Flash Over - paint car

Re: Flash Over - paint car

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2020, 8:21 pm

Spann I have a lil y12 wingroad aero front bumper, tail gate and rear bumper to paint from black to silver.

Wwgd

Postby RedVEVO » February 24th, 2020, 8:26 pm

Rubber Slipper I have a Corgi airplane with a aero front bumper, tail gate and rear bumper to paint from black to teal and flashing pink with a flamingo ribbon at the bottom .

Wwgd

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 8:34 pm

RedVEVO wrote:Rubber Slipper I have a Corgi airplane with a aero front bumper, tail gate and rear bumper to paint from black to teal and flashing pink with a flamingo ribbon at the bottom .

Wwgd
Lewwe cut a deal .That job is about $200 , give mih your sis for two hours and we square. She taking it for free anyhow

Imagine all you could reply with is rubber slipper. Something wrong with that? I don't get your point.

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2020, 8:40 pm

Lol u does take in redvevo. He does go on Instagram and fb and see what ppl cooking, come copy the pics and put it up and say that's his lunch

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 8:52 pm

I just get fed up of the antics that is why I answering him. If somebody don't know me and my business he could give them the wrong idea. Is a good thing everybody on tuner has the same opinion of him. Mother mad and he come out the same irritating way.

Postby A172 » February 24th, 2020, 9:06 pm

but the typical user here broke and/or poser
wah u studying wah them go think for?

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 9:10 pm

No Dan, I does be cool and doh disrespect nobody here , but yuh see envy? That is a hell of a thing. Man always on all what I have so you could see what the problem is, but I work hard for what I have . The last time he come to look for his mother I brace him and he run like a nookie to his van. Let him go on.

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 9:13 pm

People come here to talk about paint he come with the macumere man behaviour and sheiting up the whole thread , and plenty others too.

Postby MaxPower » February 24th, 2020, 9:28 pm

rspann wrote:I just get fed up of the antics that is why I answering him. If somebody don't know me and my business he could give them the wrong idea. Is a good thing everybody on tuner has the same opinion of him. Mother mad and he come out the same irritating way.

Spann by chance you have pics of his mother?

antlind

Postby antlind » February 24th, 2020, 9:30 pm

rspann wrote:I just get fed up of the antics that is why I answering him. If somebody don't know me and my business he could give them the wrong idea. Is a good thing everybody on tuner has the same opinion of him. Mother mad and he come out the same irritating way.

Spann by chance you have pics of his mother?

Or his sis?

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 9:35 pm

You really don't want to see, it's unbelievable. The wife though.......

Postby gastly369 » February 24th, 2020, 11:55 pm

Tf

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2020, 8:03 am

I was only mackoing this ched until I realise...red beetch is no where to be found since Spanner make him out...carry on...

Goes back to popcorn

Postby MaxPower » February 25th, 2020, 8:25 am

Redo like he traumatized, poor fella.

Feelin sorry for d popo now.

Postby nervewrecker » February 25th, 2020, 9:46 am

eKeith wrote:No tuners have a bake room?

moses not even in here and allyuh on de man case?

Postby nervewrecker » February 25th, 2020, 9:48 am

gastly369 wrote:Each pc removed from car and painted separately... All my work goes to him..shows customer everything no hide up and cut corners... Did my previous car as well.. Pics are even before buffing IMG_20200220_181315.jpegIMG_20200209_180423.jpegIMG_20200216_163826.jpeg

who do your car?

this recent?

saw your sis roughing it up last week :lol:

Postby gastly369 » February 25th, 2020, 10:22 am

Nah my car off the road since November lol
gastly369 wrote:Each pc removed from car and painted separately... All my work goes to him..shows customer everything no hide up and cut corners... Did my previous car as well.. Pics are even before buffing IMG_20200220_181315.jpegIMG_20200209_180423.jpegIMG_20200216_163826.jpeg

who do your car?

this recent?

saw your sis roughing it up last week

Postby gastly369 » February 25th, 2020, 10:26 am

Still have to buff etc... Scraping interior for sound dampening mat.... Bigger stuff going in
1582640629152_adobe.jpeg

Postby nervewrecker » February 25th, 2020, 1:13 pm

When the next machine getting a lil paint?

Postby Rovin » February 25th, 2020, 1:23 pm

somebody say sound dampening mat ? , check me here : ... viewtopic.php?f=8&t=737748

Postby A172 » February 25th, 2020, 2:16 pm

gastly369 wrote:Still have to buff etc... Scraping interior for sound dampening mat.... Bigger stuff going in
1582640629152_adobe.jpeg
what exactly this pic showing?

Postby gastly369 » February 25th, 2020, 2:21 pm

Nothing... For 2nr...thats for nerve
A172 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Still have to buff etc... Scraping interior for sound dampening mat.... Bigger stuff going in
1582640629152_adobe.jpeg
what exactly this pic showing?

Postby gastly369 » February 25th, 2020, 2:23 pm

Fakkk now seeing post... Already buy mat bro... I'll msg u later on some speakers looking at
Rovin wrote:somebody say sound dampening mat ? , check me here : ... http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vie ... 8&t=737748

Postby supercharged turbo » February 25th, 2020, 4:36 pm

skylinechild wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:
As we on the topic;

1)How long should you wait for the primer to fully cure before applying paint?

2)How long should you wait for the coat of paint to dry before applying the next coat?

3)How long does clear coat take to cure?

4)If you're double clearing,how long should you wait after applying the first set of clear coat before you rub down and clear again?

5)Does leaving a vehicle in the sun after applying clear coat make a difference?

6)Does double clearing make a drastic difference?

ok so i am NOT a painter by trade ..if you want your pc fix yea... dats me..... but i will attempt to answer.....

1. primer does cure ???
i say follow the instructions on the primer.
priming bare metal may be different from priming a surface that already had a previous paint job on it.
also surface prep may be different.

i always thought is to do metal work.... then rust proof and prime then sand down... reapply primer where necessary...... guide coat & sand down ...tack cloth it and get ready for actual paint.....

2. if you doing multiple coats of paint some painters say 10-15 mins - some say 15 -30 mins....
the thing about doing multiple coats is it needs to be done right and the area must be free from dust particles as if any dust settles on the first layer you may not know until its too late....

3.. clear coat curing - have no clue.. some say 3-5 days.... check the clear coat manufacturer....

4. if by double clearing you mean flow coating....
check you the youtube channel called " the gunman"

i'll link it for you....

>>>

5. i wouldnt say leave it in the sun to get cured. reason is clear coat has UV inhibitors which are added to clear coat to prevent the color below from getting faded and dull.
if you put clear coat while its semi wet in the sun.. The UV inhibitors wont be able to protect the paint below and you may be actually causing more harm than good.

6... yes to flow coating... it makes it look more wet and smooth and the gloss is good.....

further questions you can talk to spann... he is the resident paint-ologist on tuner......
rspann wrote:Allyuh disturbing mih. I dealing with a mental case in a next thread . But.

1. Different primers and hardeners have different times. 24 hrs is very safe.

2. Flash off times vary according to reducer and temperature ,so read the instructions. Ten to fifteen minutes is good.

3. Most clear coats cure in 48 hrs . Leaving it longer to dry is better if buffing as all the solvents get enough time to evaporate I leave paint for a week before buffing. Heat curing accelerates the process. Just like a bake room.

4.Double clearing gives a better finish , but it's also unnecessary unless you looking for show finish. The clear can be sanded the next day and re-cleared. I did cars with double and triple clear. The results are outstanding.

5. Make sure to follow the mixing instructions to a T. Less hardener (or more) causes under or over catalysing which causes problems which I won't go into now.

I think one tuner mentioned paint cost $700 so you could pm him to find out where.

One thing I forgot, if you see paint crazing or peeling , don't try rubbing it and priming, you will end up with the same problem. Remove it , epoxy prime and then do any repairs . That is a very technical process though.
Thanks for the advice fellas.

Postby Rovin » February 25th, 2020, 7:00 pm

gastly369 wrote:Fakkk now seeing post... Already buy mat bro... I'll msg u later on some speakers looking at
Rovin wrote:somebody say sound dampening mat ? , check me here : ... viewtopic.php?f=8&t=737748

like when u see d price u bawl ... i guessing u paid $40-50\sheet more for some other brand

soon after i posted earlier on i went to sound deaden d front doors of my panel van which thin like ah criz pan , with just 1 layer of buzzmat it sounding like it have 1\4" of filler on it , goes from sounding like clank clank to thudd thudd ...

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » February 25th, 2020, 7:38 pm

Throughout life I always end up knowing someone whose dad or uncle has a paint garage and a few things seem to be consistent among all;

1) their dad/uncle used to be the baddest painter there was long time

2) real plenty good names (known painters) learn their work in their dad/ uncle garage. Some sad story about workers thieving out from the garage or men just coming and learn the work then leaving.

3) they woulda learn the work and be the baddest out here now but that fumes thing does firetruck up the lungs real bad so they got advised against it. (Apparently PPE and safe techniques is for people in foreign only)

When you visit the garage it’s always;

1) a set of old car, crashed car blocking up their driveway at the side of their house leading into the garage itself to the back.

2) a set of crash car in the road. Grass growing in some

3) neighbors who hate them

4) a “paint boot” at the back of the garage with no access to it because of the line of parked cars in the driveway. Because of this they paint cars in the driveway, even seen some car fender/ doors etc painted by the gate in the road.

Practices like

1) using customer’s vehicle to run about as a service vehicle once it’s there

2) not even a fire extinguisher present for emergency

3) when they scrap cars they put the pieces on the hood and even on the hood of other cars so they could “see it” when they ready for it.

Business practices like

1) yea boi Daz small thing a lil 1200 and 2 days you will get tru good.. 2 weeks later well I didn’t get the paint for the price I get it last time and rain real fall so you know I ain’t wanna give you bad work but I get it done for a lil 2000. Ah next man woulda charge at least 3.

2) take the work, park up car (Maybe even drive it around) keep it for 3 weeks then actually do work on it for two days and say good things take time

Oh lord and gypsum screw. It seem like they learn in school that it’s the universal screw of planet earth. If it needs to fasten use two gypsum screw.

And of course and runs, fish eye etc... it eh buff yet inno when you buff all that gone it come back like glass.

Postby gastly369 » February 25th, 2020, 7:43 pm

Easy... /thread

Cheap ting no good and good ting no cheap

rebound

Postby rebound » February 25th, 2020, 8:10 pm

Would those mats decrease road noise in the cabin?
Rovin wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Fakkk now seeing post... Already buy mat bro... I'll msg u later on some speakers looking at
Rovin wrote:somebody say sound dampening mat ? , check me here : ... http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vie ... 8&t=737748

like when u see d price u bawl ... i guessing u paid $40-50\sheet more for some other brand

soon after i posted earlier on i went to sound deaden d front doors of my panel van which thin like ah criz pan , with just 1 layer of buzzmat it sounding like it have 1\4" of filler on it , goes from sounding like clank clank to thudd thudd ...

Postby Rovin » February 25th, 2020, 8:20 pm

^^^yes it will make a difference , got to do a good proper coverage & installation , not no 1\2 way ting ..

Postby Ted_v2 » February 25th, 2020, 9:25 pm

yall have me scared to paint my pickup.

recently did a paint job on a ck lancer by a friend of a friend, cost like 5k, job was okay. Had some shrinkback on the paint on the spoiler. Otherwise its okay.