COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Redress10

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 15899 cases, 276 deaths, 5558 active, 10065 recovered in T&T

Postby Redress10 » May 18th, 2021, 10:37 am

sMASH wrote:america did not approve the az for their own people. they acquired it cause american life is first and foremost. but it did not meet their criteria for their people. since other peopel want it, ease up the storage space and send it.

one man's rubbish is another mans treasure. since we wnat it, might as well take it.

Steups..Trinidad is not the only country in the world that requires vaccines. Most likely those vaccines are going to countries such as India, Brazil and South Africa etc. Those countries still have hundreds of millions of people to vaccinate. Chances are countries such as ours will not be given vaccine priority.

We are getting 100k doses of sinopharm today as well as the purchase that the gov't made which I think amounts to more than 1 million doses. Chances are the US is not going to donate vaccines to countries that are so well equipped in terms of vaccine acquisition. They also have to donate to Africa, Asia etc. Those are heavily populated countries so 80 million vaccines is nothing to be optimistic about. It may sound like alot but it honestly isn't.

Some of you all are setting yourselves up for disappointment then would make up a scenario that it is the result of government shortcoming.

2WNBoost

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 16549 cases, 294 deaths, 5885 active, 10370 recovered in T&T

Postby 2WNBoost » May 18th, 2021, 10:37 am

^^ Biden said it’s going to COVAX

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 16549 cases, 294 deaths, 5885 active, 10370 recovered in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 18th, 2021, 10:40 am

CMO – No one heeded warning about drastic COVID rise

Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram
On May 3, Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasam said that at the beginning of March he noticed that the COVID-19 figures were increasing and that while “people” thought that the figures were low, he believed that it was enough to cause a “snowball effect.”

Yesterday, at the Ministry of Health’s update, Parasram was able to clarify who opposed his medical view.

“We would have seen a gradual increase in cases beginning in early March when we would have seen a seven-day rolling average of three. That quickly went up from three to ten and then ten to 15,” he said.

“We looked at it as a small increase nationwide and people said that 15 cases a day was not something alarming,” he said.

“Really looking at it from an epidemiologic perspective and what epidemiologist Dr (Avery) Hinds would have shown on his graphs, is the way it doubles so that ten would quickly go to 100, so that was cause for concern,” he said.

“We voiced that concern to the population to try to start the beginning of people having the behaviour that they would have had for the best part of November to March 2021, to really get people back on track,” he said.

Parasram said he wanted to get the numbers back down to three to four cases per day.

In the past week, though, the daily confirmed cases have averaged out at 414 cases.

“That was what I was alluding to at that point in time,” he said.

“What happens in terms of this particular epidemic is when you have the movement of people, you don’t see the effect until two to three weeks after the event has already occurred. What happens after that, when you see the actual spike you looking at, it is usually manifested due to activities that have passed,” he said.

Parasram said when you put in your interventions, it would take two to three weeks for it to kick in. In terms of where we are now, we are at the peak and within the coming days or weeks we will begin to see a slowing of the rise, hopefully, a plateauing, a decreased number of cases coming to the hospital and eventually, because of the SoE, we really begin to see a decrease to normally.”

Defend it stooges

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 15899 cases, 276 deaths, 5558 active, 10065 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2021, 10:41 am

Redress10 wrote:
sMASH wrote:america did not approve the az for their own people. they acquired it cause american life is first and foremost. but it did not meet their criteria for their people. since other peopel want it, ease up the storage space and send it.

one man's rubbish is another mans treasure. since we wnat it, might as well take it.

Steups..Trinidad is not the only country in the world that requires vaccines. Most likely those vaccines are going to countries such as India, Brazil and South Africa etc. Those countries still have hundreds of millions of people to vaccinate. Chances are countries such as ours will not be given vaccine priority.

We are getting 100k doses of sinopharm today as well as the purchase that the gov't made which I think amounts to more than 1 million doses. Chances are the US is not going to donate vaccines to countries that are so well equipped in terms of vaccine acquisition. They also have to donate to Africa, Asia etc. Those are heavily populated countries so 80 million vaccines is nothing to be optimistic about. It may sound like alot but it honestly isn't.

Some of you all are setting yourselves up for disappointment then would make up a scenario that it is the result of government shortcoming.

that was the play all along. dance the people round until pooh bear get emergency approval for their vaccine.

belt and road, covid episode.

jsali

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 16549 cases, 294 deaths, 5885 active, 10370 recovered in T&T

Postby jsali » May 18th, 2021, 10:46 am

Hi folks,

I asked a coworker who recently recovered, to share her experience.
With her permission, I'm sharing with you all. This was in April/May 2021.
cov syms 1.jpeg
cov syms 2.jpeg
cov syms 3.jpeg

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 18th, 2021, 10:50 am

2WNBoost wrote:^^ Biden said it’s going to COVAX

Bro Covax covers over 90 different countries. Iran with a population of over 80 million people got about 400k doses yesterday I believe.

We not getting no high amount of doses from them anytime soon. We got 30k+ doses when India wasn't even in crisis farless for now.

That 80k is to give countries such as India an ease up.

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2021, 10:57 am

jsali wrote:Hi folks,

How old was she?
Normal weight/height, overweight, obese?
Any other comorbidities?

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2021, 11:02 am

hinds brother dead from covid.

why they not staying home and staying safe? why they like to zess so?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 18th, 2021, 11:04 am

The best vaccine is the one immediately available to you. Do you think that Russia and Chinese citizens etc have the luxury of waiting and hoping for an american or european made vaccine?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 18th, 2021, 11:08 am

sMASH wrote:hinds brother dead from covid.

Fake news...not his real brother but a friend.

jsali

Postby jsali » May 18th, 2021, 11:12 am

Habit7 wrote:
jsali wrote:Hi folks,

How old was she? late 20's
Normal weight/height, overweight, obese? overweight, yes
Any other comorbidities? asthmatic

see above

Postby alfa » May 18th, 2021, 11:12 am

Redress10 wrote:

So it's his brotha then

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2021, 11:16 am

Redress10 wrote:

real brother, fake brother, brother by another mother f*ker... why they keep zessing and not staying home?

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2021, 11:23 am

how come tobago didnt get it? welll.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 18th, 2021, 11:24 am

sMASH wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

real brother, fake brother, brother by another mother f*ker... why they keep zessing and not staying home?

Are you slow?

What makes you think that he was exposed to the virus because his friend died? Couldn't he have been a friend that he hadn't seen for months and even years?

You sound so unintelligent at times it's unbelievable.

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2021, 11:24 am

them paramedics doing mouth resuscitation in these times ?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 18th, 2021, 11:25 am

Half those stories Hinds post sound like fiction.

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2021, 11:25 am

they might give us more based on our numbers
unless of course rowlee still operating in pride mode

Redress10 wrote:

Bro Covax covers over 90 different countries. Iran with a population of over 80 million people got about 400k doses yesterday I believe.

We not getting no high amount of doses from them anytime soon. We got 30k+ doses when India wasn't even in crisis farless for now.

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2021, 11:29 am

Redress10 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

Are you slow?

What makes you think that he was exposed to the virus because his friend died? Couldn't he have been a friend that he hadn't seen for months and even years?

stay home stay safe!!! zessing and spreading.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 18th, 2021, 11:44 am

pugboy wrote:they might give us more based on our numbers
unless of course rowlee still operating in pride mode

Redress10 wrote:

If this donation specifically excluded India then I would have been hopeful that a significant amount of vaccines could make it to countries such as our but that situation in India right now is too volatile.

We also have to remember the amount of backroom dealing that take place with these things. Not to mention the lobbying. I think Covax is mainly supplied by the Serum Institute and the Indian Government has mandated that the SI keep half of all vaccines manufactured for use in India. The situation in India has created a heavy demand for vaccines and well India will never use Sinopharm etc.

Whatever happen to private sector and they vaccination drive?

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » May 18th, 2021, 11:47 am

sMASH wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

Are you slow?

stay home stay safe!!! zessing and spreading.

Fake news?

Link to Sauce please

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2021, 11:48 am

the same current dynamics prob mess up the private deals ansa and dem tried to pull off.

did you see where the antigua pm admit that he got a pfizer vaccine via antiguan hadeed family?

Redress10 wrote:Whatever happen to private sector and they vaccination drive?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 18th, 2021, 11:56 am

Is that the "total" or is that the total first allotment?

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 18th, 2021, 11:57 am

Going to COVAX would mean it will not be going to one country in particular but distributed to multiple countries.

Redress10 wrote:

Postby adnj » May 18th, 2021, 11:59 am

The USA bought 300 million doses of AZ a year - the vaccine tested hadn't been completed. If Astra-Zeneca wants US FDA approval, they have to run the clinical trials and they are responsible for the applications to the FDA.

------

U.S. secures 300 million doses of potential AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine

MAY 21, 2020 2:13 AM UPDATED A YEAR AGO

BENGALURU/LONDON (Reuters) - The United States has secured almost a third of the first 1 billion doses planned for AstraZeneca’s experimental COVID-19 vaccine by pledging up to $1.2 billion, as world powers scramble for medicines to get their economies back to work.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-heal ... SKBN22X0J9

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2021, 12:03 pm

if is fake news, its fitzy that sent it out.

https://www.facebook.com/fitzgerald.hinds

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 18th, 2021, 12:07 pm

2WNBoost wrote:Going to COVAX would mean it will not be going to one country in particular but distributed to multiple countries.

Redress10 wrote:

That 80million is to give countries such as India an ease up.

Right but covax covers over 90 countries. Each of those countries will also have vaccine demands. In reality the bigger more powerful countries will also have a greater pull in terms of what will be allocated to them.

That is why I showed you that Iran, a country of 80 million plus ppl that was devastated by covid recently received 400k vaccines from covax.

Now, don't you think that granted Iran got that small amount of vaccine when compared to their population size and covid condition etc that our country will be given even less. Alot of people are of the belief that we are going to be given 1 million plus vaccines from this donation. The most I am seeing us getting is about 20-40k if any at all.
Last edited by Redress10 on May 18th, 2021, 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 18th, 2021, 12:08 pm

sMASH wrote:if is fake news, its fitzy that sent it out.

https://www.facebook.com/fitzgerald.hinds

If you read the whole post it's pretty clear that he is sharing someone else's words tho.

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2021, 12:44 pm

his relation to fitzy isnt the issue. the fact thaty they keep zessing and spreading, is.