COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 68288 (+624) cases, 2040 (+31) deaths, 9606 active, 56642 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » November 27th, 2021, 5:36 am

shouldnt spraying with isopropol alcohol do the same ?

lysol loaded with fragrance chemicals

daring dragoon wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Wearing n95 costing me some money for boxes.... And ah sanitizin till my skin peeling... Wahhh to do again

I reuse my kn95 masks for a couple weeks but I always rotate them. Any viral particles lose infectiousness after 12 to 24 hrs. Though I should perhaps do it in sets of 3 or 4 now that I am back at work daily.

Another thing we can do to protect ourselves at work is to buy an air purifier with a HEPA filter which filters out airborne viral particles.

Lysol the mask when it not in use.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 68288 (+624) cases, 2040 (+31) deaths, 9606 active, 56642 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 6:16 am

This is absolutely amazing ..... as soon as Africa, with only 5% of that Continent Vaccinated, and is being pushed forward for it's use of 'Alternative Treatments" and highlighted for having the least spread of Covid across the world and improving it's fight to keep Covid at bay .... that the WHO comes out with a "New Covid 19 variant" FROM AFRICA .....what a coincidence :S

Postby adnj » November 27th, 2021, 6:35 am

hover11 wrote:This is absolutely amazing ..... as soon as Africa, with only 5% of that Continent Vaccinated, and is being pushed forward for it's use of 'Alternative Treatments" and highlighted for having the least spread of Covid across the world and improving it's fight to keep Covid at bay .... that the WHO comes out with a "New Covid 19 variant" FROM AFRICA .....what a coincidence :S

Last year's conspiracy theory. You're late.

Last edited by adnj on November 27th, 2021, 6:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 6:40 am

adnj wrote:Image
The current vaccines dont protect against omnicron when it has the ability to bypass immunity so I fail to see how vaccination helping

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 6:47 am

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:This is absolutely amazing ..... as soon as Africa, with only 5% of that Continent Vaccinated, and is being pushed forward for it's use of 'Alternative Treatments" and highlighted for having the least spread of Covid across the world and improving it's fight to keep Covid at bay .... that the WHO comes out with a "New Covid 19 variant" FROM AFRICA .....what a coincidence :S

Last year's conspiracy theory. You're late.

Yup cuz conspiracies were NEVER right

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 27th, 2021, 6:49 am

hover11 wrote:
The current vaccines dont protect against omnicron when it has the ability to bypass immunity so I fail to see how vaccination helping

It won't hurt, it doesn't nullify the vaccine 100% ineffective.

We shall await more data on this new strain.

What's annoying is that many scientists warned having big population's like Africa remain unvacinated would lead to new mutations. So warned, and so it happened.

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 6:53 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:

What's annoying is that many scientists warned having big population's like Africa remain unvacinated would lead to new mutations. So warned, and so it happened.
Regardless , the moment vaccines entered the playing field, it was predicted that a variant would emerge that bypasses such , probably another conspiracy according to adnj, well it is here , scientists should have used the time to make better vaccines

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 6:56 am

The musician tested positive for the virus a second time in a month.

https://lm.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3 ... es6WTw-Raw

He was FULLY VAXXED yet still contracted covid TWICE in one month....

Postby aaron17 » November 27th, 2021, 7:12 am

Guys ..feeling of a mass extinction impending.

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 7:15 am

aaron17 wrote:Guys ..feeling of a mass extinction impending.
Not this variant , probably the next two will bring that, when the virus is able to mutate into a strain with a higher mortality rate....a modern day black plague

Postby adnj » November 27th, 2021, 7:16 am

hover11 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Regardless , the moment vaccines entered the playing field, it was predicted that a variant would emerge that bypasses such , probably another conspiracy according to adnj, well it is here , scientists should have used the time to make better vaccines

Viruses constantly mutate. Some mutations evolve to evade the HUMAN IMMUNE SYSTEM.

Postby timelapse » November 27th, 2021, 7:16 am

hover11 wrote:The musician tested positive for the virus a second time in a month.

Dumbfvck...A vaccine does not prevent you from contracting covid.And there's nothing saying that you can't get it twice.But you know this already and have made up your mind to be a cvnt regardless, so carry on

eitech

Postby eitech » November 27th, 2021, 7:17 am

hover11 wrote:
Not this variant , probably the next two will bring that, when the virus is able to mutate into a strain with a higher mortality rate....a modern day black plague

When we were free, covid came about. When we were almost back to normal, delta came. We now start to talk bout normal again and… almost got that carrot. Lol

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 7:22 am

eitech wrote:
hover11 wrote:

When we were free, covid came about. When we were almost back to normal, delta came. We now start to talk bout normal again and… almost got that carrot. Lol
The ever shifting goalpost

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 7:23 am

timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:The musician tested positive for the virus a second time in a month.

Dumbfvck...A vaccine does not prevent you from contracting covid.And there's nothing saying that you can't get it twice.But you know this already and have made up your mind to be a cvnt regardless, so carry on
We know this but alot of ppl out here think that because you vaxxed the chance of you contracting covid is reduced well I posted this to address that .....he caught covid twice in ONE month so you are just as likely to contract covid as anyone ELSE

Postby aaron17 » November 27th, 2021, 7:24 am

So the only way to beat the virus from mutating into more dangerous strains is to let the vaccines be accesible to all ends of the world and to uptake them? I aint seeing that happening anytime soon. Do we have resources to even do this again if this new variant spreads like wild fire?

Until we come up a vaccine that is the mother of all vaccines.. we need to find an alternative route. Lockdowns may not help this time..masks and distancing will be less effective.

eitech

Postby eitech » November 27th, 2021, 7:27 am

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

We know this but alot of ppl out here think that because you vaxxed the chance of you contracting covid is reduced well I posted this to address that .....he caught covid twice in ONE month so you are just as likely to contract covid as anyone ELSE

Na. No one cares about repeated infections anymore if ur vaxxed. The only saving face is if you ain’t dead now , and well with co morbidities

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 7:28 am

aaron17 wrote:So the only way to beat the virus from mutating into more dangerous strains is to let the vaccines be accesible to all ends of the world and to uptake them? I aint seeing that happening anytime soon. Do we have resources to even do this again if this new variant spreads like wild fire?

Until we come up a vaccine that is the mother of all vaccines.. we need to find an alternative route. Lockdowns may not help this time..masks and distancing will be less effective.
We don't have the resources for such a painstaking task once again the logistics for sure will be a nightmare, just pray this doesn't reach CHINA, INDIA or USA. Once it reaches any of those the rest of the world will contract such in a short space of time, the US is still dealing with their own covid surge atm and now this. What are you going to tell ppl take another vaccine to protect against this, now the social resistance will begin and ppl who were pro vax will be on the fence, watch and see , the narrative will change and we will continue spinning top in mud.

Postby adnj » November 27th, 2021, 7:43 am

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

No hospitalization. No disease. No symptoms...

If that were true for everyone then COVID would cease to matter.

In October, Adams had to pull out of a performance at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony after he tested positive.

His rep said at the time that Adams was "fully vaccinated and has no symptoms at all."

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 7:56 am

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

In October, Adams had to pull out of a performance at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony after he tested positive.

His rep said at the time that Adams was "fully vaccinated and has no symptoms at all."
So you see no problem that persons have covid and are walking around passing it unto others...I guess that's why America has more fully vaccinated in hospitals but carry on

Postby timelapse » November 27th, 2021, 8:01 am

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

So you see no problem that persons have covid and are walking around passing it unto others...I guess that's why America has more fully vaccinated in hospitals but carry on
Getting reduced symptoms is not a big problem.Unvaxxed people dying en masse is.
Human lives matter as dotish as some of them are.If by sticking it to Big Pharma, the lizard people,the antichrist, baba yaga, babooman you mean dying, then so be it, die like a cvnt.Just don't encourage others to die with you.In times of crisis, people believe the dumbest of things.Encourage LIFE.Take a vaccine and save your life.

eitech

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 68288 (+624) cases, 2040 (+31) deaths, 9606 active, 56642 recovered in T&T

Postby eitech » November 27th, 2021, 8:02 am

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Ent i done tell you that infections are no longer a concern among the vaxxed. You get infected, ok once you aint get sick. You get sick, ok once you aint get hospitalised. You get hospitalized, ok you aint dead. You dead ok you go get a nice coffin

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 27th, 2021, 8:09 am

timelapse wrote:

AHHHH the ever shifting goal post ...
Religious Pro vaxxers 6 months ago ..." We need to stop transmission and end the pandemic by vaccinating"
Religious Pro vaxxers 6 months later ... " A vaccine does not prevent you from contracting covid"

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 27th, 2021, 8:41 am

Anyone who's wondering why this heavily mutated strain came from Africa, here's the most likely reasons:

1. Persons with HIV (more than 15% in South Africa and Botswana) allow for longer infection and more mutations as the virus reproduces in them.

study of an HIV positive 36-year-old woman showed that Covid-19 stayed in her body for 216 days and mutated rapidly.

“There is good evidence that prolonged infection in immune-compromised individuals is one of the mechanisms for the emergence of SARS Covid-2 variants,” Tulio de Oliveira, a bioinformatics professor who runs gene-sequencing institutions at two South African universities, said at an Aug. 30 immunology conference. “You have this massive virus evolution, really the virus accumulating over 30 mutations.”

https://fortune.com/2021/09/15/south-af ... tists/amp/

2. Low vaccination rate and lots of young people allow for prevalent and often asymptomatic spread allowing more possible mutations.

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 8:48 am

I thought the criteria for mutations was simply rapid spread of the virus now a co morbidity has a hand to play in it? So the way this virus is surging here locally , it cannot spark a mutation ?
Dohplaydat wrote:Anyone who's wondering why this heavily mutated strain came from Africa, here's the most likely reasons:

1. Persons with HIV (more than 15% in South Africa and Botswana) allow for longer infection and more mutations as the virus reproduces in them.

study of an HIV positive 36-year-old woman showed that Covid-19 stayed in her body for 216 days and mutated rapidly.

“There is good evidence that prolonged infection in immune-compromised individuals is one of the mechanisms for the emergence of SARS Covid-2 variants,” Tulio de Oliveira, a bioinformatics professor who runs gene-sequencing institutions at two South African universities, said at an Aug. 30 immunology conference. “You have this massive virus evolution, really the virus accumulating over 30 mutations.”

2. Low vaccination rate and lots of young people allow for prevalent and often asymptomatic spread allowing more possible mutations.

Postby Gladiator » November 27th, 2021, 8:53 am

Exactly... The true purpose of this manmade extinction weapon is now being unleashed. Notice how every govt going back to normalcy even though deaths, cases etc are higher than ever before...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 27th, 2021, 9:04 am

hover11 wrote:I thought the criteria for mutations was simply rapid spread of the virus now a co morbidity has a hand to play in it? So the way this virus is surging here locally , it cannot spark a mutation ?
Dohplaydat wrote:Anyone who's wondering why this heavily mutated strain came from Africa, here's the most likely reasons:

Yes it's possible but the number of mutations on the Omicron variant suggests it went through a lot of mutations. More than likely through a hiv positive person. But as of now this is speculation.

Postby adnj » November 27th, 2021, 9:26 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:I thought the criteria for mutations was simply rapid spread of the virus now a co morbidity has a hand to play in it? So the way this virus is surging here locally , it cannot spark a mutation ?

Yes it's possible but the number of mutations on the Omicron variant suggests it went through a lot of mutations. More than likely through a hiv positive person. But as of now this is speculation.
Hear is some old news for the non-readers that are arguing with DPD:

COVID Variants May Arise in People with Compromised Immune Systems

The case history of a U.K. man in his 70s shows how selective “pressures” bring about viral mutations

By Stephani Sutherland on February 23, 2021

https://www.scientificamerican.com/arti ... e-systems/

Postby timelapse » November 27th, 2021, 9:29 am

drchaos wrote:
timelapse wrote:

AHHHH the ever shifting goal post ...
Religious Pro vaxxers 6 months ago ..." We need to stop transmission and end the pandemic by vaccinating"
Religious Pro vaxxers 6 months later ... " A vaccine does not prevent you from contracting covid"
When have I ever said that vaccines mean you can't get covid?
This coming from the guy that was militant antivax, now vaccinated ? Ironic
Last edited by timelapse on November 27th, 2021, 9:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 9:30 am

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Hear is some old news for the non-readers that are arguing with DPD:

COVID Variants May Arise in People with Compromised Immune Systems

The case history of a U.K. man in his 70s shows how selective “pressures” bring about viral mutations

By Stephani Sutherland on February 23, 2021

https://www.scientificamerican.com/arti ... e-systems/
No one is disputing what DPD is saying but after 20 months into a pandemic why arise now, I'm sure this is not the first time covid passed through a hiv infected person nor will it be the last so why a spark a mutation now and not a year ago when we didn't have vaccines. Oh I know that way you couldn't blame Africa, as usual the logic you presented is flawed and the maths not mathsin