looking for a trainer for a Malinois

Trinispougla

looking for a trainer for a Malinois

Postby Trinispougla » December 20th, 2019, 1:53 pm

long story short..........my puppy is really miserable, destroys everything and runs away......does anyone know a trainer i can hire

antlind

Re: looking for a trainer for a Malinois

Postby antlind » December 20th, 2019, 2:27 pm

Trinispougla wrote:long story short..........my puppy is really miserable, destroys everything and runs away......does anyone know a trainer i can hire

That breed of dog can be a handful. They require a lot of attention and stimulation. Check out this excerpt from Wiki:

They can be destructive or develop neurotic behaviours if not provided enough stimulation and exercise. This often causes problems for owners who are unfamiliar with the breed and are not prepared to provide the exercise they require or a job for them to do. They are medium-sized, strong dogs that require consistent obedience training, and enjoy being challenged with new tasks. They are known to be very easy to train,

Postby MaxPower » December 20th, 2019, 2:39 pm

Well, they are puppies.

Just dont hit them.

Postby SR » December 20th, 2019, 7:07 pm

Best breed for training

They get bored easy and needs to have lots of interaction as they are highly intelligent

Aaron Sookhai in chaguanas does professional training for these dogs and others

Postby pugboy » December 20th, 2019, 8:22 pm

choice of dog for us navy seals

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » December 20th, 2019, 9:20 pm

Its more than training the dog needs. If you dont have plenty time to devote to the dog, give it to someone who can take better care of it. Malinois dogs are working dogs that a lot of stimulation and engagement.

Postby RedVEVO » December 21st, 2019, 5:44 pm

SR wrote:Best breed for training

They get bored easy and needs to have lots of interaction as they are highly intelligent

Aaron Sookhai in chaguanas does professional training for these dogs and others

Valsayn hombre , he charges too much and not that good ..
And he have serious attitude .

OP, buy a dog training book , or You Tube it and get an electro collar ..

Everytime he misbehave zap he culo :shock:

Postby 88sins » December 21st, 2019, 10:45 pm

OP,
You have two choices. Either rehome that animal to a home that can give him what he needs and get a dog you can handle like a West Indian Shepherd, or man up and exercise and train your pup before the real problems start. Trust when I tell you, you ain't seen problems yet. Imagine him at 18 months and challenging you, dropping some full mouth bites on you or anyone else in your home he doesn't respect.
Because contrary to popular belief, Malis need an active and engaging owner/handler, and frequent training routines and actual work to do a, this is in addition to a sense of structure in the home/pack, and they need these things throughout their entire life. Is not just teach him sit, stay down, fetch and play dead and all problems solved. They don't work that way.
First, before you go by any alleged trainer, if you are not a person with a very high energy level and active lifestyle, buy a treadmill., and put him on it from now. This one machine will save you time, stress, and a lot of physical effort in the long run, and there's a reason for the saying 'a tired Mali is a happy well behaved Mali.'
Then, find what motivates him most, whether it's food, toys, tugs, flirt poles, work, or just being with you, and look up training advice and videos specifically geared to Mals, and use he likes most as rewards in his training.
2 things to keep in mind. One is NEVER EVER EVER hit your pup, or shout at your pup, or improperly correct your pup.
Two is if you want to develop a solid recall, never call your pup/dog and then punish him when he arrives. Make him coming to you something he wants to do because good things happen when he does, like he gets a treat, and praise and a pet and a belly rub. Make coming to you a source of joy for him, not a sense of "oh shite, he call me, dat does usually mean boof up and rough up and lockupina kennel, I eh seeing no good reason to go by he nah, leh he stay dey, if he wants meh he go hadda ketch meh"
Send me a pm if you want some insight on how to go about training him. I'd be happy to help you learn to do it yourself.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » December 21st, 2019, 11:09 pm

I know someone who had one. Dog used to clear a 6 feet fence easy easy, and go and kill other dogs. Dog was always getting away.. Owner was a older dude who could not give the dog was was needed..

QM

Postby QM » December 21st, 2019, 11:43 pm

Try Marc, 371-9888, he is usually extremely booked and may not be able to take on any new dogs. Very professional though.

Postby SR » December 22nd, 2019, 9:11 am

Attitide??? The man reel down to earth and knows what he is doing

Unless you have experience in training dogs you cannot comment on pricing

My family has been in the dog buisness since the 70s and i have been training our own since the 80s

Training for a mal is not for the inexperienced as they will outsmart you

Bess you stick with a sheppard instead if you want to buy books and follow you tube

Postby Redman » December 22nd, 2019, 9:21 am

If attitude is a problem...then the Mal aint for you.

They need to be managed and challenged-or they manage and challenge themselves.
Great dog-for the right owner.
Good Luck with it though

Postby 88sins » December 22nd, 2019, 10:01 am

Nah SR, he can do it himself. But it takes time, consistency, and a whole lot of energy, and I suspect that's what is the caveat in his case.
When my family switched breeds from terriers and rottweilers, most of the family insisted we go with Mals, but as it was ultimately my decision I decided we go GSD. Cuz I know what would have been the problem with going Mal, not enough time for me to train them, exercise them, etc. They smart, and will outsmart a owner but that's if they feel they can get away with it because owner/trainer lackadaisical and if they have the extra energy to burn and no way to get rid of it. Easiest way around that is keeping them almost totally drained before training, and regular daily exercise does help with that. Hence my suggestion of the treadmill. If you know how many people with malinois are amazed at how easy it is to train them when their out of control dog that spends all day locked up in a kennel and only bad behavior when he loose, gets taken out of the kennel and put on a long line and are given a simple 30 minutes of vigorous exercise before training, it not funny And most people don't understand, this needs to start from when the animal is a pup, training and exercise start the day you bring him home, and don't stop till the day he too old to keep up and ready to retire.

Ppl need to stop this kakahole nonsense about buying a dog because of looks or because"dem breed rell bad" or because the breed is now popular, without fully understanding what is necessary for keeping such an animal.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 22nd, 2019, 10:28 am

This mofo was a handful, good training sort him out
2019-12-22 10.27.46.jpg

whiteliver

Postby whiteliver » December 22nd, 2019, 12:36 pm

rebound

Postby rebound » December 22nd, 2019, 1:43 pm

Nice Mal.....mine is 13years old and still miserable....funny thing is he is turning grey where he was black...
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:This mofo was a handful, good training sort him out

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 22nd, 2019, 2:19 pm

rebound wrote:Nice Mal.....mine is 13years old and still miserable....funny thing is he is turning grey where he was black...
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:This mofo was a handful, good training sort him out

@ 3 weeks...he used to like posing for pics...now he want to eat the camera
IMG-20190223-WA0008.jpg

matix

Postby matix » December 22nd, 2019, 6:04 pm

Where you got him?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 22nd, 2019, 7:11 pm

A guy by the name of Steve in Valencia....has some really nice breed of dogs...not only shepherds...rotts as well

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » December 23rd, 2019, 2:38 pm

Where did you get that pup to buy?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 23rd, 2019, 2:47 pm

GixxerMan wrote:Where did you get that pup to buy?

read thy post above :?

Postby RedVEVO » December 24th, 2019, 2:02 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:A guy by the name of Steve in Valencia....has some really nice breed of dogs...not only shepherds...rotts as well

Shakes .. Publish his phone contact ..

And if the pup belly like butterball turkey - he have worms ..
Take him to a Vet ..

And do not give him EndoVET he is 2 young .

Postby RedVEVO » December 24th, 2019, 2:09 am

SR wrote:Attitide??? The man reel down to earth and knows what he is doing

Unless you have experience in training dogs you cannot comment on pricing

My family has been in the dog buisness since the 70s and i have been training our own since the 80s

Training for a mal is not for the inexperienced as they will outsmart you

Bess you stick with a sheppard instead if you want to buy books and follow you tube

How much he charge $$$ YOU for a 2 weeks board - bed etc. to train your Rambo ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 24th, 2019, 5:00 am

RedVEVO wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:A guy by the name of Steve in Valencia....has some really nice breed of dogs...not only shepherds...rotts as well

Shakes .. Publish his phone contact ..

And if the pup belly like butterball turkey - he have worms ..
Take him to a Vet ..

And do not give him EndoVET he is 2 young .

he's beyond pup stage now, ready to tear men apart and is a good listener 8-)

Postby 88sins » December 24th, 2019, 7:17 am

Whilst we here
I still looking for a skilled agitator, or someone who wants to learn the skill. Preferably in the east, but I don't mind going as far central as chaguanas.

Anyone have any recommendations?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 24th, 2019, 7:21 am

88sins wrote:Whilst we here
I still looking for a skilled agitator, or someone who wants to learn the skill. Preferably in the east, but I don't mind going as far central as chaguanas.

Enlighten me

Postby 88sins » December 24th, 2019, 8:11 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Enlighten me

you takin d wuk?
if you serious pm me

rebound

Postby rebound » December 24th, 2019, 8:13 am

I thought you looking for a alligator yes...
88sins wrote:Whilst we here

Postby 88sins » December 24th, 2019, 9:04 am

rebound wrote:I thought you looking for a alligator yes...[

that too, if yuh have i go take it

dis year I eh even get time to look in d general direction of the bush, much less go get meat. so this Christmas, the table fare is only domesticated animals :( lamb, veal, beef, turkey, chicken. maybe a goose if I could find the time today before 12, which isn't likely

rebound

Postby rebound » December 24th, 2019, 9:47 am

Nothing beats a doubled fried portion of alligator tail eh........
rebound wrote:I thought you looking for a alligator yes...[

that too, if yuh have i go take it

dis year I eh even get time to look in d general direction of the bush, much less go get meat. so this Christmas, the table fare is only domesticated animals :( lamb, veal, beef, turkey, chicken. maybe a goose if I could find the time today before 12, which isn't likely