We will survive!!

lalloboy101

We will survive!!

Postby lalloboy101 » November 21st, 2019, 12:00 pm

Islanders are more likely to survive apocalyptic events according to research done by the Society for Risk Analysis earlier this year.

And Trinidad and Tobago was named as one of 20 places scientists believe would survive the risk of human extinction by an extreme global pandemic.

The Society for Risk Analysis is a global academic society that has been conducting research on risk analysis for 38 years. In a publication in its flagship journal, Risk Analysis: An International Journal, scientists Matt Boyd and Nick Wilson argue that the prospect of a mass extinction event has become more likely in recent years.

."Discoveries in biotechnology could see a genetically-engineered pandemic threaten the survival of our species," said Wilson, a public health physician from the University of Otago in New Zealand.

"Though carriers of disease can easily circumvent land borders, a closed self-sufficient island could harbour an isolated, technologically-adept population that could repopulate the Earth following a disaster."

With this in mind, research was conducted to evaluate if any subsets of human civilization can survive a catastrophic event.

It was determined that due to features that separate islands from the rest of the world, such as isolation and inaccessibility, they would be ideal in the face of a widespread outbreak of disease.

“Islands have acted as successful refuges in the face of severe pandemics in the past. Instances include the avoidance of the 1918 influenza pandemic by various Pacific Islands, islands off the Alaskan coast, and the islands off the continental US coast.”

Evaluating categories such as population size, proximity, food production and energy, data was gathered from international organizations such as the United Nations and the World Bank Indexes. This data was ranged from the period of 2014 to 2019 and was quantified to produce a list of islands likely to survive.

Trinidad and Tobago landed at number eight on the list of 20 countries that include the likes of Australia and New Zealand.

The complete list is as follows

1. Australia

2. New Zealand

3. Iceland

4. Malta

5. Japan

6. Cape Verde

7. Bahamas

8. Trinidad and Tobago

9. Barbados

10. Madagascar

11. Cuba

12. Mauritius

13. Fiji

14. Maldives

15. Sri Lanka

16. Comoros

17. Solomon Islands

18. Jamaica

19. Philippines

20. Vanuatu

Also on the list is Jamaica at number 18, scoring less than 0.50 overall. Trinidad and Tobago’s status on this list was linked to its energy capacity and agricultural self-sufficiency. “Somewhat unsurprisingly, it was nations with high GDP, that are self‐sufficient in food and/or energy production, and are somewhat remote, that fared best.” they said.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/c ... 318b3.html

Re: We will survive!!

Postby maj. tom » November 21st, 2019, 12:20 pm

Ever read World War Z (2006, Max Brooks) the book? It shares nothing with the film of the same name.

Trinidad is featured. Because these are small islands, after a population cull, the government took drastic actions to
become self-sustained, and guarded the borders from zombie and other survivors invasion. Same principle.

Those men and women, from Anguilla to Trinidad, can proudly take their place as some of the greatest heroes of the war. They first eradicated multiple outbreaks along their archipelago, then, with barely a moment to catch their collective breaths, repelled not only seaborne zombies, but an endless flood of human invaders, too. They spilled their blood so that we did not have to. They forced our would-be latifundista to reconsider their plans for conquest, and realize that if a few civilians armed with nothing but small arms and machetes could defend their homelands so tenaciously, what would they find on the shores of a country armed with everything from main battle tanks to radar-guided antiship missiles?
World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
Max Brooks 2006

Then if you take in the 1995 film with Bruce Willis "12 Monkeys" you realize how scary real these situations can become. Film had a major plot twist right at the end on where Ground Zero for the virus was and who deliberately started it.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 21st, 2019, 12:32 pm

Well alyuh surviving after 50+ years of PNM so any other apocalyptic event will be child's play.

Postby hydroep » November 21st, 2019, 12:39 pm

We cyar stop the Venez invasion we go stop zombies?... :?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 21st, 2019, 1:34 pm

IOW God iza Trini?

Postby Spitfir3 » November 21st, 2019, 1:40 pm

hydroep wrote:We cyar stop the Venez invasion we go stop zombies?... :?

let's be real here, the zombies go have more rights than we

Postby timelapse » November 21st, 2019, 1:58 pm

Spoiler:
Rowley already here and making mindless copies of himself all over...

Postby Rovin » November 21st, 2019, 2:26 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Well alyuh surviving after 50+ years of PNM so any other apocalyptic event will be child's play.

u have a point dey & we have another 6yrs to go .... :(

Postby MaxPower » November 21st, 2019, 2:57 pm

Imagine Trinidad could survive.

How unfair to other countries.

Trinidad does not deserve a spot on this planet....why? Cuz allyuh have it so and allyuh like it so

Postby aaron17 » November 21st, 2019, 3:04 pm

One wave and we gone....something wrong with that article.

Postby Ben_spanna » November 21st, 2019, 3:46 pm

Told ya a large percentage of our population are comparable to cockroaches! and yup cockroaches will survive almost anything.

0X

Postby aaron17 » November 21st, 2019, 3:48 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:Told ya a large percentage of our population are comparable to cockroaches! and yup cockroaches will survive almost anything.

0X
Lol

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 21st, 2019, 4:43 pm

Plague Inc prepared me to see Greenland on this list. I am disappointed.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 21st, 2019, 4:48 pm

New Zealand is the place to live.
Just like in Chrysalids where the Zeelanders were the saviours of the kids.

Postby De Dragon » November 21st, 2019, 5:21 pm

MaxPower wrote:Imagine Trinidad could survive.

Trinidad does not deserve a spot on this planet....why? Cuz allyuh have it so and allyuh like it so

Cak-A-Lackers you still here? You must love pain, because you seem to be in a constant state of it having to live here. Maybe you could HYMC and go Venezuela? You're always in their arse, so try it for ah week self, and lewwe know nah?

Postby MaxPower » November 21st, 2019, 10:28 pm

Cak-A-Lackers you still here? You must love pain, because you seem to be in a constant state of it having to live here. Maybe you could HYMC and go Venezuela? You're always in their arse, so try it for ah week self, and lewwe know nah?

You still ketchin your broke pathetic ass to feed your children?

Mind your business and get to work na

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 21st, 2019, 10:39 pm

aaron17 wrote:One wave and we gone....something wrong with that article.
From the time I read self sufficient in agriculture I know it was BS

Postby De Dragon » November 22nd, 2019, 9:31 pm

You still ketchin your broke pathetic ass to feed your children?

Mind your business and get to work na

Spoken like a true impotent KFC deep fryer attendant :lol: :lol: No need for the green eyed monster to haunt you bro, you will reach deep fryer super next ten years or so. As to children, well you can always adopt.

Postby Country_Bookie » November 23rd, 2019, 2:39 pm

ek4ever wrote:
aaron17 wrote:One wave and we gone....something wrong with that article.
From the time I read self sufficient in agriculture I know it was BS
I'm guessing their research never discovered that we import almost everything and can't produce enough to feed ourselves.
Plus how would we get basic medicine in a situation like what they describe, since we import that as well.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 23rd, 2019, 7:39 pm

I actually agree with you. In fact it could be applied to any Caribbean country. Think about it, we're all net users and polluters, don't produce anything that improves or positively impacts the world. In fact if any Caribbean country was to disappear tomorrow the world would continue without even noticing it. The countries that produce the goods and services to drive the world will continue to do so and the world will continue to advance based on the innovations in these industrialized nations. The world does not need Caribbean countries,,,, we only provide a place for the people from these hard working countries to take a break. Other than that Caribbean countries are a waste

Postby De Dragon » November 23rd, 2019, 8:40 pm

ek4ever wrote:

I actually agree with you. In fact it could be applied to any Caribbean country. Think about it, we're all net users and polluters, don't produce anything that improves or positively impacts the world. In fact if any Caribbean country was to disappear tomorrow the world would continue without even noticing it. The countries that produce the goods and services to drive the world will continue to do so and the world will continue to advance based on the innovations in these industrialized nations. The world does not need Caribbean countries,,,, we only provide a place for the people from these hard working countries to take a break. Other than that Caribbean countries are a waste

So same question that I ask Max Cax, why don't you relocate. Serious question, not looking for any drama, thanks

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 23rd, 2019, 9:46 pm

ek4ever wrote:The world does not need Caribbean countries,,,, we only provide a place for the people from these hard working countries to take a break. Other than that Caribbean countries are a waste

We can't even do that properly too.

Sun, sand and sea my kha kha hole.
People have been slowly blanking caribbean countries over the years.

Most rather just go to places like Spain, Portugal, Thailand, Philippines, SE Asia in general for 'sun sand and sea'

Whoever use to go Jamaica for weed, now just go Canada or whichever states in the US that allow it.

We now only get the dregs tourists, or the ones that don't have the time to go too far, or the few that want youtube views.
And even them will never return seeing that the majority end up being raped or robbed. (looking at you Tobago)

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » November 23rd, 2019, 10:25 pm

ek4ever wrote:

So same question that I ask Max Cax, why don't you relocate. Serious question, not looking for any drama, thanks
Already have

Postby De Dragon » November 23rd, 2019, 10:26 pm

ek4ever wrote:

Already have

Cool, any chance you can take Caxxy with you? :lol:

Postby matr1x » November 24th, 2019, 8:00 am

They said Trinidad and Tobago....not the people of Trinidad and Tobago.

We will be dead and whatever malformed species from beetham will spread and take over the place. I think they are called pnmites