2:35 pm

You could wrap fish with the papers when you finish read it?

Postby 16 cycles » October 31st, 2019, 2:43 pm

rspann wrote:You could wrap fish with the papers when you finish read it?

Once you take out the eyes from the fish so they can't read the papers - you safe..

Postby Dizzy28 » October 31st, 2019, 2:45 pm

16 cycles wrote:

Once you take out the eyes from the fish so they can't read the papers - you safe..

Bruh!!!!

Deceased

Postby wagonrunner » October 31st, 2019, 7:24 pm

16 cycles wrote:

excellent response. lol

Postby zoom rader » October 31st, 2019, 7:25 pm

More like latrine paper since its pnm/1% backed

Postby hydroep » October 31st, 2019, 7:43 pm

Even with all the fake news online you still getting better info. from social media these days...:|

Postby MaxPower » October 31st, 2019, 8:14 pm

Trinidad and Tobago newspapers are unimportant.

MSN and BBC is more like it.

Postby RedVEVO » November 1st, 2019, 3:00 am

Papers have plenty lie , lie y more lie ..

If you quote and use maybe down the road somebody get vex y will sue the papers ..

Some unknown rapper have a song and Kate Perry use it .. She have to pay him 3 M (USD)

So use what is yours and leave people stuff alone ..

Postby zoom rader » November 1st, 2019, 7:00 am

MaxPower wrote:Trinidad and Tobago newspapers are unimportant.

MSN and BBC is more like it.

Trini media houses is just and extension of the PNM bro.

Stop wasting money buying their crap

cryotec

Postby cryotec » November 1st, 2019, 1:03 pm

does this really surprise you considering that sharing software that you pay for is illegal too.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 1st, 2019, 1:56 pm

IMHO, the Express management should try to implement things the way management should. We are well past the first exploitation of portable document formats and if Express wants to charge a price for something that they want us to read, because their ads need an audience, as someone said before, the internet is full of ad free, free, good, information. You just need to have a little common sense to filter facts from fiction.
I was told by a UWI professor that the reason newspapers are not free is to prevent people from littering, the newspaper makes their money from advertising.
One last point, if they don’t want us to distribute, they should pay someone to develop a reader for them with a unique file format and charge for the software use...... like most “businesses” in Trinidad and Tobago, they want something for nothing but are not prepared to do so in return

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » November 1st, 2019, 3:06 pm

cryotec wrote:does this really surprise you considering that sharing software that you pay for is illegal too.

you don't buy software, you buy a license to use the software which is governed by terms that explicitly prevent unauthorized duplication or multiple installs etc. Read your EULA for your paid software next time if you doubt me.