COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 71361 (+763) cases, 2158 (+24) deaths, 10840 active, 58363 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » December 3rd, 2021, 6:44 am

hover11 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
matr1x wrote:Everyone focusing on death from covid. While that is bad, it's not the most dangerous thing.

Severity is far worse. At least when you dead the pain ends. When a virus is severe and cripples you...you will wish you were dead

I personally have seen 3 instances of covid damage:

The first was my dad's coworker, fit heathy guy aged 62, got covid badly, was in Caura, got discharged and 2 weeks later had a severe stroke and later died. I should add he was a very very fit guy, used to run 5kms a couple times a week.

My friends mother, only 58, a bit overweight but no major prior health problems. She got covid pretty bad, but recovered. A month later, she passed out at home. They took her to Medical Associates, checked her bloods realized she had severe diabetes and her kidneys were failing. They tried their best with her but she died a week later.

My aunt, 63 years of age, a cancer survivor, but otherwise good health. She got covid, it was quite bad, she was on ICU and probably one of the few people to survive and recover after ICU. However, since then (April 2020) she has basically been bedridden, saying how she's too tired to do anything. I saw her divali night and she looks like she aged 10 years since covid. I believe it's lung damage she experienced.

So long story short, while the death rate might be around 2%, permanent damage from covid happens to at least 10-15% of persons.

That alone should be scaring people and ensuring many of you get vaccinated. However, somehow the 1 in 100k side severe effect seems like a worse outcome than 1 in 10 lifelong side effects from covid.
The ppl who you called here were in retirement age or close to such...most of the death certificates I see in work from persons who die from covid are elderly, when you reach a certain age in life the body cannot fight off infections as it could have when you were younger, covid is something new for their bodies to fight and that's why most elderly are easy to succumb to such and if not succumb end up with long term side effects. The elderly are the ones who need to take their vaccines and every boosters to live in addition to the hundreds of medications they take for other ailments

I don't disagree that it is the elderly dying. But, it's been proven via research that these people on average would have lived 7-10 years longer.

60 isn't old and all of those persons were in decent health prior to covid. I should add none of those were vaccinated because all of them were infected either the first Aug 2020 wave and the April 2021 wave.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 71361 (+763) cases, 2158 (+24) deaths, 10840 active, 58363 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2021, 7:01 am

I Reiterate it is a personal choice you the individual has to evaluate your risk along with the advice from a medical practitioner.if you know you sickly and not too wholesome take your vaccine and boosters, if you coming down in age ,at the 60 or approaching such take it as your body isn't what it used to be. However, if you are like me who has not been sick in over 9 years , you exercise and have a proper diet, when I say sick I speak of the common cold then take your time there is a very good chance you will be part of that 97.3 percent who WILL survive

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2021, 7:05 am

SHAMFA CUDJOE TESTS POSITIVE FOR COVID-19.

Minister of Sport and Community Development Shamfa Cudjoe has tested positive for covid19 and is now calling on the unvaccinated to get the vaccine.

Speaking to Newsday on a matter involving the National Commission for Self Help, Cudjoe mentioned that she and several staff members, at the commission, have tested positive for the virus and are in quarantine.

Cudjoe tested for the virus a week ago after developing symptoms and has been recovering well.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/12/03/tobago ... r-covid19/

Postby adnj » December 3rd, 2021, 7:22 am

hover11 wrote:
pugboy wrote:yes the elderly
plus the other 1/3 who young and dying still
In that 1/3 are the young with co morbidities and a very miniscule number of healthy young ones
No.
No.
No.
No.
No.

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2021, 7:23 am

I wouldnt bother to try to keep correcting

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2021, 7:23 am

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
pugboy wrote:yes the elderly
plus the other 1/3 who young and dying still
In that 1/3 are the young with co morbidities and a very miniscule number of healthy young ones
No.
No.
No.
No.
No.

So adnj tell me the millions who survived covid it was a luck and chance with them?

Postby adnj » December 3rd, 2021, 7:26 am

hover11 wrote:I Reiterate it is a personal choice you the individual has to evaluate your risk along with the advice from a medical practitioner.if you know you sickly and not too wholesome take your vaccine and boosters, if you coming down in age ,at the 60 or approaching such take it as your body isn't what it used to be. However, if you are like me who has not been sick in over 9 years , you exercise and have a proper diet, when I say sick I speak of the common cold then take your time there is a very good chance you will be part of that 97.3 percent who WILL survive

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2021, 7:29 am

Omicron just shows how easy it is for the next deadly strain or other pandemic to easily spread, first they punish the Africans by implementing travel restrictions yet the rest of the world has it and no one else is being imposed such restrictions LOL, we really serious about this?

Postby K74T » December 3rd, 2021, 7:31 am

FB_IMG_1638531019758.jpg

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2021, 7:34 am

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1638531019758.jpg
Didn't prevent u from reaching ICU though but ok

Postby Dave » December 3rd, 2021, 7:41 am

Everybody's body and immune response is different. Can it be know what would have happened if they didn't vaccinate?

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2021, 7:45 am

no need to try and guess who may or may not get affected badly

you can get a better and simpler answer simply by checking the bed counts and the deaths between vaxxed/unvaxxed

Dave wrote:Everybody's body and immune response is different. Can it be know what would have happened if they didn't vaccinate?

Postby MaxPower » December 3rd, 2021, 7:48 am

hover11 wrote:I Reiterate it is a personal choice you the individual has to evaluate your risk along with the advice from a medical practitioner.if you know you sickly and not too wholesome take your vaccine and boosters, if you coming down in age ,at the 60 or approaching such take it as your body isn't what it used to be. However, if you are like me who has not been sick in over 9 years , you exercise and have a proper diet, when I say sick I speak of the common cold then take your time there is a very good chance you will be part of that 97.3 percent who WILL survive

Jason,

With the way things going, just now personal choices and “my body my choice” and all these “rights” may be out the door, so brace yourself bro.

Remember the bullet example i gave you? - If it is you have the right to decide what goes into your body, but the police can put a bullet inside you if you are breaking the law, then what’s stopping them from injecting you with a mandated vaccine?

Jason, do not wait for them to hold you by your neck and jab you. You would also lose the case when you take them to court with a pro-vax judge.

Laws can be changed and amended, remember that.

Postby aaron17 » December 3rd, 2021, 7:57 am

Has anyone asked to be aspirated yet?

Postby timelapse » December 3rd, 2021, 8:01 am

hover11 wrote:
K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1638531019758.jpg
Didn't prevent u from reaching ICU though but ok
Prevented them from leaving ICU in a body bag but ok...

Postby adnj » December 3rd, 2021, 8:05 am

Omicron 3 Times More Likely to Reinfect Than Delta or Beta Covid Variants, Shows S African Study

“Recent reinfections have occurred in individuals whose primary infections occurred across all three waves, with the most having their primary infection in the Delta wave," tweeted Juliet Pulliam, director of the South African DSI-NRF Centre of Excellence in Epidemiological Modelling and Analysis.

Pulliam cautioned that the authors did not have information about the individuals’ vaccination status and therefore could not assess to what extent Omicron evades vaccine-induced immunity. The researchers plan to study this next.

“Data are also urgently needed on disease severity associated with Omicron infection, including in individuals with a history of prior infection," she said.

Michael Head, a scientist at the University of Southampton, praised the research as “high quality."

“This analysis does look very concerning, with immunity from previous infections being relatively easily bypassed. Might this all still be a ‘false alarm’? That is looking less and less likely," he said in a statement.

https://www.news18.com/news/world/omicr ... 13091.html

BUG

Postby BUG » December 3rd, 2021, 8:38 am

pugboy wrote:I wouldnt bother to try to keep correcting

Yeah, I don't know how you guys have the energy to continually fact check the LARPing doctors, trolls and frothers in this thread, but I take my hat off to you.

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2021, 9:04 am

i now see usa changed inbound travel rule to covid test 24hrs instead of 3days

Postby Dizzy28 » December 3rd, 2021, 9:13 am

pugboy wrote:i now see usa changed inbound travel rule to covid test 24hrs instead of 3days

Is it still Rapid Anitgen or is it now PCR?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 3rd, 2021, 9:37 am

I want to ask those you hiding in your basement to avoid being part of the 2% something. Why are there poor people and rich people in the world? Why cant everyone be Serena or Messi? Why do some children fail SEA while others get 100%?

The point is, every single aspect of life is based on a person's genetic makeup. There are people who are healthy enough to barely notice they have covid vaccine or no vaccine while some others well.....

So don't blame the antivaxxers for the covid deaths, blame God.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 3rd, 2021, 9:41 am

paid_influencer wrote:apparently when you pcr test an omicron patient, one of the pcr gene sequences will fail (because the gene sequence was there on the ancestral strain but not there on omicron). the pcr test will be positive and there is no functional difference in the test, but it is a quirk that happens with some variants. same sequence would have failed with alpha, for example. and the person running the pcr test notices this can make a big "hrmmmm" when it happens.

if they want to "hrmmm" for a few days before they sequence the sample (and confirm which variant it is), well they can hrmmm away until it is a politically good time to sequence.

maybe.. Rowley has something to announce? lmao. nope. hahahaha

this list got longer over the past few days, way longer today. probably gonna be nice and long AF tomorrow
https://bnonews.com/index.php/2021/11/omicron-tracker/

lmao

Paid_influencer, I want to thank you for being one of the few voices in the wilderness on this forum that actually makes contributions based on data and reading and understanding

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 3rd, 2021, 9:43 am

K74T wrote:Either Covid or THA elections related

Screenshot_20211202-215042_Facebook.jpg

If this is to say anything besides plans for mandatory vaccination, Keith Rowley you are an even bigger failure that you already are.

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2021, 9:52 am

Meanwhile Omicron is in NY so basically the world has it soon

Postby timelapse » December 3rd, 2021, 9:53 am

hover11 wrote:Meanwhile Omicron is in NY so basically the world has it soon
You happy ent

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2021, 9:55 am

timelapse wrote:
You happy ent
Our borders closed to South Africans only still , make It make sense any firetrucking sense at all :S
Last edited by hover11 on December 3rd, 2021, 9:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 3rd, 2021, 9:58 am

What happens if Shamfa dies from COVID-19?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 3rd, 2021, 10:00 am

wtf wrote:What happens if Shamfa dies from COVID-19?

TSTT loses money

Postby MaxPower » December 3rd, 2021, 10:11 am

timelapse wrote:
You happy ent

If the Omicron is the wake up call for Trinis, then i am happy.

When will we learn?

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2021, 10:16 am

timelapse wrote:
You happy ent

If the Omicron is the wake up call for Trinis, then i am happy.

When will we learn?
Never.

Max, You forget God is a trini

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2021, 10:58 am

usa accepts either
rule is from the 6th
ppl traveling on a monday will need to get tested on a sunday

pugboy wrote:i now see usa changed inbound travel rule to covid test 24hrs instead of 3days

Is it still Rapid Anitgen or is it now PCR?