COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 63865 (+781) cases, 1891 (+6) deaths, 7689 active, 54285 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » November 20th, 2021, 10:59 am

Dizzy28 wrote:She repeated Form 6 in Hillview and was in my class. Never an indication in that time that she was a devout Muslim then.

Ofc some ppl change. I know men leave school lifelong vegetarians/goody two shoes and essentially a pundit and see them years later in bootleggers smoking, eating meat and drinking.
Dave wrote:Angostura manufacturers items considered Haram. She would be paid board fees from obvious Haram sources. Being a member of a well known Muslim organisation seems a bit compromised unless she has renounced her Muslim faith.
Repeat form 6 you say.
She wasn't a smarty pants back then but she on all them state boards now...

Redress10

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 63865 (+781) cases, 1891 (+6) deaths, 7689 active, 54285 recovered in T&T

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 11:05 am

Jobs for the boys and girls.

The day the state decide to sell those companies ppl go be out of wuk.

Only in TT a doctor will be on a board of a company selling alcohol. Pretty sure in the developed world that would be frowned upon.

Good for Trinis. They too dunce so take bull.

Postby Kenjo » November 20th, 2021, 11:17 am

wtf wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:She repeated Form 6 in Hillview and was in my class. Never an indication in that time that she was a devout Muslim then.

Ofc some ppl change. I know men leave school lifelong vegetarians/goody two shoes and essentially a pundit and see them years later in bootleggers smoking, eating meat and drinking.
Dave wrote:Angostura manufacturers items considered Haram. She would be paid board fees from obvious Haram sources. Being a member of a well known Muslim organisation seems a bit compromised unless she has renounced her Muslim faith.
Repeat form 6 you say.

Mt hope had a 1 year wait because of a backlog back then . Did she repeat to kill time or it was to obtain a scholarship ?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 20th, 2021, 11:21 am

In the days pre dollar for dollar and hundreds of gortt cholarships winning a scholarship was actually a big help for any parent and student

People repeated for the sole purpose of a scholarship even with good grades.

Med school generally had a one year wait for entry as well so might as well.
wtf wrote:

Repeat form 6 you say.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 20th, 2021, 11:30 am

Dizzy28 wrote:In the days pre dollar for dollar and hundreds of gortt cholarships winning a scholarship was actually a big help for any parent and student

wtf wrote:

Repeat form 6 you say.
She come from money. She ain't need no scholarship.

Postby hover11 » November 20th, 2021, 11:31 am

wtf wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:In the days pre dollar for dollar and hundreds of gortt cholarships winning a scholarship was actually a big help for any parent and student

wtf wrote:

Repeat form 6 you say.
First rule of money is never spend your own

Postby A172 » November 20th, 2021, 11:35 am

lol@ sufferers giving advice on money management

Postby hover11 » November 20th, 2021, 11:36 am

Rioting broke out in Rotterdam as the Netherlands government announced plans to restrict the country's coronavirus pass system to only people who are fully vaccinated or have recovered from COVID-19. https://abcn.ws/3qW7jNq

In before ppl from this 3rd world country call them savages

Postby Kenjo » November 20th, 2021, 11:36 am

wtf wrote:

wtf wrote:

Repeat form 6 you say.

Wait two men came with evidence that it had a wait and most people did it for scholarships and you can’t say what money she came from exactly ? Men even said they were in form 6 with her . No doubt she clearly making mad money now but what’s your evidence exactly ?

Postby st7 » November 20th, 2021, 11:50 am

lol @ the 'woke' keyboard warriors who concern about who on what board/conflict of interest/scholarship this n that

how it changing anything now? allyuh still small minded oui

Postby MaxPower » November 20th, 2021, 11:52 am

A172 wrote:lol@ sufferers giving advice on money management

Lmao

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 12:12 pm

Kenjo wrote:
wtf wrote:

wtf wrote:

Repeat form 6 you say.

Wait two men came with evidence that it had a wait and most people did it for scholarships and you can’t say what money she came from exactly ? Men even said they were in form 6 with her . No doubt she clearly making mad money now but what’s your evidence exactly ?

How you know she making mad money now? What do you define as "mad money"? You think people who have money and come from money actually work in the public sector? You are terribly mistaken. Anyone working in the public sector needs that job. Don't be fooled.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 20th, 2021, 12:24 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
wtf wrote:

wtf wrote:

Repeat form 6 you say.

How you know she making mad money now? What do you define as "mad money"? You think people who have money and come from money actually work in the public sector? You are terribly mistaken. Anyone working in the public sector needs that job. Don't be fooled.
It's 5 boards she on excluding her current role in the health sector which makes it 6. That's 6 different salary with perks.
She ain't no ordinary Public Official. She high up top.
What value is she bringing to the citizens for receiving all those taxpayers dollars as salary?
How does she even keep up with the demands of those jobs..

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 12:32 pm

wtf wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
wtf wrote:

wtf wrote:

Repeat form 6 you say.

It's 5 boards she on excluding her current role in the health sector which makes it 6. That's 6 different salary with perks.
What value is she bringing to the citizens for receiving all those taxpayers dollars as salary?

Like I said.. jobs for the boys and girls. Taxpayers monies minding them and their children but they quick to call cepep and urp workers "handouts". All of these things are glorified make work schemes. Created and perfected by the PNM.

Whilst the world is creating the likes of Musks etc we have idiots like this one who went medical school but doing everything but practicing medicine. Only in Trinidad doctor will have time to serve on boards of companies that are not health focus. Remember the days when medicine was viewed as a profession by itself and doctors didn't try to become Politicians and members of parliament? What is the point of training a doctor if they just gonna turn around and be a politician? Waste of an education.

Postby st7 » November 20th, 2021, 12:43 pm

how? it's a person's choice to do wtf they want.

i doh understand the beat up that someone want to make MORE money doing something else. not everybody hadda listen to their parents to become a lawyer engineer doctor

Postby Kenjo » November 20th, 2021, 12:47 pm

Redress10 wrote:
wtf wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
wtf wrote:

wtf wrote:

Repeat form 6 you say.

Like I said.. jobs for the boys and girls. Taxpayers monies minding them and their children but they quick to call cepep and urp workers "handouts". All of these things are glorified make work schemes. Created and perfected by the PNM.

Whilst the world is creating the likes of Musks etc we have idiots like this one who went medical school but doing everything but practicing medicine. Only in Trinidad doctor will have time to serve on boards of companies that are not health focus. Remember the days when medicine was viewed as a profession by itself and doctors didn't try to become Politicians and members of parliament? What is the point of training a doctor if they just gonna turn around and be a politician? Waste of an education.

She is doing her type of medicine actually . Not all medicine is fully clinical . Not all doctors are surgeons . There are a ton of specialties and besides all them boards you all seeing now she otherwise has her role in the health care systems . You all think Hinds , Parasram and her didn’t have jobs in the health sector before ?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 12:55 pm

st7 wrote:how? it's a person's choice to do wtf they want.

i doh understand the beat up that someone want to make MORE money doing something else. not everybody hadda listen to their parents to become a lawyer engineer doctor

When that choice involve taxpayers funds etc then it becomes a problem. Do we spend millions of taxpayers funds to train medical doctors etc who then turn around and neglect the practice of public medicine for personal political ambitions. What value is a highly trained medical doctor in TT if his/her time is also spent doing ministerial duties or parliamentary duties.

In the case of Richards, did she get those roles bases on merit or nepotism. What is the need for her to be on the board of Angostura, a commercial alcohol entity as a trained medical practitioner and muslim woman? Is it that state entities serve no real commercial function other than to provide jobs and opportunity for friends, families and financiers?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 1:02 pm

Kenjo wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
wtf wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
wtf wrote:

wtf wrote:Repeat form 6 you say.

She is doing her type of medicine actually . Not all medicine is fully clinical . Not all doctors are surgeons . There are a ton of specialties and besides all them boards you all seeing now she otherwise has her role in the health care systems . You all think Hinds , Parasram and her didn’t have jobs in the health sector before ?

Right but is it that she has become an expert in her field where no more training is required? Seems to me that her roles are political and not based on some sort of specialist expertise that she possesses. She is not a world renowned physician similar to a Bartholonew or a Sawh yet she seems to have been given leadership roles in numerous organisations. This may infact be based on who she knows and is aligned to rather than what she knows.

What I am getting at is even at an individual level, doesn't she want to improve her own medical reputation by publishing studies or research etc. Seems to me that people no longer are interested in pushing their professions forward but seeing how their professions can propel them into politics.

Postby st7 » November 20th, 2021, 1:03 pm

Redress10 wrote:

When that choice involve taxpayers funds etc then it becomes a problem. Do we spend millions of taxpayers funds to train medical doctors etc who then turn around and neglect the practice of public medicine for personal political ambitions. What value is a highly trained medical doctor in TT if his/her time is also spent doing ministerial duties or parliamentary duties.

In the case of Richards, did she get those roles bases on merit or nepotism. What is the need for her to be on the board of Angostura, a commercial alcohol entity as a trained medical practitioner and muslim woman? Is it that state entities serve no real commercial function other than to provide jobs and opportunity for friends, families and financiers?

i'm a little ignorant on this part, but how do we spend millions of taxpayers funds to train medical doctors? i'm confused about that

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 1:10 pm

st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

i'm a little ignorant on this part, but how do we spend millions of taxpayers funds to train medical doctors? i'm confused about that

GATE, UWI, scholarships. Clinical training after graduation in public hospitals using public resources with salaries paid by taxpayers.

Postby st7 » November 20th, 2021, 1:16 pm

Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

GATE, UWI, scholarships

:? ok.... and what that have to do with anything? ent she wokkin here more than 10 yrs? u saying cuz everybody do GATE they cant go do another wok that wasnt in their field of study or live elsewhere?

u not making sense. redress that

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 20th, 2021, 1:16 pm

She collecting six (6) different salary with perks but advising Rowley to shut down sectors where people collecting 1 salary without perks to curb COVID-19.
I wonder if she right in she head or she gone mental with the little power she getting from the PNM.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 1:26 pm

st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
st7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

GATE, UWI, scholarships

:? ok.... and what that have to do with anything? ent she wokkin here more than 10 yrs? u saying cuz everybody do GATE they cant go do another wok that wasnt in their field of study or live elsewhere?

u not making sense. redress that

I am saying if taxpayers funds are used to train a person in a very specific area then that person should specialize and aim to improve that area. A doctor serves a very specific function in society. One that cannot be easily replaced or reproduced. Why spend millions on medical training only for them to turn around and do everything but medicine.

It is this sort of mentality that now sees us with A Browne as the minister of foreign affairs. Are you telling me that out of 1.4 million people in this country we don't have a single person with the requisite international affiars experience and qualifications to be an effective MOFA. What does a medical doctor know about foreign affairs and diplomacy?
Last edited by Redress10 on November 20th, 2021, 1:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dave » November 20th, 2021, 1:26 pm

Board fees are not a salary per say, it's a stipend paid that is taxed. Not exhorbitant as some ppl would think.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 1:27 pm

wtf wrote:She collecting six (6) different salary with perks but advising Rowley to shut down sectors where people collecting 1 salary without perks to curb COVID-19.
I wonder if she right in she head or she gone mental with the little power she getting from the PNM.

Jobs for the boys and girls.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2021, 1:42 pm

thas why yuh does get on multiple boards
so end up with a lil 20-30k

Dave wrote:Board fees are not a salary per say, it's a stipend paid that is taxed. Not exhorbitant as some ppl would think.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 1:48 pm

pugboy wrote:thas why yuh does get on multiple boards

Dave wrote:Board fees are not a salary per say, it's a stipend paid that is taxed. Not exhorbitant as some ppl would think.

Not only that but you also get alot of soft power. You can influence who gets hired and what contract gets approved etc. A simple search at most state companies and you will find friends and family of the government working there and companies connected to government officials via friends and families conducting business with state enterprises.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2021, 1:57 pm

you are a smart fella
ppl coming to you for favors means you have them good and proper

Redress10 wrote:

Not only that but you also get alot of soft power. You can influence who gets hired and what contract gets approved etc. A simple search at most state companies and you will find friends and family of the government working there and companies connected to government officials via friends and families conducting business with state enterprises.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » November 20th, 2021, 2:04 pm

pugboy wrote:you are a smart fella
ppl coming to you for favors means you have them good and proper

Redress10 wrote:

Exactly. These board positions are not just about salary and perks. Is for the parties to have direct access and control to company resources. When it have ppl who sitting on multiple boards that is just an indication of that person's willingness to be at the beck and call of the party hierarchy. The more boards a person on is the more the party "trust" them.

Postby The_Honourable » November 20th, 2021, 2:07 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
wtf wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
wtf wrote:

Right but is it that she has become an expert in her field where no more training is required? Seems to me that her roles are political and not based on some sort of specialist expertise that she possesses. She is not a world renowned physician similar to a Bartholonew or a Sawh yet she seems to have been given leadership roles in numerous organisations. This may infact be based on who she knows and is aligned to rather than what she knows.

What I am getting at is even at an individual level, doesn't she want to improve her own medical reputation by publishing studies or research etc. Seems to me that people no longer are interested in pushing their professions forward but seeing how their professions can propel them into politics.

To put it simply, Maryam GT. I'm acquainted with her a bit, she looked basic back in the day and the makeup is overkill but she's got brains and had family support. One of her family members was a Doctor and politically connected *hint hint*. She was already set, so once she got married her life trajectory changed for the positive and to another level.

Some might say she's an overachiever. She went SAGS, got a national schol, became a Doc in Obstetrics, and further graduated with two Masters. She worked in the public health care system and the IDB. She married into the Richards family along the way who is also politically connected *hint hint*. Whether she married for love or upward mobility or both, she made the right move. She has brains and now herself politically connected so yes, she's not no ordinary public official and probably a superstar. Now whether she can practically do the work is another question and it seems that she can. While many knows deep down she can get into positions like state boards with her political connections, she will always have her credentials to back her up and easily claim merit.

Maryam is simply taking advantage of an issue which has plagued us for decades with persons being part of multiple state boards. She's not the first and would not be the last. Hell, if we got the opportunity to be on multiple state boards meaning multiple checks at the end of the month, we would take it. She has the resume and experience to back it up, well at least when it comes to ERHA and NIPDEC. TTBS and Angostura is a bit of an eye opener but you can't really stop that.