COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 54114 cases, 1600 deaths, 4373 active, 48141 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » October 21st, 2021, 7:53 am

They have a flu shot and covid shot all in one in development to save time

eitech

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 54114 cases, 1600 deaths, 4373 active, 48141 recovered in T&T

Postby eitech » October 21st, 2021, 8:15 am

Someone once told me the best vaccine for you is the one in front of you…

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 21st, 2021, 9:00 am

eitech wrote:Someone once told me the best vaccine for you is the one in front of you…
That someone is fighting an impeachment motion on behalf of the president.
Choose your someone's wisely.

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2021, 4:09 pm

Take it if u want, but u can still spread the virus to the susceptible even with.. So...

https://youtu.be/gD9YmiGVEkA

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 21st, 2021, 4:45 pm

Postby adnj » October 21st, 2021, 4:50 pm

sMASH wrote:Take it if u want, but u can still spread the virus to the susceptible even with.. So...

But who spreads more? Vaccinated or unvaccinated?

But who spreads longer? Vaccinated or unvaccinated?

But who is more likely to be infected? Vaccinated or unvaccinated?

Vaccinated People May Be Even Less Likely to Transmit COVID-19 Than Previously Thought

... Scientists have also long known two things that play a role here: That the more immunity you have, the less the spread, and as immunity wanes, you do begin to spread more virus again.

In simple terms, the COVID-19 vaccine, Kedl said, works by coating the coronavirus with an antibody.

Kedl said that this information could be useful in establishing safety protocols.

“Is it meaningful enough to not, say, mask up if half the time you cannot spread it?” he asked. “I’d say no.”

But, he said, if your chances of spread are diminished to 10 percent, “which is my guess,” then perhaps strict precautions aren’t warranted.

Kedl said the fast wane in immunity we are seeing (and call for boosters) comes from the quickness in which the first two doses were given, something he said was necessary at the time because of the urgency to slow down hospitalizations and deaths.

Vaccines that are more spaced out last longer, he said. That’s why he expects everyone to end up needing boosters followed by a “flattening out” pattern,

“Once we have that, we should have increased freedom again,” he said.

“The data is already there,” he added, “for both the delta and original [variants]. It’s not a question of if it is true. It’s a question of what are we going to do with this?”

“The data accumulating shows that you can spread [the coronavirus after being vaccinated], no doubt,” Dr. William Schaffner, an infectious disease specialist at Vanderbilt University in Tennessee, told Healthline, “but less so and for a shorter time.”

Schaffner said that while we need to proceed with caution, the research gives him great hope.

“This really will result in less circulation of the virus among us,” he said, “pushing the virus down so it smolders rather than rages like a fire.”

https://www.healthline.com/health-news/ ... ly-thought

Postby hover11 » October 21st, 2021, 5:02 pm

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:Take it if u want, but u can still spread the virus to the susceptible even with.. So...

Vaccinated People May Be Even Less Likely to Transmit COVID-19 Than Previously Thought

... Scientists have also long known two things that play a role here: That the more immunity you have, the less the spread, and as immunity wanes, you do begin to spread more virus again.

In simple terms, the COVID-19 vaccine, Kedl said, works by coating the coronavirus with an antibody.

Kedl said that this information could be useful in establishing safety protocols.

“Is it meaningful enough to not, say, mask up if half the time you cannot spread it?” he asked. “I’d say no.”

But, he said, if your chances of spread are diminished to 10 percent, “which is my guess,” then perhaps strict precautions aren’t warranted.

Kedl said the fast wane in immunity we are seeing (and call for boosters) comes from the quickness in which the first two doses were given, something he said was necessary at the time because of the urgency to slow down hospitalizations and deaths.

Vaccines that are more spaced out last longer, he said. That’s why he expects everyone to end up needing boosters followed by a “flattening out” pattern,

“The data is already there,” he added, “for both the delta and original [variants]. It’s not a question of if it is true. It’s a question of what are we going to do with this?”

“The data accumulating shows that you can spread [the coronavirus after being vaccinated], no doubt,” Dr. William Schaffner, an infectious disease specialist at Vanderbilt University in Tennessee, told Healthline, “but less so and for a shorter time.”

Schaffner said that while we need to proceed with caution, the research gives him great hope.

“This really will result in less circulation of the virus among us,” he said, “pushing the virus down so it smolders rather than rages like a fire.”

All this is just theory let the practical study show otherwise

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 21st, 2021, 5:19 pm

DMan7 wrote:Image
Numbers high.
Just now is 300 range again.
More deaths to follow.

Postby MaxPower » October 21st, 2021, 5:26 pm

Who spreads more?

Someone following the protocols or not?

How long before we go back to the basics?

Postby adnj » October 21st, 2021, 5:27 pm

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:

All this is just theory let the practical study show otherwise

The study is to find out how much shorter a time is a vaccinated person contagious vs. unvaccinated; and how much less likely a vaccinated person is to infect others vs. an unvaccinated person. The objective is to better define what mitigation efforts are required for vaccinated people and which is not.

Vaccinated people are:
LESS LIKELY TO BECOME INFECTED
LESS LIKELY TO INFECT ANOTHER PERSON
CONTAGIOUS FOR A SHORTER PERIOD IF INFECTED

From the quoted article:

"The data accumulating shows that you can spread [the coronavirus after being vaccinated], no doubt,” Dr. William Schaffner, an infectious disease specialist at Vanderbilt University in Tennessee, told Healthline, “but less so and for a shorter time.”

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2021, 5:30 pm

And ur 'covee' death numbers

Less is not less enough to justify forcing vaccines.

People die every year for the flu, lets prevent those deaths too.

Flu Vaccinate to operate
FB_IMG_1634851611417.jpg

Postby adnj » October 21st, 2021, 8:16 pm

sMASH wrote:And ur 'covee' death numbers

Flu Vaccinate to operate
FB_IMG_1634851611417.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » October 21st, 2021, 11:44 pm

This seems new! The actual comorbidities listed
FB_IMG_1634874202435.jpg

Postby sMASH » October 21st, 2021, 11:58 pm

adnj wrote:

Flu Vaccinate to operate
FB_IMG_1634851611417.jpg
Yet I can't just go to a cinema like normal.

Postby timelapse » October 22nd, 2021, 6:59 am

sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:

Flu Vaccinate to operate
FB_IMG_1634851611417.jpg
Your body your choice.Their cinema their choice.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 54881 cases, 1629 deaths, 4360 active, 48892 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » October 22nd, 2021, 7:19 am

I used to go befire normal. Yet I cannot go now.. Unless I undertake an unnecessary medical procedure

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 54881 cases, 1629 deaths, 4360 active, 48892 recovered in T&T

Postby timelapse » October 22nd, 2021, 7:25 am

sMASH wrote:I used to go befire normal. Yet I cannot go now.. Unless I undertake an unnecessary medical procedure
You also used to take vaccines before.See the difference?

Postby hover11 » October 22nd, 2021, 7:29 am

timelapse wrote:
sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:

Flu Vaccinate to operate
FB_IMG_1634851611417.jpg
Your body your choice.Their cinema their choice.
Cinemas safe zones but children in schools co mingle with vaxxed and unvaxxed and public servants Co mingle with unvaxxed and vaxxed....make it make sense lol....so after a long week of being exposed I going to a safe zone now to spread it

Postby adnj » October 22nd, 2021, 7:50 am

hover11 wrote:Cinemas safe zones but children in schools co mingle with vaxxed and unvaxxed and public servants Co mingle with unvaxxed and vaxxed....make it make sense lol....so after a long week of being exposed I going to a safe zone now to spread it

Postby sMASH » October 22nd, 2021, 7:57 am

timelapse wrote:
sMASH wrote:I used to go befire normal. Yet I cannot go now.. Unless I undertake an unnecessary medical procedure
You also used to take vaccines before.See the difference?
Conditions,

Postby K74T » October 22nd, 2021, 4:48 pm

322/4

16 new Delta cases reported as well

FB_IMG_1634935650880.jpg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 22nd, 2021, 4:51 pm

K74T wrote:322/4

16 new Delta cases reported as well

FB_IMG_1634935650880.jpg
I said it yesterday. Only a matter of time before we end up in the 300 range.
Today I'm saying only a matter of time before we end up in the 400 range.
More cases = More Deaths
Brace for it.

Postby pugboy » October 22nd, 2021, 5:43 pm

ppl get relaxed as safe zones etc open up
plenty drinkers by grocery cops not doing anything

Postby pugboy » October 22nd, 2021, 5:43 pm

are they doing random checks for delta?

Postby redmanjp » October 22nd, 2021, 6:03 pm

pugboy wrote:are they doing random checks for delta?

have been doing that a while now

Postby hover11 » October 22nd, 2021, 7:35 pm

Trust the science
FB_IMG_1634945689152.jpg

Postby st7 » October 22nd, 2021, 7:56 pm

then doh take the vaccine *shrugs

Postby hover11 » October 22nd, 2021, 7:57 pm

st7 wrote:then doh take the vaccine *shrugs
Yea just continue spinning top in mud

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 22nd, 2021, 8:10 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:then doh take the vaccine *shrugs
Yea just continue spinning top in mud

Oh please tell us the better options then?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 22nd, 2021, 8:14 pm

hover11 wrote:Trust the science FB_IMG_1634945689152.jpg

Hey now, let the UK be a test bed to see what the future holds. It'd be very interesting to see what happens this winter.