COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

ron_28

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17150 cases, 317 deaths, 6318 active, 10515 recovered in T&T

Postby ron_28 » May 18th, 2021, 5:59 pm

Weeks 17&18 Update
Weeks17&18_Updated14052021_AllLabels-page-002.jpg
Weeks17&18_Updated14052021_AllLabels-page-001.jpg
Weeks17&18_Updated14052021_AllLabels-page-004.jpg
Weeks17&18_Updated14052021_AllLabels-page-005.jpg

ron_28

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17150 cases, 317 deaths, 6318 active, 10515 recovered in T&T

Postby ron_28 » May 18th, 2021, 6:00 pm

Weeks 17&18 Update
Weeks17&18_Updated14052021_AllLabels-page-003.jpg
Weeks17&18_Updated14052021_AllLabels-page-006.jpg
Weeks17&18_Updated14052021_AllLabels-page-007.jpg
Weeks17&18_Updated14052021_AllLabels-page-008.jpg
Weeks17&18_Updated14052021_AllLabels-page-009.jpg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 16549 cases, 294 deaths, 5885 active, 10370 recovered in T&T

Postby De Dragon » May 18th, 2021, 6:05 pm

wtf wrote:
redmanjp wrote:employers to blame too. thousands of applications for 300000 people! so much ppl does be out and about normally in d night?
They didn't get a pass though.

Got our TTPS Curfew Permits today.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » May 18th, 2021, 6:06 pm

Additional info from today's update
Capture 1.PNG

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 16549 cases, 294 deaths, 5885 active, 10370 recovered in T&T

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2021, 6:09 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Habit7,

I did say we were too harsh, but that was explicitly referring to the borders which do NOT need to be closed. I was adamantly recommending just leaving it open but with a 14-day state quarantine.

Do you want to know what we were doing well? Doing the basics, the original strain was far easier to control.

The original strain is relatively easy to control in tropical climates.

My criticism with this government's management is that an open but controlled border would have never let the P1 strain enter. It was a lapse and pure incompetence that we didn't recognize that the P1 would eventually enter our country via illegal immigrants.

Secondly, we had a year headstart, why didn't we add increasing ICU/HDU I'm shocked how under prepared we are for this outbreak.

Thirdly, motherf*cking vaccines, we are still lagging a lot and Trinidad HAD the money to pursue this far more aggressively,. But again, the government say on their ass and wasted valuable time.

If the original strain easy to control in tropical climates, please tell that to (medical powerhouse) Cuba, Barbados, Jamaica, DR, Belize, Northern Brazil and India because that sunlight thing didn't work out for them too.

Our border will be are porous as the Mediterranean Coast of Europe or the US Southern border or worse. Anybody promising they could completely shut down the border and provide some dome effect is selling dreams.

It takes 9yrs to create an anesthesiologist, you main doctors in an ICU/HDU. The physical bed is not the issue, it is the limited staff that had every hard it country scrambling. I don't know what a 1 yr headstart can do to change that.

Money to buy is not the issue with vaccines. The countries that had billions to fund the multiple pharma companies research to produce the vaccines are the ones who are at the front of the line. Vaccination levels in Caricom are dependant on who India gave more, having a smaller population and using unapproved vaccines.

It is easy for everybody to be an armchair public health expert. Shoulda, coulda, woulda went out the window long time. When you were saying open the borders, even with a 14 day quarantine that either the taxpayer would have to subsidise to tune of billions or home quarantine which ppl would not have obeyed, we would have been in this same monkey pants if not earlier. So stick to your projections and leave the real epidemiology work for the epidemiologists.
Last edited by Habit7 on May 18th, 2021, 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 18th, 2021, 6:09 pm

ron_28 wrote:Additional info from today's update

5 / 23 middle ages persons without comorbidities. That's a concerning figure.

Postby De Dragon » May 18th, 2021, 6:21 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Habit7,

I did say we were too harsh, but that was explicitly referring to the borders which do NOT need to be closed. I was adamantly recommending just leaving it open but with a 14-day state quarantine.

Do you want to know what we were doing well? Doing the basics, the original strain was far easier to control.

The original strain is relatively easy to control in tropical climates.

My criticism with this government's management is that an open but controlled border would have never let the P1 strain enter. It was a lapse and pure incompetence that we didn't recognize that the P1 would eventually enter our country via illegal immigrants.

Secondly, we had a year headstart, why didn't we add increasing ICU/HDU I'm shocked how under prepared we are for this outbreak.

Thirdly, motherf*cking vaccines, we are still lagging a lot and Trinidad HAD the money to pursue this far more aggressively,. But again, the government say on their ass and wasted valuable time.

If the original strain easy to control in tropical climates, please tell that to (medical powerhouse) Cuba, Barbados, Jamaica, DR, Belize, Northern Brazil and India because that sunlight thing didn't work out for them too.

Our border will be are porous as the Mediterranean Coast of Europe or the US Southern border or worse. Anybody promising they could completely shut down the border and provide some dome effect is selling dreams.

It takes 9yrs to create an anesthesiologist, you main doctors in an ICU/HDU. The physical bed is not the issue, it is the limited staff that had every hard it country scrambling. I don't know what a 1 yr headstart can do to change that.

Money to buy is not the issue with vaccines. The countries that had billions to fund the multiple pharma companies research to produce the vaccines are the ones who are at the front of the line. Vaccination levels in Caricom are dependant on who India gave more, having a smaller population and using unapproved vaccines.

It is easy for everybody to be an armchair public health expert. Shoulda, coulda, woulda went out the window long time. When you were saying open the borders, even with a 14 day quarantine that either the taxpayer would have to subsidise to tune of billions or home quarantine which ppl would not have obeyed, we would have been in this same monkey pants if not earlier. So stick to your projections and leave the real epidemiology work for the epidemiologists.

Dismissive, yet cannot offer any knowledge except what is being shoved down your LFD RFD PNM gullet. Impressive show of arrogant jackarsery! Money not an issue, yet Impsy JUHN Scarfy Goebbels still using phrases like "we will find the money after 5BILLION gone from the HSF? BILLIONS to quarantine? What a crock! You feel all of T&T hadda quarantine?
You real stupid, and not in a fun way but in a deeply disturbing, concerning way, that leads me to conclude that you're a truly brainwashed moron. Not even Colos defending this sheit, yet here you are :roll:

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2021, 6:38 pm

Why are you quoting voices in your head?

If the over 200K Trinis return and receive 14 day state quarantine which costs $5K...you know what I just stupid, excuse me while I sit in the corner with reason and logic.
Last edited by Habit7 on May 18th, 2021, 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 18th, 2021, 6:40 pm

All yuh fellas I getting real scared....hearing all kinda stories what going on.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 18th, 2021, 6:49 pm

Habit7 wrote:Why are you quoting voices in your head?

If the over 200K Trinis return and receive 14 day state quarantine which costs $5K...you know what I just stupid, excuse me while I sit in the corner with reason and logic.

And why would you think 200k trinis would return? That is just absurd. Wasn't the request list 8000 last time Stuart went public?

Closed borders might not affect you, but it has been such an unnecessary slight to MAJOR inconvenience for many.

I am not going to get into all the reasons persons need to travel other than a vacation but is affecting people's lives. My friend was diagnosed with cancer and needs to do a certain type of PET scan that's unavailable here. She is one of the thousands who needed medical treatment.

One of my other friends left in Jan/Feb for Canada for surgery, hoping she'd get an exemption to return by now. Still no luck, and she is a 1%.

Yet the entire Caribbean has had open borders and only us experiencing such a massive outbreak. How does that logically make any sense.

What was the point of closing borders then?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 18th, 2021, 6:49 pm

we in a pandemic. Just isolate and be careful. You will come out ok. Stop checking people outside of your immediate surroundings. If you can, demand to your employer that you will only do wfh (call your union if u need to make this happen). You should only be leaving home for emergencies and groceries. Keep it up for the next 3/4 months (the spread may die down by then) and u should be ok.
Last edited by elec2020 on May 18th, 2021, 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 18th, 2021, 6:49 pm

Any word on the Sinopharm vaccines that are supposed to be arriving today?

Postby redmanjp » May 18th, 2021, 6:53 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

And why would you think 200k trinis would return? That is just absurd. Wasn't the request list 8000 last time Stuart went public?

Closed borders might not affect you, but it has been such an unnecessary slight to MAJOR inconvenience for many.

I am not going to get into all the reasons persons need to travel other than a vacation but is affecting people's lives. My friend was diagnosed with cancer and needs to do a certain type of PET scan that's unavailable here. She is one of the thousands who needed medical treatment.

One of my other friends left in Jan/Feb for Canada for surgery, hoping she'd get an exemption to return by now. Still no luck, and she is a 1%.

Yet the entire Caribbean has had open borders and only us experiencing such a massive outbreak. How does that logically make any sense.

out problem is we have the front door closed but the back door open. the solution is not to open BOTH. but to close BOTH.

the UK strain is dominant in the US, UK of course. other strains are spreading rapidly- with thousands of trinis coming from those places and others we could have been in this situation months ago. out death toll may have been 2000+ already and the health system collapsed. when that happens don't expect the economy to be good either because ten of thousands of working ppl would be either home sick, with some on ah bed in the hospital, or on the floor because they out of beds, but either one gasping for a breath of life because we doh have enough oxygen to go around.

and i sure it would include several tuners here. who not in hospital would at least be sick at home or be a contact of a +ve case
Last edited by redmanjp on May 18th, 2021, 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 18th, 2021, 6:53 pm

elec2020 wrote:we in a pandemic. Just isolate and be careful. You will come out ok. Stop checking people outside of your immediate surroundings. If you can, demand to your employer that you will only do wfh (call your union if u need to make this happen). You should only be leaving home for emergencies and groceries. Keep it up for the next 3/4 months (the spread may die down by then) and u should be ok.

Thanks dude. You keep safe too.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 18th, 2021, 6:55 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

out problem is we have the front door closed but the back door open. the solution is not to open BOTH. but to close BOTH.

One door you have the ability to control and inspect properly.

Half the Caribbean have totally open borders, no quarantine when you reach. The other half have 3-8 days quarantine. All I suggesting was 14 days state quarantine.

Keep it open, but make it very very secure.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 18th, 2021, 6:55 pm

DMan7 wrote:Any word on the Sinopharm vaccines that are supposed to be arriving today?

That starting Saturday I believe.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 18th, 2021, 7:01 pm

Has the 100K sinopharm reached in TT yet, I saw pics of it being prepared from China to be sent here a few days ago.

Postby redmanjp » May 18th, 2021, 7:04 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

One door you have the ability to control and inspect properly.

Half the Caribbean have totally open borders, no quarantine when you reach. The other half have 3-8 days quarantine. All I suggesting was 14 days state quarantine.

Keep it open, but make it very very secure.

we can perhaps utilize more hotels, that's for sure. but there still needs to be a limit, hence the exemption system.

what can possibly happen now is they allow fully vaccinated nationals to home quarantine.

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2021, 7:06 pm

right now it more unsafe to come back here

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2021, 7:17 pm

Don’t Assume A 14-Day Quarantine Is Enough To Prevent Covid-19 Spread

William A. Haseltine
Contributor
Health

One of the general assumptions we’ve formed about Covid-19 is that when someone is infected, they’re no longer contagious after two weeks—hence the recommended 14-day quarantine. But this isn’t necessarily the case.

Following the first appearance of symptoms, the vast majority of people are unlikely to be infectious for more than two weeks. For people who develop severe symptoms, that period extends to 21 days. Now, the Chinese government has determined that as many as five percent of Covid-19 cases have an incubation period longer than two weeks, and is taking action accordingly.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/williamhas ... is-enough/
Also let me disabuse this notion of a 14 day quarantine is a magical solution. While it is the best recommendation, the virus can incubate well beyond that and one can become infectious.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 18th, 2021, 7:26 pm

Cnc3 just confirmed what I stated two weeks ago about Grande. S/Grande is now the center of attention regarding highest number of cases per county. People have died at the hospital due to covid and people are dying outside of the parallel system!

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 18th, 2021, 7:27 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Don’t Assume A 14-Day Quarantine Is Enough To Prevent Covid-19 Spread

William A. Haseltine
Contributor
Health

One of the general assumptions we’ve formed about Covid-19 is that when someone is infected, they’re no longer contagious after two weeks—hence the recommended 14-day quarantine. But this isn’t necessarily the case.

Following the first appearance of symptoms, the vast majority of people are unlikely to be infectious for more than two weeks. For people who develop severe symptoms, that period extends to 21 days. Now, the Chinese government has determined that as many as five percent of Covid-19 cases have an incubation period longer than two weeks, and is taking action accordingly.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/williamhas ... is-enough/
Also let me disabuse this notion of a 14 day quarantine is a magical solution. While it is the best recommendation, the virus can incubate well beyond that and one can become infectious.

Habit7,

Nothing is foolproof. Use basic probability to assess risk.

But seriously, locking borders when u have the virus rampant makes no sense, think about it. Aus and NZ had a covid zero policy.

Da firetruck was our goal?

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2021, 7:31 pm

So locking borders makes no sense but you vex P1 variant here? I done yes.

Postby redmanjp » May 18th, 2021, 7:31 pm

so importing more cases PLUS VARIANTS makes sense when the hospitals out of beds?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 18th, 2021, 7:43 pm

placing alot of hope on sinopharm when Seychelles (which has a high level of vaccination with that vaccine) is getting increasing cases.

Postby K74T » May 18th, 2021, 7:50 pm

FB_IMG_1621381379585.jpeg

Postby The_Honourable » May 18th, 2021, 7:55 pm

Diverting a bit.

We can't depend on the healthcare system at the moment so we're pretty much on our own... more than likely home quarantine and face the brunt of this virus by ourselves.

What should we stock up on? I'm seeing recommendations such as hot teas, vitamin C, Decongestants, Paracetemol, etc.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 18th, 2021, 8:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Diverting a bit.

We can't depend on the healthcare system at the moment so we're pretty much on our own... more than likely home quarantine and face the brunt of this virus by ourselves.

What should we stock up on? I'm seeing recommendations such as hot teas, vitamin C, Decongestants, Paracetemol, etc.
Oxygen bro. That's all you need.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 18th, 2021, 9:23 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Diverting a bit.

After speaking to a few who recovered on their own, they believed in:

Ginger tea
Zebapique
Fever grass tea
Honey/lime

Postby sMASH » May 18th, 2021, 9:56 pm

nebulizers. pain killers, vitamins. standard virus fighting stuff.