COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » February 7th, 2022, 6:06 am

So back to the same ole same ole problems now? Crime..corruption....etc steups.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » February 7th, 2022, 7:05 am

aaron17 wrote:So back to the same ole same ole problems now? Crime..corruption....etc steups.
Tbh that never stopped, police manpower is wasted on checking safe zones while important crimes are undertaken

Postby redmanjp » February 7th, 2022, 11:02 am

exactly why so much police getting covid? what kind of masks they wearing? anything less than KN95s are not effective

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/02/05/jewellery-store-employee-gunned-down-in-san-fernando/

[UPDATED] Acting CoP: Quarantine left police patrols scarce in San Fernando as jewellery store employee gunned down

Acting CoP Mc Donald Jacob said officers under quarantine for covid19 exposure led to an absence of police patrols in the main commercial centre of San Fernando on Saturday morning where a jewellery store was robbed and an employee shot dead.

In a telephone interview, Jacob said the police crime-fighting plan was taking a serious beating from covid 19.

“We are getting a serious lash from covid,” he told the Newsday in a brief phone interview.

“What I understand is that there were not adequate foot patrols. There are 22 persons in San Fernando on quarantine and relevant adjustments were not made quickly enough to ensure they (police) maintain the presence that is normally maintained.”

Jacob said he went to the scene and spoke to the commander about it and also about the input of the municipal police to maintain greater coordination.

He said with the use of mobile patrols and CCTV footage they were able to institute a lockdown in several areas resulting in the interception of the getaway vehicle in La Romaine.

One occupant of the vehicle was arrested and the search continues for the others who were dropped off before the vehicle was intercepted.

Also commenting on the crime, National Security Minister Fitzgerald Hinds appealed to citizens to share with the police or law enforcement agency, knowledge of any “miscreant in your community who is possessed of a gun.

‘You can’t have a gunman if you don’t have a gun,” Hinds said at a PNM meeting in Laventille on Saturday.

Hinds said he had seen a video of the San Fernando incident.

"I don't patrol. I wish the police would catch the perpetrators now."

The police came under fire from San Fernando mayor Junia Regrello, Greater San Fernando Chamber president Kiran Singh and shoppers who witnessed the shooting and assembled around the body of Andy Alberto Macias Hosein, 33, outside Ketan Jewellers where he was employed.

Singh who was in his business place on High Street said he had to call senior police officers to inform them of the robbery and murder before a team was deployed some 30 minutes later.

He said before that he drove around the city for about 90 minutes and could not find any officers on patrol.

The San Fernando police station is a stone’s throw from where the shooting took place.

Around 10.30 am, four bandits stormed the jewellery store on upper High Street and began smashing the showcases with hammers. It is not the first time this jewellery store has been robbed.

The gunmen told staff and shoppers to remain calm and no one would get hurt. Hosein who was standing by the doorway and was ushered in the store by one of the bandits, panicked and tried to run away. He was shot in the back and fell to the pavement, dying moments later.

Postby Chimera » February 7th, 2022, 11:15 am

Think of the police day to day work.
Sharing vehicles
Sharing work spaces.
Sharing guns and ticket machine and basically everything with a whole other shift.

For the longest while they not getting adequate supplies to sanitize.

Then they have to mix with the public and suspects.

They can't avoid covid.

Postby Chimera » February 7th, 2022, 11:16 am

And then they're public servants and the pcr test takes 2 weeks to come back so...2 week quarantine from the beginning.

Don't know why government eh realize it makes more sense to pay a private lab for a 24 hour result and let them go back to work within 2 days......

Postby j.o.e » February 7th, 2022, 11:18 am

Go in any station there is no mask wearing not even outside by the counter. Same for officers sharing vehicles.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 7th, 2022, 11:28 am

So allyuh want police to be running down bandit in hot sun with a mask on. Smh. Sweat will deactivate the already limited useful of ANY MASK.

Postby adnj » February 7th, 2022, 11:48 am

redmanjp wrote:exactly why so much police getting covid? what kind of masks they wearing? anything less than KN95s are not effective

January 14, 2022

He said a meeting was held and the protocols were revised with some new measures to help with sanitization and safety procedures.

Archie said the TTPS’ overall vaccination rate was at 41 per cent and they expect this to increase to 51 per cent.

Several officers were reported to have died after testing positive for COVID-19 in recent weeks.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/officer ... -hesitancy

Last edited by adnj on February 7th, 2022, 11:48 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby j.o.e » February 7th, 2022, 12:12 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:So allyuh want police to be running down bandit in hot sun with a mask on. Smh. Sweat will deactivate the already limited useful of ANY MASK.

Police don’t run down bandit

Postby redmanjp » February 7th, 2022, 12:50 pm

in addition to getting their booster shots (2 doses doesnt seem to be enough against omicron), they should at least wear a surgical one outdoors on patrol, but indoors such as safe zones or dealing with illegal zesser parties - KN95s. i dont think they often need to run down ppl there.

that cloth rap they wearing around their head it not cutting it.

Postby timelapse » February 7th, 2022, 12:56 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Think of the police day to day work.
Sharing vehicles
Sharing work spaces.
Sharing guns and ticket machine and basically everything with a whole other shift.

For the longest while they not getting adequate supplies to sanitize.

Then they have to mix with the public and suspects.

They can't avoid covid.
You forgot sharing skenks.Sloppy seconds and thirds

Postby pete » February 7th, 2022, 4:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:in addition to getting their booster shots (2 doses doesnt seem to be enough against omicron), they should at least wear a surgical one outdoors on patrol, but indoors such as safe zones or dealing with illegal zesser parties - KN95s. i dont think they often need to run down ppl there.

Ah mean. It's their choice to wear that. If you wanna use the lowest form of protection don't be surprised you get covid.

Postby aaron17 » February 7th, 2022, 4:21 pm

'Thread turnin political ah tell yuh'

Postby redmanjp » February 7th, 2022, 4:25 pm

pete wrote:
redmanjp wrote:in addition to getting their booster shots (2 doses doesnt seem to be enough against omicron), they should at least wear a surgical one outdoors on patrol, but indoors such as safe zones or dealing with illegal zesser parties - KN95s. i dont think they often need to run down ppl there.

Ah mean. It's their choice to wear that. If you wanna use the lowest form of protection don't be surprised you get covid.

of course, some of them not wearing any mask. just went in an office in Admin building with 4 ppl, not one was wearing a mask- 1 of them only put on 1 when i came in the room. then i saw 4 officers in a ttps vehicle windows right up (no ventilation) and at least 3 of them mask less. ent dat is a $2000 charge?

Postby hover11 » February 7th, 2022, 4:31 pm

redmanjp wrote:
pete wrote:

of course, some of them not wearing any mask. just went in an office in Admin building with 4 ppl, not one was wearing a mask- 1 of them only put on 1 when i came in the room. then i saw 4 officers in a ttps vehicle windows right up (no ventilation) and at least 3 of them mask less. ent dat is a $2000 charge?
Who going to charge the police?

Postby MaxPower » February 7th, 2022, 4:57 pm

bluefete wrote:So Tantie Kams was right all along

Under Kamla our numbers would have been so much higher.

Sunlight would kill Covid but our numbers are horrendous?

K

Postby paid_influencer » February 7th, 2022, 5:05 pm

numeros

573/07

why the leading zero? i donno

Postby redmanjp » February 7th, 2022, 5:10 pm

Postby redmanjp » February 7th, 2022, 5:14 pm

i doh know where the previous 21 days came from. so under this new criteria thousands of ppl should be discharged then?

Postby paid_influencer » February 7th, 2022, 5:35 pm

still too long. ridiculous. These "new" guidelines will suffer and kill the economy for what? No measurable gain. CMO needs to be replaced for someone that understands we can't keep holding the economy back for covid. Covid going to be here forever, are we going to cripple our country forever?

look at this dotish crap. 14 days quarantine if you exposed to somebody with covid? WDMC wrong with them. Covid farking everywhere, if we follow that everybody will be in quarantine all the farking time and nobody will be there to man the police station, fire station, while the country burning down and criminals robbing and killing out people on high street.

you know the CDC quarantine period if you vaccinated? 0 days. none. zip.Because they understand we need the economy and society to continue functioning and we can't all stay home all the farking time we exposed to someone with covid. We exposed to covid every farking day now that it is endemic. If you unvaxxed, is 5 days home, or 0 days if you wear a farking mask.

if you actually have covid? 5 days or when your fever stops. That's it.

CMO/Keith going to run the economy into the ground with their paranoia.

Postby hover11 » February 7th, 2022, 5:37 pm

paid_influencer wrote:still too long. ridiculous. These "new" guidelines will suffer and kill the economy for what? No measurable gain. CMO needs to be replaced for someone that understands we can't keep holding the economy back for covid. Covid going to be here forever, are we going to cripple our country forever?

look at this dotish crap. 14 days quarantine if you exposed to somebody with covid? WDMC wrong with them. Covid farking everywhere, if we follow that everybody will be in quarantine all the farking time and nobody will be there to man the police station, fire station, while the country burning down and criminals robbing and killing out people on high street.

you know the CDC quarantine period if you vaccinated? 0 days. none. zip.Because they understand we need the economy and society to continue functioning and we can't all stay home all the farking time we exposed to someone with covid. We exposed to covid every farking day now that it is endemic. If you unvaxxed, is 5 days home, or 0 days if you wear a farking mask.

The economy wasn't at peak performance to begin with but ok

Postby S_2NR » February 7th, 2022, 5:56 pm

paid_influencer wrote:still too long. ridiculous. These "new" guidelines will suffer and kill the economy for what? No measurable gain. CMO needs to be replaced for someone that understands we can't keep holding the economy back for covid. Covid going to be here forever, are we going to cripple our country forever?

But you are one of the most paranoid people on this forum

Postby timelapse » February 7th, 2022, 6:00 pm

Smash u alive bro?

Postby adnj » February 7th, 2022, 7:10 pm

Not quite. And US boosters are Pfizer or Moderna (J&J only under special circumstances):

If You Were Exposed to Someone with COVID-19 (Quarantine)

If you:

Have been boosted
OR
Completed the primary series of Pfizer or Moderna vaccine within the last 6 months
OR
Completed the primary series of J&J vaccine within the last 2 months

Wear a mask around others for 10 days.

Test on day 5, if possible.

If you develop symptoms get a test and stay home.

https://www.cdc.gov/media/releases/2021 ... dance.html

Postby matr1x » February 7th, 2022, 7:41 pm

The fallacy that an opened economy will benefit all not us has been disproved in the states

Postby De Dragon » February 7th, 2022, 8:06 pm

drchaos wrote:Allu insulting the people who choose not to vaccinate on this forum for months.
Everything is fair game, from childish .. to high school insults. Insulting men's genital size and sexual preferences.

It even have men who was wishing death and suffering onto people who doh want to vaccinate.

Then when people fling back excrement at y'all, that y'all be throwing for months.

One man crying in the corner for the moderator ... Next one bawling how the high school insults is so lame.

:lol: Allu men is Loud kicks yes! :lol:

We agree on one thing at least

Postby pete » February 7th, 2022, 8:46 pm

Would love to know how they have 20,600 active cases when we've only had that many new cases since the 6th of January, 32 days ago.

Postby st7 » February 7th, 2022, 9:45 pm

drchaos wrote:Allu insulting the people who choose not to vaccinate on this forum for months.
Everything is fair game, from childish .. to high school insults. Insulting men's genital size and sexual preferences.

It even have men who was wishing death and suffering onto people who doh want to vaccinate.

Then when people fling back excrement at y'all, that y'all be throwing for months.

One man crying in the corner for the moderator ... Next one bawling how the high school insults is so lame.

:lol: Allu men is Loud kicks yes! :lol:

We agree on one thing at least

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 7th, 2022, 11:12 pm

Totally agree ...Most people not following rules anymore interestingly.

I know loads of people working and have viral symptoms. They just can't afford to not work, some just don't give a fack anymore about covid and some just want to see the world burn.

Postby hover11 » February 8th, 2022, 11:42 am

Fresh research says Omicron lasts much longer on surfaces than other variants – but disinfecting still works