Express article: The education of children of African origin

Wraith King

Re: Express article: The education of children of African origin

Postby Wraith King » June 6th, 2021, 2:08 pm

Habit7 wrote:This is the typical inconsistancy with you all.

If in one voice PNM is wicked and like to suffer the ppl and they don't care about poor ppl.
But in another voice they like to give handouts create depancy hence CEPEP is bad.

So in 2010 you vote PP and this happens.

Ministers change views on 'dead-end' jobs
New jockey on the tiger's back
Published on Nov 18, 2011, 10:56 pm AST

Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley and former prime minister Patrick Manning have both knocked Government's "Colour me Orange" programme, saying that when the United National Congress (UNC) was in Opposition they openly criticised these very types of programmes and today they are following the very same path which they condemned.

The following are some of the comments made in the past by now Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal and Attorney General Anand Ramlogan on Community-Based Environmental Protection and Enhancement Programme

(CEPEP) and Unemployment Relief Programme (URP) programmes.

Then Opposition MP Kamla Persad-Bissessar on May 6, 2010, at a political meeting in Couva where she slammed the former Government on crime, said:

"Manning allowed a handful of criminals to blossom and grow. The PNM nurtured these infant gangs with lucrative URP and CEPEP contracts. He called them 'community leaders' and wined them and dined them.

"He exploited their vulnerable dependency syndrome, because he wanted to ride the back of the tiger into political office. Now, he can neither dismount, nor wound this creature that he has created, for fear that this very tiger will discriminately devour even the hands of those that once fed it."

Kamla Persad-Bissessar, in her 2006/2007 budget reply, also criticised the People's National Movement (PNM) for low-level income programmes:

"The UNC government of 1995-2001 created over 85,000 well-paid, permanent jobs. By our policies we inspired job creation in the private sector. We moved the unemployment figure from almost 19 per cent in 1995 to 10 per cent by 2001. We did not use URP, CEPEP and MUST to further disempower and humiliate the jobless into a dependency syndrome.

"Mr Speaker, it is on this matter that the opposition wishes to express the highest level of condemnation of the Manning administration. The PNM has introduced a backward and archaic labour strategy of shoving the low-skilled into a dependency syndrome and therefore presiding over the inter-generational transfer of poverty and dependency.

"They should take a bow! Very few governments have destroyed their own supporters in this way."

Government Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal had issued a press release in March 2006, knocking the then PNM government for boosting employment in the CEPEP and URP programmes:

"The PNM government has taken the dependency syndrome to new heights by creating a form of white-collar DEWD or ten-days syndrome. Today, unlike in the past, even those with secondary or tertiary education are on temporary jobs, which when concluded leaves them to beg for more short-term jobs," he said.

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, in his column in the Guardian in August 2007 entitled "A loveless thing" criticised the former PNM government on CEPEP programmes.

"Which parent dreamed of having his or her child become a CEPEP worker? Is this what the original grandfathers in PNM heartland areas expected after almost half-a-decade of PNM rule?

"Surely, the dream was that their grandchildren will be the ones driving past in air-conditioned cars on their way to work, waving to the less fortunate in our society who are forced to resort to cutting grass by the roadside to make a living!

"There is no future in CEPEP. It is a dead-end road. It is not a serious career option. It does not add value to the economy. To perpetuate this dependency syndrome is a crime against humanity and makes the PNM 'a loveless thing'."

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 8b35c.html

...CEPEP workforce doubled to 11,000
Jul 8, 2011

Cabinet took a decision to almost double the Community-based Environmental Protection and Enhancement Programme (CEPEP) workforce to satisfy the need for labour in various areas that were unrepresented, Government Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal said yesterday.

Following a tour of the Government Campus Plaza and Tower D at the Waterfront, Port of Spain, Moonilal confirmed that the number of CEPEP workers increased from 6,000 to 11,000 since the People's Partnership government came into power.

"Between May 2010 to May 2011 the employment level in the CEPEP increased from approximately 6,000 to 11,000. There was an increase pursuant to a Cabinet decision, an increase in the number of contractors to satisfy the need of various geographical areas that were unrepresented," said Moonilal.

He said CEPEP was restructured because there were contractors in the programme for eight years.

He said in this restructuring exercise 150 workers were affected.

However, Moonilal said steps were being taken to ensure no one was jobless.

CEPEP established an employment bureau at its Chaguanas headquarters, where affected people could register in order to be re-employed, he pointed out.

Moonilal added that CEPEP was mobilised and on full alert in the event of any flash flooding or natural disasters caused by the inclement weather expected this weekend.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 0a35e.html

So in 2015 you vote for PP? You are contradicting yourself by your own standards. The very thing you criticising PNM for, finding their superlative in the UNC. So when you have your choice to make you are choosing a party that is more corrupt, more spendthrift, less income building and more contradictory than the PNM. You are the one making this about CEPEP, so out of the two parties handling CEPEP it would be that the PNM gave better management. And had the UNC existed prior to the PNM they would have just put in their version of Colour Me Orange or whatever program.

You need to deal with your hypocrisy. The issue is not me as a person but the facts I lay out. You all can't deal with them so you attack me. It is looking more and more pathetic when you all do so because I know it is hitting you where it hurts so you lash back nasty. I will continue to do so until you all deal with the facts.

In your haste to make a counterpoint you created a fake scenario. Who claimed CEPEP was a great programme under the UNC? I didn't see anyone did that but you want to deflect by claiming hypocrisy.

Again, the enemy of ambitious Africans is PNM.

CEPEP is what you put forward as showing the PNM cares. What a joke.

Postby Habit7 » June 6th, 2021, 2:17 pm

Wraith King wrote:In your haste to make a counterpoint you created a fake scenario. Who claimed CEPEP was a great programme under the UNC? I didn't see anyone did that but you want to deflect by claiming hypocrisy.

Reading and comprehension

Nobody claimed CEPEP was great or bad under the UNC. It is the hypocrisy of criticising CEPEP in Opposition then ramping it up in govt.

And because your point was deficient with dealing with anything I raised, you throw the irrelevant racial component.

Nobody in the thread is supporting Theodore and his racism. It is only the counter racists using this a soapbox to spew their racism.

#thread

Postby Rovin » June 6th, 2021, 2:23 pm

hear nah allyuh fellers doh ever get tired of posting about politics, race & quarreling whole day\night day after day ... is like some of u doh have nutten better to be doing in real life

:| :| :| :| :|

wing

Postby wing » June 6th, 2021, 2:34 pm

Rovin wrote:hear nah allyuh fellers doh ever get tired of posting about politics, race & quarreling whole day\night day after day ... is like some of u doh have nutten better to be doing in real life

QFT

Postby teems1 » June 6th, 2021, 2:42 pm

When one's livelihood depends on whoever is in power, people who post fanatically like this are simply investing in their future.

Losing contracts and jobs when elections don't come your way would mean a dramatic shift in standard of living.

If these people are doing it without any sort of incentive then they're just dumb as nails.
Rovin wrote:hear nah allyuh fellers doh ever get tired of posting about politics, race & quarreling whole day\night day after day ... is like some of u doh have nutten better to be doing in real life

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 6th, 2021, 3:14 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:In your haste to make a counterpoint you created a fake scenario. Who claimed CEPEP was a great programme under the UNC? I didn't see anyone did that but you want to deflect by claiming hypocrisy.

Nobody claimed CEPEP was great or bad under the UNC. It is the hypocrisy of criticising CEPEP in Opposition then ramping it up in govt.

And because your point was deficient with dealing with anything I raised, you throw the irrelevant racial component.

Nobody in the thread is supporting Theodore and his racism. It is only the counter racists using this a soapbox to spew their racism.

#thread

It's either you can't clearly experss what you're thinking or you've been shown for what you are so you're deflecting. Go re read your post about hypocrisy. How did Theodore come into this? You talked about PNM and caring about poor people. You think saying the enemy of ambitious Africans is PNM is racist?

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 6th, 2021, 3:17 pm

If you don't like doing it, don't but why is it an issue?
Last edited by Wraith King on June 6th, 2021, 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 6th, 2021, 3:19 pm

teems1 wrote:When one's livelihood depends on whoever is in power, people who post fanatically like this are simply investing in their future.

Losing contracts and jobs when elections don't come your way would mean a dramatic shift in standard of living.

If these people are doing it without any sort of incentive then they're just dumb as nails.

So you felt the need to say that for no reason? Using your logic, you will have to be benefitting or you're dumb as nails.

Postby pugboy » June 6th, 2021, 3:28 pm

you referring to the windup toy crew or wha ?
thats insulting

teems1 wrote:When one's livelihood depends on whoever is in power, people who post fanatically like this are simply investing in their future.

Postby timelapse » June 6th, 2021, 4:41 pm

https://youtu.be/HCkx_x9FLJ8
I believe that Theodore riding on the critical race theory bandwagon, except we don't have white people in a large amount for him to justify himself.The link above sums it up

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 6th, 2021, 4:47 pm

timelapse wrote:https://youtu.be/HCkx_x9FLJ8
I believe that Theodore riding on the critical race theory bandwagon, except we don't have white people in a large amount for him to justify himself.The link above sums it up

He probably copy and paste from something relating to America without realising it isn't applicable here.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 6th, 2021, 4:53 pm

I've noticed UWI Humanities department embraces an anti-colonialist, pro-communist, pro-socialist and sides with extreme left-wing viewpoints.

So it's no surprise these persons would be a big fan CRT.

However, that makes no sense in our T&T. Indo-Trinidadians have FAR more claim to systemic racism within the government and denial of opportunities and representation.

We are 40% Indo, yet all our corporate ads, 'cultural showcases' and beneficiaries to government recognition and awards are heavily skewed toward blackness.

You have any idea how many foreigners who look up Trinidad online are surprised how many Indians there are here. One even told me he swears we had a bigger Chinese population based on the persons he sees on Ads.

Postby Habit7 » June 6th, 2021, 5:21 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

I've noticed UWI Humanities department embraces an anti-colonialist, pro-communist, pro-socialist and sides with extreme left-wing viewpoints.

However, that makes no sense in our T&T. Indo-Trinidadians have FAR more claim to systemic racism within the government and denial of opportunities and representation.

We are 40% Indo, yet all our corporate ads, 'cultural showcases' and beneficiaries to government recognition and awards are heavily skewed toward blackness.

You have any idea how many foreigners who look up Trinidad online are surprised how many Indians there are here. One even told me he swears we had a bigger Chinese population based on the persons he sees on Ads.

I think when we start seeing it like this it leads to CRT. TT like the USA has moved to stamp out all systematic racism. It is those who claim to be oppressed like Theodore, that causes for racially based provisions to be put back in.

When one can say that Afros are over represented in ads, another will say that Indos are over represented in the businesses that making the ads.

It could all be based on which ethnicity goes to talent/modelling agencies which calls ppl for ads.

But the racial strife must continue if you claim the victim card.

Postby sMASH » June 6th, 2021, 5:53 pm

Wraith King wrote:

If you don't like doing it, don't but why is it an issue?

if he sponsor some build offs, i will stop posting. until then... we will fite!!!!

Postby timelapse » June 7th, 2021, 6:24 am

Is 2021 buddy.You absolutely must claim the victim card in order to be ' woke'
Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

I think when we start seeing it like this it leads to CRT. TT like the USA has moved to stamp out all systematic racism. It is those who claim to be oppressed like Theodore, that causes for racially based provisions to be put back in.

When one can say that Afros are over represented in ads, another will say that Indos are over represented in the businesses that making the ads.

It could all be based on which ethnicity goes to talent/modelling agencies which calls ppl for ads.

But the racial strife must continue if you claim the victim card.

Postby zoom rader » June 7th, 2021, 8:07 am

It's just another red government attack on race and to stir up chit.

Every now and then the red government needs to inject a race issue to keep its supporters on the edge and from straying.

It's just a gentle push to keep It's supporters in slavery

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 7th, 2021, 10:22 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

People who arent from south are surprised how many indos are in trinidad when they go UWI, is not just foreigners end up shocked

Postby timelapse » June 7th, 2021, 11:16 am

I wish Theodore would do a study on the effect that zesser music has on the human brain and ability to do well in exams.

Postby Redman » June 7th, 2021, 11:24 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

People who arent from south are surprised how many indos are in trinidad when they go UWI, is not just foreigners end up shocked

people who not from south generally shocked that it have anything past Grand Bazaar.

Postby teems1 » June 7th, 2021, 11:47 am

Wraith King wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

#thread

It's either you can't clearly experss what you're thinking or you've been shown for what you are so you're deflecting. Go re read your post about hypocrisy. How did Theodore come into this? You talked about PNM and caring about poor people. You think saying the enemy of ambitious Africans is PNM is racist?

If I blindly support one party and oppose the other for every single decision they make, like ZR, Habit7 etc, then I am just as guilty as them.

However there are instances where most people would disagree with their party or even think the opposition is talking sense. A broken clock is correct twice a day.

There are tuners who will never admit that, and are the ones who act as paid shills.

Postby zoom rader » June 7th, 2021, 12:26 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Yes this true.

Postby zoom rader » June 7th, 2021, 12:28 pm

timelapse wrote:I wish Theodore would do a study on the effect that zesser music has on the human brain and ability to do well in exams.
That study was done on Soca music some time ago .

The conclusion was that Soca produces Angry people

Postby zoom rader » June 7th, 2021, 12:32 pm

teems1 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

#thread

If I blindly support one party and oppose the other for every single decision they make, like ZR, Habit7 etc, then I am just as guilty as them.

However there are instances where most people would disagree with their party or even think the opposition is talking sense. A broken clock is correct twice a day.

There are tuners who will never admit that, and are the ones who act as paid shills.
Hoss I have voted for the following , NAR, UNC , NJAC and COP.

I have never voted for the red government.

So hush ya kant trying to insinuate that I vote on cult

Postby Habit7 » June 7th, 2021, 12:33 pm

teems1 wrote:If I blindly support one party and oppose the other for every single decision they make, like ZR, Habit7 etc, then I am just as guilty as them.

I don't support or oppose one party for every single decision. When I do support or oppose I do so on the basis of fact.

Postby timelapse » June 7th, 2021, 12:37 pm

Soca is angry people.
I believe zesser music creates beh beh kinda idiots that can't logic like regular people.I could be wrong.
timelapse wrote:I wish Theodore would do a study on the effect that zesser music has on the human brain and ability to do well in exams.
That study was done on Soca music some time ago .

The conclusion was that Soca produces Angry people

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 7th, 2021, 1:08 pm

The concept you are thinking about is "white adjacency" and folks who want to import the black-white american talking points to tnt usually just slap on the notion that indo trinidadians are a white surrogate in our society.

The phenomenon is somewhat documented when applied to asian americans in the US, have a gander

https://nypost.com/2019/05/26/doe-may-h ... supremacy/
https://www.aei.org/carpe-diem/asian-be ... privilege/

Rockram

Postby Rockram » June 7th, 2021, 1:23 pm

Has anyone asked themselves what makes a prestige school, prestigious? When you put the top performing students together and make them compete.... together with strong institutional structures usually associated with the denominational schools. Put anyone of those students with a mix of poor/mediocre students and performance will drop.

Postby MaxPower » June 7th, 2021, 1:30 pm

Rockram wrote:Has anyone asked themselves what makes a prestige school, prestigious? When you put the top performing students together and make them compete.... together with strong institutional structures usually associated with the denominational schools. Put anyone of those students with a mix of poor/mediocre students and performance will drop.

The breed of students.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 7th, 2021, 1:56 pm

It's just another red government attack on race and to stir up chit.

Every now and then the red government needs to inject a race issue to keep its supporters on the edge and from straying.

It's just a gentle push to keep It's supporters in slavery

It's like the campaigning never stops eh? For grown ass people, elected govt officials to still be pushing this racial divisiveness among the population is really sad. Sad but highly strategic IMO.

Postby alfa » June 7th, 2021, 1:59 pm

Rockram wrote:Has anyone asked themselves what makes a prestige school, prestigious? When you put the top performing students together and make them compete.... together with strong institutional structures usually associated with the denominational schools. Put anyone of those students with a mix of poor/mediocre students and performance will drop.

A school by itself is just 4 walls and a roof. The teachers all have the same qualifications as the moe does not recognize schools as prestige per say. Simply put prestige students and prestige parents make prestige schools