IMG-20200504-WA0008.jpg
IMG-20200504-WA0006.jpg
IMG-20200504-WA0005.jpg

Re: Flash Over - paint car

Postby supercharged turbo » May 4th, 2020, 10:00 pm

If its one thing,you never really see pics of X5,Q7 etc that rollover or get into an accident on social media.Great work spann

dogg

Postby dogg » January 31st, 2023, 6:32 am

What's the going rate these days to repaint an SUV?
Metallic colour. VERY minor scrapes and scuffs. Repainting due to clear-coat flaking off.
Any recommended shops in the San Juan area?

Postby Dave » January 31st, 2023, 6:44 am

Abstract auto on the Mr Rd in Petit Bourg did some minor work for me. Guys name is Trevor.
Prices not bad.

Postby pugboy » January 31st, 2023, 7:33 am

around $12-15k for a proper paintover

Postby Rovin » January 31st, 2023, 12:12 pm

not arguing d price for a good bodywork cause materials expensive & a man must value his labor , but imagine spending that amt on ur aged econobox that worth about d same , good if u keeping it but hardly anybody want to pay what things cost ...

Postby timelapse » January 31st, 2023, 12:22 pm

Diy

dogg

Postby dogg » January 31st, 2023, 12:34 pm

pugboy wrote:around $12-15k for a proper paintover

What the hell?!

Is bess I sell it!

Postby pugboy » January 31st, 2023, 12:42 pm

consider the cost of paint
and two weeks to remove the trim and then sand,clean, touch up straighten etc
then paint base and clear
at least couple persons labour

Postby Rovin » January 31st, 2023, 12:59 pm

only ppl who ever try DIY or seen it done knows how much work it really is , looks easy when u watch it on YT but candle cud end up costing more than funeral , dise why alot of ppl sell their run down rides jesso rather than paint\bodywork expense ...

Postby gastly369 » January 31st, 2023, 1:04 pm

dogg wrote:

What the hell?!

Is bess I sell it!
Materials went up drastically
My paint shop guy start telling ppl get their materials and he will charge his regular labour cause ppl doh want to know "price gone up"

Good friend of mines always perfect paint 2 black vehicles 2 silver(2 hardest paints to put down and to maintain)

I don't question his prices cause from base up ik what i getting and material costings

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » January 31st, 2023, 1:42 pm

asj automotive....check his pages out and videos on youtube...ill be sending my car there

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 31st, 2023, 1:56 pm

dogg wrote:

What the hell?!

Is bess I sell it!

You could wrap it for half the cost 8-)

Postby gastly369 » January 31st, 2023, 1:57 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
dogg wrote:

What the hell?!

Is bess I sell it!

You could wrap it for half the cost 8-)
Actually a "proper" wrap starts at around 9k and body condition has to be proper also.

dogg

Postby dogg » February 1st, 2023, 10:54 am

That vehicle staying just so till is time to replace oui.

I was studying to repaint cuz I saw here how a man couldn't get his inspection sticker due to paint flaking from his vehicle!

Postby gastly369 » February 1st, 2023, 11:00 am

dogg wrote:That vehicle staying just so till is time to replace oui.

I was studying to repaint cuz I saw here how a man couldn't get his inspection sticker due to paint flaking from his vehicle!
I see ah rotten down mazda 626 paint flake least he worries 2 different color fender and he have the new inspection sticker on windscreen....

Brave inspection garage to pass that yes

Postby timelapse » February 1st, 2023, 11:14 am

I bought car paint in an aerosol can by Classic in Macoya.They match your colour and mix the paint,then put it in an aerosol can.
Attempt it if you think you capable

dogg

Postby dogg » February 1st, 2023, 11:18 am

timelapse wrote:

I bought car paint in an aerosol can by Classic in Macoya.They match your colour and mix the paint,then put it in an aerosol can.

Besides admittedly not being capable, what about the clear coat? and the buffing?

And the amount of aerosol cans i'll have to buy, is best I pay the $10-12,000

Postby gastly369 » February 1st, 2023, 11:34 am

Kaleidoscope oil paint and paint brush for it

Postby timelapse » February 1st, 2023, 12:41 pm

dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Besides admittedly not being capable, what about the clear coat? and the buffing?

And the amount of aerosol cans i'll have to buy, is best I pay the $10-12,000
I only spot painted where paint was flaking off.If is the whole car,is pressure.
Also there is primer in a can also.If you just need to get inspection, this may be an option

Postby Country_Bookie » February 1st, 2023, 3:09 pm

timelapse wrote:

Is this place on the eastern main road or on Macoya road? Is the name classic paints?

Looking to get a spray gun and bottle for a compressor.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 1st, 2023, 4:44 pm

I see a man on fb by the name of Brian o Connor hitting you a paint job for 3.5k. A padna took the chance with an xtrail and I must say, for the price....we can't complain

matix

Postby matix » February 1st, 2023, 4:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I see a man on fb by the name of Brian o Connor hitting you a paint job for 3.5k. A padna took the chance with an xtrail and I must say, for the price....we can't complain

Talk to meh! At that price, some projects could be done.

wing

Postby wing » February 1st, 2023, 4:54 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I see a man on fb by the name of Brian o Connor hitting you a paint job for 3.5k. A padna took the chance with an xtrail and I must say, for the price....we can't complain
Brian O'Connor? .... He working in Toretto garage with he mechanic partner Jesse?

hindian

Postby hindian » February 1st, 2023, 5:08 pm

timelapse wrote:

More info on this paint in a can? Average price? Quantity in tin? Etc…

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 1st, 2023, 6:52 pm

I got thru a few years ago to paint my whole car for about $1500. Was a bess price.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 1st, 2023, 7:18 pm

matix wrote:

Screenshot_20230201-191758_Lite.jpg

Postby Dave » February 1st, 2023, 7:20 pm

Most paint jobs show their price after time.
You always get what you paid for.

matix

Postby matix » February 1st, 2023, 7:31 pm

matix wrote:

Thank you brother shake

Postby gastly369 » February 1st, 2023, 7:35 pm

matix wrote:

My clear alone was $2800 and i buy it on sale