Re: After the pandemic-How the world will change and dealings with China

Postby MaxPower » April 2nd, 2020, 1:56 pm

Rovin wrote:
meccalli wrote:Synbranchus are a genus of swamp eels( this includes our local S. marmoratus), it's very popular not only in China but also parts of India. It's just like any other fish.

But I remember events that happened with taiwanese longliners down at chaguaramas trying to pen the stray dogs in seines. Authorities of a particular company where they docked had to stop it.

that's no excuse for diggin thru canal sludge in Trinidad tho, in a country where food is readily available practically everywhere you look
if it's par for the course where they come from, fine, they can go back there & do that. but if they do that here & pick up some sort of infection, the first place they heading is to the nearest public, for a problem that could be avoided if they'd kept their arse outta d blasted canal & go throw a line in a river or by the sea or even better, buy food like a normal human.

at d same time though imagine how foreigners look at us like wild savages when we go in their countries & running down their iguanas & other wildlife that they they leave all about as normal & we doing like we rel hungry belly to catch n eat it .... :|

Hello Rovin,

Dont forget the littering.

Postby maj. tom » April 2nd, 2020, 2:25 pm

Shenzhen becomes first Chinese city to ban eating cats and dogs
2 April 2020

Shenzhen has become the first Chinese city to ban the sale and consumption of dog and cat meat.

It comes after the coronavirus outbreak was linked to wildlife meat, prompting Chinese authorities to ban the trade and consumption of wild animals.

Shenzhen went a step further, extending the ban to dogs and cats. The new law will come into force on 1 May.

Thirty million dogs a year are killed across Asia for meat, says Humane Society International (HSI).

However, the practice of eating dog meat in China is not that common - the majority of Chinese people have never done so and say they don't want to.

"Dogs and cats as pets have established a much closer relationship with humans than all other animals, and banning the consumption of dogs and cats and other pets is a common practice in developed countries and in Hong Kong and Taiwan," the Shenzhen city government said, according to a Reuters report.

"This ban also responds to the demand and spirit of human civilization."

Animal advocacy organisation HSI praised the move.

"This really could be a watershed moment in efforts to end this brutal trade that kills an estimated 10 million dogs and 4 million cats in China every year," said Dr Peter Li, China policy specialist for HSI.

However, at the same time as this ruling, China approved the use of bear bile to treat coronavirus patients.

Bear bile - a digestive fluid drained from living captive bears - has long been used in traditional Chinese medicine.

The active ingredient, ursodeoxycholic acid, is used to dissolve gallstones and treat liver disease. But there is no proof that it is effective against the coronavirus and the process is painful and distressing for the animals

Brian Daly, a spokesman for the Animals Asia Foundation, told AFP: "We shouldn't be relying on wildlife products like bear bile as the solution to combat a deadly virus that appears to have originated from wildlife."
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-china-52131940

Postby 88sins » April 2nd, 2020, 3:07 pm

Rovin wrote:at d same time though imagine how foreigners look at us like wild savages when we go in their countries & running down their iguanas & other wildlife that they they leave all about as normal & we doing like we rel hungry belly to catch n eat it .... :|

There's a difference when you compare shooting a big iguana off a tree and then preparing it to eat it and diving into a drainage ditch and digging through mud and only God knows what else to hold a zangee.

Postby Gladiator » April 2nd, 2020, 6:18 pm

Rovin wrote:at d same time though imagine how foreigners look at us like wild savages when we go in their countries & running down their iguanas & other wildlife that they they leave all about as normal & we doing like we rel hungry belly to catch n eat it .... :|

There's a difference when you compare shooting a big iguana off a tree and then preparing it to eat it and diving into a drainage ditch and digging through mud and only God knows what else to hold a zangee.

Just go in the grocery and buy a chicken nah,,,

Postby 88sins » April 2nd, 2020, 8:08 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Ppl would, if d grocery used to sell it. The unofficial name ppl call iguana is guess what?

The chicken of the trees :D

Postby Gladiator » April 2nd, 2020, 10:07 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Ppl would, if d grocery used to sell it. The unofficial name ppl call iguana is guess what?

The chicken of the trees :D

I eh go lie... I eat it once and it lash...but they too nice to put in pot. I wanted one for my yard, finally last week one came across and a blasted stray cat gone and kill it... :cry:

Postby The_Honourable » April 6th, 2020, 12:17 am

More files bussin on WHO, communist china and the wuhan virus

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 6th, 2020, 12:45 am

At its most basic, lots of N95 masks are made in China and exported to the rest of the world.

What happens when China's gov bars export as a retaliatory measure to all the chest beating countries?

Now extend that line of thinking to nearly all the products in our houses and businesses. That is why the WHO and governments must tiptoe around China.

Postby 88sins » April 6th, 2020, 9:10 am

ProtonPowder wrote:At its most basic, lots of N95 masks are made in China and exported to the rest of the world.

What happens when China's gov bars export as a retaliatory measure to all the chest beating countries?

Now extend that line of thinking to nearly all the products in our houses and businesses. That is why the WHO and governments must tiptoe around China.

individual countries start making & distributing their own masks & other ppe.
problem is, these alleged "leaders" so busy playing politics and diplomat, they lost sight of the fact that sometimes we must all band together to fight against those that act against the greater good.
If the entire world decided in unison to implement sanctions and retaliations for China's deceptions and their role in this pandemic, let's say all trade, economic, humanitarian and migration ties were severed with all countries around the globe.
So, nobody selling anything to China, buying anything from China, and everybody repatriate all Chinese nationals back to China. You would see how fast that place would become like larger scale of North Korea.

makes no sense tiptoeing around a person that telling you in nuanced ways that he ain't got no problem bankrupting you, then killing you & maybe your entire bloodline, a person that would do anything to hide that the fact that he still involved in his dangerous customs because in his mind it's none of your business what he doing even tho what he doing is costing you yuh life.

Postby Redman » April 6th, 2020, 9:50 am

ProtonPowder wrote:At its most basic, lots of N95 masks are made in China and exported to the rest of the world.

China has to realize that this virus is creating supply and relationships from other countries.
Never force your clients to look elswhere

Postby nemisis » April 6th, 2020, 9:57 am

You see how USA treating their allies? Why would the world at large care when the dust settles about China.

Postby 88sins » April 6th, 2020, 10:58 am

nemisis wrote:You see how USA treating their allies? Why would the world at large care when the dust settles about China.

funny story
the US doesn't have "allies" and alliances with other countries. they might make deals with other countries or offer assistance by one way or the other, but they don't really consider them as true allies.
Here's how Americans view relationships with other countries

America first and foremost always
The Middle East oil producers, Canada, UK, China & the EU second all tie for second
Everybody else living in a s#itho!e & are minions that they keep handy in case they need them for something & don't matter

Postby nemisis » April 6th, 2020, 11:12 am

^^^ no one has ever disputed that but some actions shouldn't be so blatant?. I might not care about you but little benefit in going out of my way to show others that.

Postby 88sins » April 6th, 2020, 4:53 pm

If someone views you as an insignificant speck and doesn't care about your existence or opinions, only what you have or what they can use you for and they know for a fact they can hurt you in one way or another but you can't reciprocate, they have no motivation to not be so blatant when they screwing you over and will be as blatant as they want

Postby nemisis » April 6th, 2020, 5:03 pm

True but what happens when persons are turned away from the us is they court the Chinese which they have gone out of their way to prevent time after time.

Postby redmanjp » April 7th, 2020, 2:32 am

The_Honourable wrote:More files bussin on WHO, communist china and the wuhan virus

idoh know how that man was saying for several weeks how there should not be any travel restrictions- and any country that implements them has to answer to WHO? ah mean seriously? so now when plenty countries did just that are they bothering to explain their decision to him?

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » April 13th, 2020, 3:38 pm

https://nymag.com/intelligencer/2020/04/andrew-sullivan-time-for-conscious-uncoupling-with-china.html

Of all the lessons that plagues teach us, surely the most valuable one is humility.

Look around you. The most advanced, sophisticated, and wealthy civilization ever to exist on planet Earth — our glorious, multinational, globalized, technological miracle — has now been brought to a screeching halt by a pathogen so tiny no one was able to see their complex structures until the last century. For all our unparalleled wealth and knowledge, our streets are empty; our businesses for the most part are suspended; and our efficiency and technological mastery have been mocked by a speck of nature. This minuscule organism that isn’t even technically alive could, all by itself, generate a global depression unlike any since the 1930s.

Postby De Dragon » April 13th, 2020, 3:50 pm

Redman wrote:

China has to realize that this virus is creating supply and relationships from other countries.

This heavy dependence on Chinese made products existed long before the pandemic, and will continue when it has passed. The US has allowed itself to be too reliant on cheap Chines labour to probably ever go back to the manufacturing power that they once were.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 13th, 2020, 3:54 pm

Is either you want a "cheap iPhone" or an expensive one!

Postby The_Honourable » April 13th, 2020, 4:40 pm

China restricts publication of coronavirus research

China has restricted the publication of academic research on the origins of the coronavirus, according to a central government directive and notices published by two Chinese universities.

The new guidelines require that all academic papers on the coronavirus undergo additional vetting before being submitted for publication, according to CNN. Studies on the origin of the virus also must be approved by central government officials, said the notices, which have since been removed from the web.

The increased scrutiny appears to be another attempt by the Chinese government to control the narrative about the coronavirus. China has been accused of concealing the extent of the outbreak.

"I think it is a coordinated effort from [the] Chinese government to control [the] narrative and paint it as if the outbreak did not originate in China," said a Chinese researcher who spoke to CNN on the condition of anonymity out of fear of retaliation." And I don't think they will really tolerate any objective study to investigate the origination of this disease."

The researcher said the extra scrutiny was only being applied to research on the coronavirus, not other subjects.

The virus has killed more than 100,000 people and sickened nearly 2 million people since it emerged in the Chinese city of Wuhan late last year.

Scientists have said the virus likely originated in bats and linked it to a market in Wuhan.

Chinese officials have engaged in an effort to claim that the virus originated in the United States and was brought to China by the U.S. military, which the U.S. has sternly disputed.

Source: https://www.washingtonexaminer.com/news ... s-research

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » April 13th, 2020, 5:36 pm

Everybody will bawl how China bad, don't do business with them and it might start off like that.

But eventually when they can't pay the cost of "made-in-usa" or wherever, they would go back to deal with China to increase their profit, while at the same time maintaining an anti-China stance, to keep other competitors away.
Then bit by bit they will all follow and be back to square one.
Unless peoples' Gov't make it a law to ban all trade with them.

People still do business with the US even though plenty of the money goes to fund their military/weapons.
China do all that damage without even firing a bullet or invading any country (in the traditional sense)

What is actually made in China?

Postby Redman » April 14th, 2020, 8:10 am

Redman wrote:

This heavy dependence on Chinese made products existed long before the pandemic, and will continue when it has passed. The US has allowed itself to be too reliant on cheap Chines labour to probably ever go back to the manufacturing power that they once were.

We all are reliant on China- that has creeped up over the years.
Of course that was in absence of reasons not to look anywhere else... this whole scenario is also geopolitical,economic and social.....We can end up with American sanctions, global sanctions on Chinese goods.and individuals can make choices given the right motivation.
All of a sudden there is scale in terms of demand for non China products.

Any one in the world for saw OPEC agreeing to cut 10-20M BOPD?

All rules are changing.

Postby adnj » April 14th, 2020, 8:44 am

Redman wrote:

We all are reliant on China- that has creeped up over the years.
Of course that was in absence of reasons not to look anywhere else... this whole scenario is also geopolitical,economic and social.....We can end up with American sanctions, global sanctions on Chinese goods.and individuals can make choices given the right motivation.
All of a sudden there is scale in terms of demand for non China products.

Any one in the world for saw OPEC agreeing to cut 10-20M BOPD?

All rules are changing.
This is not new at all. China has been actively pursuing a program of economic self-sufficiency and export reduction for more than a decade. Western corporations have been changing from cheap China labor to highly mechanized systems since the robotics push of the 1980's. Japan moved much of its production to South Korea. Now Japan, Taiwan and South Korea are moving production to Viet Nam, Malaysia and India, among others.

Consumers rely on the decisions of the multinationals that provide the products that they purchase. The multinationals are looking for capacity, quality and price. And with little regard to geographic location.

By the time many politicians and consumers start thinking about what might go wrong in the product pipeline, corporate product strategists have years earlier laid out contingency plans for tooling, materials and labor for and from other markets and other countries. Those plans become active when there is an improvement in profit or public relations - and nearly never before.

---------

How to reinvent China’s growth

John Gapper NOVEMBER 18 2009

Michael Spence, the Nobel prize-winning economist, told the forum that China is in “a very complex and perilous transition phase” as it tries to transform from a middle-income, high-growth, very big developing economy into an advanced economy with a diversified industrial base. The world is not big enough to keep on absorbing China’s export growth, and it faces the waning of what Arthur Kroeber, a managing director of Dragonomics, the economic consultancy, calls its “demographic dividend”.

The surge in young people eager to move from rural areas to coastal cities to work in textile and manufacturing plants is ending. China needs better-paid citizens to consume more of its output. Many, including the Chinese government itself, have focused on the need for better social and medical benefits to dissuade people from saving as much of their income, but employees also need to earn more in the first place. The problem with the Chinese economic system is that municipalities such as Qingdao encourage local companies to expand by directing capital towards them. Bureaucrats have incentives to fund growth rather than to ensure companies achieve high margins and pay their workers well.

[URL]https://www.ft.com/content/01da45ec-d48d-11de-a935-00144feabdc0
[/URL]

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 14th, 2020, 12:29 pm

I think i read an article where chinese people started to scorn black people as they were seen as the people responsible (although they made a fraction of the iternational arrivals) for the most recent surge in covid infections in china... so much so that burger king in china put up a sign saying no black people allowed... this is what we turn too? Unnecessary racial tensions

Postby maj. tom » April 14th, 2020, 12:43 pm

Racism has been going on in China for a long time. Discrimination against black people in China is as real as it is in USA. The coronavirus is an excuse to overtly display the actions of racism. Just like how all other racist agendas in history have used scapegoat excuses to deploy their tactics, from Nazi Germany and Jews to USA and Montgomery buses.

Chinese lower class people can be told anything by their communist overlords and they will believe it, just like the Red States in USA.

Postby Ben_spanna » April 14th, 2020, 12:48 pm

elec2020 wrote:I think i read an article where chinese people started to scorn black people as they were seen as the people responsible (although they made a fraction of the iternational arrivals) for the most recent surge in covid infections in china... so much so that burger king in china put up a sign saying no black people allowed... this is what we turn too? Unnecessary racial tensions

Chinese people around the world being discriminated against since the start of this whole COVID issue, being spit on, being ridiculed because of being Chinese, hell even the orange face moron keeps referring to this virus as the “Chinese virus”, and he is actually the one responsible for and discriminating against Asian Americans, and he has never apologized for saying such things.
There’s been much debate about if this came from bats or if it was lab grown, again look at the beginning, why would China have reacted in such desperate measures to build additional hospitals and put such immediate plans in place if this was just a simple virus that came from someone eating a wild animal?
Don’t know why this would change any dealings with China ,all of this biased thinking is coming from a third party....... I wonder why world dominance and the quest to be the world #1 super -power would spur such disgusting rumors and discrimination.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 14th, 2020, 2:56 pm

maj. tom wrote:Racism has been going on in China for a long time. Discrimination against black people in China is as real as it is in USA. The coronavirus is an excuse to overtly display the actions of racism. Just like how all other racist agendas in history have used scapegoat excuses to deploy their tactics, from Nazi Germany and Jews to USA and Montgomery buses.

Chinese lower class people can be told anything by their communist overlords and they will believe it, just like the Red States in USA.

It is sad that people continue to have this radical racial thoughts in 2020... also u are right... China's communist authority have alot of control on the people their... thing is if u jump out u easy to track... example.. i think china uses satellites to monitor its people... depending on their actions it will affect their social score... your social score dictates what jobs u can get, areas u can live in, etc... bug brother in china in everything

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 14th, 2020, 2:56 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:
elec2020 wrote:I think i read an article where chinese people started to scorn black people as they were seen as the people responsible (although they made a fraction of the iternational arrivals) for the most recent surge in covid infections in china... so much so that burger king in china put up a sign saying no black people allowed... this is what we turn too? Unnecessary racial tensions

Chinese people around the world being discriminated against since the start of this whole COVID issue, being spit on, being ridiculed because of being Chinese, hell even the orange face moron keeps referring to this virus as the “Chinese virus”, and he is actually the one responsible for and discriminating against Asian Americans, and he has never apologized for saying such things.
There’s been much debate about if this came from bats or if it was lab grown, again look at the beginning, why would China have reacted in such desperate measures to build additional hospitals and put such immediate plans in place if this was just a simple virus that came from someone eating a wild animal?
Don’t know why this would change any dealings with China ,all of this biased thinking is coming from a third party....... I wonder why world dominance and the quest to be the world #1 super -power would spur such disgusting rumors and discrimination.

China is a super power. When this over things will go back to normal imo

Postby 88sins » April 14th, 2020, 3:16 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:

you may think it's all coming from a 3rd party, but trust me it isn't.
With this global pandemic one of the thoughs coming to the fore from governments, corporations & even private citizens everywhere is "we too dependent on this one place, & they heavy into deception & dem look like dem eh even care about their own ppl much less us. so why support them & why not do my own thing home/elsewhere?"
Discrimination isn't something new to the Chinese, they've been discriminated against for much longer than this virus has been around. But what you don't hear ppl talk about globally is the Chinese peoples racial discrimination against other ethnicities, & that's been happening even before other ethnicities started discriminating against them, particularly for persons with origins from Africa & other parts of Asia.

Postby hydroep » April 14th, 2020, 3:44 pm

People will probably go back to China initially because they have no alternative.

But the discussion in a lot of developed countries is: they do not want to find themselves in this situation again where they are over-reliant on a single country in a time of crisis.

This wouldn't kill Globalization but it will change it. Expect to see MORE sharing/spreading of manufacturing with other low-cost labour counties and probably a ramping up of production at home. Re-negotiation/modification of international trading laws governing supply chains to deal specifically with the hoarding of essential goods and services by individual States.

Pipsqueaks like T&T will just be along for the ride...:|