COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 71361 (+763) cases, 2158 (+24) deaths, 10840 active, 58363 recovered in T&T

Postby Chimera » November 30th, 2021, 10:23 pm

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/local/us-is ... 20d5a.html

The following is a release issued by the US State Department on November 30, 2021.

Do not travel to Trinidad and Tobago due to COVID-19. Exercise increased caution in Trinidad and Tobago due to crime, terrorism, and kidnapping. Some areas have increased risk. Read the entire Travel Advisory.

Read the Department of State’s COVID-19 page before you plan any international travel.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Level 4 Travel Health Notice for Trinidad and Tobago due to COVID-19, indicating a very high level of COVID-19 in the country. Your risk of contracting COVID-19 and developing severe symptoms may be lower if you are fully vaccinated with an FDA authorized vaccine. Before planning any international travel, please review the CDC's specific recommendations for vaccinated and unvaccinated travelers. There are restrictions in place on U.S. citizen entry into Trinidad and Tobago. Visit the Embassy's COVID-19 page for more information on COVID-19 in Trinidad and Tobago.

Do not travel to:

Laventille, Beetham, Sea Lots, Cocorite, and the interior of Queen's Park Savannah in Port of Spain due to crime.

Violent crime, such as murder, robbery, assault, sexual assault, home invasion, and kidnapping, is common.

Gang activity, such as narcotics trafficking, is common. A significant portion of violent crime is gang-related.

Terrorists may attack with little or no warning, targeting tourist locations, transportation hubs, markets/shopping malls, local government facilities, hotels, clubs, restaurants, places of worship, parks, major sporting and cultural events, educational institutions, airports, and other public areas.

Read the country information page.

If you decide to travel to Trinidad and Tobago:

See the U.S. Embassy's web page regarding COVID-19.
Visit the CDC’s webpage on Travel and COVID-19.
Use caution when walking or driving at night.
Be aware of your surroundings.
Do not display overt signs of wealth, such as expensive watches or jewelry.
Be extra vigilant when visiting ATMs.
Do not physically resist any robbery attempt.
Follow the instructions of local authorities.
Monitor local media for breaking events and adjust your plans based on new information.
Enroll in the Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) to receive Alerts and make it easier to locate you in an emergency.
Follow the Department of State on Facebook and Twitter.
Review the Crime and Safety Report for Trinidad and Tobago.
U.S. citizens who travel abroad should always have a contingency plan for emergency situations.
Review the Traveler’s Checklist.
Port of Spain

Violence and shootings occur regularly in some areas of Port of Spain.

U.S. government personnel are prohibited from travelling to the following areas: Laventille, Beetham, Sea Lots, Cocorite, and the interior of Queens’ Park Savannah. After dark, U.S. government personnel are prohibited from travelling to downtown Port of Spain, Fort George overlook, and all beaches.

Visit our website for Travel to High-Risk Areas.

Mmoney607

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 71361 (+763) cases, 2158 (+24) deaths, 10840 active, 58363 recovered in T&T

Postby Mmoney607 » November 30th, 2021, 10:38 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/local/us-issues-do-not-travel-advisory-for-trinidad-and-tobago-due-to-covid-19/article_b2286a0a-5248-11ec-acee-0fc4c9f20d5a.html?utm_campaign=blox&utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&fbclid=IwAR2KIRX2x12HKmze8f0nogHLyiUfkEsKxWpC2uwyQqtY3qv8TZFytPmUZM8

The following is a release issued by the US State Department on November 30, 2021.

Do not travel to Trinidad and Tobago due to COVID-19. Exercise increased caution in Trinidad and Tobago due to crime, terrorism, and kidnapping. Some areas have increased risk. Read the entire Travel Advisory.

Read the Department of State’s COVID-19 page before you plan any international travel.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Level 4 Travel Health Notice for Trinidad and Tobago due to COVID-19, indicating a very high level of COVID-19 in the country. Your risk of contracting COVID-19 and developing severe symptoms may be lower if you are fully vaccinated with an FDA authorized vaccine. Before planning any international travel, please review the CDC's specific recommendations for vaccinated and unvaccinated travelers. There are restrictions in place on U.S. citizen entry into Trinidad and Tobago. Visit the Embassy's COVID-19 page for more information on COVID-19 in Trinidad and Tobago.

Do not travel to:

Laventille, Beetham, Sea Lots, Cocorite, and the interior of Queen's Park Savannah in Port of Spain due to crime.

Violent crime, such as murder, robbery, assault, sexual assault, home invasion, and kidnapping, is common.

Gang activity, such as narcotics trafficking, is common. A significant portion of violent crime is gang-related.

Terrorists may attack with little or no warning, targeting tourist locations, transportation hubs, markets/shopping malls, local government facilities, hotels, clubs, restaurants, places of worship, parks, major sporting and cultural events, educational institutions, airports, and other public areas.

Monitor local media for breaking events and adjust your plans based on new information.
Enroll in the Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) to receive Alerts and make it easier to locate you in an emergency.
U.S. citizens who travel abroad should always have a contingency plan for emergency situations.
Port of Spain

U.S. government personnel are prohibited from travelling to the following areas: Laventille, Beetham, Sea Lots, Cocorite, and the interior of Queens’ Park Savannah. After dark, U.S. government personnel are prohibited from travelling to downtown Port of Spain, Fort George overlook, and all beaches.

Dear America,

Please sanction Trinidad and tobago. We live under an evil dictatorial maniac called Keith Christopher Rowley.

Regards
Mmoney607

Postby st7 » November 30th, 2021, 10:53 pm

change yuh name to Oil607 and yuh inna gear

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 30th, 2021, 11:07 pm

T&T November 2021 Covid numbers
14,032 new cases
462 deaths
3.3% case fatality rate which is higher than the global average of 2%

Cases have gone up by 900% and deaths have gone up by 1600% so far since the start of 2021.
64,211 new cases and 2,031 deaths in 2021 so far
2020 was 7,150 total cases and 127 deaths.

Postby MaxPower » December 1st, 2021, 12:19 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/local/us-issues-do-not-travel-advisory-for-trinidad-and-tobago-due-to-covid-19/article_b2286a0a-5248-11ec-acee-0fc4c9f20d5a.html

Do not travel to:

Port of Spain

X3000

Well done T&T.

A blasted embarrassment.

Postby hover11 » December 1st, 2021, 4:43 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/local/us-issues-do-not-travel-advisory-for-trinidad-and-tobago-due-to-covid-19/article_b2286a0a-5248-11ec-acee-0fc4c9f20d5a.html

Do not travel to:

Port of Spain

X3000

Well done T&T.

A blasted embarrassment.
What they coming trinidad for if covid don't kill you, crime surely will.

Completely agree

eitech

Postby eitech » December 1st, 2021, 5:28 am

hover11 wrote:

Do not travel to:

Port of Spain

X3000

Well done T&T.

A blasted embarrassment.

Completely agree

All dem unvaxxed is ah setta criminal. Shameful

Postby aaron17 » December 1st, 2021, 7:36 am

If flu = normal crime everyday
Unvax. Ppl= crime against humanity?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 1st, 2021, 8:17 am

hover11 wrote:

Do not travel to:

Port of Spain

X3000

Well done T&T.

A blasted embarrassment.

Completely agree
Government have no shame.
The US embassy is probably UNC supporters too.

Postby aaron17 » December 1st, 2021, 9:03 am

bruhhhhhhhhhhh...terrorists?
I was waiting to read 'suicide bombers' up in here...

Postby matr1x » December 1st, 2021, 9:05 am

aaron17 wrote:bruhhhhhhhhhhh...terrorists?
I was waiting to read 'suicide bombers' up in here...

You mean Ali babas? Dem is max buddies

Postby aaron17 » December 1st, 2021, 9:07 am

Peter pay for Paul and Paul pay for all. As a born citizen , I am completely disgusted. Hence I will be labelled as a terrorist.

Postby timelapse » December 1st, 2021, 10:45 am

aaron17 wrote:If flu = normal crime everyday
Unvax ppl=crime against intelligence

Postby hover11 » December 1st, 2021, 10:52 am

timelapse wrote:
If you unvaccinated you are automatically unintelligent and if you are vaccinated that is nowthe epitome of intelligence hmmm the more you know

Postby adnj » December 1st, 2021, 11:09 am

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
If you unvaccinated you are automatically unintelligent and if you are vaccinated that is nowthe epitome of intelligence hmmm the more you know

If you are constantly posting stupid shitt you are automatically unintelligent.

Postby adnj » December 1st, 2021, 11:11 am

EU could approve shot against new coronavirus variant in 3-4 months

Nov 30 (Reuters) - The EU drug regulator said on Tuesday it could approve vaccines adapted to target the Omicron variant of the coronavirus within three to four months if needed, but that existing shots would continue to provide protection.

Speaking to the European Parliament, European Medicines Agency (EMA) executive director Emer Cooke said it was not known if drugmakers would need to tweak their vaccines to protect against Omicron, but the EMA was preparing for that possibility.

"Were there a need to change the existing vaccines, we could be in a position to have those approved within three to four months," she said.

https://www.reuters.com/business/health ... 021-11-30/

Postby hover11 » December 1st, 2021, 12:09 pm

adnj wrote:EU could approve shot against new coronavirus variant in 3-4 months

Nov 30 (Reuters) - The EU drug regulator said on Tuesday it could approve vaccines adapted to target the Omicron variant of the coronavirus within three to four months if needed, but that existing shots would continue to provide protection.

Speaking to the European Parliament, European Medicines Agency (EMA) executive director Emer Cooke said it was not known if drugmakers would need to tweak their vaccines to protect against Omicron, but the EMA was preparing for that possibility.

"Were there a need to change the existing vaccines, we could be in a position to have those approved within three to four months," she said.

https://www.reuters.com/business/health ... 021-11-30/
Boosters on top of boosters

Postby Dave » December 1st, 2021, 12:13 pm

If everyone got vaccinated and did the correct thing, boosters may not have been required. This thing would have died a natural death before now.

Postby redmanjp » December 1st, 2021, 12:19 pm

Dave wrote:If everyone got vaccinated and did the correct thing, boosters may not have been required. This thing would have died a natural death before now.

hesitancy is one thing but many other countries still don't have an adequate supply so that's another thing- if the vaccine makers granted licenses to manufacturers worldwide then we wouldn't have this issue.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 1st, 2021, 12:23 pm

Dave wrote:If everyone got vaccinated and did the correct thing, boosters may not have been required. This thing would have died a natural death before now.

if this is the case then why is the govt hesitant to make vaccination mandatory as with other vaccines such as polio and MRR for children under 5?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 1st, 2021, 12:25 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

the man picking up the garbage everyday might be uneducated or unintelligent but without him you all educated people with die from disease. so stfu.

Postby j.o.e » December 1st, 2021, 12:28 pm

IMG_4771.JPG
IMG_4772.JPG

Postby st7 » December 1st, 2021, 12:30 pm

j.o.e wrote:IMG_4771.JPGIMG_4772.JPG

inb4thefrothers

inb4'vaccinatedstilldying'

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2021, 12:32 pm

Imagine if those 5700 people were at home recovering and not cluttering up the health care system and wasting our limited resources

Postby timelapse » December 1st, 2021, 12:33 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

the man picking up the garbage everyday might be uneducated or unintelligent but without him you all educated people with die from disease. so stfu.
My garbage man vaccinated,so what does that make hover?

Postby redmanjp » December 1st, 2021, 12:33 pm

hopefully the boosters should further reduce vaxxed hospitalizations and deaths.

one thing though- MOH should differentiate between partially vaxxed and unvaxxed - it have antivaxxers saying or implying those who take 1 shot making up the bulk of patients because MOH only says 'not fully vaccinated' instead of unvaccinated.
Last edited by redmanjp on December 1st, 2021, 12:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2021, 12:34 pm

Imagine if only half of those 1400 unvaccinated persons were vaccinated and live
700 more families would have had a happier Christmas.

Imagine if there was some sort of magical antidote to help lessen the risk of dying

Postby Dave » December 1st, 2021, 12:35 pm

Governments would never want to seem to dictate draconian policies hence not making vaccinations mandatory as one would never bite the hands that feed you.

Postby redmanjp » December 1st, 2021, 12:41 pm

Dave wrote:Governments would never want to seem to dictate draconian policies hence not making vaccinations mandatory as one would never bite the hands that feed you.

once all elections over and no other one coming up soon they could take ah chance- do it temporarily- some ppl go protest and be fired (if its mandatory for work) but some will bite d bullet and take it. once you get vaxxed levels up a bit then discontinue the policy.

by the time general elections come again u would have a combination of vaxxed and natural immunity and the pandemic would be over except for a low level of hospitalized cases if it becomes endemic and ppl with their 10 day memory would have long forgotten.

Postby adnj » December 1st, 2021, 12:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:

hesitancy is one thing but many other countries still don't have an adequate supply so that's another thing- if the vaccine makers granted licenses to manufacturers worldwide then we wouldn't have this issue.
You need to bone up on the difficulties associated with manufacturing the current vaccines, the millions of spoiled doses and tge regulatory requirements of getting vaccine manufacturing facilities approved.