COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Mmoney607

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 73759 (+984) cases, 2215 (+17) deaths, 11707 active, 59837 recovered in T&T

Postby Mmoney607 » December 4th, 2021, 1:27 pm

PariaMan wrote:What's you proposal?

Hopefully we would have learned enough to create a vaccine quicker and manufactured faster and that the level of antivaxxers are less
Mmoney607 wrote:So when a next coronavirus pop up in the wild and spread to humans, allyuh just going to wait on another vaccine to save allyuh from that too?

They can't even create a good vaccine for this one that around a whole two years now :D

PariaMan

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 73759 (+984) cases, 2215 (+17) deaths, 11707 active, 59837 recovered in T&T

Postby PariaMan » December 4th, 2021, 1:27 pm

We need at least 75 percent vaccinated

So far we have only about 50 percent

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:To each his own on this topic. I not urging people to take something which is voluntary. We have more than 600k fully vaxxed people in the country and yet still we hitting 500+ cases daily. If vaccines so great....then there is no need for "safe zones"(which is the dumbest thing ever" and beaches to remain closed etc etc...but say what

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 4th, 2021, 1:28 pm

It's good enough for the liverpool vs wolves game to.be packed with no masks

If only we could be at yhat level now
Mmoney607 wrote:

Hopefully we would have learned enough to create a vaccine quicker and manufactured faster and that the level of antivaxxers are less
Mmoney607 wrote:So when a next coronavirus pop up in the wild and spread to humans, allyuh just going to wait on another vaccine to save allyuh from that too?

They can't even create a good vaccine for this one that around a whole two years now :D

Postby adnj » December 4th, 2021, 1:30 pm

A single vaccine to beat all coronaviruses sounds impossible. But scientists are already working on one

March 23, 2021 

https://theconversation.com/a-single-va ... one-156373

Postby Chimera » December 4th, 2021, 1:33 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

i swear aids around more than a 100 years and they didnt cure it yet either

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 4th, 2021, 1:33 pm

Nah we doh need that my body my choice --- hover
adnj wrote:

A single vaccine to beat all coronaviruses sounds impossible. But scientists are already working on one

March 23, 2021 

https://theconversation.com/a-single-va ... one-156373

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 4th, 2021, 1:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:To each his own on this topic. I not urging people to take something which is voluntary. We have more than 600k fully vaxxed people in the country and yet still we hitting 500+ cases daily. If vaccines so great....then there is no need for "safe zones"(which is the dumbest thing ever" and beaches to remain closed etc etc...but say what

Many people miss the entire point of safe zones which are:

1. It is safe if everyone is vaccinated because if a positive person is in a safe zone, the risk of persons there getting it and dying (even hospitalized) are quite low. As you can see in many countries like the US and UK that are basically fully open, life is back to normal because of high vaccination rates.
2. It's an incentive for unvaccinated persons to get vaccinated without mandating it.
3. Allow business activity (which is critical to the economy and livelihoods of many) to continue.

Safe zones are brilliant if you think about it

Secondly, vaccines are the answer to ending this pandemic. If everyone took vaccines we won't be clogging up the hospitals leading to excessive deaths and overburdening of the health system.

So many of you might continue to nit-pick about details that 'doh make sense' to you, but many of you are failing to see the big picture. Tell me an alternative way out and I'll hear you out.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on December 4th, 2021, 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » December 4th, 2021, 1:36 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 4th, 2021, 1:36 pm

False equivalence

A simple example of a false equivalence is saying that a knife and dynamite are both tools that can be used as weapons, so they're pretty much the same thing, and therefore if we allow people to buy knives at the store, then we should also allow them to also buy dynamite.

Aids and Corona are caused by 2 completely different viruses they cannot be compared

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Postby adnj » December 4th, 2021, 1:42 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

1. It is safe if everyone is vaccinated because if a positive person is in a safe zone, the risk of persons there getting it and dying (even hospitalized) are quite low. As you can see in many countries like the US and UK that are basically fully open, life is back to normal because of high vaccination rates.
2. It's an incentive for unvaccinated persons to get vaccinated without mandating it.
3. Allow business activity (which is critical to the economy and livelihoods of many) to continue.

Secondly, vaccines are the answer to ending this pandemic. If everyone took vaccines we won't be clogging up the hospitals leading to excessive deaths and overburdening of the health system.

So many of you might continue to nit-pick about details that 'doh make sense' to you, but many of you are failing to see the big picture. Tell me an alternative way out and I'll hear you out.

Last edited by adnj on December 4th, 2021, 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » December 4th, 2021, 1:45 pm

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 4th, 2021, 1:48 pm

Did not know these statistics however I have been trying my best to avoid the vaccinated in my personal space

Postby hover11 » December 4th, 2021, 1:52 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

One answer is that the political will and colossal investment that have spurred on Covid vaccine development have largely been missing from AIDS vaccine research since HIV was discovered in 1983.Basically nobody care about aids only covid so they want things to go back to "normal" so they spending behind that , aids don't matter so they not spending towards that, they have to money the research but is not a priority probably next two or three generations down
Last edited by hover11 on December 4th, 2021, 1:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » December 4th, 2021, 1:56 pm

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Does this factor in when mask wearing and sanitizing are in effect or simply socializing with no masks or other 3Ws ? The data is missing out important details

Postby adnj » December 4th, 2021, 1:56 pm

PariaMan wrote:Did not know these statistics however I have been trying my best to avoid the vaccinated in my personal space
Less risk never translates to zero risk.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 4th, 2021, 1:58 pm

What numbers we expecting today?

Postby hover11 » December 4th, 2021, 1:58 pm

wtf wrote:What numbers we expecting today?
1000/30

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 4th, 2021, 1:59 pm

I will settle for 200 times less risk
adnj wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Did not know these statistics however I have been trying my best to avoid the vaccinated in my personal space

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 4th, 2021, 2:05 pm

PariaMan wrote:It's good enough for the liverpool vs wolves game to.be packed with no masks

If only we could be at yhat level now
Mmoney607 wrote:

But Bundesliga put restrictions. Since games even to be played behind closed doors

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 4th, 2021, 2:25 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:religion seems to be a major issue as well
many people believe god will save them and they believe in god rather than medicine/science

I know plenty pastors, pundits and imams spreading anti vax nonsense. The countries that are most religious are often the least vaxxed.

Tell these idiots stop going hospital if they sick, go crowd up the church instead

Well those pastors that telling people that God will save them will be right upwards of 98% of the time.
So if you right 98% of the time people likely to trust you.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 4th, 2021, 2:30 pm

Does it matter? Gov freaking with the numbers ....

Daily Case numbers they sampling from multiple days that they are probably choosing.
Then with parisrams admission of not actually knowing who is dying from covid.

You are getting a PNM doctored version of the situation designed to suit their own agenda.

Postby j.o.e » December 4th, 2021, 2:37 pm

drchaos wrote:

Daily Case numbers they sampling from multiple days that they are probably choosing.

You are getting a PNM doctored version of the situation designed to suit their own agenda.

Nearly two years in y’all think the numbers doctored? Doctored to show what ? Less or more cases ? If you think the numbers are being doctored don’t you think either way the reality is bad ?

Postby hover11 » December 4th, 2021, 2:41 pm

drchaos wrote:

Yesterday was close to 1000 is it that the real daily figure out there they are downplaying as to not cause a panic?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 4th, 2021, 2:45 pm

j.o.e wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Nearly two years in y’all think the numbers doctored? Doctored to show what ? Less or more cases ? If you think the numbers are being doctored don’t you think either way the reality is bad ?

its not bad ... Its way beyond that.

Case numbers are probably 3 times higher than they are telling you.

Postby aaron17 » December 4th, 2021, 2:46 pm

PariaMan wrote:I will settle for 200 times less risk
adnj wrote:

How about 10x less risk?

Postby aaron17 » December 4th, 2021, 2:48 pm

Guys..so what really going on with India and Africa based on numbers?

Postby paid_influencer » December 4th, 2021, 2:58 pm

aaron17 wrote:Guys..so what really going on with India and Africa based on numbers?

africa in early stages of an omicron wave. India ent reach yet. Both places have strong natural immunity to previous variants but that might not carry over to omicron.

:drinking:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 4th, 2021, 3:00 pm

aaron17 wrote:Guys..so what really going on with India and Africa based on numbers?

They gonna claim that those are poor corrupt countries/Governments with poor reporting systems that can't be trusted.

Then those same people would listen to the numbers reported by our poor corrupt government/country and take that as FACTS. :drinking:

Postby paid_influencer » December 4th, 2021, 3:11 pm

drchaos wrote:

They gonna claim that those are poor corrupt countries/Governments with poor reporting systems that can't be trusted.

Then those same people would listen to the numbers reported by our poor corrupt government/country and take that as FACTS. :drinking:

lol, this is both legit true and depressing.

:drinking:

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 4th, 2021, 3:14 pm

Hover seems like a cool guy.
Are you an East Indian hover?