COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 73759 (+984) cases, 2215 (+17) deaths, 11707 active, 59837 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2021, 6:33 pm

i think the period is 21 days now
up from the 14 which was the standard

this longer span they assume keeps all within any possible incubation breakout

redmanjp wrote:so what happens if a second family member test positive a week later than the first? then wouldn't the other family members now have a 2nd set of exposure and have to be kept in quarantine for longer?

Redress10

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 73759 (+984) cases, 2215 (+17) deaths, 11707 active, 59837 recovered in T&T

Postby Redress10 » December 7th, 2021, 6:34 pm

hover11 wrote:HmmFB_IMG_1638913071705.jpg

This is bs. The infector and infected are not infected at the same time so they have a different timeline. Testing is the only way to know for sure. A person could get infected 3-5 days after being around a person infected especially in a household. Infection is also not automatic as virus transmission usually requires very specific bodily and environmental conditions in order to be successful.

This is bad advice.

Postby adnj » December 7th, 2021, 6:53 pm

These Researchers Predicted Some Of The Omicron Mutations. Here's What They Found

... When the team were writing the study, such a level of complexity in virus mutations was only hypothetical. But with Omicron, that has changed – the variant has more than twice the highest number analyzed in the study.

“Our findings suggest that great caution is advised with Omicron,” Abraham warned. “These mutations have proven quite capable of evading monoclonal antibodies used to treat newly infected patients and antibodies derived from mRNA vaccines.”

While the findings may seem alarming, it's not all bad news: even the most highly mutated viruses in the study weren’t able to completely beat the defenses in double vaccinated blood serum. That’s why, the team say, that widespread repeated immunization – even with vaccines that were developed against the original virus – could be key to countering COVID-19 mutations.

As Abraham pointed out, the longer the virus is able to replicate in humans, the more likely it is that it will evolve escape mutations, allowing it to spread even in the face of natural immunity, vaccines, and other treatments – so the sooner we all get vaccinated and help to reduce virus transmission, the easier the pandemic will be to cope with.

https://www.iflscience.com/health-and-m ... hey-found/

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 7th, 2021, 6:57 pm

Widdy fork boy.
Every week so..
Give me a break..

Postby hover11 » December 7th, 2021, 7:02 pm

Basically
FB_IMG_1638912209355.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 7th, 2021, 7:05 pm

^ people take flu shots multiple times
That meme is ignorant

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » December 7th, 2021, 7:13 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ people take flu shots multiple times
That meme is ignorant
Not just that, many other vaccines have boosters.

Postby redmanjp » December 7th, 2021, 7:15 pm

so tobago have their own covid regulations? how it is watson duke saying he going to open beaches there?

Postby hover11 » December 7th, 2021, 7:24 pm

That meme is ignorant
I never had a flu shot

Postby adnj » December 7th, 2021, 7:28 pm

hover11 wrote:Basically
FB_IMG_1638912209355.jpg
It's posted right up there where you should have seen it.

"the longer the virus is able to replicate in humans, the more likely it is that it will evolve escape mutations, allowing it to spread even in the face of natural immunity, vaccines, and other treatments – so the sooner we all get vaccinated and help to reduce virus transmission, the easier the pandemic will be to cope with."

Postby alfa » December 7th, 2021, 8:04 pm

hover11 wrote:
That meme is ignorant
I never had a flu shot

Strangely enough I never knew about the flu shot. Always thought was a paid thing to get at private doctors

Postby Gem_in_i » December 7th, 2021, 8:25 pm

Flu shot available at Health Centres. They practically beg people to come take it.

Postby hover11 » December 7th, 2021, 8:28 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Flu shot available at Health Centres. They practically beg people to come take it.
For ppl with strong immune systems i will pass for the ppl who catch everything that passes they should get one

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2021, 8:30 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Basically FB_IMG_1638912209355.jpg

"the longer the virus is able to replicate in humans, the more likely it is that it will evolve escape mutations, allowing it to spread even in the face of natural immunity, vaccines, and other treatments – so the sooner we all get vaccinated and help to reduce virus transmission, the easier the pandemic will be to cope with."

SARS-CoV-2 can infect basically any mammal. Tiger, Dogs, Cats, Hippos, nearly any zoo mammal has had documented SARS-CoV2 infections.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/ ... oo-belgium

Animal reservoirs make a good breeding ground for variants. Minks particularly were culled in Denmark earlier this year to prevent the spread of COVID and variants.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/roberthart ... tain-covid

Denmark is also one of the early seeding grounds for Omicron. Maybe it is related, maybe not. But the point is, even if we vaccinate every single human, eradicate COVID from the human race, there are still massive animal reservoirs that can and will produce exotic mutations that will circle back to humans.

covid will be here forever

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2021, 8:35 pm

alfa wrote:
hover11 wrote:
That meme is ignorant
I never had a flu shot

Strangely enough I never knew about the flu shot. Always thought was a paid thing to get at private doctors

I paid like $200 for one last year. I've gotten flu shots every year or every other year since the Swine flu pandemic.

skipping this year because (in theory) it will keep my immune system busy for a few days while it builds (flu) protection, potentially leaving me slightly more vulnerable to COVID during those few days. but in different circumstances I would take it.

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2021, 8:44 pm

redmanjp wrote:notice it says 'in the absence of comorbidity'. so it may clear the virus faster in healthy ppl, but may not help u if u overweight, have diabetes, hypertension, etc. which is perhaps why the Health Minister said ppl took it and still ended up in hospital and ICU.

and the study is only in ppl already hospitalized so taking it to prevent yourself from reaching that stage may not be helpful.

I think Keith put it best when he say it like WD40.

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2021, 8:51 pm

reading the omicron news is depressing. Omicron went from 14 cases to 400+ cases in 3 days in Denmark. Christmas office parties (full-vaccinated only) are major superspreader events with multiple documented cases of 100+ people getting infected after a single event with a single index patient. This Christmas is the ideal vehicle for omicron to get everywhere very quickly.

First case in Florida was identified today. So we might have an omicron case coming in any day now. So the current massive Delta wave might be joining up a new omicron wave and working together to collapse all the hospitals for Christmas.

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2021, 8:56 pm

doh believe this crap about omicron being "mild".

Most cases of COVID, even in unvaccinated people, are "mild".

PEA brother shouting how Delta "mild" is for months now. Bullchit to fool people desperate for hope/cope.

Postby adnj » December 7th, 2021, 9:20 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
adnj wrote:

SARS-CoV-2 can infect basically any mammal. Tiger, Dogs, Cats, Hippos, nearly any zoo mammal has had documented SARS-CoV2 infections.

Animal reservoirs make a good breeding ground for variants. Minks particularly were culled in Denmark earlier this year to prevent the spread of COVID and variants.

Denmark is also one of the early seeding grounds for Omicron. Maybe it is related, maybe not. But the point is, even if we vaccinate every single human, eradicate COVID from the human race, there are still massive animal reservoirs that can and will produce exotic mutations that will circle back to humans.

No. Humans are infecting those particular animals with SARS-CoV-2. Those animals can be sequestered and culled (YOU even mention it) just as is done for trichinosis, rabies, Psittacosis, etc.

It is not difficult to control human contact with wild animals to mitigate risk in many instances with even domestic animals such as lyme disease, salmonella or rabies.

That is not the subject. The subject is the human host that you CANNOT sequester that is a definite risk.

Bats are host to three virus families of concern to humans. Bats are the indicated or likely source of three coronavirus outbreaks: SARS, MERS and COVID. Bats are host to more than 4000 DIFFERENT KNIWN STRAINS of coronavirus.

SARS-CoV-2 has very likely been around since before Columbus but there was no documented, wide-spread "Tiger, Dogs, Cats, Hippos, nearly any zoo mammal" infections. There are now.

SARS-CoV-2 has been here, and correctly, will be here. What wasn't here before is 7 billion carriers, some on international flights, providing unprecedented spread and mutation host for a viral family that has been around since the extinction of the dinosaurs.

If you want to read a little more so that what you post actually makes some sense, start here:

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41579-021-00652-2

Postby hover11 » December 7th, 2021, 11:16 pm

Omicron coronavirus variant partly evades Pfizer vaccine's protection, study shows

It's the first experiment to directly look at how the Omicron virus might behave in vaccinated people.

https://lm.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3 ... G9bZZkS4LQ

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 7th, 2021, 11:43 pm

paid_influencer wrote:reading the omicron news is depressing. Omicron went from 14 cases to 400+ cases in 3 days in Denmark. Christmas office parties (full-vaccinated only) are major superspreader events with multiple documented cases of 100+ people getting infected after a single event with a single index patient. This Christmas is the ideal vehicle for omicron to get everywhere very quickly.

First case in Florida was identified today. So we might have an omicron case coming in any day now. So the current massive Delta wave might be joining up a new omicron wave and working together to collapse all the hospitals for Christmas.

You fail to realize that by the time a new variant is detected it's already well distributed around the world.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-heal ... SKBN23X2HQ

MADRID (Reuters) - Spanish virologists have found traces of the novel coronavirus in a sample of Barcelona waste water collected in March 2019, nine months before the COVID-19 disease was identified in China, the University of Barcelona said on Friday.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » December 7th, 2021, 11:44 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
adnj wrote:

You Sir are making too much sense!

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 7th, 2021, 11:48 pm

Hover, where you get that last release, I not finding it on the ministry website or Facebook

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » December 8th, 2021, 1:35 am

1 and 2 dozen people dying every day now.

Honest,, this graph would have terrified me last year
And I'm not sure why people acting so normal with these figures this year

this is crazy.

source: https://www.worldometers.info/coronavir ... aths-daily

Postby hover11 » December 8th, 2021, 7:01 am

FrankChag wrote:1 and 2 dozen people dying every day now.

this is crazy.

Who dead dead is the name of the game get with the programme no one cares anymore once is not their family members or friends, these are just numbers

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 8th, 2021, 7:13 am

hover11 wrote:

this is crazy.

Who dead dead is the name of the game get with the programme no one cares anymore once is not their family members or friends, these are just numbers
Got that right Mr. Hover.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 8th, 2021, 9:40 am

this is crazy.

And allyuh remember when it was a big thing and people get vex because kamla announce the first death :lol: :lol: :lol:. Watch we now

Postby timelapse » December 8th, 2021, 9:44 am

So it really is Kyamala fault

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 8th, 2021, 12:03 pm

Today's numbers will be off the charts.
Predictions?