How many tuners drink enough water daily?

Postby Ben_spanna » February 10th, 2020, 1:37 pm

Recommended water intake is supposed to around 1 oz per lb of body weight,
So an average person around 160 lbs should be drinking 160oz of water or roughly 4.73 LITERS daily.
Thats really alot of water when you think about it and thats for normal daily routines, for people who work outdoors and laborers should drink even more than that
Show of hands--- whos technically Dehydrated on a daily basis?

:drinking: :drinking:
i dont think i drink more than 1.5 liters of water a day......

Re: How many tuners drink enough water daily?

Postby maj. tom » February 10th, 2020, 1:44 pm

I do. 1 US gallon average per day. I use a CamelBak 1L bottle to gauge and refill as necessary.
Hot days like today you're supposed to drink 4 L.

Hard labor in the sun should be 6 L with salt supplements to recover the minerals lost by sweat.

Your kidneys will be so grateful in 30 years if you stick to the recommended water intake. First signs of dehydration are the chapped lips and itchy eyes.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 10th, 2020, 1:57 pm

you also get water intake from food, beverages and fruit - so it may not be absolutely necessary to follow the guide to the ounce.

A good basic indicator of hydration is your urine too. Yuh should be peeing clearish, unless you have meds/vitamins that causing discoloration

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » February 10th, 2020, 2:29 pm

I started drinking 1 gallon or 4litres of water daily weather is extremely hot these days only bad ting you does want to pee frequently

Postby pete » February 10th, 2020, 2:33 pm

Source of the 1oz/lb recommendation?

I drink 3-4L and that is way more than enough.

Postby SMc » February 10th, 2020, 2:45 pm

I drink probably 1 litre of water a day, but i eat lots of fruit which is full of water so not sure of total input-though when i feel dehydrated Ill drink some water/gatorade/juice when needed.

My father who is in his mid-70's don't drink any water and doing well-dont ask me how but he has been doing so for a long time (and he don't drink alcohol either)

Postby nervewrecker » February 10th, 2020, 3:17 pm

Depends on the environment you in.
Had times id lick down 4 gallons before lunch time.
Most evenings I clear down half gallon. The cup of water I keep in my bedroom is like half liter and most days I'd clear down at least 3 before sleep and clear out half cup during the night.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 10th, 2020, 3:21 pm

3l average daily

Postby hydroep » February 10th, 2020, 3:58 pm

Used to do the 8 drinking glasses thing but these days I just go by thirst. Urine colour supposed to be a good indicator of hydration levels though.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » February 10th, 2020, 3:59 pm

Drink enough until your pee looks like water.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » February 10th, 2020, 4:16 pm

Just yesterday i realized i am not drinking enough water these past days like 2 500ml oasis per day since I stopped working out for little while and i am chilling out at home in the ac most of the day since the beginning of month

Normally I refill a 2L coke bottle 3 times a day so about 5.5L since half of the bottle remains at the end of the day

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 10th, 2020, 5:55 pm

Careful allyuh drown!
I get about 2L in a day but really should be drinking more water.

Postby maj. tom » February 10th, 2020, 6:24 pm

The water requirements for outdoor climates (a typical deployed soldier in the field just doing drill and exercise all day is considered hard labor by civilian standards) are very well studied by advanced militaries, especially the US Army since WW2. From tropical jungles in Vietnam to desert wastelands in Iraq to frozen tundras in Greenland and Antarctica with well documented experience and guidelines from their Medical Corps. Their rations reflect these requirements and include salt tablets.

Ref:
https://quartermaster.army.mil/pwd/Publications/Water/Water_Planning_Guide_rev_103008_dtd_Nov_08_(5-09).pdf
Page II-A-2
You can also Google "US Army Manual water requirements" for much more on this topic.

https://i.imgur.com/zm81JFk.png

Postby 88sins » February 10th, 2020, 6:43 pm

considering I only drink water & coffee I say I covered. I usually drink about 750 ml in the morning after the run, same volume at night, and I always making trips to the cooler all day I go say I covered.
but some days is less tho, like when I real pushin thru wuk & i eh have the time to study going to the cooler so I just make a single trip & fill a bottle & keep it on the desk & take sips as needed.

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » February 10th, 2020, 6:54 pm

Isn't there some medical issue with drinking too much water? Doesn't this over drinking of wAter over work the kidneys too?

Postby maj. tom » February 10th, 2020, 7:09 pm

Don't worry, that will never happen unless you are purposefully try to kill yourself by overhydration, or have some medical existing condition. No, the healthy kidneys filter and excrete water with hardly any effort or energy.

You will eventually lose enough salts that your cells cannot function. But that really takes an extreme amount of water intake over a long time. Nothing even close like mentioned here.

https://www.msdmanuals.com/home/hormona ... rhydration
Last edited by maj. tom on February 10th, 2020, 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rebound

Postby rebound » February 10th, 2020, 7:09 pm

Correct, there is Overhydration where the excess water is absorbed into the bloodstream and it dissolves the salts and minerals needed... the best indication is urine color.....not a tank of water just for the hell of it....

As the old people say, too much ah one thing eh good.
jl6106 wrote:Isn't there some medical issue with drinking too much water? Doesn't this over drinking of wAter over work the kidneys too?

Postby pugboy » February 10th, 2020, 7:13 pm

A good rule of thumb also is pee color
You don’t want very yellow and neither it getting darker as day goes on.

If you have ever participated in long endurance exercise like cycling(4hrs+) and gotten dehydrated and experienced the bad feeling and brown pee you definitely won’t go there again.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 10th, 2020, 7:26 pm

I used to drink too much water to the point it diluted my blood and I got water toxicity, but I learn the balance.

Meeno how trinis could refuse to drink water because it "doh taste like nothing".
Then people does wonder why they so fat with health problems.

I does struggle to drink ONE chubby an men drinking a liter of soft drink for the day like wtf

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 10th, 2020, 7:32 pm

Closest thing to a soft drink for me is apple j...other than that, mauby and juice in between...plenty fruits(watermelon and pine) but water is the go to...I don't drink alcho either...so no harm done

Postby maj. tom » February 10th, 2020, 7:46 pm

guys, proper hydration is with plain water and salt to maintain the osmolality of the blood.

It's NOT drinking sugar drinks and fruits all day when you're thirsty!!! That will lead to more excretion of water and insulin spikes. Do it over 20 to 30 years and you have diabetes. Gatorade/Lucozade is not a rehydration drink!!! Will you all just attempt to read the nutrition label on these drinks first?!

In the hospital they does hook up a bag of Dole Pineapple Juice or blue Gatorade for rehydration drips or wuh?

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 10th, 2020, 8:04 pm

In addition to what Major Thomas is saying

Sugary drinks make you more thirsty as well. So just drink goddamn water and enjoy not having diabetes.

Postby nervewrecker » February 10th, 2020, 8:10 pm

jl6106 wrote:Isn't there some medical issue with drinking too much water? Doesn't this over drinking of wAter over work the kidneys too?
Depends on how you loose it.
When a company have 3 men digging a trench about 2 feet deep by a foot wide and 20 feet long in midday sun you loosing a lot via perspiration. We lick down a gallon in a matter of minutes and we're thristy in no time.
There are some days id barely clear down a liter (riding in ac doing errands and site visits) and other days when a half liter finishes in one drink (outside in the sun).

Postby K74T » February 10th, 2020, 8:26 pm

Coconut water FTW.

Postby rollingstock » February 10th, 2020, 8:54 pm

I get my daily intake from coca cola.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 10th, 2020, 8:55 pm

maj. tom wrote:guys, proper hydration is with plain water and salt to maintain the osmolality of the blood.

It's NOT drinking sugar drinks and fruits all day when you're thirsty!!! That will lead to more excretion of water and insulin spikes. Do it over 20 to 30 years and you have diabetes. Gatorade/Lucozade is not a rehydration drink!!! Will you all just attempt to read the nutrition label on these drinks first?!

In the hospital they does hook up a bag of Dole Pineapple Juice or blue Gatorade for rehydration drips or wuh?

The gatorade thing have it's place eh.
If I buss ah endurance ride (3-4h) or a power ride (1h-high bpm effort), I usually throw down a shitton of water plus a gatorade.

Postby Rovin » February 10th, 2020, 8:58 pm

growing up i recall d old saying 8 glasses of water\day , i drink average 6-7 even though i in ac in my store during d working day then a\c at home , if i outside doing work or moving around alot well yea it will be a couple glasses more ...

matix

Postby matix » February 10th, 2020, 9:54 pm

Maybe 5 liters a day because it’s outside work for me. Trick for me is lots of fruits in the water just to add flavor then something to snack on.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 10th, 2020, 11:00 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
maj. tom wrote:guys, proper hydration is with plain water and salt to maintain the osmolality of the blood.

The gatorade thing have it's place eh.
If I buss ah endurance ride (3-4h) or a power ride (1h-high bpm effort), I usually throw down a shitton of water plus a gatorade.

that understandable, but men working office jobs in AC drinking gatorade like is juice

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 11th, 2020, 12:31 am

those figures unrealistic
16 l is to much
we only have like 5 litres of blood in our body.
you all wasting water that is why wasa seeing all this problems