Are Drive-In Movie Theaters Making a Comeback ? ...

Postby Rovin » May 13th, 2020, 2:04 am

i seeing some stories of this online , its due to covid19

ppl want to get out of d house to see movies on a big screen but obviously fraid of catching covid19 in a enclosed movie theater so drive ins gaining momentum & actually pulling a lil crowd in d usa

is going back to drive ins a temporary fad, will it last if covid eventually passes & will it work locally ? ...

Re: Drive-In Movie Theaters Are Making a Comeback ? ...

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2020, 2:13 am

not my cup of tea. prefer to sprawl out home.

Re: Are Drive-In Movie Theaters Making a Comeback ? ...

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2020, 2:16 am

although it might be cool the authorities and the 3cxc crew will have hissy fits for it. dem will find no social activity could be done, no matter all the social distancing being done.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » May 13th, 2020, 2:20 am

Not after all the money they spend on the CCs and Movietowns.

And ent they just mash dung Kaydonna.

This on the other hand. me em know nah,

Postby Rovin » May 13th, 2020, 11:02 am

i guessing its a passing novelty fad cause for d time being maybe next 6 mths at least cause ppl wud be frighten to go back into a movie theater once covid still around & there is no cure or preventative vaccine

businessmen in d usa who have d $$$ to spare wud try ah ting with d drive ins , even if u own d compound it wud still be a sizeable investment but i really cant see it lasting long ... i doubt any local businessman might try it

have to ask urself why did drive ins die out in d 1st place , with todays technology watching a movie when u feel like it is as easy as typing it on ur phone whereever u are once u have wifi or data or on electronic devices in d comfort of ur home ...

Postby gastly369 » May 13th, 2020, 11:07 am

Have about 4 years now... Want to upgrade the projector to a 4k or some... But not seeing any reliable ones atm to get and those Chinese projector flooded the market with rubbish projectors
IMG_20200430_141453.jpeg
IMG_20200430_141110.jpeg
IMG_20200430_200617-01.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » May 13th, 2020, 11:10 am

Laughs Sinananly!!!

Postby redmanjp » May 13th, 2020, 12:02 pm

Rovin wrote:i guessing its a passing novelty fad cause for d time being maybe next 6 mths at least cause ppl wud be frighten to go back into a movie theater once covid still around & there is no cure or preventative vaccine

businessmen in d usa who have d $$$ to spare wud try ah ting with d drive ins , even if u own d compound it wud still be a sizeable investment but i really cant see it lasting long ... i doubt any local businessman might try it

have to ask urself why did drive ins die out in d 1st place , with todays technology watching a movie when u feel like it is as easy as typing it on ur phone whereever u are once u have wifi or data or on electronic devices in d comfort of ur home ...

so yuh would need some empty land, a projector, speakers (or FM broadcast to car radio) and a waterproof screen

return on investment all depends on what movies being released in the next few months- if it was like a Marvel movie or some other big anticipated movie then it might make sense, but most big movies might have been postponed to next year.

but kaydonna would be making money this year if they still existed as they would be getting d MT and CC8 crowds

Postby pugboy » May 13th, 2020, 12:54 pm

nope, if rohani really getting $200m cash for the land

how long will it take to setup a drive in and make those profits ?

Postby supercharged turbo » May 24th, 2020, 3:42 pm

It will be in south
FB_IMG_1590349409960.jpeg

Postby Redman » May 24th, 2020, 3:48 pm

Like fkin people want to spend more time in their car ...after spending hrs in traffic

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2020, 4:07 pm

Redman wrote:Like fkin people want to spend more time in their car ...after spending hrs in traffic

If you can get a special price for one car load like in Kaydonna, sure. Ppl who doh have money to go Movietowne due to the covid caused economic slump might go.

Which company is this though?

Postby MaxPower » May 24th, 2020, 5:05 pm

A drive-in theater with Trinis and their stink habits next to you?

Yuck and hell no.

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2020, 5:14 pm

keep yuh windows down for sure or u might get some kfc bones pelt in

Postby zoom rader » May 24th, 2020, 5:21 pm

Patrons will probably get robbed by PNM youths

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2020, 9:17 pm

MaxPower wrote:A drive-in theater with Trinis and their stink habits next to you?

Yuck and hell no.

u in your own car- how is this worse than sitting next to them in MT or CC8?

Postby MaxPower » May 24th, 2020, 9:27 pm

redmanjp wrote:
MaxPower wrote:A drive-in theater with Trinis and their stink habits next to you?

Yuck and hell no.

u in your own car- how is this worse than sitting next to them in MT or CC8?

Hello redmanjp,

Boi sitting next to them is worse. The poor hygiene, inconsiderate voice levels, wildness, annoying chew noises (misophonia) and the littering.

Gotta love home theater systems.

Postby supercharged turbo » May 24th, 2020, 10:40 pm

I saw it under Xperience Fete fb page.It said powered by the Lollabee Group

Seeing another one now in Hasley Crawford
Screenshot_20200524-223751_Facebook.jpeg

Postby Rovin » May 27th, 2020, 12:12 pm

for those who living near guaya , free ting ... https://www.facebook.com/14479598562618 ... =3&theater

Postby redmanjp » May 27th, 2020, 4:28 pm

Rovin wrote:for those who living near guaya , free ting ... https://www.facebook.com/14479598562618 ... =3&theater

"Sorry, this content isn't available at the moment"

Postby Rovin » May 27th, 2020, 4:47 pm

like they removed d post ...

Tortilla_Man

Postby Tortilla_Man » May 30th, 2020, 10:55 pm

Yuck and hell no.

Some trinis rel unruly, i sure they gonna kick out people for catchin' ah mood during the movie, if you know what i mean : /

Postby MaxPower » May 30th, 2020, 11:54 pm

Tortilla_Man wrote:

Yuck and hell no.

Some trinis rel unruly, i sure they gonna kick out people for catchin' ah mood during the movie, if you know what i mean : /

Tell me about it!

Postby gastly369 » May 31st, 2020, 10:15 am

Nah I good I done foresee how it's gonna turn out

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 2nd, 2020, 12:51 pm

It seems none of the proposed mobile / popup drive in cinemas that were advertising have been able operate so far.
From what I understand, exhibitors and cinema licenses from the Ministry are required and then movies will have to acquired from the various local movie distributors. It would be illegal to just show a movie off of a flash drive or DVD/Bluray without those permissions and payment to the distributors.
I think once that hurdle gets past, Drive In cinemas in T&T can make a comeback.

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2020, 1:06 pm

well the obvious thing is for existing operators to offer drive in

Postby MG Man » June 2nd, 2020, 2:13 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It seems none of the proposed mobile / popup drive in cinemas that were advertising have been able operate so far.
From what I understand, exhibitors and cinema licenses from the Ministry are required and then movies will have to acquired from the various local movie distributors. It would be illegal to just show a movie off of a flash drive or DVD/Bluray without those permissions and payment to the distributors.
I think once that hurdle gets past, Drive In cinemas in T&T can make a comeback.

how did they do it years back when some local film group had a screening of Senna in an office building in Fernandes compound? I can't remember if they charged a fee or not tho

Postby aaron17 » June 2nd, 2020, 2:20 pm

Ahh yes...the flintstones drive in ....

Postby redmanjp » June 2nd, 2020, 4:08 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:It seems none of the proposed mobile / popup drive in cinemas that were advertising have been able operate so far.

do they still have to get a film licence- as in physical film cuz that's how it used to be but we using digital now- or just a licence to show it?

Postby rspann » June 2nd, 2020, 4:37 pm

Duane know about drive in cinema . It in his blood .