COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Postby Ben_spanna » January 21st, 2020, 7:50 am

With the potential world wide outbreak of this deadly virus Coronavirus in China and Chinese new year being this week coming, there are millions of Chinese nationals that return to China to celebrate, many nationals from Trinidad also go back home.
Should these NAtionals be allowed to return to Trinidad freely after their celebrations and risk a national epidemic?
For once id like to see Trinidad health and immigration act responsibly and bar travelers from re-entering.

National Health Hotlines
http://www.health.gov.tt/sitepages/default.aspx?id=76

maj. tom wrote:Now that it's here spreading for all, frontpage this and highlight it please. As well as what to do next locally.

The main symptoms of coronavirus are:

**a high temperature – this means you feel hot to touch on your chest or back (you do not need to measure your temperature)

**a new, continuous cough – this means coughing a lot for more than an hour, or 3 or more coughing episodes in 24 hours (if you usually have a cough, it may be worse than usual)

**a loss or change to your sense of smell or taste – this means you've noticed you cannot smell or taste anything, or things smell or taste different to normal

Most people with coronavirus have at least 1 of these symptoms.

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavir ... /symptoms/

Symptoms of COVID-19
Symptoms of COVID-19 can vary from person to person. Symptoms may also vary in different age groups. Some of the more commonly reported symptoms include:

**new or worsening cough
**shortness of breath or difficulty breathing
**temperature equal to or over 38°C
**feeling feverish
chills
fatigue or weakness
muscle or body aches
**new loss of smell or taste
headache
gastrointestinal symptoms (abdominal pain, diarrhea, vomiting)
feeling very unwell
Children have been more commonly reported to have abdominal symptoms, and skin changes or rashes.

In severe cases, infection can lead to death.

Symptoms may take up to 14 days to appear after exposure to COVID-19.

Evidence indicates that the virus can be transmitted to others from someone who is infected but not showing symptoms. This includes people who:

have not yet developed symptoms (pre-symptomatic)
never develop symptoms (asymptomatic)
https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/ ... oms.html#s
Last edited by Ben_spanna on January 28th, 2020, 2:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Coronavirus-should Chinese nationals be allowed to come?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 21st, 2020, 8:17 am

Ben_spanna wrote:With the potential world wide outbreak of this deadly virus Coronavirus in China and Chinese new year being this week coming, there are millions of Chinese nationals that return to China to celebrate, many nationals from Trinidad also go back home.
Should these NAtionals be allowed to return to Trinidad freely after their celebrations and risk a national epidemic?
For once id like to see Trinidad health and immigration act responsibly and bar travelers from re-entering.
Agreed. We should take front on this

Postby maj. tom » January 21st, 2020, 8:21 am

This is how the Army of the Twelve Monkeys (1995) film scenario started.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 21st, 2020, 8:23 am

Just imagine that this virus can jump from animals to humans...

Good ched, we should also consider those tourists from China who come for carnival...any quarantine procedures etc??

Postby maj. tom » January 21st, 2020, 8:28 am

^most viruses that affect humans started out that way as zoonoses.
All the big ones you can think of like HIV, Ebola, H1N5 "bird flu", SARS-CoV (similar to this current one in China), H1N1 swine flu, rabies, etc.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 21st, 2020, 8:56 am

I think I read a BBC article that confirmed the human-to-human transmission, but can't find it.

The CNN article provides a decent summary, but I'd prefer an update from something like the CDC
https://edition.cnn.com/2020/01/20/heal ... index.html

Postby Dizzy28 » January 21st, 2020, 9:34 am

Contaigon, the movie with Damon, Winslett, Fishburne, Law etc. about a global pandemic started with an animal to human virus in China.

Why always China??

Postby Gladiator » January 21st, 2020, 11:23 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Contaigon, the movie with Damon, Winslett, Fishburne, Law etc. about a global pandemic started with an animal to human virus in China.

Why always China??

Cause they does eat everything.... read up on the formation of the SARS virus. Crazy man thing

death365

Postby death365 » January 21st, 2020, 11:41 am

u can not , in this day and age stop the movements of person.

it will reach trini, just as everything else. thats life - the world is actually a closed environment meaning that it will circumnavigate the entire globe.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 21st, 2020, 12:00 pm

death365 wrote:u can not , in this day and age stop the movements of person.

it will reach trini, just as everything else. thats life - the world is actually a closed environment meaning that it will circumnavigate the entire globe.

Did we have ebola cases?....if authorities are looking into this matter, I suggest quarantine at the airport, necessary checks them and everything else to follow..

Postby Ben_spanna » January 21st, 2020, 12:05 pm

the thing about this particular event is that there ARE nationals that have gone back and are travelling back just to celebrate the CHinese new year, then they will return here shortly after.... so it will be possible.. but i guess just as we supposedly have no serious cases of H1nI according to our health figures, i guess we have nothing to worry about.

abbow

Postby abbow » January 21st, 2020, 12:08 pm

heard on the news they are looking at using thermal imaging cameras for port of entry points to detect persons who may be sick.

Postby Ben_spanna » January 21st, 2020, 12:11 pm

abbow wrote:heard on the news they are looking at using thermal imaging cameras for port of entry points to detect persons who may be sick.

In the first world countries yes maybe, but seeing as we cant even get an immigration processing machine at the airport to work you think we can ever reach that point?

Postby Chimera » January 21st, 2020, 12:31 pm

Up to last week friday I was organising to book to go china in april with a crew for Canton fair. Hadda wait and see what going on now.

This looking pretty dangerous

death365

Postby death365 » January 21st, 2020, 12:41 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
death365 wrote:u can not , in this day and age stop the movements of person.

Did we have ebola cases?....if authorities are looking into this matter, I suggest quarantine at the airport, necessary checks them and everything else to follow..

btw ebola is only communicable thru touch / direct contact while this is via air and touch making it easier to spead ...

please note this is not the place to discuss forms of transfer and how people so sick an dutty that they dont wash their hands as well as sick organizations (and those employees who cause them) that last 1 is my pet peeve - playing bess worker an going to work sick like ah dog ...

sorry for ranting again .... my bad

Postby redmanjp » January 21st, 2020, 1:46 pm

what is the incubation period? we should quarantine anyone coming in for that period from whatever parts of China are affected

regone

Postby regone » January 21st, 2020, 2:22 pm

alyuh really feel this waste of time gubberment go do anything about this..... we minister of health does be by manos eating like a pig come lunch time and them workers in MoH does wait 5mins on the elevator to go up 1 level and 80% of them over 200lbs.... so dont hold your breath on this one.......

Postby The_Honourable » January 21st, 2020, 2:58 pm

Well, it reach the United States. Coming Trini for carnival.

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/01/21/heal ... index.html

Postby redmanjp » January 21st, 2020, 5:34 pm

the temperature checks should not be the only form of screening as you could be infected before showing symptoms

Postby matr1x » January 21st, 2020, 5:37 pm

Good! Good!

Postby Ben_spanna » January 21st, 2020, 5:37 pm

Very strange that these dangerous virus seem to always hit China just before they attempt to strengthen trade ties with the rest of the world at their world wide Trade fairs, its almost as if someone doesn’t want China to have visitors. :roll:
But enjoy carnival everyone, jump, inhale and then hopefully not end up in a bed almost on life support.

Postby Ben_spanna » January 21st, 2020, 5:46 pm

North Korea has closed its borders to all foreign tourist until the outbreak has been brought under control.. we should do the same and refuse anyone from entering that visited anywhere that had the virus.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 21st, 2020, 5:53 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:North Korea has closed its borders to all foreign tourist until the outbreak has been brought under control.. we should do the same and refuse anyone from entering that visited anywhere that had the virus.

Will never happen...there is this false sense of belief that carnival is the greatest show on earth and we have real tourists coming here

eitech

Postby eitech » January 21st, 2020, 6:55 pm

Ent we was panicking a few years back around the same time when ebola re emerged? No one cares in truth... carnival still went on

Postby paid_influencer » January 21st, 2020, 6:58 pm

fuh real tho, if they cancel Carnival the country would be a lot healthier.

influenza - 39 already dead right here in T&T. that going to kill out plenty more once the fetes start.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 22nd, 2020, 5:17 am

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 15541.html

like the minister's people reading this ched

Postby Kenjo » January 22nd, 2020, 5:31 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/t-t-should-be-concerned/article_3d4ed97e-3cbc-11ea-86fd-bb901db15541.html

like the minister's people reading this ched

Since day before they started preparing .

Postby 88sins » January 22nd, 2020, 6:32 am

Would a national outbreak of super virus with a high mortality rate really be such a terrible thing for T&T? idk about allyuh eh, but to me it sounding kinda attractive & I could see some benefits to it.

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2020, 6:37 am

yuh forget fuad went and buy ebola safety suits and ting

eitech wrote:Ent we was panicking a few years back around the same time when ebola re emerged? No one cares in truth... carnival still went on

Postby Ben_spanna » January 22nd, 2020, 7:28 am

Well look how flying just got terrible... speculation is that whilst screening if any passenger is found to have any signs of this virus, the entire plane will be quarantined until the suspected passenger has been tested.
Imagine you fly ah MIA or toronto and one person on the plane have a fever- is the inside of a room you will see for the possible first 1-24 hours of your trip along with your entire flight.......