COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 12105 cases, 189 deaths, 3024 active, 8892 recovered in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 5th, 2021, 8:20 pm

The amount of times Dr.Richards keeps stressing on one point over and over should say something to you all. Read between the lines nuh

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 12105 cases, 189 deaths, 3024 active, 8892 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » May 5th, 2021, 8:29 pm

"We are seeing deaths, and sudden deaths, from the 30s onwards"

-Dr Richards at the MoH conference today.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 5th, 2021, 8:29 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
bluefete wrote:Did CNC3 just inadvertently put up the true death numbers in the news this evening?

The official figure is 189 but they put up 276 on a chart.

Nah, that has to be a mistake. They don't want to make the gov't look bad by putting up the true death figure by mistake.

so I rewind CNC3 and yes, can confirm they put up 276 deaths on the chart. BUT Ria Rambally say 189, the correct figure. Don't read too much into a typo.

The most concerning thing is a lady drop dead at a bus stop in Tobago. She was fighting for air and couldn't breathe. :shock:

CNC3 news also had a big segment on the vaccination distribution not really going smoothly at all, but i put that in the other thread.

I highly recommend replaying CNC3 news tonight if you haven't seen it yet.
Link to replay?

Postby Gladiator » May 5th, 2021, 8:51 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Ministry of Tourism, T&TEC accountants and hundreds of admin staff, many private company offices, full floors of officers workers in IFC-C have been made essential workers.

Yesterday and today I've heard had level traffic heading into Port of Spain......and y'all wondering why covid spread is still rampant.

Last year I know a company that was just doing letters left right and center making their workers "essential".... This is the opposite to what the Govt is trying to do.

Postby paid_influencer » May 5th, 2021, 9:10 pm

wtf wrote:Link to replay?

my cable box has a replay feature. I posted the cnc3 news articles in the vaccine tracker if you want to read.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 5th, 2021, 9:10 pm

To the guys who are arguing who is essential or not, would you guys accept the decision to go home without a salary like many of the workers in Trinidad?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 5th, 2021, 9:29 pm

why is there no videos from anyone in couva or any parallel covid hospital or a post from anyone who home quarantine on FB or anywhere. last year had videos from ian to persons inside couva and this year nothing. is this a ploy to get free vaccine from WHO by fabricating the numbers?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 5th, 2021, 9:30 pm

wtf wrote:To the guys who are arguing who is essential or not, would you guys accept the decision to go home without a salary like many of the workers in Trinidad?

what many ? only fast food and clothes store people home, everyone from cepep to govt workers outside.

Postby matr1x » May 5th, 2021, 9:37 pm

So will loans be suspended?

Pnm tief so much that they should be paying everyone.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 5th, 2021, 9:42 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
wtf wrote:To the guys who are arguing who is essential or not, would you guys accept the decision to go home without a salary like many of the workers in Trinidad?

what many ? only fast food and clothes store people home, everyone from cepep to govt workers outside.
You didn't answer the question.
Would you rather go home without pay at this time or go to work and still earn a salary?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 5th, 2021, 9:45 pm

daring dragoon wrote:why is there no videos from anyone in couva or any parallel covid hospital or a post from anyone who home quarantine on FB or anywhere. last year had videos from ian to persons inside couva and this year nothing. is this a ploy to get free vaccine from WHO by fabricating the numbers?

Bro in the last 3-4 weeks my brother, mom and dad tested positive (well my mom didn't test but she did have minor symptoms).

I know of 4 people right now who are positive as well, 3 young so nothing serious yet. 1 is a former colleague's mother who is extremely worried as she is diabetic and close to 70.

I keep trying to tell people PNM has nothing to gain from making the numbers look this high.

It reflects poorly on literally every decision they've made and if anything the numbers are much worse.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 9:58 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:why is there no videos from anyone in couva or any parallel covid hospital or a post from anyone who home quarantine on FB or anywhere. last year had videos from ian to persons inside couva and this year nothing. is this a ploy to get free vaccine from WHO by fabricating the numbers?

Bro in the last 3-4 weeks my brother, mom and dad tested positive (well my mom didn't test but she did have minor symptoms).

I know of 4 people right now who are positive as well, 3 young so nothing serious yet. 1 is a former colleague's mother who is extremely worried as she is diabetic and close to 70.

I keep trying to tell people PNM has nothing to gain from making the numbers look this high.

It reflects poorly on literally every decision they've made and if anything the numbers are much worse.
Where did they get it from? What was their movements?
Did they follow the guidelines?

Postby paid_influencer » May 5th, 2021, 9:58 pm

lol no. Last year those facilities housed people who were mostly healthy and kept there for observation and/or quarantine. Ian Alleyne never had anything worse than some sniffles but was kept in there for weeks. The videos were his way of saying "why dey keeping we here, we healthy."

The MoH stop out that nonsense since the spike after election. The hospitals now only admit you if clinically indicated (i.e., you really sick and might dead out if they don't treat you). The patients in there now in bad state and probably not too interested in social media.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 5th, 2021, 10:02 pm

sMASH wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

All got it from co-workers, all are covid paranoid people (who normally don't go out) one of whom still sanitizing she groceries.

The older woman (my friend's mom) most likely got it at puja she went too 2.5 weeks ago. She and several others from that puja have it now one of whom died over the weekend.

Postby paid_influencer » May 5th, 2021, 10:10 pm

i doh believe anything dpd post. no saying he lying, just that i doh believe

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 5th, 2021, 10:14 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i doh believe anything dpd post. no saying he lying, just that i doh believe
Man does post he Vene gyal with he user name on the door.
What is not to believe..

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 10:16 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

All got it from co-workers, all are covid paranoid people (who normally don't go out) one of whom still sanitizing she groceries.

The older woman (my friend's mom) most likely got it at puja she went too 2.5 weeks ago. She and several others from that puja have it now one of whom died over the weekend.
Indoor setting.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 5th, 2021, 10:24 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i doh believe anything dpd post. no saying he lying, just that i doh believe

your choice man...

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 11:05 pm

these things went on all over the country in start of feburary, by the end of february u supposed to be drowning in covid cases.

a week straight, every night. all was outdoors, people distanced like 3 to 6ft apart. but 2 hrs at a time. stand up or sometimes walking. the friday i went, had at least 5k persons, and the week after when they got locked out, at least 3k persons, for hours together.

u supposed to be drowningin covid cases from that, if outdoor activity spread covid.

Postby gastly369 » May 5th, 2021, 11:09 pm

sMASH wrote:Image

these things went on all over the country in start of feburary, by the end of february u supposed to be drowning in covid cases.

a week straight, every night. all was outdoors, people distanced like 3 to 6ft apart. but 2 hrs at a time. stand up or sometimes walking. the friday i went, had at least 5k persons, and the week after when they got locked out, at least 3k persons, for hours together.

u supposed to be drowningin covid cases from that, if outdoor activity spread covid.
I'm just asking here but what u suspect for the drastic increase?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 5th, 2021, 11:15 pm

What's interesting to me is that right now, we have the 4th highest Rnaught in the world.

Rnaught is the reproduction rate represents the average number of new infections caused by a single infected individual. If the rate is greater than 1, the infection is able to spread in the population. If it is below 1, the number of cases occurring in the population will gradually decrease to zero.

Screenshot 2021-05-05 at 11.12.09 pm.png

This means we are spreading covid to each other far more than most countries in the world. What's even more alarming is that throughout the pandemic the US or India never had a reproduction rate so high (though I'm sure localized to cities it was far higher than 1.5, e.g. NY).

Screenshot 2021-05-05 at 11.14.00 pm.png

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 5th, 2021, 11:21 pm

Could be the more contagious Brazil and UK variants detected here
There are also the India and UK variants that I'm not sure we have detected here yet

Despite closed borders some flights are coming in from Guyana (which borders Brazil) - not sure if these are cargo or not
https://flightaware.com/live/flight/9YTTI/history/20210505/1910Z/SYCJ/TTPP

Postby sMASH » May 6th, 2021, 12:00 am

not normal regular activity in streets and businesses.
3 possibilities:
- people real fete like election for the easter and its run up,
- fake numbers, cause rowley come out of covid better than when he went in but burkie only last a few days.
- vaccine prolly do sumting. we dont know how many of the vaccinated are in the case numbers.

doubt is the vaccine, it can account for some of the deaths, but not so many cases.
doubt is fake numbers, there are a lot of false positives, with no symptoms. but still, the people getting symptoms.

only thing is easter jam. down by me, didnt have fete, but jesus fish type mentality fete withouth as much music. tho is shango baptiste, people.

but srsly, unless this govt start to contact trace to find out how cases were contracted, u will be spinning top in mud trying to solve this thing. u gonna keep locking down till we get vaccine? not wiht inida as it is, and it will take a while for other manufacturers to make enough that we can get based on the us patent release.
unless that is the goal, to use that to frighten the people, and draw down the treasury in covid name.

and if is the brazil strain, they need to test and identify it. ur guessing and throwing peoples lively hoods in the rubbish bin, come out with some deffinite info at least. i dont understand how this govt can be so fearful of data collection and dissemination. u always hve to hound them down for it or FOIA.

i really dont want to hear 'coudl be' and 'most likely' from people like parasram and hinds.

Postby Chimera » May 6th, 2021, 12:28 am

not sure if its mentioned in this thread at all
but this has really taken a toll on persons in homes for the elderly

for almost a year no family members have been allowed to visit relatives personally
they have to talk or look through windows/doors or phonecalls only

the worst part about this is that certain homes have taken this chance to neglect a lot of the people in their care

like normally they would be worried about their standard of care if relatives were seeing their family often, now they don't need to .

like if a patient refuse to take their medicine or eat from a caretaker.....thats that....hard luck for you, starve.

Postby nervewrecker » May 6th, 2021, 1:53 am

Someone from the scooby camp died from it today. Unsure if he is a tuner.

Former coworker.
nigel.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » May 6th, 2021, 1:56 am

well yesterday. now seeing the time

Postby gastly369 » May 6th, 2021, 2:13 am

nervewrecker wrote:well yesterday. now seeing the time
Yep good friend.... Very shocking news got today..

Postby matr1x » May 6th, 2021, 2:13 am

I have had a contentious interaction with some tuners here , but I hope you all are ok.

Except randolphinshan and Habit7. Your pnm people doom us.

Postby sMASH » May 6th, 2021, 2:16 am

want to cite india for covid stats.... well....

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/blo ... -in-india/
TimesOfIndia wrote:Yes, 850 died of covid recently in a day, but 27,000 die every day in India

Governments, international organisations and mainstream media continue to drum up fear and panic in India, even as the facts entirely contradict their claims.

At this time last year, in April 2020, much less information was known about the virus. But even though some models were suggesting that this could turn out to be a severe pandemic, our party, Swarna Bharat Party, had insisted that India not implement any lockdowns but follow, instead, an age-based risk management approach. Our recommendation was consistent with the approach identified in officially approved pandemic plans across the world and also with the approach supported later in 2020 by the eminent authors of the Great Barrington Declaration.

After one year of the pandemic, though, we are no longer at the mercy of ridiculous models. We know a lot more – enormously more – about the lethality of the virus. We can say without the slightest hesitation that covid is not a major pandemic by any stretch of imagination.

Around 27,000 people die in India from all causes every day: around one crore annually. People reporting on covid deaths in the media have forgotten that in the arithmetic of fractions there is thing called the denominator which exists for a reason: to provide a sense of context.

If you take one piece of pizza out of eight, then it is 12.5 per cent of the pizza. Likewise, 850 (the number of people who died of covid in a single day recently) divided by 27,000 is around 3 per cent.

But if that is the worst that covid can do, it is definitely not a severe pandemic.

In actual fact, this is not how it works: the average daily covid deaths over the course of the year are far fewer. When we add up India’s covid deaths from 2020, we get a total of around 150,000, which is less than six days worth of additional annual deaths, or 1.5 per cent in all. This then qualifies as random noise – being entirely insignificant.

Had covid been in a once-in-100-year event in the range of the Spanish flu, then well over three times normal annual deaths would have occurred last year, in the range of 20 million additional deaths. Compare 0.15 million with 20 million. That’s the level of exaggeration in the media and by international organisations. Someone has forgotten basic arithmetic.

Likewise, consider the media’s frenzy about covid cases. Does anyone in the media know that approximately one billion people get infected with the flu each year in the world, i.e. roughly one out of eight persons on this planet, which is around 4.6 lakhs people per day in India. If the media were to tell us this figure – i.e. the denominator – then the number of daily covid cases today would not sound high at all.

And so, no matter which way we look at this pandemic, it is – at worst – in the range of the Hong Kong flu: definitely not enough to prompt draconian CCP-style lockdowns that have been imposed once again in many parts of India. We have clearly lost our marbles as a nation.

But even if it was the Spanish flu, lockdowns would never have been justified. Society-wide lockdowns were never imposed in human history. Instead, lockdowns are purely the personal invention of President Xi Jinping of China. As I have shown in great detail in my November 2020 complaint to the International Criminal Court, lockdowns are unsuitable even for Ebola, let alone for a respiratory virus which is necessarily endemic and cannot possibly be eradicated.

There are many other issues that we need to keep in mind while considering covid. For instance, there are serious problems with the use of PCR tests as a stand-alone diagnostic tool, as well as many problems with its accuracy. Then there are issues with covid death counts. Suffice it to say that posterity will note that both covid cases and covid death counts across the world have been grossly exaggerated in 2020 and 2021.

In the end, I wish to reiterate our party’s firm opposition to lockdowns. We are seeing the continuation of irrationality and hysteria in India, of a sort that the data does not support. These draconian lockdowns and curfews are further harming the poor of India, who are now on their knees: at the end of their tether.

Let the Modi government regain some sanity before it weakens India even further.

covid is a problem in india, a small problem compared to their everyday problems.