COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby MaxPower » January 13th, 2023, 12:02 pm

2+ years into Covid and we still struggle with how to prevent/minimize the transmission of viruses.

What have we really learnt?

Postby gastly369 » January 13th, 2023, 12:13 pm

MaxPower wrote:2+ years into Covid and we still struggle with how to prevent/minimize the transmission of viruses.

We learnt 2nr has some bio engineers, patrick soon has competition and some prognosticators in between

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2023, 12:14 pm

boy i clean forget about those masks with the exhale valves

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2023, 12:15 pm

let the 2023 beatup begin

Val

Postby Val » January 13th, 2023, 12:19 pm

just stay at home.

Postby j.o.e » January 13th, 2023, 3:07 pm

Allyuh still talking about masks ? Oh faaark man. No laws right now. Do whatever you want to do. Mask, don’t mask, stay home, fete…. just stop being insufferable whiners please.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 13th, 2023, 4:14 pm

MaxPower wrote:2+ years into Covid and we still struggle with how to prevent/minimize the transmission of viruses.

You can't prevent/minimize transmission of viruses numb nuts ....

UNLESS we all live in sterile bubbles

Humans have evolved for millions of year to interact with one another in close contact and just cause yuh get brace by some gyul you don't want anyone to have close interaction/contact with anyone else?
Time to move on Bro

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 13th, 2023, 7:17 pm

All this talk and your COVID national heroes don't even care if you live or die, carnival is the order of the day.

Postby redmanjp » January 13th, 2023, 8:48 pm

predictions for next Tuesday numbers?

Hinds did say the trend is something like 50s, then low hundreds (which is where we are this week), then high hundreds - in other words exponential increase.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 13th, 2023, 9:13 pm

After seeing Iwer George perform in West Mall at the the vaccination drive, I have decided to get vaccinated.

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2023, 9:19 pm

so we back to watching numbers and graphs?

redmanjp wrote:predictions for next Tuesday numbers?

Hinds did say the trend is something like 50s, then low hundreds (which is where we are this week), then high hundreds - in other words exponential increase.

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2023, 10:04 pm

Carnival is on, so it have string in bottom as well.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 14th, 2023, 9:43 am

pugboy wrote:so we back to watching numbers and graphs?

redmanjp wrote:predictions for next Tuesday numbers?

Its all Hype and sheit ... Go look at the actual world and T&T data .... There is no HUGE surge in cases and deaths.

Postby sMASH » January 15th, 2023, 5:56 am

What ever happen, I don't want them to come AFTER the carnival superspreader to lock down and mask mandate.

If they cancel carnival, then I might accept it as they trying.

But they super spreading and want to infringe my freedoms??? Nah.

matix

Postby matix » January 15th, 2023, 6:10 am

sMASH wrote:What ever happen, I don't want them to come AFTER the carnival superspreader to lock down and mask mandate.

If they cancel carnival, then I might accept it as they trying.

But they super spreading and want to infringe my freedoms??? Nah.

This is what will happen, as a population we have a 5 minute memory. Bring lockdown, country was cleaner, no traffic on the roads.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 15th, 2023, 7:42 am

Carnival and fetes are not going to be a super spreader events guys, no masks indoors in schools and offices will result in a far far greater number of cases.

But yes let's blame carnival.

Also vaccines won't stop cases but it'll ensure when you do get it, it'll be like a mild cold, so definitely get boosted if you haven't got covid or the vaccine in the last year.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 15th, 2023, 8:58 am

[quote="Dohplaydat"]Carnival and fetes are not going to be a super spreader events guys, no masks indoors in schools and offices will result in a far far greater number of cases.

But yes let's blame carnival.

Also vaccines won't stop cases but it'll ensure when you do get it, it'll be like a mild cold, so definitely get boosted if you haven't got covid or the vaccine in the last year.[/quote]

But remember when you coulda get lock up for going on the beach and when they open it back it had police with big guns patrolling to make sure people was wearing mask and six feet apart.

Postby redmanjp » January 15th, 2023, 12:29 pm

With 94% immunity their would be no need for lockdown but I can see the mask mandate coming back perhaps even before Carnival. XBB 1.5 will be the dominant strain by early February.

I would like to know what the seroprevalence is among seniors though. Might be much lower depending on the vaccination rate among the same group. If you have grandparents encourage them to get vaccinated or boosted. How does that affect you? It's what happens in hospitals that will influence public health regulations and their age group are the ones ending up there.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 15th, 2023, 5:29 pm

A man say if you high risk or if you have high risk people at home, this carnival is not the carnival for you

wing

Postby wing » January 15th, 2023, 5:32 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:A man say if you high risk or if you have high risk people at home, this carnival is not the carnival for you
What's your point..it was the promoters association president who said that.

Postby MaxPower » January 15th, 2023, 7:38 pm

Team,

Note carefully that your PM distinctly said that new Covid measures are not needed “now”.

Your PM still urged citizens to be cautious for the Carnival period.

We know what to expect from the citizens, so if the virus turns out to be deadly, then crapo smoke allyuh pipe.

It should be ok though.

Postby hover11 » January 15th, 2023, 8:07 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
wing wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:A man say if you high risk or if you have high risk people at home, this carnival is not the carnival for you

You are satisfied that he is saying that attending carnival events can result in people's death? You ok with that? Who ded ded?
We done spend 147 million to paraphrase what the PM said in the press conference "Who dead dead"

wing

Postby wing » January 15th, 2023, 8:52 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
wing wrote:

You are satisfied that he is saying that attending carnival events can result in people's death? You ok with that? Who ded ded?
Obviously you are comfortable taking public health advice from a fete promoter, you really need to stop imitating your political leader and stay out the rum shop, in that way your IQ won't fall even more than it has.

Postby redmanjp » January 15th, 2023, 8:58 pm

So Dr. Richards confirmed that roughly 50% of hospitalized cases are incidental i.e. came in for non-covid reasons but tested +ve. as opposed to primary cases where they came in for covid symptoms. are there also incidental deaths?

Postby adnj » January 15th, 2023, 9:33 pm

The original purpose of tracking COVID+ hospitalizations was to follow the number of COVID isolation beds available.

Unless the percentage of incidental admissions varies wildly, the total number of COVID+ admissions is still a valuable metric that can be used as a leading indicator of COVID causal factor deaths.

The flip side to having half of COVID+ hospitalizations being from incidental causes is that the calculated survivability of COVID causal factor hospitalization has proportionally decreased, also.
Last edited by adnj on January 15th, 2023, 9:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 15th, 2023, 9:49 pm

wing wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
wing wrote:

Obviously you are comfortable taking public health advice from a fete promoter, you really need to stop imitating your political leader and stay out the rum shop, in that way your IQ won't fall even more than it has.

That fete promoter was in a ministry of health video saying that he took the vaccine to protect his sister. So the ministry of health deems him credible to speak on health matters

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2023, 9:58 pm

interesting stat, kinda implies lot of ppl could be walking around fine and but positive asymptomatic

redmanjp wrote:So Dr. Richards confirmed that roughly 50% of hospitalized cases are incidental i.e. came in for non-covid reasons but tested +ve. as opposed to primary cases where they came in for covid symptoms. are there also incidental deaths?

wing

Postby wing » January 16th, 2023, 1:01 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
wing wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
wing wrote:

That fete promoter was in a ministry of health video saying that he took the vaccine to protect his sister. So the ministry of health deems him credible to speak on health matters
So you as an adult, assuming at least secondary education and assuming some modicum of common sense, going to take pandemic advice from a fete promoter? Well you might as well take family planning advice from padarath. You are obviously cherry picking quotes from here and there to support your hate of the government. Your posts lack substance just like the pro PNM posters.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 16th, 2023, 4:39 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
wing wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
wing wrote:

ent the dutty christmas soca man was on tv singing he take the vaccine and then get covid and dead. he was proof the vaccine doesnt work and is sheit.

Postby adnj » January 16th, 2023, 6:29 am

daring dragoon wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
wing wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
wing wrote:

ent the dutty christmas soca man was on tv singing he take the vaccine and then get covid and dead. he was proof the vaccine doesnt work and is sheit.

If true, it is NOT proof. It is only anecdotal evidence.