COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 68288 (+624) cases, 2040 (+31) deaths, 9606 active, 56642 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 9:34 am

Cases have been reported in travellers in Belgium, Israel and Hong Kong, and Germany also has a probable case, this can't be stopped

DMan7

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 68288 (+624) cases, 2040 (+31) deaths, 9606 active, 56642 recovered in T&T

Postby DMan7 » November 27th, 2021, 9:35 am

To many hovers in the world hence why all these variants and mutations.

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 9:40 am

Expect to hear countries locking down soon

Postby st7 » November 27th, 2021, 9:47 am

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:as far as everyone remembers, i simply asked about one thing, said 'we believe you', and then you went off on yuh business trying to justify yuhself. i stop taking u on when i smell the bs.

i dare you to post a pic of that sanitizing station on yuh wall, and hold up 2 fingers in the pic too. if it looks legit, i will apologize for insinuating ur a liar for saying u had that installed.
As I reach home ok bro I will take the pic as I don't keep random pics of my sanitizer dispenser home on my phone

we waiting. u real posting on tuner for a man who not at home and we already know u take 6 months vacation so u eh at work.

we still waiting

Postby Dizzy28 » November 27th, 2021, 9:50 am

Omicron isn't that new.

What is the level of sequencing globally to know this hasn't spread a lot already ?
20211127_093810.jpg

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 9:52 am

st7 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:as far as everyone remembers, i simply asked about one thing, said 'we believe you', and then you went off on yuh business trying to justify yuhself. i stop taking u on when i smell the bs.

i dare you to post a pic of that sanitizing station on yuh wall, and hold up 2 fingers in the pic too. if it looks legit, i will apologize for insinuating ur a liar for saying u had that installed.
As I reach home ok bro I will take the pic as I don't keep random pics of my sanitizer dispenser home on my phone

we waiting. u real posting on tuner for a man who not at home and we already know u take 6 months vacation so u eh at work.

we still waiting
I don't need to give you ANY validation bro so keep waiting

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 10:05 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Omicron isn't that new.

What is the level of sequencing globally to know this hasn't spread a lot already ?
20211127_093810.jpg
A total of 61 people who arrived in the Netherlands on two flights from South Africa on Friday have tested positive for the coronavirus and are in isolation as the world anxiously seeks to contain a highly transmissible new coronavirus variant

https://www.facebook.com/86680728811/po ... 177133812/

Postby adnj » November 27th, 2021, 10:23 am

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:I thought the criteria for mutations was simply rapid spread of the virus now a co morbidity has a hand to play in it? So the way this virus is surging here locally , it cannot spark a mutation ?
Dohplaydat wrote:Anyone who's wondering why this heavily mutated strain came from Africa, here's the most likely reasons:

1. Persons with HIV (more than 15% in South Africa and Botswana) allow for longer infection and more mutations as the virus reproduces in them.

study of an HIV positive 36-year-old woman showed that Covid-19 stayed in her body for 216 days and mutated rapidly.

“There is good evidence that prolonged infection in immune-compromised individuals is one of the mechanisms for the emergence of SARS Covid-2 variants,” Tulio de Oliveira, a bioinformatics professor who runs gene-sequencing institutions at two South African universities, said at an Aug. 30 immunology conference. “You have this massive virus evolution, really the virus accumulating over 30 mutations.”

https://fortune.com/2021/09/15/south-af ... tists/amp/

2. Low vaccination rate and lots of young people allow for prevalent and often asymptomatic spread allowing more possible mutations.

Yes it's possible but the number of mutations on the Omicron variant suggests it went through a lot of mutations. More than likely through a hiv positive person. But as of now this is speculation.
Hear is some old news for the non-readers that are arguing with DPD:

COVID Variants May Arise in People with Compromised Immune Systems

The case history of a U.K. man in his 70s shows how selective “pressures” bring about viral mutations

By Stephani Sutherland on February 23, 2021

https://www.scientificamerican.com/arti ... e-systems/
No one is disputing what DPD is saying but after 20 months into a pandemic why arise now, I'm sure this is not the first time covid passed through a hiv infected person nor will it be the last so why a spark a mutation now and not a year ago when we didn't have vaccines. Oh I know that way you couldn't blame Africa, as usual the logic you presented is flawed and the maths not mathsin
Alpha (UK Sep 2020), beta (S. Africa May 2020) and designated Dec 2020. It just happened again with omnicron. But you still can't see it.
Last edited by adnj on November 27th, 2021, 10:23 am, edited 4 times in total.

Postby MaxPower » November 27th, 2021, 10:24 am

Not good for our African brothers and sisters.

Let us not scorn them please.

Postby Country_Bookie » November 27th, 2021, 10:27 am

redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
st7 wrote:i was in a few places today running errands: courts and ashley's being one of them... there were ppl but not "crowds", and everyone were wearing their masks and keeping some distance.

was pleased to see such a thing.

yea I noticed this too. Not a single chin masker today and plenty people wearing KN95's. :idea:

went in some offices today but noticed the opposite- not a mask in sight. :roll: my own office about 3/4 of staff wearing it.
Try going into a police station. Most not wearing masks or wearing it on their chin. No wonder they always have a lot of their staff on quarantine.

I can understand doing this when you're by your desk alone, but not when interacting with members of the public.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » November 27th, 2021, 10:31 am

No press conference today?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 27th, 2021, 10:32 am

I just watched John Campbell's talk about Omicron,

Watch from 6:39 mins - https://youtu.be/oxlYyZ08cEg?t=399
[youtube]oxlYyZ08cEg?[/youtube]

Screenshot 2021-11-27 at 2.26.55 pm.png

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 10:34 am

Dohplaydat wrote:I just watched John Campbell's talk about Omicron,

Well this is dangerous because how many people both globally and locally walking around with untreated HIV infections

Penguin

Postby Penguin » November 27th, 2021, 10:39 am

Dohplaydat wrote:I just watched John Campbell's talk about Omicron,

Thanks for sharing this. I think the main thing we need to know is if it's more deadly. If it is, well f*ck...but if it isn't then this could be a blessing in disguise.

Postby zoom rader » November 27th, 2021, 10:40 am

On Thursday, Trinidad and Tobago took the grim title of recording the highest daily confirmed COVID-19 deaths per million people. According to data analysis by Our World In Data, this calculation used data from John Hopkins University CSSE COVID-19 data.

Trinidad and Tobago recorded 31 deaths on Thursday, marking the deadliest day for the pandemic to date. Looking at this data standardized, Trinidad and Tobago recorded 22.09 deaths per million people, surpassing many European countries amid their worst wave of the pandemic.

When looking at cases, the country had the seventh most confirmed COVID-19 infections per million people on Thursday in the entire world, with mainly European countries eclipsing Trinidad and Tobago’s 444.64. Our Caribbean neighbour, Dominica, takes the top spot, with a whopping 2,452.47 COVID-19 cases per million people.

It is important to note that these figures change daily. In addition, due to limited testing and challenges in the attribution of the cause of death, confirmed deaths can be lower than the actual number of deaths in many countries. Similarly, limited testing also results in the number of confirmed cases being lower than the true number of infectious.

However, even with these grim figures and titles, the country’s case-fatality ratio (CFR), or how many COVID-19 cases succumb to the disease, is the 34th worst globally, at 2.99 percent. In the Caribbean, only Grenada surpasses T&T’s figure.

To date, Trinidad and Tobago has lost 2040 people to COVID-19 as of November 25th. Approximately one in 700 people in the country have succumbed to the disease since March 2020. With 344 COVID-19 deaths for November, the month is already the second deadliest month for the pandemic to date. The deadliest month for the pandemic in the country to date remains June 2021, with 352 deaths.

Reporter: Kalain Hosein

God is the Rowlair and the red government

Postby Chimera » November 27th, 2021, 10:42 am

Doesn't this further boost the fact that we should take available vaccines against the strains that are already here so the hospitals and our resources won't suffer as much and when the new strain gets here there will be more resources and less sick people and we can better fight it.

katiedido

Postby katiedido » November 27th, 2021, 10:49 am

If it’s any flights they should be stopping it should be that KLM direct Amsterdam flight

Postby Chimera » November 27th, 2021, 10:51 am

They need to stop flights from Suriname as well.

Postby MaxPower » November 27th, 2021, 10:54 am

If T&T is topping the world, then they should ban Trinis from entering all other countries until we get the cases and deaths down.

Makes no sense that we be irresponsible in other countries.

Postby zoom rader » November 27th, 2021, 10:55 am

katiedido wrote:If it’s any flights they should be stopping it should be that KLM direct Amsterdam flight

The KLM flight is a Transit flight from London City airport.

You dont ever leave the security of the Amsterdam transit section in the airport.
Last edited by zoom rader on November 27th, 2021, 10:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

katiedido

Postby katiedido » November 27th, 2021, 10:55 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:They need to stop flights from Suriname as well.

Good catch. Very true.

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 10:55 am

Why ppl worried once it reaches Venezuela it will be here in no time borders open or not....

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 10:56 am

MaxPower wrote:If T&T is topping the world, then they should ban Trinis from entering all other countries until we get the cases and deaths down.

Makes no sense that we be irresponsible in other countries.
X3000 I surprised trinis still accepted with our surge in cases and deaths

Postby st7 » November 27th, 2021, 10:58 am

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

we still waiting
I don't need to give you ANY validation bro so keep waiting

u sick in ur head or something? u want a daddy figure?... no one concern about validating you here

we just want to see this so called station u have set up in "your house" you claim to have or if this is just another one of your lies about being a so-called "great citizen who doh need vaccine cuz u practice the 3 W's"

i done tell u i go apologize to you if you weren't lying. for 29 u does act like a real lil chile SEEKING validation cuz no one give u attention

katiedido

Postby katiedido » November 27th, 2021, 11:03 am

katiedido wrote:If it’s any flights they should be stopping it should be that KLM direct Amsterdam flight

The KLM flight is a Transit flight from London City airport.

You dont ever leave the security of the Amsterdam transit section in the airport.

So if it’s London city-Amsterdam- Trinidad can’t ppl board in Amsterdam? That’s the issue. The direct link to Amsterdam. Which has lots of travel with south Africa.

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 11:06 am

At least Africa was more forth coming and didn't hide information then downplay it like their Chinese counterparts :S

VII

Postby VII » November 27th, 2021, 11:19 am

No one has a damn clue about this both vaxxers and anti vaxxers..

Stop acting like you all do, you do not and just shifting the goalpost every day with every new twist .

Seems like we gonna need a whole new set of vaccines because this virus is very proactive and flexible.

Keep trying to convince yourselves this is how vaccines supposed to work, it's not . Everyday it's a new explanation and a new compromise ,this is just the beginning hold your judgements and act as if you're not vaccinated even if you are because you probably won't be against one strain or the other .

It seems that this would boil down to those with a natural higher resistance than those vaccinated or not ,even in different degrees among the vaccinated.

To the vaccinated stop acting like you're superior and out of the woods because you're not,and it is this false sense of superiority that's most dangerous ,maintain best practices and established protocols.

To the unvaccinated if you've decided to go the distance and reject the vaccine that's up to you and your choice no matter what anyone says because clearly no one is sure about anything. Maybe your status would allow you to maintain your skepticism and best practices to naturally ward off the bug with a combination of proper protocol and natural resistance.

And if this goes above anyone's head that's not my fault but don't lemme have have break down elementary perspective for you please thanks !

This seems very ominous and is just the beginning. Humanity will learn by force what is really important and also that nothing is guaranteed . Great lesson nonetheless but at a great cost ,nature has a way of dealing with things and that is just one.

Good luck to my fellow human beings ,let us hope we are not reduced to statistics as many of our fellow man in all walks of life in the grips of this versatile cruel equalizer .
Last edited by VII on November 27th, 2021, 11:44 am, edited 4 times in total.

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 11:21 am

Survival of the fittest right now and vaccinated does not mean strong

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 11:24 am

Two people in the UK have been found to be infected with the new Covid variant, Omicron, the health secretary has said.

Postby hover11 » November 27th, 2021, 11:33 am

Dr. Anthony Fauci, the director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, said that it is possible that the Omicron Covid-19 variant is already in the United States but has yet to be detected.

https://lm.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3 ... CF6Yt0dD7Q