Energy Policy-Why Not Nuclear Power for TnT?

Postby Redman » November 1st, 2019, 7:25 am

Molten Salt Reactors have been around since the 60s- and we are soon(5-10 years) to be able to buy a MSM/LFTR plant using Thorium as feedstock to supply all our electricity needs-coming off Hydrocarbons
Maybe the discussion needs to start now.
MSM/LFTR plants are

Massively more efficient than Heavy Water-using more of the fuel and wasting less.
Less waste-10% in terms of volume.
Smaller footprint
Can be integrated to desalinate water as well-There is sufficient excess energy to add on a desal plant.
Thorium is in abundant supply- no cartel/OPEC.
India and CHina are pressing forward and making big strides while there are about 10 startup companies pursuing commercialization of different strands of the tech.

Re: Energy Policy-Why Not Nuclear Power for TnT?

Postby Monk BANzai » November 1st, 2019, 8:09 am

discussions have been ongoing.... the issue is security within a country that has shown it can, at a drop of a doubles channa, turn on its head.... plus the location to US's good good friend Venezuela...

Just this week talking with a contractor who has a vital piece of equipment for a Robotics project being held by US Border Patrol until they can ascertain if the piece is not a threat should Venez invade TnT...

And that is just Robotics....Nuclear?....lulz...not until the regions relationship with Papa Trump changes....

smh.....

Have a look at this while you at it... not Nuclear.... but ground breaking nonetheless... imagine the blockade WASA will put up to have these in our country...

Postby Slartibartfast » November 1st, 2019, 8:39 am

Why not wind and solar? Right now our main problem is distribution, not production. Wind and solar have much smaller startup costs. Can be scaled/ upgraded accordingly to increase capacity. Can be installed all over so that we have have a decentralised supply and reduce the distribution problems that we have right now. Both wind and solar have been increasing in efficiency and going down in cost over the past couple decades. Why bother with nuclear?

Postby Monk BANzai » November 1st, 2019, 8:41 am

Slartibartfast wrote:Why not wind and solar? Right now our main problem is distribution, not production. Wind and solar have much smaller startup costs. Can be scaled/ upgraded accordingly to increase capacity. Can be installed all over so that we have have a decentralised supply and reduce the distribution problems that we have right now. Both wind and solar have been increasing in efficiency and going down in cost over the past couple decades. Why bother with nuclear?

the ANSA group has invested heavily in a wind energy project in Pamana... not sure if for self gain or to recreate here.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 1st, 2019, 8:55 am

From the guardian yesterday

Energy Minister Franklin Khan has warned that the country will be paying for electricity it cannot use when it gets power from a world-scale renewable plant by 2021.

Speaking in the Parliament during the recently concluded budget debate, the minister said it is not economically viable to implement renewable energy in T&T at this time because we currently produce surplus power that we have to pay millions of dollars a month for.

He said the country is in this current predicament because the a proposed aluminium smelter was scrapped in 2010 when the Kamla Persad-Bissessar-led People’s Partnership Government was voted into office.

Khan said this was a perfect example of why continuation of policy is so important when it comes to governance.

“We were going to build an aluminium smelter, a new source of revenue for this country in foreign exchange the Chinese got the contract,” Khan said.

With the smelter expected to come on board, Khan said the government put certain things in place to prepare for its construction.

“We built the most modern electricity generation plant at La Brea the TGU (Trinidad Generation Unlimited) plant with a capacity of 730 megawatts,” Khan said.

When the People’s Partnership came into office and scrapped the smelter this caused the country to remain burdened with the surplus power, he said.

“When the UNC came into office in 2010 they scrapped it but we were saddled with 730 megawatts of power that we could not use and to make matters worse it was way down in La Brea and there was no sub station to transmit that power to the North which is the big user,” he said.

T&T still had to pay for the surplus energy though because of a take or pay contract.

“But when you have independent power producers there is something called a ‘take or pay contract’ because they would not put down a power plant without a contract to sell the power,” he said.

This bill amounted to millions of dollars, Khan said.

“When we took office in 2015 T&TEC was paying TGU $45 million a month for unused power,”

Khan said.

Khan said this bill was reduced be almost $20 million, he said.

“Thank God we hustled and finished the Gandhi Village substation so a lot of that power could now come to the North the bill has been reduced to approximately $25 million per month,” he said.

“What that means is the country has a generating capacity of 1,750 megawatts but it is only using 1,350 megawatts there is a 400 megawatt surplus that we have to pay for,” Khan said.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » November 1st, 2019, 9:03 am

Chernobyl: T&T edition

Postby hydroep » November 1st, 2019, 9:18 am

vaiostation wrote:Chernobyl: T&T edition

Was thinking the same. If an accident were to happen here where would evacuees go, how much of the country would be rendered uninhabitable and for how long?

A proponent once told me that we live with risk everyday and used as his example the "fallout" should an explosion occur at the P-a-P refinery. Chalk and cheese IMO...:|

Postby Redman » November 1st, 2019, 9:38 am

MSR/LFTRS do not require the pressurized system that Heavy water reactors do.
So the systems are walk away safe-since 1960s.

In terms of Solar/Wind you cant build a grid on the back bone of S/W due to the low density-No breeze/night thing.Peak loads occur when everyone reaches home at night-without storage which is expensive and consumes space.

Postby sMASH » November 1st, 2019, 9:53 am

the initial cost will be expensive. the method to decommission it would be an issue. we dont have a big enough energy market to justify that expensive, technical technology. same ting like ptsc and vemcott, they keep getting different models, so that the maintenance doesnt benefit from the economies of scale. we woudl have to invest heavily in expertise and equipmetn to install, and maintain that technology.

the problem is not really the maintenance, but really the failures. the severity would be too much if it suffers a failure. and the fact that its a unique technlogy, means we would not have the expertise to deal with it at any stage.

if u know to fix engine, dont try to rewire a motor. and dont spend a pound and a crown to learn how to rewire ONE motor.

and we dont need to , we have enough gas to go the distance and other renewable sources a lot simpler to work with and implement.

Postby Redman » November 1st, 2019, 10:21 am

Much of the concerns raised are addressed in the vids.
And are based on the issues surrounding traditional Reactors.

The question of carbon emissions - also a real challenge in keeping the NG route.

If we looking at 50-100+ years and we need the energy and more-this can be a zero carbon source.

Postby Monk BANzai » November 1st, 2019, 10:23 am

PariaMan wrote:From the guardian yesterday

Energy Minister Franklin Khan has warned that the country will be paying for electricity it cannot use when it gets power from a world-scale renewable plant by 2021.

Speaking in the Parliament during the recently concluded budget debate, the minister said it is not economically viable to implement renewable energy in T&T at this time because we currently produce surplus power that we have to pay millions of dollars a month for.

He said the country is in this current predicament because the a proposed aluminium smelter was scrapped in 2010 when the Kamla Persad-Bissessar-led People’s Partnership Government was voted into office.

Khan said this was a perfect example of why continuation of policy is so important when it comes to governance.

“We were going to build an aluminium smelter, a new source of revenue for this country in foreign exchange the Chinese got the contract,” Khan said.

With the smelter expected to come on board, Khan said the government put certain things in place to prepare for its construction.

“We built the most modern electricity generation plant at La Brea the TGU (Trinidad Generation Unlimited) plant with a capacity of 730 megawatts,” Khan said.

When the People’s Partnership came into office and scrapped the smelter this caused the country to remain burdened with the surplus power, he said.

“When the UNC came into office in 2010 they scrapped it but we were saddled with 730 megawatts of power that we could not use and to make matters worse it was way down in La Brea and there was no sub station to transmit that power to the North which is the big user,” he said.

T&T still had to pay for the surplus energy though because of a take or pay contract.

“But when you have independent power producers there is something called a ‘take or pay contract’ because they would not put down a power plant without a contract to sell the power,” he said.

This bill amounted to millions of dollars, Khan said.

“When we took office in 2015 T&TEC was paying TGU $45 million a month for unused power,”

Khan said.

Khan said this bill was reduced be almost $20 million, he said.

“Thank God we hustled and finished the Gandhi Village substation so a lot of that power could now come to the North the bill has been reduced to approximately $25 million per month,” he said.

“What that means is the country has a generating capacity of 1,750 megawatts but it is only using 1,350 megawatts there is a 400 megawatt surplus that we have to pay for,” Khan said.

but but...lol....

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2019, 10:27 am

I shudder to think about it.
Corner cutting during design, build and operation.
Poor maintenance.
Shoddy or improper disposal of nuclear waste can F**K the entire country by contaminating our freshwater for generations

We don't have the geography to support it.
I prefer the renewable energy push

Postby Monk BANzai » November 1st, 2019, 10:29 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Poor maintenance.
Shoddy or improper disposal of nuclear waste can F**K the entire country by contaminating our freshwater for generations

nah... i think the Design and build would be world class.... re: TGU. The operation tho.... they should introduce AI operation.

Postby redmanjp » November 1st, 2019, 10:32 am

the Big One (massive overdue earthquake that we have been repeatedly warned about) would surely cause meltdown and because we are a small island d whole country go be uninhabitable for decades!

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2019, 10:35 am

Monk BANzai wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Poor maintenance.

nah... i think the Design and build would be world class.... re: TGU. The operation tho.... they should introduce AI operation.

OK, I'll concede that the design and build can be outsourced to competent third parties. Still fraid the other parts.

Postby Redman » November 1st, 2019, 10:37 am

A)The possibility of melt down as you guys are worried about is zero
b)There are companies that would be able to Build and hand over.

Postby sMASH » November 1st, 2019, 11:01 am

Redman wrote:A)The possibility of melt down as you guys are worried about is zero
b)There are companies that would be able to Build and hand over.

they would have to build and keep it. no hand over. take total responsiblity for maintenance of the radioactive section. total responsibility, of at least that portion.
steam and electricity we could handle, the radioactivity part,,, hell no.

Postby maj. tom » November 1st, 2019, 11:05 am

Trinidad can't even recycle plastic bottles, but yuh want us to have a nuclear reactor?

Concerns are security, acquiring, transporting and handling the fissionable material, who going to run it? We have people educated here in nuclear physics and nuclear engineering, or are we going to import all the workers who need to be qualified to the IAEA standards of education and experience? Nuclear reactors are just way more complicated than you want to imagine. Cost of building a modern reactor is disgusting enough in the EU/USA, so don't even start on how much it will cost here.

Then safety. Disasters do happen. Hurricane, earthquake. Fukushima was built to account for extreme conditions, yet it went wrong. Nuclear disasters usually occur due to cascade events, not just one incident or fault. That's what happened at Fukushima and Chernobyl and Three-Mile Island. And those are only the big ones you have heard about. There have been 99 nuclear incidents globally since 1952. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_n ... by_country
Are you saying that Trinidad can handle any single one of those incidents on that list? Like a simple "Iodine-131 release in the environment" (Belgium 2008). Even if a simple incident occurs "Fire on a primary pump of the second reactor, followed by a small radioactive leak into the containment" (France 2017), how do you think the public will react to it? Nuclear + incident = easy to cause severe panic and breakdown of the social structure in an unstable, strained developing country. Who going to maintain law and order in such an event? Look how Trinidad reacted to the 1990 coup, the country was in shambles.

When nuclear events do occur, the consequences are way more drastic and long lasting. We have to wait another 100 years before they can start dismantling Reactor 4 at Chernobyl. Pripyat is a disaster zone for 30, 000 years. Then what about the waste? Bury it? Throw it in the ocean? What? Waste that will linger for 50, 000 years.

Then maintenance. PNM couldn't maintain a blasted meager railway network, in 30 years they will maintain a nuclear plant? It's not like Caroni or Petrotrin where they will just close it down. Nuclear power is just not a good option, especially for developing countries with no regulations and massive corruption. For f*ck's sake we don't even have Lemon Laws to protect us in the car industry.

Nuclear is not sustainable, not renewable, not environmentally friendly, not life friendly, and the waste is a big problem. Dams, wind and especially SOLAR are the future of energy production. Nuclear power was a baby boomer generation pipe dream that polluted the earth for 500 generations forward because they were selfish and could not foresee the the danger it posed to the future. Nuclear energy is reckless for the future. Because it's not us who will have to deal with the waste and cleanup. That is why nuclear power plants construction have just declined drastically over the last 30 years. There have been only about 5 built worldwide and ready to commission into the Grid. They are too complicated and the economics are a total loss for the future, simply because of the cost of cleaning up the waste when it is decommissioned.
https://theconversation.com/the-demise- ... arts-98817

Postby Redman » November 1st, 2019, 11:26 am

Nice article-wrong tech.

Again the MSR tech is inherently safe-the info is out there.
The MSR use up their fuel more than conventional reactors-so the volume of waste is reduced-80-90% and its radioactivityis lower since the process makes more efficient use.

What we need is to get past the pre conceived notions demonstrated above-

If as we say we running out of gas/oil then we will be in a position that we have no FUEL to generate elec.

In 2017, Trinidad and Tobago’s proven gas reserves were estimated at 300 bcm (10.6 tcf) and the country produced around 33.8 bcm (1.19 tcf) of gas.

If we thinking about 50-100 years we need more.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 1st, 2019, 12:09 pm

In unrelated news, Jamaica has a 51MW solar farm.
http://newenergyevents.com/jamaicas-51- ... perations/

Postby teems1 » November 1st, 2019, 12:15 pm

Do we have the need for huge investment/risk considering our total output?

Last time I checked, we produced around 1100 MW.

250 MW to Arecelor Mittal, 200 MW to TCL and another 300-400 MW to the remainder of industries.

Domestic use accounts for approx 125-200 MW

Now that Arcelor Mittal is mothballed, we surely don't need that much more energy.

Postby redmanjp » November 1st, 2019, 12:38 pm

Redman wrote:Nice article-wrong tech.

Again the MSR tech is inherently safe-the info is out there.
The MSR use up their fuel more than conventional reactors-so the volume of waste is reduced-80-90% and its radioactivityis lower since the process makes more efficient use.

What we need is to get past the pre conceived notions demonstrated above-

If as we say we running out of gas/oil then we will be in a position that we have no FUEL to generate elec.

In 2017, Trinidad and Tobago’s proven gas reserves were estimated at 300 bcm (10.6 tcf) and the country produced around 33.8 bcm (1.19 tcf) of gas.

If we thinking about 50-100 years we need more.

it only safe in a first world non banana republic nation which is not awaiting a huge catastrophic quake

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » November 1st, 2019, 2:06 pm

We can name it Trinobyl Limited

Postby maj. tom » November 1st, 2019, 2:57 pm

It does not matter the technology. A nuclear accident of any magnitude is unforgiving. Fukushima was the safest reactor in the world until something happens through a cascade of unforeseeable events. The remnants of any nuclear incident has consequences many generations down. It does not matter what marketing they are using to sell nuclear fission technology. They are all the same at the end of the day. On the other hand Deepwater Horizon has left nothing. It's cleaned. Bacteria is now consuming any remnants of oil that was left anywhere. Within 20 years beaches affected by an oil spill would clean themselves due to erosion and bacteria. Pripyat: 3,000 years!!! 30,000 years later radioactive isotopes are still going to be found in the area.

Nuclear energy is a dead end. It had promise for the baby boomer generation and that's because they didn't care about their kids futures. They have polluted this planet with radioactivity for many lifetimes. If we forgot about nuclear fission today and 5000 years in the future it's rediscovered then that civilization will arrive at the same conclusion we did: it seemed like a great promise of free energy upon discovery, but it turns out to be too dangerous to actually use. But think about 5000 years in the future they will discover the waste we dumped at the bottom of ocean trenches and buried miles underground, and millions of people start dying because of forgotten waste that will be there 100,000 years from now. (Plutonium-239 has a half-life of 24,000 years). Who will they blame and curse?

The only nuclear energy option would be to work toward sustaining fusion and antimatter sources. That kind of technology can only arise when we can tap into the seemingly unlimited solar energy to be able to get over the next energy hurdle to a greater power source. See the Kardashev scale.

Postby Redman » November 2nd, 2019, 6:40 am

Well yes Technology does matter.
ALL of the issues you raise are Gen 2 or 3 tech.
Fukishima is a DIFFERENT Tech.
That tech is a 1960s Solid Fuel Reactor design-that has always had inherent issues re pressure and cooling.
System failure=Pressure/Temp increase, out of control -it goes bang-as we see in the video-ventilating radio active material/gsses into the environment.
Despite all of that -no one died from the Nuclear accident-while hundreds died from the evacuation and thousands from the tsunami.(UN figures)

The MSRs solve your issues -being 2019 designs.

1)Operate at low/normal pressure-so there is NO risk of a pressure induced explosion even in total power loss.

2)Temperature-If for whatever reason the Temps increase beyond spec-there is an ice plug that melts draining ALL of the material into storage tanks that allow it to cool and irreversibly contain all radioactive material.
No venting.
No explosion

Some one drops a bomb-the Molten Salts would cool/contract and solidify -no further reaction would be happening.

3) Fukishima/Cherynobl/ and traditional Nuclear reactors tech uses less than 3% of the energy in the radio active material...and the rest is discarded as the radioactive waste that Maj Tom is referring to.
MSRs use more than 90%-Volume of wast generated falls to 10% volume.
That 10% volume is 90% less radioactive and less dangerous in terms of storage.
Factually MSRs can use all existing NUCLEAR waste, and consume it-leaving behind less volume and less radioactive material to store/dispose of.

Given todays tech..we have an abundance of Thorium worldwide-1000S of years worth all over the world.

So...SAFE(Fatalities per Twh less than ALL other types)
Abundant
No Green House gas emissions.

Definitively something worth researching and looking at without the preconceived notions

As to Cost....
https://www.terrestrialenergy.com/
Screen Shot 2019-11-02 at 6.30.25 AM.png

Postby teems1 » November 2nd, 2019, 7:26 am

We can't even have an efficient public transport system yet you want to introduce nuclear.

We need to learn how to crawl before we walk.

Postby Redman » November 2nd, 2019, 7:45 am

Well it eh want ....it more of a NEED
if it is our current usage means that NG is the bedrock that Business and Electricity Gen is built on...
And our current reserves are dwindling-we need a replacement.

What are the options?

Solar/Wind cant do the trick-and the jury is out wrt to cost,efficiency and surprisingly its actual all in impact on the environment.

If we accept that the pace of research and Dev in Solar/Wind means that we would likely solve those issues....how can we dismiss the fact that the same applies to Nuclear.

If what is published as fact regarding MSRs as a class.... we would have an abundant,safe,clean cost effective and LOCALLY supplied(possibly) source of fuel.

In in the next 2-5 decades-what could be more important?

matix

Postby matix » November 2nd, 2019, 7:47 am

That smelter really coming?

Postby sMASH » November 2nd, 2019, 10:42 pm

Redman wrote:Well it eh want ....it more of a NEED
if it is our current usage means that NG is the bedrock that Business and Electricity Gen is built on...
And our current reserves are dwindling-we need a replacement.

What are the options?

Solar/Wind cant do the trick-and the jury is out wrt to cost,efficiency and surprisingly its actual all in impact on the environment.

If we accept that the pace of research and Dev in Solar/Wind means that we would likely solve those issues....how can we dismiss the fact that the same applies to Nuclear.

If what is published as fact regarding MSRs as a class.... we would have an abundant,safe,clean cost effective and LOCALLY supplied(possibly) source of fuel.

In in the next 2-5 decades-what could be more important?
What dwindling the reserves is Atlantic lng.

It was good to boost the industry and treasury, but now, we should cut back conserve.

Postby Redman » November 6th, 2019, 7:03 am

Agreed Smash-establish where and how we get most value for every BBL and scf and direct the commodity there.

Get off the subsidized use of oil and gas- get a long term solution to power generation.

Every where else in the world cost effective power and quality education are the ways out of poverty.

A cost of 3cents USD per KW we should be looking and considering the facts.

ThorCon expects to be commercially available in 2025.
Indonesia is running with it.

http://staging.thorconpower.com/wp-cont ... Sheet7.pdf