COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 16549 cases, 294 deaths, 5885 active, 10370 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » May 18th, 2021, 4:15 pm

omg :shock:

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 16549 cases, 294 deaths, 5885 active, 10370 recovered in T&T

Postby Gem_in_i » May 18th, 2021, 4:17 pm

23 deaths :(

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 18th, 2021, 4:19 pm

Total deaths for May thus far is 148.
What a number.
Hospital occupancy is 387 while yesterday was 388 /772 yet they saying the beds full?
I wonder how much people dying home?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 18th, 2021, 4:21 pm

10,102 tests in the last 5 days.

Same period a week ago there was 8766 tests.

That represents a 15% increase.

Our positivity rate is also increasing, so at a minimum we will have an average of 10% more cases this week.

Still increasing, but the rate of increase has slowed. This week should be the peak.

Screenshot 2021-05-18 at 4.19.59 pm.png

Postby toyolink » May 18th, 2021, 4:24 pm

The pool of infected citizens has reached a number which suggest that our mortality rate is going to be elevated for longer than one would hope.
The horror stories of our inability to cope with deaths is about to unfold and this is going to be real difficult emotionally as we have seen in other jurisdictions/countries.
Our frontline workers would need our help and full support in order to survive their operating conditions.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 18th, 2021, 4:26 pm

wtf wrote:Total deaths for May thus far is 148.
What a number.
Hospital occupancy is 387 while yesterday was 388 /772 yet they saying the beds full?
I wonder how much people dying home?

They stop counting people in tents as hospitalized.....that is why it has stopped increasing. It's pretty much maxed out at the facilities they count.
Screenshot 2021-05-18 at 4.25.07 pm.png

Despite active cases skyrocketing.
Screenshot 2021-05-18 at 4.25.34 pm.png

Postby matr1x » May 18th, 2021, 4:30 pm

If you have a fever, private medical centers are no longer accepting patients.

Crapuad smoke allyuh pipe.

Let the venes come in!

Postby bluefete » May 18th, 2021, 4:33 pm

Wow. Just wow.

Time to cut back on grocery hours and let people shop by last initials on specific days.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 18th, 2021, 4:37 pm

The workplace needs to be evaluated in addition. Somewhere it's happening and the impact of the measures may not be effective as it should be in those environments.
bluefete wrote:Wow. Just wow.

Time to cut back on grocery hours and let people shop by last initials on specific days.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 18th, 2021, 4:38 pm

Unfortunately this is something that has to be waited out until the restrictions and measures take effect. Can't panic and keep adding more restrictions on top of more restrictions.

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2021, 4:42 pm

unless u cut back on people, then the same amt of people will have to go to the same places, but with less time. all waiting to get in, and thats how u spread it... by lingering together.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 18th, 2021, 4:43 pm

This week is make or break week.
Lots will die at home unable to access oxygen.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 18th, 2021, 4:45 pm

DMan7 wrote:Unfortunately this is something that has to be waited out until the restrictions and measures take effect. Can't panic and keep adding more restrictions on top of more restrictions.

This. Measures takes at least 2 weeks to show up in data.

mamoo_pagal wrote:The workplace needs to be evaluated in addition. Somewhere it's happening and the impact of the measures may not be effective as it should be in those environments.

This too many people working still and literally everyone I know got it from a co-worker.

Postby MaxPower » May 18th, 2021, 4:46 pm

How long before we start burning bodies on the pavement?

In other words, how long before T&T gets a proper wake up call?

You Trinis are still out and about and taking this for a blasted joke.

601/23

Blasted shame

Postby aaron17 » May 18th, 2021, 4:50 pm

MaxPower wrote:How long before we start burning bodies on the pavement?

601/23

Blasted shame
The ppl who out and about.. feel like they on vacation ah tell yuh.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 18th, 2021, 4:52 pm

A lot of people claim to be afraid of catching it in the workplace, just to stay home. Then when they’re home they palancing and roaming and forgetting we in a pandemic. Also when you all are moving around, check how many people wearing masks in the proper manner, if at all.

Postby aaron17 » May 18th, 2021, 4:53 pm

BUG

Postby BUG » May 18th, 2021, 4:54 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Unfortunately this is something that has to be waited out until the restrictions and measures take effect. Can't panic and keep adding more restrictions on top of more restrictions.

This. Measures takes at least 2 weeks to show up in data.

mamoo_pagal wrote:The workplace needs to be evaluated in addition. Somewhere it's happening and the impact of the measures may not be effective as it should be in those environments.

This too many people working still and literally everyone I know got it from a co-worker.

1. Way too many employers forcing their non essential employees to work, under threat of not being able to make their rent/mortgage payments.

2. Way too many people liming legally between 5am to 9pm since the law says five people are allowed to lime, drink alcohol and not wear masks indoors.
Last edited by BUG on May 18th, 2021, 4:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 18th, 2021, 4:54 pm

MaxPower wrote:How long before we start burning bodies on the pavement?

601/23

Blasted shame

It’s as if they don’t believe we’re in a pandemic.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 18th, 2021, 4:58 pm

How is it that the virus isn't affecting teenagers or children?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 18th, 2021, 5:05 pm

It is, symptoms are less agressive. There are a number of research papers alluding to it attribute d to the young immune systems, and they do not develop the very aggressive immune response known as a cytokine storm that adults form when they get the virus. It is that intense reaction to the virus that helps perpetuate damage in the lungs and other organ systems, often irreversibly harming adult patients.
wtf wrote:How is it that the virus isn't affecting teenagers or children?

Postby redmanjp » May 18th, 2021, 5:05 pm

employers to blame too. thousands of applications for 300000 people! so much ppl does be out and about normally in d night?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 18th, 2021, 5:12 pm

redmanjp wrote:employers to blame too. thousands of applications for 300000 people! so much ppl does be out and about normally in d night?
They didn't get a pass though.

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2021, 5:16 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Kickstart wrote:Trinidad government reacted to late.

Sure they did

coronavirus-data-explorer (3).png

Habit7,

you are going to regret using that graph as a benchmark for our performance.

In a month or less we will be 4th on that list, second to Guyana. Also you conveniently left out Barbados, St Vincent, Cuba, Grenada etc.

Firstly I was responding to ZR and the curfew issue, were the last to implement a curfew because we are the last to have such a big wave.

Secondly, my bad I forgot Barbados and Grenada but I was going according to the list and it doesn't have SVG nor Cuba.

Thirdly, wasn't you who was saying TT protocols were too harsh and when I was pointing to Bim who had a curfew as being harsher and stricter you said we were still too harsh and that we should reopen our borders? Up until the start of the lockdown there were several voices here and in the country claiming the then existing protocols are too strict. Now ppl basically demanding TTPS walk around and start flogging ppl like Indian police.

There must have been something good that we were doing from March 2020 to March 2021 to keep our numbers relatively low. Hence the reason we had not put in a curfew like other Caricom countries, hence the reason for my current graph. But whether it is lax border control, pandemic fatigue, vaccine apartheid or the P1 variant, our number will grow as projected. There is nothing for me in regretting citing facts for what led us to now.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 18th, 2021, 5:25 pm

what the venez death or infection count ? so much statisticians and know it all in trinidad and we still dont have a breakdown. know it all inshan,ian,saieed thay bump dey gum but cant do their own investigation.

Postby hover11 » May 18th, 2021, 5:36 pm

Supermarkets are the superspreaders NOW.

Prove me wrong.

abducted

Postby abducted » May 18th, 2021, 5:39 pm

daring dragoon wrote:what the venez death or infection count ? so much statisticians and know it all in trinidad and we still dont have a breakdown. know it all inshan,ian,saieed thay bump dey gum but cant do their own investigation.

Who is saieed?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 18th, 2021, 5:49 pm

Habit7,

I did say we were too harsh, but that was explicitly referring to the borders which do NOT need to be closed. I was adamantly recommending just leaving it open but with a 14-day state quarantine.

Do you want to know what we were doing well? Doing the basics, the original strain was far easier to control.

The original strain is relatively easy to control in tropical climates.
Screenshot 2021-05-18 at 5.34.33 pm.png

My criticism with this government's management is that an open but controlled border would have never let the P1 strain enter. It was a lapse and pure incompetence that we didn't recognize that the P1 would eventually enter our country via illegal immigrants.

Secondly, we had a year headstart, why didn't we add increasing ICU/HDU I'm shocked how under prepared we are for this outbreak.

Thirdly, motherf*cking vaccines, we are still lagging a lot and Trinidad HAD the money to pursue this far more aggressively,. But again, the government say on their ass and wasted valuable time.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17150 cases, 317 deaths, 6318 active, 10515 recovered in T&T

Postby matr1x » May 18th, 2021, 5:58 pm

You had room for shock? Pnm can't manage anything. Ever

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17150 cases, 317 deaths, 6318 active, 10515 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » May 18th, 2021, 5:58 pm

P1 spread depending on how many levels of transmission is way worse than the original strain.

wuhan strain: 1>2>4>8>16>32

brazil strain: 1>4>16>64>256>1024 !!

the CMO said this. He also warned us back in march.

so P1 added to widespread movement/pandemic fatique is what have us here.