Post your FLOOD pics, locations, updates etc etc CHED!!!

Re: Post your FLOOD pics, locations, updates etc etc CHED!!!

Postby Gladiator » April 20th, 2020, 9:59 am

I hear Yuh... Good info, I would check that one out.

This is the one I used... Worked ok but it have to service often. The backflow design may work better since it design to close upwards avoiding rubbish from sticking up on the valve flap.

Any local suppliers?
adnj wrote:
Gladiator wrote:There is one made for the waste line too... I used a 4 inch on a sewer line on a building. When it floods water full up the manhole and the water backflows into the toilet and flood out the washrooms. The pvc swing check solve that...

But that valve in the pic can work also...

The difference between the two is access to the valve in case of blockage.
57b93c6298537.image.jpeg
57b93c6298537.image.jpeg (9.97 KiB) Viewed 7967 times

Postby nervewrecker » April 28th, 2020, 10:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Penal earlier today....guess we aint learn sheit from the before...

And we will feel it proper this rainy season.

Did some random driving around and noticed

- land bare from fires

- channels filled with bush while people land properly maintained up till the border of the channel. saw one lace with heavy equipment parked next to the bush filled channel. let them wait for the government to clear it.

- water channels blocked off and some heavily polluted with black water

- farmers still ploughing up and down hill sides, land left bare

- channels septic and stagnant

- backfilling in lagoon continuing and on a larger scale. Bought it to the attention of some of the "engineers" that have the solution to the flooding in woodland (they want to dredge the sea [ some fool by the name of edward moodie]). Edward claimed the land that he backfill with dirt in rahamut trace is private property owned by him and that has nothing to do with the flooding. Is the gubment fault and rising sea levels. Something about the highway and kublalsingh being right as well.

So this rainy season, brace for it. Rowley will cant sleep with all the badtalk people badtalking him.

and according to experts : "an above normal rainy season"

took some pics today. wait for this one.

Telescopic zoom in allyuh tailImage

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 29th, 2020, 5:15 am

Disaster just waiting to happen

Postby adnj » April 29th, 2020, 8:36 am

Gladiator wrote:I hear Yuh... Good info, I would check that one out.

This is the one I used... Worked ok but it have to service often. The backflow design may work better since it design to close upwards avoiding rubbish from sticking up on the valve flap.

Any local suppliers?
adnj wrote:
Gladiator wrote:There is one made for the waste line too... I used a 4 inch on a sewer line on a building. When it floods water full up the manhole and the water backflows into the toilet and flood out the washrooms. The pvc swing check solve that...

57b93c6298537.image.jpeg

I don't know of any suppliers locally but they are not uncommon. I can't say that there are any backwater valves that don't need frequent service but give yourself credit for putting one in that you can get to easily.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 5th, 2020, 5:10 am

Standing by

Postby Gem_in_i » June 5th, 2020, 6:35 am

In Rahamut Trace in the video, that is private lands, but is lagoon land. It always flood there, even before the filling. The river to the right is what takes all the water out to the Creek.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 8th, 2020, 6:16 pm

Oropune earlier today
IMG-20200608-WA0132.jpg
IMG-20200608-WA0133.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » June 8th, 2020, 6:19 pm

Who put a lagoon in the middle of a HDC development?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 17th, 2020, 2:33 pm

Reports of flash flooding in and around the capital

Postby eliteauto » June 17th, 2020, 2:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Reports of flash flooding in and around the capital

hadda be "flash" in truth I left POS about an hour and a half ago. Any reports down south? Have to go Siparia

Postby zoom rader » June 17th, 2020, 4:05 pm

eliteauto wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Reports of flash flooding in and around the capital

hadda be "flash" in truth I left POS about an hour and a half ago. Any reports down south? Have to go Siparia
WAT?

We don't want you kind of ppl in South

Postby sMASH » June 17th, 2020, 4:16 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Oropune earlier today
Not a problem now. They have room to breathe
Later, when the soil gets saturated and the water courses are at their berms, then it would be pressure.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 17th, 2020, 5:05 pm

Seeing some pics with trees on top houses down south side

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 17th, 2020, 7:10 pm

eliteauto wrote:

WAT?

We don't want you kind of ppl in South

I never see a man who like to chook jepnest so :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 18th, 2020, 4:58 pm

Vicinity of phase 1 powder magazine
Screenshot_2020-06-18-16-56-22.png

Bosse

Postby Bosse » June 19th, 2020, 11:09 am

Any local suppliers?
adnj wrote:

57b93c6298537.image.jpeg

If you are still looking for this valve check Rocky's in Curepe. Got mines there.

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2020, 11:16 am

Do them come in smaller sizes like 2”?

Friend needs one for a Drain pipe going into a box drain which occasionally floods

Bosse wrote:

Any local suppliers?
adnj wrote:

57b93c6298537.image.jpeg

If you are still looking for this valve check Rocky's in Curepe. Got mines there.

Postby adnj » June 19th, 2020, 4:17 pm

I have seen them for PVC waste lines 2 inches to 6 inches.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2020, 8:16 am

Might not be floods but yuh know nah
IMG-20200627-WA0028.jpg
IMG-20200627-WA0023.jpg
IMG-20200627-WA0027.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2020, 9:08 am

:?: :?:
IMG-20200627-WA0043.jpg
IMG-20200627-WA0037.jpg

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2020, 9:18 am

last pic look like roof was framed entirely out of purlins and not well anchored to wall beams

Postby eliteauto » June 27th, 2020, 10:58 am

Shake, first pic is looking like La resource Road D'abadie as you're heading to the EMR from the Arima Old Road, second pic is said to be in Belmont

Postby redmanjp » June 27th, 2020, 12:03 pm

eliteauto wrote:Shake, first pic is looking like La resource Road D'abadie as you're heading to the EMR from the Arima Old Road, second pic is said to be in Belmont

Yep. Confirmed by a neighbourhood WhatsApp group I'm in.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2020, 12:25 pm

eliteauto wrote:Shake, first pic is looking like La resource Road D'abadie as you're heading to the EMR from the Arima Old Road, second pic is said to be in Belmont

Seeing some rather disturbing pics and vids. Imagine ah lil wave do all that damage
IMG-20200627-WA0083.jpg
IMG-20200627-WA0082.jpg
IMG-20200627-WA0080.jpg
IMG-20200627-WA0075.jpg
IMG-20200627-WA0074.jpg

Postby eliteauto » June 27th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Arima get some blows
arima.jpg
arima1.jpg
arima2.jpg
arima3.jpg
arima4.jpg
arima5.jpg
arima6.jpg
arima7.jpg
arima8.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » June 27th, 2020, 12:59 pm

If is one thing Krishna Persadsingh working overtime, had T&Tec trim all those trees that will pose a threat and has all channels cleared in woodland. Saw a new channel cut also.

I knew he was de right man for the job the minute I heard the name.

Postby sMASH » June 27th, 2020, 5:08 pm

took some pics today. wait for this one.

Telescopic zoom in allyuh tailImage

that supposed to be a charge there, palos.

no sympathies.

Postby nervewrecker » June 27th, 2020, 9:44 pm

I stop caring a long time. Its a place I pass regular and people had gotten offended by the "who tell them build their house in a lagoon" comment but lets be real:

Some parts under sea level

Development continues at an advanced rate despite the flooding issue

No changes to drainage in the area

Everyone waiting for the government to clear channel but bare backfilled pieces of land left uncovered, everyone passing and watching fires gut the vegetative cover

Ignorant farmers ploughing parallel to water flow (no clue about contour ploughing)

and

People like Edward Moodie suggesting that highway is an issue and dredging the sea is a solution. He scoops up a handful of material and identifies it by feeling it in his hand and identifying the origin.

Postby nervewrecker » June 28th, 2020, 10:55 am

Cows have been dying in the pastures of Woodland and Debe as hundreds of acres of prized pastures become contaminated by the intrusion of saltwater in the Oropouche Drainage Basin.

Most of the flood gates which drain the Oropouche Basin have broken down and despite a $100 million flood alleviation, the gates at Tulsa Trace, the Seven-Gate at St John’s Trace, Avocat and the 14-gate in Woodland remain down.

Many of the pumps which protect arable lands are malfunctioning and the recent dredging of rivers by the Ministry of Works to prevent floods have acted as a double-edged sword allowing the seawater to come further inland during high tide.

During an interview, livestock owner Seepersad Harrylal said the saltwater intrusion has moved inland all the way to Barrackpore.

He said four of his animals have already died and one seems on the brink of death.

With 30 animals still out in the pastures, Harrylal said he was desperately trying to bring them to safe ground.

“We noticed the animals were looking sick but it was only when we investigated we realized they were drinking the salt water,” Harrylal said. He noted that vast acreages of agricultural lands have already been destroyed by the saltwater and now the prized grazing grounds were also being destroyed.

“We are making an appeal to the Minister of Works to fix the flood gates as a matter of urgency. We are losing our livelihood. We have no choice but to sell our animals,” Harrylal added.

He also said, “This is the first time I am seeing so much saltwater. The whole place is flooded with saltwater.”

Another farmer named Kevin said he was desperately trying to remove his animals from the Woodland Pastures.

“We are taking them to another spot in Penal. We cannot keep them here. Before any more of them die we are trying to move them,” he said.

Cancer patient Monica Harrylal said she lost a bull and a heifer.

“I noticed that they were sick and then they fell over and died. We are very sure that it is the saltwater which is killing them. The saltwater is now all through the lands. As soon as the tide changes it comes back up. We need our gates fixed and compensation for our losses. I am a cancer patient and I have to go through a lot,” she added.

Meanwhile, president of the South Oropouche Riverine Flood Action group Edward Moodie said he tasted the water and found it to be very salty.

“This is the worse we have experienced. The river is tidal and it goes right up to the wet pastures that farmers use. When the animals drink it, the saltwater destroys their stomach lining and they will die in a few days,” he said.

He also said people have been exploiting the livestock farmers by offering them a pittance for their animals.

“We are very concerned because hundreds of acres of land stretching from St Johns Trace to Rahamut Trace are now contaminated. Saltwater has reached as far as Barrackpore. The site off Ackaloo Trace in Pluck Road is worse affected,” he said.

Minister of Works Rohan Sinanan was attending an event when Guardian called and said he could not immediately comment.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/cows-dro ... m_b-L1tRsA

Same guy again, they obviously did the autopsy. He has been making noise to have rivers and sea dredged.
Most of those cows look sick in that area and does be outside in the heat with nothing to drink.

Postby matr1x » June 28th, 2020, 11:09 am

eliteauto wrote:Arima get some blows

The only thing arima gyul good for. Or so I hear