Post your FLOOD pics, locations, updates etc etc CHED!!!

Re: Post your FLOOD pics, locations, updates etc etc CHED!!!

Postby Country_Bookie » December 1st, 2022, 12:40 pm

Both the Government and the TTPS are adamant there was no need to open the northbound lane of the Uriah Butler Highway (UBH) on Tuesday to ease congestion caused by traffic gridlock.

Thousands of commuters heading to east, central and south Trinidad didn’t get to their homes until three to as much as five hours after leaving their destinations.

The situation was created after police were forced to close off one of the three lanes on the UBH after water from the flood-ravaged Caroni plains settled on the roadway just after the flyover near the Caroni Bird Sanctuary, making driving through it dangerous for motorists.

The gridlock set social media abuzz.

“South people who working town reaching home midnight to leave quarter past midnight to go back to work tomorrow,” local comedian Kwame Weekes tweeted.

“A drive that usually takes 23 mins, just took me three hours and 45 mins,” said radio presenter Virmala Balkaran on her Facebook page.

“PoS to Chaguanas was a nightmare. God be with all of you who are still stuck in that traffic.”

Two lanes of traffic eventually turned into one as the water rose and the traffic continued well into the night and into the early hours of yesterday morning. Two questions were asked widely on social media:

Why didn’t the authorities open the Priority Bus Route to ease eastbound traffic? And why didn’t they divert traffic onto part of the northbound lane of the Uriah Butler Highway?

At the 5 pm joint ministerial press conference on Tuesday, it was announced that the Priority Bus Route would be opened at 6 pm.

“The reason why we have to use the time is 6, because we have to make sure the mass transportation that uses the Bus Route is allowed to leave Port-of-Spain,” Minister Rohan Sinanan said.

But on the prospect of opening the UBH northbound lane, Sinanan noted, “The police are on site. If the police decide they want to open a lane on the opposite side, then we will facilitate that but the last information I had was that the water is receding and if that happens then there’s no need for that.”

Given what occurred, Guardian Media contacted Government officials to determine who makes the call and exactly what it would take to divert traffic onto the opposite lane.

Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister Communication, Symon De Nobriga, said “The Ministry of Works and Transport would be responsible for decisions regarding alternative traffic routes when these situations arise.”

That decision, he said, is made in conjunction with the TTPS traffic branch.

The TTPS’ official position meanwhile, was that there was no need to divert the traffic at the time.

“The situation was assessed earlier on by the Traffic and Highway Patrol command and one of the underpinning factors was that the left lane of the three-lane carriageway, which had approximately 4 inches of water or less, was passable by both light vehicles and cars,” the TTPS said in a statement.

“Cars would drive through deeper waters when Port- of-Spain is flooded. Highway carriageway diversions are considered usually when at least two lanes are compromised, which did not occur yesterday (Tuesday).”

The TTPS said there were multiple factors which caused the traffic, including the flooding on the Caroni Savannah Road, which serves as an alternate route for drivers, forcing drivers to access the Southern Main Road from the lower parts of the highway. The TTPS added that there was a high volume of large heavy goods vehicles at Wrightson Road, flooding at South Quay, a road traffic accident on the eastbound lane of the Beetham Highway and later that evening, and then a fatal road traffic accident along the southbound lane of the Sir Solomon Hochoy Highway near the Brian Lara Cricket Ground, which caused obstruction on both the north and southbound lanes.

Following major floods on October 19, 2018, the event that caused the unprecedented Greenvale flooding, the southbound lane was completely flooded and the Ministry of Works allowed vehicles and trucks to divert to the northbound lane, which was also flooded, until Munroe Road.

Speaking to Guardian Media yesterday, former police commissioner Gary Griffith, who was commissioner at that time, said he was able to use the space in the highway to divert cars onto the road.

He said he coordinated with the Ministry of Works and Transport, getting support from them to provide cones and lights while using the police to direct and guide traffic then.

“That allowed the traffic to flow; basically common sense. Thinking out of the box,” Griffith said.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/govt-ttps-n ... 7fdc6732f4

For all Gary’s faults, at least he had some common sense. Something which the current and prior Commissioners seem to lack.

Postby pugboy » December 1st, 2022, 12:52 pm

so rohani say his info was water receding on a rising tide
if ever he lie it was this time

Postby MaxPower » December 1st, 2022, 12:55 pm

Must people really be this greedy to claim for compensation when they are NOT flood victims?

Highly expected from typical Trinis.

Jeezus crice man leave it for the people that need it.

Postby aaron17 » December 1st, 2022, 1:21 pm

Postby Ben_spanna » December 1st, 2022, 1:27 pm

Imagine ah yachtie come tuh help , whilst to date where is our PM? eh allyuh peen ennemme chupidees? he on the glof course ? he abroad??? he couldnt give 2 chits bout we.

Postby aaron17 » December 1st, 2022, 1:31 pm

The only thing I heard is from the Office of the PM:
See message below..

"A Message from the Office of the Prime Minister

NATIONAL ALERT

We are currently experiencing a weather emergency.

Excessive rains are upon us and all our water courses are at or are close to capacity. The international forecasts are for further incoming heavy rainfall over the next two days. Already there is significant damage to our road infrastructure in very many parts of the country. We are anticipating increased flooding and landslides in susceptible areas.

Citizens are requested to be very alert to these dangers and, as far as feasible, restrict your movements until the dangers have passed or are abated.

All arms and agencies of the state have been fully mobilised and are on alert under the instruction of the Prime Minister and under the monitoring guidance of a team of
Ministers from Local Government, Works and Transport, as well as National Security.

Further updates and interventions will be forthcoming from the relevant agencies as we batten down to ride out this period of weather emergency.

Please be safe and look out for ouneighbours especially those who are unable to properly look after themselves.

Pay attention to the updates and cooperate as much as possible under these very threatening circumstances."

dogg

Postby dogg » December 1st, 2022, 2:41 pm

MaxPower wrote:Must people really be this greedy to claim for compensation when they are NOT flood victims?

How allyuh does handle flooding issues in Guyana?

Postby pugboy » December 1st, 2022, 2:53 pm

them have sturdy sea waaal that does keep the water out

but i worried for them since the same contractor who recently do the failed mosquito creek upgrade running tings in guyana now

dogg wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Must people really be this greedy to claim for compensation when they are NOT flood victims?

Postby timelapse » December 1st, 2022, 8:02 pm

pugboy wrote:them have sturdy sea waaal that does keep the water out

but i worried for them since the same contractor who recently do the failed mosquito creek upgrade running tings in guyana now

dogg wrote:

Hog Island does flood?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2022, 9:21 am

Boat tobo dong and running that Motec system exhaust

Postby timelapse » December 2nd, 2022, 9:23 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

Subscribed!

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » December 2nd, 2022, 10:04 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

Mmmm
1qujw7.jpg
1qujw7.jpg (8.31 KiB) Viewed 1574 times

Postby sMASH » December 4th, 2022, 6:28 pm

Thread get interesting all over sudden.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 6th, 2022, 12:33 pm

Inshan commending the Ministry
https://fb.watch/hfa2Sv374b/?mibextid=v7YzmG

Postby Dave » December 6th, 2022, 2:11 pm

Don't bite the hand that feeds you!

Postby wagonrunner » December 6th, 2022, 5:29 pm

faris + rohan response time vs tanty response time? :D :D :D :D
:popcorn:

Postby redmanjp » December 6th, 2022, 6:09 pm

so all the car parts place get flood out i assume

Postby paid_influencer » December 6th, 2022, 6:10 pm

inshan is hardcore pnm doh be distracted by the antics hardcore pnm

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2022, 7:33 pm

redmanjp wrote:so all the car parts place get flood out i assume
Not all.

probably 60% of them.

And then many of them are 2 and 3 story buildings full of parts .

Postby redmanjp » December 6th, 2022, 7:44 pm

guess we can expect 'sales' soon

Postby maj. tom » December 6th, 2022, 7:48 pm

soon.... sales going on normal on Bamboo main road since Saturday touts in the road stopping cars, plenty regular traffic, etc.

Postby maj. tom » December 6th, 2022, 7:56 pm

I went down to the the river at Mohan St.

See how high the water was there. That road get hit real bad, and I didn't see any truck passed yet to pick up all the damaged and destroyed that people putting out.

And the smell.... the stink. I pass again today and it was worse than ever. Like Caroni swamp rotten and mixed with oil pollution. All where the water was, the grass and plants dead. While the big savannah in front by the temple green and lush. I see a cow sleeping in it. So that shows how much harder some areas were hit while other just had some flood water.

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2022, 8:13 pm

so 5-6 ft of water based on the wall water marks

is this where somebody cleared out area on the bank ?

Postby maj. tom » December 6th, 2022, 8:20 pm

Yes the water was definitely at least 5 feet high in some areas. Plenty evidence. Saw some cars with mud on the roof too write off completely.

The 5th picture you see where they throw sandbags to cover a gap. Possibly that's one of the places. I not sure. The place was rel stink and muddy and I didn't want to go up further. Had some ppl with equipment doing survey markers, so I not sure if the Ministry engineers doing something there.

Postby maj. tom » December 6th, 2022, 8:27 pm

Big difference in affected areas.

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2022, 9:11 pm

Some places had 12 to 15 feet. Plenty places had 4 to 6 feet.

The corporation trucks are passing around road by road to clean up junk.

And yea the whole place smelly grimy
20221204_063855.jpg
20221204_065040.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 6th, 2022, 10:07 pm

Wow at how high the flood line mark on the walls are

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2022, 11:01 pm

That pic of the gate where the water mark is..is exactly where I put the x.

All the places closer to the river had higher water in many places
Screenshot_20221206-230008_Maps.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2022, 9:23 am

Saw this being shared around

“THE GOOSE HAS COME HOME TO ROOST”
“DISRESPECT, LAWLESSNESS, HOOLIGANISM, THIEVES, DANGEROUS ILLEGAL BUSINESSES”
Story by: Gail Alexander
Former San Juan/Barataria MP Dr Fuad Khan has recounted previous flooding problems in his former constituency, after farmers broke the Caroni River banks to get water for crops in the dry season and when diesel was stolen from pumps in the area.
Khan spoke about the issues after recent floods devastated that area and adjoining communities.
Former St George County Agricultural officers also recounted how squatting and “dangerous illegal businesses” became rampant in the low-lying Bamboo I, II and III areas over the 1980s to 1990s – but noted that officers were threatened, even at gunpoint, when they entered the areas to advise residents against the dangers of building near the river.
So why this ‘drama’ now when we tried to beg, appeal and warn people against building there and we were chased out?” the officers asked.
Khan explained, “Many who did farming, when the river was low, would break the bank to get water for their crops and didn’t fill it back securely. So, when rain fell and the river ‘came down’, the areas where the bank was broken, flooded villages.
“The other problem is, some people would steal the diesel from pumps needed to pump out the water. Pump parts were also stolen. So, pumps often weren’t working. I used to get that problem and we had to fix it, sometimes I used my own money to fix it.”
When I was House Speaker in the Panday government and we had flooding, I told him the front of the river mouth needed dredging. Mr Panday got it done,” Khan said, displaying a picture of the river mouth which was dredged and is now clogged with mud.
Khan said those who built homes on the “riverbank” were born and grew up there, “but maybe they should prepare to put their house on stilts like in Guyana.”
“And if you take issue with them, you have to take equal issue with people building on the hillsides and the quarrying that’s going on there, which is causing the hillsides to come down when rains fall.”
Meanwhile, the former St George County Agricultural officers said the flooding made them recall the warnings against dangerous land practices which they tried to give Bamboo residents over the years, when those lands were designated non-residential and non-agricultural.
“Suddenly, squatting became rampant. As forcefully as the State Lands unit tried to halt things, it was impossible. People came in droves, never heeding the pertinent advice from government then about flooding possibilities and land stabilisation capabilities.
“They set up residence and dangerous businesses. It became very problematic: extension agents and State Lands officers, upon visiting the areas, were often threatened with their lives. So why the hullabaloo now? The goose has come home to roost.
Officers feared to enter Bamboo due to the kinds of activities there. Plus, there was also another area near Mt St Benedict where cars were being assembled, but that was dealt with.”
Another County officer added, “The real story of today’s floods is that Bamboo I, II and III were bad situations then, waiting to happen for residents down the line.”
Dis is not Beetham
Dis is BAMBOO 1 2 &3
Hooliganism, stealing, disrespectful to law and order from these so called “Good and Bright Citizens” with dey plenty lawyers.
BAMBOO & ENVIRONS HEREIN LIES YOUR ANSWERS TO YOUR FLOODING
According to former MP Fuad Khan and St. George County Agriculture Officers and the State Land Unit

Postby sMASH » December 7th, 2022, 12:01 pm

What is town and country even...

They coulda hire bailiff, like when they want to evict people from settlements.

They are conveniently toothless.