COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 71361 (+763) cases, 2158 (+24) deaths, 10840 active, 58363 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » December 2nd, 2021, 10:32 am

Only a matter of time before it happens here.
Screenshot_20211202-103111_Facebook.jpg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 71361 (+763) cases, 2158 (+24) deaths, 10840 active, 58363 recovered in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » December 2nd, 2021, 10:39 am

redmanjp wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:You don’t need a court order , once you have tested positive for covid You should stay quarantined for 2-3 weeks, absolutely no visitors, no going out at all, get all groceries delivered … it should be an automatic charge once you’re out after testing positive for at least 2 weeks.

extremely easy to say if you have family and friends and $$$ to do so

not so easy for the tens of thousands of persons who survive on getting paid every day or every week and will still go out to work whether they sick or not

all the more reason to not get covid. if u doh care about your health at least care about your livelihood- get covid and your livelihood is disrupted- dont get it and u dont have that problem. obey the 3Ws.

it still reckless to be out while covid +ve regardless of the reason. being a contact of a +ve is 1 thing but being +ve yourself and sick and still going out because u have to earn ah living? madness

You doing as ppl have a choice!!!
The 3Ws reduces risk not eliminates it. Someone who has to be out to earn a living automatically has a risk profile.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 2nd, 2021, 10:44 am

Is this even possible in Trinidad?
Screenshot_20211202-104302_Facebook.jpg

Postby Chimera » December 2nd, 2021, 10:59 am

redmanjp wrote:it still reckless to be out while covid +ve regardless of the reason. being a contact of a +ve is 1 thing but being +ve yourself and sick and still going out because u have to earn ah living? madness

tens of thousands of people have no choice
the government/army is not giving food to persons who starving at home
the banks are not stopping payments
ttec is still cutting people for non payment
wasa is disconnecting water for non payment
flow is disconnecting internet for non payment

brb starving and waiting home for redmanjp to drop food

on a regular basis tens of thousands of Trinis only survive week to week or month to month
we in this pandemic 2 years now
plenty businesses were closed, ppl savings GONE

you would sit him and starve and let your children starve if you have no money and no food for 2-3 weeks?
the hospitals taking 2-3 weeks to even call you and tell you that you negative or positive
imagine you stay home for 2-3 weeks to find out your test really said negative

mt hope not even forcing contact tracing or insisting staff test anymore, they telling them if you feel the need to test then test,otherwise come to work normal.
it have a whole department in mt hope locked off because most of them get covid +

some staff even though they feeling sick know the effect that quarantining themselves will have on the patients so they coming to work normal

Postby adnj » December 2nd, 2021, 11:06 am

redmanjp wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:You don’t need a court order , once you have tested positive for covid You should stay quarantined for 2-3 weeks, absolutely no visitors, no going out at all, get all groceries delivered … it should be an automatic charge once you’re out after testing positive for at least 2 weeks.

extremely easy to say if you have family and friends and $$$ to do so

not so easy for the tens of thousands of persons who survive on getting paid every day or every week and will still go out to work whether they sick or not

all the more reason to not get covid. if u doh care about your health at least care about your livelihood- get covid and your livelihood is disrupted- dont get it and u dont have that problem. obey the 3Ws.

it still reckless to be out while covid +ve regardless of the reason. being a contact of a +ve is 1 thing but being +ve yourself and sick and still going out because u have to earn ah living? madness

You doing as ppl have a choice!!!
The 3Ws reduces risk not eliminates it. Someone who has to be out to earn a living automatically has a risk profile.
COVID risk mitigation involves:
Wear a mask
Wash your hands
Watch your distance
Vaccinate

Postby adnj » December 2nd, 2021, 11:08 am

Postby gastly369 » December 2nd, 2021, 11:36 am

Got some new stock.... sheit not cheap

But not taking chances with those cloth mask in these timing
IMG_20211201_184028.jpg

Postby aaron17 » December 2nd, 2021, 11:52 am

U think this is too extreme?
Who gets infected ...gets a fine to pay.

Postby timelapse » December 2nd, 2021, 11:53 am

aaron17 wrote:U think this is too extreme?
Who gets infected ...gets a fine to pay.
If you knowingly infected and spreading it to others: manslaughter...my 2¢

death365

Postby death365 » December 2nd, 2021, 11:55 am

Yes ... I support that 101%.

They are less than me ... we the vaccinated are superior in every way
wtf wrote:Only a matter of time before it happens here.
Screenshot_20211202-103111_Facebook.jpg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 2nd, 2021, 11:55 am

COVID-19 in Tobago rampant.
Rowley fault.

Postby aaron17 » December 2nd, 2021, 12:17 pm

IMG_6345.JPG
Bruuhh..i think its much deeper than that. No one will really know for sure.. the truth. Only the highest of the highs.

Postby adnj » December 2nd, 2021, 1:25 pm

Covid: Trigger of rare blood clots with AstraZeneca jab found by scientists

By James Gallagher
Health and science correspondent

Published10 hours ago

Scientists believe they have found "the trigger" that leads to extremely rare blood clots after the Oxford-AstraZeneca Covid vaccine.

The team - in Cardiff and the US - have shown in exquisite detail how a protein in the blood is attracted to a key component of the vaccine.

They think this kicks off a chain reaction, involving the immune system, that can culminate in dangerous clots.

The vaccine is thought to have saved about a million lives from Covid.

However, concerns about rare blood clots shaped how the vaccine has been used around the world including an alternative being offered to the under-40s in the UK.

It also started a scientific detective hunt to figure out what was going on and if it could be prevented. The Cardiff team were given emergency government funding to find the answers.

AstraZeneca's own scientists also joined the research project after earlier results from the team were published.

A spokeswoman for AstraZeneca stressed that clots were more likely to occur because of a Covid infection than the vaccine, and that the complete explanation for why they occur had not yet been established.

"Although the research is not definitive, it offers interesting insights and AstraZeneca is exploring ways to leverage these findings as part of our efforts to remove this extremely rare side effect," she added.

https://www.bbc.com/news/health-59418123

Postby aaron17 » December 2nd, 2021, 2:15 pm

Better to aspirate?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 2nd, 2021, 3:07 pm

wtf wrote:Only a matter of time before it happens here.Screenshot_20211202-103111_Facebook.jpg

Same should be done here. Rowley is failing to act to protect the population

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2021, 3:38 pm

aaron17 wrote:Better to aspirate?

Dr. Campbell on youtube has been saying that a while now

Postby adnj » December 2nd, 2021, 3:44 pm

U.S. reports first case of Omicron community transmission

Yellen says variant could slow growth
'Situation is very serious,' say Germany's Merkel
Omicron may cause half of European infections in months

WASHINGTON/BERLIN, Dec 2 (Reuters) - The United States reported its first known case of community transmission of Omicron on Thursday hours before President Joe Biden was due to lay out his strategy to fight the coronavirus in the winter as the highly contagious variant spread across the globe.

With authorities around the world scrambling to contain the spread of Omicron, the public health department in the northern U.S. state of Minnesota said a fully vaccinated adult male who had recently travelled to New York City had been infected.

The person told state health investigators he attended the Anime NYC 2021 convention at the Javits Center from Nov. 19 to 21 and developed mild symptoms on Nov. 22.

“We are aware of a case of the Omicron variant identified in Minnesota that is associated with travel to a conference in New York City, and we should assume there is community spread of the variant in our city," New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio said.

https://www.reuters.com/world/us-tighte ... 021-12-01/

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2021, 3:44 pm

wtf wrote:Only a matter of time before it happens here.Screenshot_20211202-103111_Facebook.jpg

its justified if u have high rates of spread and hospitalizations- just the same way we had the general lockdown which brought most of the economy to a halt. this one doesn't do that- it keeps shops open but only vaxxed ppl can enter.

u could probably have online ordering/delivery for unvaxxed and curb side shopping where possible.

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » December 2nd, 2021, 3:47 pm

wtf wrote:Is this even possible in Trinidad?Screenshot_20211202-104302_Facebook.jpg

This is for unvaccinated folk, just FYI.

but I saw the testing site at the QPS advertising "next day" results, but not sure if that its still possible with the accelerating burden due to rising infection

Postby K74T » December 2nd, 2021, 4:01 pm

756 new cases, 21 deaths

FB_IMG_1638475279188.jpg

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2021, 4:03 pm

MOH on time these days.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 2nd, 2021, 4:05 pm

K74T wrote:756 new cases, 21 deaths

FB_IMG_1638475279188.jpg
Not a good start for the month.
Lots gonna die.
This will flow over into 2022 also.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 2nd, 2021, 4:24 pm

wtf wrote:

FB_IMG_1638475279188.jpg
Lots gonna die.

Once it stay in the 20's and 30's per day, we good, that manageable

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2021, 4:26 pm

yeah once we keep adding additional capacity and medical staff it is only a problem fir those who get seriously ill

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 2nd, 2021, 4:38 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
wtf wrote:

FB_IMG_1638475279188.jpg
Lots gonna die.

Once it stay in the 20's and 30's per day, we good, that manageable
This is a make or break month.
What can be done to decelerate this case load?
Will the government take a decision or leave the virus to go through the population as is?

40 Deaths in the first 2 days..
Jeeeeezussss Christ..

Postby hover11 » December 2nd, 2021, 4:41 pm

Who dead dead who cares

Postby Kenjo » December 2nd, 2021, 4:49 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah once we keep adding additional capacity and medical staff it is only a problem fir those who get seriously ill

Adding medical staff you say ?

Postby hover11 » December 2nd, 2021, 4:56 pm

Kenjo wrote:
pugboy wrote:yeah once we keep adding additional capacity and medical staff it is only a problem fir those who get seriously ill

Men think you could just grab ppl off the streets and they will become health workers yes...

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 2nd, 2021, 4:56 pm

756/21 the new normal.

600 dead by mth end and 21000 new infections. Same arguments daily.
Last edited by daring dragoon on December 2nd, 2021, 4:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2021, 4:58 pm

#sarcasm

Kenjo wrote: