COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 280 cases, 8 deaths, 135 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2020, 6:20 pm

i well say MOH would a ress it on we as polls close.

maybe this weekend after Govt swearing in and all dat

unless some ah dem results went poof in dat fire
Last edited by redmanjp on August 10th, 2020, 6:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » August 10th, 2020, 6:24 pm

The ressin is for tomorrow

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 281 cases, 8 deaths, 138 discharged in T&T

Postby Gladiator » August 10th, 2020, 6:59 pm

Saw at least 5 ambulances being escorted by TTPS whizzing through traffic today.... They moving like dog catchers

Postby Gladiator » August 10th, 2020, 7:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Gladiator wrote:In Arima getting release from quarantine. Nobody not checking anything they not even asking you if you have a fever or feeling ok.

They just have a secretary signing and giving out the letters. If this is handling Covid19 then I would not like to see what the alternative is.

Added to that there are at least 15 people sitting down in a tent next door that sick like dorg awaiting tests...

is this the CMOH for St. George East?

today is the last day of my self quarantine and my boss wants a letter from the CMOH

Check your PM

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2020, 7:04 pm

My fellow tuners...please dont catch a glad by this so called drop in cases

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 10th, 2020, 7:27 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:My fellow tuners...please dont catch a glad by this so called drop in cases

Are you saying what I/we think you're saying?

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2020, 7:37 pm

not to mention celebrations tonight gonna be big spreaders

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2020, 8:10 pm

Gladiator wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Gladiator wrote:In Arima getting release from quarantine. Nobody not checking anything they not even asking you if you have a fever or feeling ok.

They just have a secretary signing and giving out the letters. If this is handling Covid19 then I would not like to see what the alternative is.

Added to that there are at least 15 people sitting down in a tent next door that sick like dorg awaiting tests...

is this the CMOH for St. George East?

today is the last day of my self quarantine and my boss wants a letter from the CMOH

Check your PM

I sent u back a PM

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 10th, 2020, 9:42 pm

Vitamin D deficiency as a predictor of poor prognosis in patients with acute respiratory failure due to COVID-19

G. E. Carpagnano, V. Di Lecce, V. N. Quaranta, A. Zito, E. Buonamico, E. Capozza, A. Palumbo, G. Di Gioia, V. N. Valerio & O. Resta

https://link.springer.com/article/10.10 ... 20-01370-x

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 10th, 2020, 9:44 pm

Brief Summary

Abstract
Purpose
Hypovitaminosis D is a highly spread condition correlated with increased risk of respiratory tract infections. Nowadays, the world is in the grip of the Coronavirus disease 19 (COVID 19) pandemic. In these patients, cytokine storm is associated with disease severity. In consideration of the role of vitamin D in the immune system, aim of this study was to analyse vitamin D levels in patients with acute respiratory failure due to COVID-19 and to assess any correlations with disease severity and prognosis.

Results
Eighty one percent of patients had hypovitaminosis D. Based on vitamin D levels, the population was stratified into four groups: no hypovitaminosis D, insufficiency, moderate deficiency, and severe deficiency. No differences regarding demographic and clinical characteristics were found. A survival analysis highlighted that, after 10 days of hospitalization, severe vitamin D deficiency patients had a 50% mortality probability, while those with vitamin D ≥ 10 ng/mL had a 5% mortality risk (p = 0.019).

Conclusions
High prevalence of hypovitaminosis D was found in COVID-19 patients with acute respiratory failure, treated in a RICU. Patients with severe vitamin D deficiency had a significantly higher mortality risk. Severe vitamin D deficiency may be a marker of poor prognosis in these patients, suggesting that adjunctive treatment might improve disease outcomes.

Postby Gladiator » August 10th, 2020, 9:55 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Brief Summary

Abstract
Purpose
Hypovitaminosis D is a highly spread condition correlated with increased risk of respiratory tract infections. Nowadays, the world is in the grip of the Coronavirus disease 19 (COVID 19) pandemic. In these patients, cytokine storm is associated with disease severity. In consideration of the role of vitamin D in the immune system, aim of this study was to analyse vitamin D levels in patients with acute respiratory failure due to COVID-19 and to assess any correlations with disease severity and prognosis.

Results
Eighty one percent of patients had hypovitaminosis D. Based on vitamin D levels, the population was stratified into four groups: no hypovitaminosis D, insufficiency, moderate deficiency, and severe deficiency. No differences regarding demographic and clinical characteristics were found. A survival analysis highlighted that, after 10 days of hospitalization, severe vitamin D deficiency patients had a 50% mortality probability, while those with vitamin D ≥ 10 ng/mL had a 5% mortality risk (p = 0.019).

Conclusions
High prevalence of hypovitaminosis D was found in COVID-19 patients with acute respiratory failure, treated in a RICU. Patients with severe vitamin D deficiency had a significantly higher mortality risk. Severe vitamin D deficiency may be a marker of poor prognosis in these patients, suggesting that adjunctive treatment might improve disease outcomes.

Soooo Kamala was correct then... the sun can cure COVID or at least help you fight it!!!

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 10th, 2020, 10:11 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:Brief Summary

Abstract
Purpose

Results

Conclusions

Soooo Kamala was correct then... the sun can cure COVID or at least help you fight it!!!

Help in the fight is the best conclusion to draw from this.

I think too that this is why it took such a hold in temperate countries, just after Christmas many of the temperate countries were not only cold but didn't have the luxury of sunlight. This could have contributed to why so many of the nations of the north got hit so hard.

Also my theory is that it is known that during the Christmas and following months persons in temperate countries suffer from SAD (Seasonal Affect Dis-Order) which is almost always linked to the lack of sunlight. So this lack of sunlight during this critical time allowed the virus to take hold. Then you have to combine that with the "viral load" that comes with living in a dense residential or city environment and your immune system is going to to take a wallop.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » August 10th, 2020, 10:23 pm

This is me going off a bit here.

I found it very strange or maybe it was an over sight early on in the fight against the disease, globally not just here, that they made mention of how much this disease compromises your immune system and then they pivoted to how to prevent the disease which is fine, however little to no time was spent trying to educate folks on how to boost your immune system if only in the short term.

Simple things like trying to put in place a vitamin regime or better diet, try to get more rest, mitigate stress and get some sunlight and fresh air.

The thing is all these things were possible on account of the lock down, had folks known during the lock down they might have taken some steps during said lockdown and might have put them in a better mood. It might have also kept them occupied again easing the stress of the lockdown. Who really knows the effect the stress the lockdown itself had on individuals' immune systems.

Now I am not saying that I am anti-lockdown, if it is needed well boy so be it.

We know now that to some extent that immune system and stress are closely related (among many other things) but there was no attempt to draw peoples attention to this and use it as a means to help them weather the lockdown. The way and the mood that was projected by governments and authorities seemed to only rile panic folks.

Just my thoughts, I could go on but....

Postby matr1x » August 10th, 2020, 11:46 pm

Hopefully the flu is going to find its legs

Postby The_Honourable » August 10th, 2020, 11:55 pm

So we getting the post-election batch tomorrow?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 10th, 2020, 11:56 pm

The_Honourable wrote:So we getting the post-election batch tomorrow?

50 plus

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » August 11th, 2020, 8:19 am

Right election done. Covid going to resume now

Postby MaxPower » August 11th, 2020, 8:38 am

Hello friends,

Elections is now over.

Let us all remember that we are still in a pandemic.

It is quite disturbing to know that for elections 2020, i have noticed that almost the entire country let their guard down. There was little to no social distancing and inconsistent wearing of masks.

Even in the PNM celebrations, the music was so loud, many patrons removed their masks so their team members can hear them as spit boulders bombarded their ears. T&T we must do better.

Its a shame that citizens expect and demand so much from their respective Govt/parties, but yet still they themselves are the exact image of what they portray their opponents to be.

PNM or UNC, Trini or Vene.....we must all do our part.

Remember remember remember, as i have been preaching for months:

Get productive.
Wear you mask.
Wash your hands.
Social distance.
Stay Home.

You, and you alone have the power to make change.

Act now.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 11th, 2020, 10:16 am

add 14

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 11th, 2020, 10:16 am

MaxPower wrote:Hello friends,

Elections is now over.

Let us all remember that we are still in a pandemic.

It is quite disturbing to know that for elections 2020, i have noticed that almost the entire country let their guard down. There was little to no social distancing and inconsistent wearing of masks.

Even in the PNM celebrations, the music was so loud, many patrons removed their masks so their team members can hear them as spit boulders bombarded their ears. T&T we must do better.

Its a shame that citizens expect and demand so much from their respective Govt/parties, but yet still they themselves are the exact image of what they portray their opponents to be.

PNM or UNC, Trini or Vene.....we must all do our part.

Remember remember remember, as i have been preaching for months:

Get productive.
Wear you mask.
Wash your hands.
Social distance.
Stay Home.

You, and you alone have the power to make change.

Act now.

This.

Postby K74T » August 11th, 2020, 10:19 am

FB_IMG_1597155045565.jpeg
FB_IMG_1597155049361.jpeg

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2020, 10:20 am

elections done
they gonna run out of beds soon

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 295 cases, 8 deaths, 139 discharged in T&T

Postby pete » August 11th, 2020, 10:41 am

"This figure is NOT representative of the positive results over the last 24 hours only."

HUH?

Even if the samples were received from the 7th to 10th, surely all these positive RESULTS were only obtained after the 6pm update yesterday? Or they admitting they didn't publish them yesterday?

Postby goalpost » August 11th, 2020, 10:46 am

still nothing is being done.

Postby goalpost » August 11th, 2020, 10:48 am

pete wrote:"This figure is NOT representative of the positive results over the last 24 hours only."

HUH?

Even if the samples were received from the 7th to 10th, surely all these positive RESULTS were only obtained after the 6pm update yesterday? Or they admitting they didn't publish them yesterday?

Yuh unnastan.

They think that statement will soften the blow for people who really don't understand the logistics.

Postby redmanjp » August 11th, 2020, 10:56 am

The_Honourable wrote:So we getting the post-election batch tomorrow?

just as we predicted- 14 from the past 3 days- cyah frighten off the electorate yuh know

Postby redmanjp » August 11th, 2020, 10:57 am

the 6 from private labs- is that through contacts? or unknown? why they didn't say?

jsali

Postby jsali » August 11th, 2020, 10:58 am

That statement means there are folks awaiting results but are out about in the public for days, until the results are obtained.

We in deep sheit.

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2020, 10:59 am

New Zealand just record cases in a household where nobody travelled or made contact with outsides
they turn back on lockdown mode

Postby pete » August 11th, 2020, 10:59 am

The question is what does samples submitted mean. It appears to only mean submitted to CARPHA with a lot more taken from patients and waiting to be sent in for analysis..