COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2023, 8:20 pm

pugboy wrote:any tuner surveys on how many tuners have had covid officially?
And if they were vaxed...

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2023, 8:20 am

you sure?
real folks got emotional and hair turned gray trying to sell dewormer

The_Honourable wrote:
pugboy wrote:follow the science
flatten the curve

Good times :lol:

Postby aaron17 » May 6th, 2023, 8:22 am

Crime..the new pandemic

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2023, 8:52 am

just like they say everybody will ketch covid
ttey making sure we all become victims of crime

aaron17 wrote:Crime..the new pandemic

Postby aaron17 » May 6th, 2023, 11:31 am

image-3.4328884.295259.20230506014207.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » May 12th, 2023, 7:49 pm

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/covid19-releases-from-ministry-of-health-cease-6.2.1704845.9dc4ae8fa2

COVID-19 releases from Ministry of Health cease

The regular COVID-19 media releases from the Ministry of Health have now ceased after three years, two months, and nine days since the first update was issued on March 4th, 2020. On May 12th, the Ministry of Health said as a result of a low level of COVID-19 in circulation in Trinidad and Tobago with low levels of cases, deaths, hospitalizations, and positivity, the press releases in their current format would no longer be issued.

Between April 29th through May 12th, the seven-day rolling average of COVID-19 cases, meaning the number of new COVID-19 cases recorded daily during the seven-day-period is 10, down from two weeks ago, when the Ministry of Health was recording 13 cases per day on average, and the lowest rolling average in over two years, when it was ten on March 22nd, 2021.

Within the last two weeks, there has only been one COVID-19-related death. The positivity rate is 6.7 per cent, meaning of every patient tested at public and private healthcare facilities, 6.7 out of every 100 people were positive.

The Ministry of Health notes that there are no patients in the intensive care unit and high dependency unit for the second fortnightly period in a row, with an average of 19 patients in hospitals across the parallel and hybrid healthcare systems. The hybrid healthcare system includes facilities like the Port of Spain General Hospital and San Fernando General Hospital, which are now equipped to treat and ward COVID-19 patients without transfer to the parallel healthcare system that only houses COVID-19-positive patients.

The Ministry notes that this data is indeed encouraging, especially within an environment with very few public health restrictions at this time.

Over the course of 1,250 COVID-19 media releases from the Ministry of Health, T&T has recorded over 191,000 confirmed COVID-19 cases and 4,391 COVID-19 deaths.

According to the Ministry of Health, the World Health Organization ended its declaration of COVID-19 as a global health emergency on May 5th, 2023, which signalled the end of the COVID-19 pandemic, according to the Ministry of Health.

In a statement, the Ministry of Health is reminding the public, particularly the vulnerable (those with chronic diseases, the elderly, pregnant patients, and the unvaccinated), that they should continue to maintain the principles and practice of good hygiene as these measures will assist in the maintenance of our low levels of transmission of COVID-19 and other infectious diseases.

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2023, 8:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/covid19-releases-from-ministry-of-health-cease-6.2.1704845.9dc4ae8fa2

COVID-19 releases from Ministry of Health cease

The regular COVID-19 media releases from the Ministry of Health have now ceased after three years, two months, and nine days since the first update was issued on March 4th, 2020. On May 12th, the Ministry of Health said as a result of a low level of COVID-19 in circulation in Trinidad and Tobago with low levels of cases, deaths, hospitalizations, and positivity, the press releases in their current format would no longer be issued.

Between April 29th through May 12th, the seven-day rolling average of COVID-19 cases, meaning the number of new COVID-19 cases recorded daily during the seven-day-period is 10, down from two weeks ago, when the Ministry of Health was recording 13 cases per day on average, and the lowest rolling average in over two years, when it was ten on March 22nd, 2021.

Within the last two weeks, there has only been one COVID-19-related death. The positivity rate is 6.7 per cent, meaning of every patient tested at public and private healthcare facilities, 6.7 out of every 100 people were positive.

The Ministry of Health notes that there are no patients in the intensive care unit and high dependency unit for the second fortnightly period in a row, with an average of 19 patients in hospitals across the parallel and hybrid healthcare systems. The hybrid healthcare system includes facilities like the Port of Spain General Hospital and San Fernando General Hospital, which are now equipped to treat and ward COVID-19 patients without transfer to the parallel healthcare system that only houses COVID-19-positive patients.

The Ministry notes that this data is indeed encouraging, especially within an environment with very few public health restrictions at this time.

Over the course of 1,250 COVID-19 media releases from the Ministry of Health, T&T has recorded over 191,000 confirmed COVID-19 cases and 4,391 COVID-19 deaths.

According to the Ministry of Health, the World Health Organization ended its declaration of COVID-19 as a global health emergency on May 5th, 2023, which signalled the end of the COVID-19 pandemic, according to the Ministry of Health.

In a statement, the Ministry of Health is reminding the public, particularly the vulnerable (those with chronic diseases, the elderly, pregnant patients, and the unvaccinated), that they should continue to maintain the principles and practice of good hygiene as these measures will assist in the maintenance of our low levels of transmission of COVID-19 and other infectious diseases.
Not "covid death" but a covid RELATED death...
Mc and dem fudge pandemic figures from the start.

Postby alfa » May 13th, 2023, 9:06 pm

Remember when high society supermarkets had the one way lanes to prevent covid? Thank God, if wasn't for those i may not have been alive today.

Postby Chimera » May 13th, 2023, 9:08 pm

All them chinee in groceries and casinos and restaurants start back to wear masks again. Covid 2023 here we come

Postby redmanjp » May 14th, 2023, 11:39 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:All them chinee in groceries and casinos and restaurants start back to wear masks again. Covid 2023 here we come

So dat Songbird movie was right then :!:

Postby redmanjp » June 9th, 2023, 12:00 pm

this only now happening?

Gov't working to secure supplies of anti-viral COVID-19 drug Paxlovid

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/govt-working-secure-supplies-anti-viral-covid-19-drug-paxlovid

“In addition, Pfizer’s monopoly also means that middle income countries may be forced to pay up to 10 times more for Paxlovid than a generic equivalent. It should also be noted hat while the drug has had emergency use authorisation from the US FDA since late 2021, the FDA only granted full approval to…Paxlovid on May 25, 2023, barely one week ago.

if it so expensive then why not try to get the generic verson?

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 9th, 2023, 2:02 pm

oh gosh allyuh :cry:

I rel fraid dis ting inno, so much healthy people just dropping down on the street by the dozens

I Was standing up in City gate the other day and jusso 3 people just fall down on me and nearly knocked my soy milk latte out of my hands, we need to start taking this thing seriouslyyyyy

:oops: :cry: :oops: :cry: :oops: :cry:

Postby sMASH » June 9th, 2023, 3:12 pm

What js the latest variant of concern?
We still have thr pandemic declared, so they must hsve some data or scientific method to justify it.

For the life of me, i WILL NOT belive they are instating national heslth policies, pulled from their asses.

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » June 11th, 2023, 9:01 am

Are ppl still getting paid when they in Quarantine?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 12th, 2023, 8:59 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:oh gosh allyuh :cry:

I rel fraid dis ting inno, so much healthy people just dropping down on the street by the dozens

I Was standing up in City gate the other day and jusso 3 people just fall down on me and nearly knocked my soy milk latte out of my hands, we need to start taking this thing seriouslyyyyy

I say bring a lil curfew and essential blocking back. The quiet,calm and lack of teasing is greatly missed

Postby aaron17 » June 12th, 2023, 9:07 am

nick639v2 wrote:

I say bring a lil curfew and essential blocking back. The quiet,calm and lack of teasing is greatly missed
Doh worry ..other pandemics comin..with the help of climate change and human 'intervention'

Postby alfa » June 12th, 2023, 9:35 am

The whole Jaguar fiasco is so reminiscent of COVID and the gold teeth jack arse urban legend of the 1940s/50s. Shows that any point in history despite major advances in communication people are duped into mass hysteria

Postby adnj » June 12th, 2023, 9:57 am

alfa wrote:

The whole Jaguar fiasco is so reminiscent of COVID and the gold teeth jack arse urban legend of the 1940s/50s. Shows that any point in history despite major advances in communication people are duped into mass hysteria

Your colloquial use of the term mass hysteria is completely wrong.

TTO experienced COVID deaths at 6x the peak murder rate. That wasn't mass hysteria - that was a health care emergency. Start from there and you may tend to grasp the behavioral implications.

Postby alfa » June 12th, 2023, 10:12 am

adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:

TTO experienced COVID deaths at 6x the peak murder rate. That wasn't mass hysteria - that was a health care emergency. Start from there and you may tend to grasp the behavioral implications.

So locking down business, making doubles contraband and having the army come collect infected patients in hazmat suits wasn't mass hysteria? Sweet

Postby adnj » June 12th, 2023, 11:01 am

alfa wrote:
adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:

So locking down business, making doubles contraband and having the army come collect infected patients in hazmat suits wasn't mass hysteria? Sweet

People jumping from tall buildings because they see lights in the sky is mass hysteria. Large numbers of people getting sick from watching a television program is mass hysteria.

Collecting COVID infected remains in biosafety level 2 PPE is providing worker safety.

Postby redmanjp » June 12th, 2023, 11:52 am

Rayden6 wrote:Are ppl still getting paid when they in Quarantine?

are ppl still getting quarantine orders given that the health emergency is over? i got a quarantine order back in February and i work in the public sector so yes they gave me 'Special Sick Leave' so i got paid. but i wondering if the situation change now.

if not then u would have to take normal sick leave and if the new normal is u getting sick twice a year cuz no precautions in place u use up all your sick leave because your covid sickness is in addition to other sicknesses - they might have to increase the sick leave allowance.
Last edited by redmanjp on June 12th, 2023, 12:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » June 12th, 2023, 12:02 pm

adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:
adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:

People jumping from tall buildings because they see lights in the sky is mass hysteria. Large numbers of people getting sick from watching a television program is mass hysteria.

Collecting COVID infected remains in biosafety level 2 PPE is providing worker safety.
Cause God forbid u get covee , its 100% death sentence.
We still have the pandemic declared, they have science to back that up

Postby adnj » June 12th, 2023, 12:31 pm

sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:
adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:

Cause God forbid u get covee , its 100% death sentence.
We still have the pandemic declared, they have science to back that up

sLOWNESS,

I realize that your feelings were hurt, with me pointing out that you were wrong about just about everything. But now you are embarrassing yourself.

In the future, please make a minimal attempt at getting the facts. Then try to make some sense of those facts. Then, before you post something that will require correction later, try to form a complete thought. And then, most important point here, put the complete thought in one post.

COVID is real. Luckily the health emergency is at an end. Fortunately the unvaccinated survivors no longer require vaccination. Too bad that that the mask mandate is at an end though. More nasty breath, rotten teeth, and funky spittle flying in the public, But the public will soldier on and ignore the dogshit breath that once again permeates the enclosed spaces of you nasty Trinis.

You fought the good fight sLOWNESS. Rest in peace with that knowledge when some preventable ailment finally takes you.

Postby sMASH » June 12th, 2023, 5:56 pm

Take the jab to stop the spread.. Lol

Postby K74T » June 15th, 2023, 11:22 am

FB_IMG_1686842417182.jpg

Postby redmanjp » June 15th, 2023, 11:25 am

rowle agree the the new pandemic treaty which would take away decision making from us in the next emergency?

Postby redmanjp » June 15th, 2023, 11:31 am

d man call rowley Your Excellency oui

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 15th, 2023, 11:34 am

redmanjp wrote:rowle agree the the new pandemic treaty which would take away decision making from us in the next emergency?

Yup more or less ...

We no longer have sovereign control over our public health care policy when it comes to pandemics.
Special interest groups that act through the WHO will now be in control.

The good thing is that this is Trinidad ... No enforcement of rules here.
So what they decide to do to us we will do our own thing at the ground level.

SO mandate vaccines ... Forced lockdowns and restrictions and Trini's will find a way to circumvent the system.
We have loads of experience., let them come.

Postby redmanjp » June 15th, 2023, 11:38 am

^ Dr. Tedros just said WHO wont have that power (for lockdowns, he didn't say anything about other measures like masks mandates, vax mandates, etc.)- hope he's right because the wording of the treaty seems to indicate certain powers will go to the WHO.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 15th, 2023, 11:45 am

redmanjp wrote:^ Dr. Tedros just said WHO wont have that power (for lockdowns, he didn't say anything about other measures like masks mandates, vax mandates, etc.)- hope he's right because the wording of the treaty seems to indicate certain powers will go to the WHO.

Ahhh ok, so just Vax and masks, they could just put pressure on the gov to lock down.
Can they close borders with the current wording?