COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 36354 cases, 1000 deaths, 5691 active, 29663 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » July 22nd, 2021, 5:51 pm

adnj wrote:Here you go. From a relatively credible, well-known source:

do you by chance have any information like that, but for Sinopharm against Delta?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 36354 cases, 1000 deaths, 5691 active, 29663 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » July 22nd, 2021, 5:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:

now, that u all admit vaccinated people can, lower risk than unvaccinated but still can spread it, when u allow people to come into the country withouth quarantine cause they have vaccine, u going to bring it and what ever variant they come across.

and all the unvacinatable people u all cherishing so much and using them to brow beat the hesitant people into taking the vaccine, they gonna get take out.
they all living here with people vaccine and no vaccine. and ur vaccinated people gonna blow past customs and quarantine and import the variants.

the vaccine gonna reduce how much cases ur getting, and that repression gonna get stronger when more people get the vaccine. but that is if trinidad remains a closed system. once u allow people to import virus and variant, ur introducing a new SOURCE of it into the system, and it going to cycle up again.

dont quarrel with the vaccine hesitant, when ur govt has an open channel bringing it in.

my recommendation a couple weeks ago was to allow fully vaccinated ppl to come in without state quarantine, but still quarantine at home. that way u don't have hundreds of ppl per day coming in and moving about, just in case we have breakthrough cases, especially of delta. even more concerning- the UNVACCINATED minors coming in with vaccinated parents who don't have to quarantine and only have to take a second PCR test, but NO HOME QUARANTINE is required prior to those results!!

nice, so long as u appreciate the set-ups the govt policies are setting up.

the vaccine will reduce ur chances of needing hospitaliztion, so is like a lil flu for the most, thats great for those that a vaccinated.

the unvaccinated taking a bigger gamble, but not by much. if the want to dead, let them dead. all vaccines so far are only compassionate use, and nobody want to take liability for any negative effects. let them do what tey want, is dem to dead.
the govt has implemented some counter productive policies, if vaccine heads want to rile up, take a turn in teh govt tail for a change. leff the people who want dead, to dead.

Postby De Dragon » July 22nd, 2021, 5:55 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:15 deaths, FB_IMG_1626990539093.jpg

Like is either or boy!
Low deaths or low new cases

Postby paid_influencer » July 22nd, 2021, 6:00 pm

Like is either or boy!

258 is not a low number tho :drinking:

unless we redefining low

Postby paid_influencer » July 22nd, 2021, 6:05 pm

elec2020 wrote:a sample size of 3,975 is credible? Also, (and I may be wrong in doing this as i do not know what there standard is for effectiveness, but based on the wording I assume it is the percent who did not get it compared to those who got it) but if 91% effective occurred after 16 vaccinated were infected then that would mean that about 180 individuals had the vaccine (91 per cent of 180 is about 16). If true isn't this a very skewed sample to make such definitive statements on?

the problem ent the sample size. The problem is they talking about the level of protection from Pfizer and Moderna vaccines, not Sinopharm. It is a materially different vaccine technology and hence why I begging for caution to see how much real-world protection we are getting on the island first, before doing things like re-opening schools.

There is potential for things to go very bad very fast if the administration overestimates how much the Sinopharm vaccine reduces transmission (and doubly with the variants coming across the border).

Postby redmanjp » July 22nd, 2021, 6:09 pm

how are we still getting these large number of deaths? even with a 300 ave cases 2% of that is only 6. and that's assuming 300, its perhaps 250 ave for the week.

especially after that newly approved IL6 drug. like it eh wukking.

Postby De Dragon » July 22nd, 2021, 6:16 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Like is either or boy!

258 is not a low number tho :drinking:

unless we redefining low

What I mean is we rarely seem to be having both simultaneously.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 22nd, 2021, 6:16 pm

Is either more cases for Tobago or

Vaccinate to vote
IMG-20210722-WA0123.jpg

Postby hover11 » July 22nd, 2021, 6:17 pm

You have to remember we have an unhealthy population from heart disease, diabetes and high blood pressure....most of the population falls in that and now we have gamma which is more aggressive which attacks even persons with no co morbidities
redmanjp wrote:how are we still getting these large number of deaths? even with a 300 ave cases 2% of that is only 6. and that's assuming 300, its perhaps 250 ave for the week.

Postby hover11 » July 22nd, 2021, 6:19 pm

Can't touch my constitutional right to vote.....they can change their system so it doesn't much interaction...America had mail in votes come on
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Is either more cases for Tobago or

Vaccinate to vote

Postby redmanjp » July 22nd, 2021, 6:22 pm

hover11 wrote:You have to remember we have an unhealthy population from heart disease, diabetes and high blood pressure....most of the population falls in that and now we have gamma which is more aggressive which attacks even persons with no co morbidities
redmanjp wrote:how are we still getting these large number of deaths? even with a 300 ave cases 2% of that is only 6. and that's assuming 300, its perhaps 250 ave for the week.

yeah but what im saying is the CFR or case fatality rate hasn't gone up by that much. or is it that they decide to let ppl who in ICU who they feel have little chance of survival to come off ventilators- but they did so all in the last 24 hours?

Postby hover11 » July 22nd, 2021, 6:28 pm

ICU has limited staff and so many patients as is , it continuously rises as some die today a fresh batch comes in, it sad that they don't have much options to treat patients and ICU is virtually a death sentence only a slim number have made it out alive not withstanding long term effects
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:You have to remember we have an unhealthy population from heart disease, diabetes and high blood pressure....most of the population falls in that and now we have gamma which is more aggressive which attacks even persons with no co morbidities

yeah but what im saying is the CFR or case fatality rate hasn't gone up by that much. or is it that they decide to let ppl who in ICU who they feel have little chance of survival to come off ventilators- but they did so all in the last 24 hours?

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » July 22nd, 2021, 6:38 pm

bluefete wrote:
timelapse wrote:
ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:^ Yes blue we live in a world of dis-information, it is a money making business and your source is Xinhua News Agency which is state owned by China
As opposed to Western Media houses owned by 1% that also own big pharma?
American Nike pay American price.
Same exact thing from China, dirt cheap in China.
Perception is a helluva thing

EXACTLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(But Sinopharm not cheap compared to the others)

China's economy is growing really quickly. There are many companies producing a vaccine. Why not get some researchers to prove your vaccine can protect against the most dominant variant right now? Even if its the slightest protection, all you need is marketing.

Perception is a helluva thing.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » July 22nd, 2021, 6:42 pm

adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:However vaccinated can spread it as well....
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:Quick Question: Why are the vaccinated worried about the unvaccinated? If you're vaccinated good for you, you are protected isn't that your main concern, seems a social divide is brewing between that of the vaccinated and unvaccinated

Because you're more likely to spread it and thus putting people who can't take the vaccine (due to medical issues) at risk.

They are less likely to spread it

Geezus how many times MUST this be repeated!??? dont people listen! firetruck meng!

this is something we believe is true, but there is no hard data to quantify it (particularly for the vaccine we are using on the island in the face of the variants).

I'm not being anti-vax. Without data it's impossible to know how much we can rely on it and how dangerous decisions like re-opening schools will be. That's why I'm hoping the administration will choose caution come September.
Here you go. From a relatively credible, well-known source:

Study: Those Vaccinated Who Get COVID Carry Less Virus

July 2, 2021 -- People who have received a COVID-19 vaccine and later become infected with the coronavirus tend to have a lower viral load according to a new study published Wednesday in the New England Journal of Medicine.

That means they are likely to be less contagious than unvaccinated people and don’t transmit the virus as much to others. In addition, researchers found that vaccinated people had a shorter and milder course of COVID-19.

“Even when people get vaccinated and did get infected, they were less likely to have an illness that causes a fever,” Mark Thompson, one of the lead authors and an epidemiologist at the CDC, told The Wall Street Journal.

“There’s reason to think that even if you get infected, you have less virus to spread around and infect other people,” he said.

The research team followed 3,975 health care workers and first responders who underwent weekly testing between mid-December and mid-April. COVID-19 was detected in 204 participants, including five who were fully vaccinated and 11 who were partially vaccinated with either the Pfizer or the Moderna shots.

The fully or partially vaccinated participants had a 40% lower viral load than the unvaccinated participants, as well as a 66% lower risk of having detectable virus for more than one week. They also had a 58% lower risk of fever symptoms.

None of the vaccinated people who contracted COVID-19 were hospitalized, and they all had mild or moderate cases. They also had a shorter duration of illness, with about two fewer days spent sick in bed and six fewer days of symptoms.

Based on study results, researchers calculated that the vaccines were 91% effective at preventing infections among fully vaccinated people and 81% effective among partially vaccinated people.

https://www.webmd.com/vaccines/covid-19 ... less-virus

They always fool you with these percentages but if you actually calculate said 40% lower viral load you'd realize that there isn't a significant difference. Now I am not disputing the fact that the vaccinated will carry less virus.

Postby aaron17 » July 22nd, 2021, 7:11 pm

When will we know when we have to lock back down .when we get a figure of 400?

Postby pugboy » July 22nd, 2021, 7:18 pm

hospital occupancy is a main factor as well as deaths of course

aaron17 wrote:When will we know when we have to lock back down .when we get a figure of 400?

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 22nd, 2021, 8:47 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ incorrect. Less likely = 0 chance.

Qft.

Postby adnj » July 22nd, 2021, 9:39 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
adnj wrote:Here you go. From a relatively credible, well-known source:

do you by chance have any information like that, but for Sinopharm against Delta?
If you compare the two earliest, highly-vaccinated nations that used Sinopharm vaccine (UAE and Seychelles) against another, later, highly-vaccinated nation that used AstraZeneca, you can see:

· UAE and Seychelles maintained a much lower CFR (~0.2%) throughout much of the pandemic.

· UAE's peak mortality rate was 10% of the UK's mortality rate early in the UK vaccine rollout.

· Seychelles currently has near 100% delta variant infections with peak infection rates that are 18 times higher than the UK peak with the alpha variant.

· While Sinopharm-vaccinated Seychelles' peak infection rate was 18 times higher with the delta variant than the UK's rate with alpha, the mortality rate is approximately the same.

Without considering mobility and social interaction, no determination of the Sinopharm vaccine's protection from infection can be inferred.

It is, however, likely that vaccination with Sinopharm provides significant protection from death for those infected with the delta variant.

ImageImageImage
Last edited by adnj on July 22nd, 2021, 9:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 36884 cases, 1018 deaths, 5823 active, 30043 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » July 22nd, 2021, 9:55 pm

good stuff adnj.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 23rd, 2021, 12:06 am

adnj wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:However vaccinated can spread it as well....
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:Quick Question: Why are the vaccinated worried about the unvaccinated? If you're vaccinated good for you, you are protected isn't that your main concern, seems a social divide is brewing between that of the vaccinated and unvaccinated

Because you're more likely to spread it and thus putting people who can't take the vaccine (due to medical issues) at risk.

They are less likely to spread it

Geezus how many times MUST this be repeated!??? dont people listen! firetruck meng!

this is something we believe is true, but there is no hard data to quantify it (particularly for the vaccine we are using on the island in the face of the variants).

I'm not being anti-vax. Without data it's impossible to know how much we can rely on it and how dangerous decisions like re-opening schools will be. That's why I'm hoping the administration will choose caution come September.
Here you go. From a relatively credible, well-known source:

Study: Those Vaccinated Who Get COVID Carry Less Virus

July 2, 2021 -- People who have received a COVID-19 vaccine and later become infected with the coronavirus tend to have a lower viral load according to a new study published Wednesday in the New England Journal of Medicine.

That means they are likely to be less contagious than unvaccinated people and don’t transmit the virus as much to others. In addition, researchers found that vaccinated people had a shorter and milder course of COVID-19.

“Even when people get vaccinated and did get infected, they were less likely to have an illness that causes a fever,” Mark Thompson, one of the lead authors and an epidemiologist at the CDC, told The Wall Street Journal.

“There’s reason to think that even if you get infected, you have less virus to spread around and infect other people,” he said.

The research team followed 3,975 health care workers and first responders who underwent weekly testing between mid-December and mid-April. COVID-19 was detected in 204 participants, including five who were fully vaccinated and 11 who were partially vaccinated with either the Pfizer or the Moderna shots.

The fully or partially vaccinated participants had a 40% lower viral load than the unvaccinated participants, as well as a 66% lower risk of having detectable virus for more than one week. They also had a 58% lower risk of fever symptoms.

None of the vaccinated people who contracted COVID-19 were hospitalized, and they all had mild or moderate cases. They also had a shorter duration of illness, with about two fewer days spent sick in bed and six fewer days of symptoms.

Based on study results, researchers calculated that the vaccines were 91% effective at preventing infections among fully vaccinated people and 81% effective among partially vaccinated people.

https://www.webmd.com/vaccines/covid-19 ... less-virus

This study has no bearing on T&T

Unless you are in national security or the PM who probably received a vaccine that was used in this study.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 23rd, 2021, 6:16 am

hover11 wrote:Imagine being vaccinated and still scared, how that making any sense?

the sinofarm is approved for emergency use. are you in an emergency? if you home and dont have much interactions with persons and all that sort of stuff dont take any and wait till an official vaccine comes out.if you high risk job or or visit high risk area such as regular doctor or hospital visit take the vaccine and cover the pie hole and move on yes. a lot of things out of this covid makes no sense to me. it seems evil has taken over the world and we are all doomed. not if but when.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 36884 cases, 1018 deaths, 5823 active, 30043 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » July 23rd, 2021, 7:05 am

300k with one dose, 170k with 2 dose. by next week u shoudl see at least 50% more.
in a two weeks u might see the death numbers come down.

Postby De Dragon » July 23rd, 2021, 1:34 pm

Just got the news that my sarubhai's(sp?) mother is critical at Couva ICU. Really nice lady whose home I've visited quite a few times in the past for various limes, gatherings etc. (pre-Covid of course).

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 23rd, 2021, 2:25 pm

Was she vaccinated if not why not ?
De Dragon wrote:Just got the news that my sarubhai's(sp?) mother is critical at Couva ICU. Really nice lady whose home I've visited quite a few times in the past for various limes, gatherings etc. (pre-Covid of course).

Postby De Dragon » July 23rd, 2021, 2:37 pm

PariaMan wrote:Was she vaccinated if not why not ?
De Dragon wrote:Just got the news that my sarubhai's(sp?) mother is critical at Couva ICU. Really nice lady whose home I've visited quite a few times in the past for various limes, gatherings etc. (pre-Covid of course).

Didn't ask, he was in a mess at the time.

Postby matr1x » July 23rd, 2021, 4:27 pm

So allyuh hear democrats trying to block a bill to declassify Intel on covid origins?

Postby paid_influencer » July 23rd, 2021, 4:45 pm

matr1x wrote:So allyuh hear democrats trying to block a bill to declassify Intel on covid origins?

i hear dat.

https://edition.cnn.com/2021/07/16/poli ... index.html

Senior Biden officials finding that Covid lab leak theory as credible as natural origins explanation

CNN

and WHO want to investigate the origins of COVID and China say NO.

This thing more and more looking like the truth getting break out slowly so they don't start a war.

Postby paid_influencer » July 23rd, 2021, 4:54 pm

181/8

active cases number still at 5,783. Neither going up or down.

Postby pugboy » July 23rd, 2021, 4:56 pm

might not drop much now that ppl are up and about more
plus natural relaxation as a result

paid_influencer wrote:181/8

Postby Dizzy28 » July 23rd, 2021, 4:59 pm

paid_influencer wrote:181/8

FB_IMG_1627073922573.jpg