The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread!!!

Postby Dizzy28 » May 26th, 2020, 9:57 am

Soul Collector wrote:What kinda dogshit is this? Soca singers, cricket players, ex police running for seats?

They have no one of substance to put up? Is a popularity contest or something? They so desperate for a familiar name/face? Politics here was always a joke and a pappy show but lawd have mercy yes. Like we cah done reach yet.

Nothing wrong with someones former profession once they competent in the political one. And tbh it doesn't take much to be at least an MP.

Lots of former cricketers are or were MPs. Gambhir, Azarhudin and Tendulkar in the Indian Sabha. Jayasuriya in the Sri Lankan Parliament and Imran Khan as PM of Pakistan. And then George Weah is President of Liberia.

No real grouses against them in their countries.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » May 26th, 2020, 10:10 am

Persons coming from different sectors and backgrounds also bring to the table niche knowledge sets that are still required as part of governance. Key is maintaining the right balance across the board. Governments over the years have maintained a decent balance of professional backgrounds. What you don’t get out of the MP pool you supplement with the senate pool.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 26th, 2020, 10:20 am

You are working with the possibly flawed assumption that they don't have the requisite education?
Plenty sportspersons and entertainers have advanced degrees in addition to their primary or secondary calling.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 26th, 2020, 11:32 am

MP does not equal Minister, but given that we tend to appoint MPs as ministers as a lot of Westminister systems conventionally do, then you can understand some people's concerns.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 26th, 2020, 11:37 am

Dohplaydat wrote:MP does not equal Minister, but given that we tend to appoint MPs as ministers as a lot of Westminister systems conventionally do, then you can understand some people's concerns.

Manning say all you need is "“a level head and common sense” to be a Minister.

Alluh bothering with degrees and experience??

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 26th, 2020, 11:37 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:You are working with the possibly flawed assumption that they don't have the requisite education?
Plenty sportspersons and entertainers have advanced degrees in addition to their primary or secondary calling.

People often think sportsmen/women or soca stars are brain dead, I guess this is the jealous mindset of 'i sure he/she doh even have CXC'.

And the odd thing is that even if they don't, lots of them are extremely intelligent, hardworking and disciplined individuals who surprise you with their intelligence.

That said, none of the above candidates achieved much excellence in their previous profession. Especially Dillion, who has the record of most ducks ever in a calendar year by a test batsman.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 26th, 2020, 11:42 am

Dohplaydat wrote:MP does not equal Minister, but given that we tend to appoint MPs as ministers as a lot of Westminister systems conventionally do, then you can understand some people's concerns.

Those were Ministries that were probably run behind the scenes by Lenny Saith, Enill or Imbert.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 26th, 2020, 11:45 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

Those were Ministries that were probably run behind the scenes by Lenny Saith, Enill or Imbert.

I believe the context was when he was asked about Hazel.

But Public Servants run Ministries. In the absence of a Minister a Ministry will be still operate and maybe even better without the political meddling.

rebound

Postby rebound » May 26th, 2020, 12:18 pm

Lawyer, Doctor, Engineer, Geologist have all failed us in the past and currently. Therefore, we have nothing to lose with something different.

Postby The_Honourable » May 26th, 2020, 12:21 pm

Seales for Tabaquite (lol). Marlene might be back inside for POS South?

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/seales-s ... abf367916f

Postby paid_influencer » May 26th, 2020, 1:03 pm

rebound wrote:Lawyer, Doctor, Engineer, Geologist have all failed us in the past and currently. Therefore, we have nothing to lose with something different.

some have failed worse than others

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 26th, 2020, 1:08 pm

At this point we are in a crisis. Everyone needs to get up and vote the PNM out.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 26th, 2020, 1:09 pm

eliteauto wrote:Good points for having the thread now put forth by some, we of the Tuner PNM caucus have had a change of heart

You seriously supporting PNM after all they’ve done?

Postby rspann » May 26th, 2020, 1:12 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Good points for having the thread now put forth by some, we of the Tuner PNM caucus have had a change of heart

Dan , we hadda support the PNM . Look how dey save we from de CORVID .

Postby eliteauto » May 26th, 2020, 1:30 pm

Postby eliteauto » May 26th, 2020, 1:31 pm

toyota2nr wrote:

The UNC has shown that they have no room for someone like me, what other options exist currently?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 26th, 2020, 1:42 pm

ok serious question here, what are the odds the PNM even losing this election what have they done to p!ss off voters to that extent exactly?

Remember PNM legalize weed, that was a big sacrifice considering 99% of their voting base was against that because is church people for the most part. So that was a really progressive move on the PNM's part and it shows that Dr Rowley doesn't care about superstitious nonsense, he trusts the SCIENCE. He has time and time again and again shown that he puts SCIENCE over his own church going voting base.

This along gives Dr Rowley a massive amount of respect he doesn't behave like a politician. This is a major part of the reason people even voted for him in the first place....

I don't know about allyuh but when I look at this, I don't see the same swing voters voting for Coonilal and them not until them fellas leave politics. The kinda racket Rambachan and them run the swing voters voted against people like them for that very same reason to send a message.

The message has clearly not gone through the same Cabal is there firmly planted in the UNC, Panday said the very same thing just recently.

Are we living in denial here on tuner? do we seriously believe the same people who voted for PNM just to get rid of the UNC is suddenly going to vote back for UNC?
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on May 26th, 2020, 3:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 26th, 2020, 1:59 pm

eliteauto wrote:PNM Sipper Ria candidate

https://www.facebook.com/24350779598561 ... A1ODAxMTY/

she aint winning nothing. This alone shows how every election in Trinidad is purely based on race. When would the PNM select an afro trini to rep in a unc stronghold and vice versa??? It would never happen. When would UNC select an indo trini to rep in Diego Martin??? pure bs every 5 years

Postby The_Honourable » May 26th, 2020, 2:01 pm

@Effectic - I believe more persons would just stay away from the polls. Many persons who don't want Rowley would not vote to give Kamla the win. Currently the PNM has 23 seats and UNC 18. I believe UNC will gain a seat maybe two but I am not sure they can do enough to make 21 seats unless something drastic happens between now and election day.

Postby eliteauto » May 26th, 2020, 2:05 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

she aint winning nothing. This alone shows how every election in Trinidad is purely based on race. When would the PNM select an afro trini to rep in a unc stronghold and vice versa??? It would never happen. When would UNC select an indo trini to rep in Diego Martin??? pure bs every 5 years

So the parties should pretend not to know the status quo and composition of each constituency? We haven't had an election in which race isn't a factor for decades, that isn't BS it's the realty, check social media and see the comments there for the last 10 years and get familiar, is one thing for parties to push a racial agenda to always be the big fish in a little pond but it's us the citizens who chose to support the mantra. Who's the PNM candidate for Tabaquite btw?

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » May 26th, 2020, 2:11 pm

UNC would win if someone else other than Kamla was the leader.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 26th, 2020, 2:17 pm

eliteauto wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

So the parties should pretend not to know the status quo and composition of each constituency? We haven't had an election in which race isn't a factor for decades, that isn't BS it's the realty, check social media and see the comments there for the last 10 years and get familiar, is one thing for parties to push a racial agenda to always be the big fish in a little pond but it's us the citizens who chose to support the mantra. Who's the PNM candidate for Tabaquite btw?

I actually now coming to write this, this was a shocker. The constituents in that area still not swaying. You know that

Postby Redman » May 26th, 2020, 4:30 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:What kinda dogshit is this? Soca singers, cricket players, ex police running for seats?

They have no one of substance to put up? Is a popularity contest or something? They so desperate for a familiar name/face? Politics here was always a joke and a pappy show but lawd have mercy yes. Like we cah done reach yet.

define "substance" I only ask because I've not been impressed by the current grap of "professional politicians"

Dog tootz is a substance.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 26th, 2020, 8:19 pm

Gypsy has been confirmed to run for the seat

Postby shogun » May 26th, 2020, 9:06 pm

Nothing wrong with someones former profession once they competent in the political one. And tbh it doesn't take much to be at least an MP.

Lots of former cricketers are or were MPs. Gambhir, Azarhudin and Tendulkar in the Indian Sabha. Jayasuriya in the Sri Lankan Parliament and Imran Khan as PM of Pakistan. And then George Weah is President of Liberia.

Not to mention all the perfectly capable people who could genuinely contribute, but getting scared away by the level of bacchanal and demonization and don't want their families/reputations spitefully dragged through chit for someone else's shallow political aspirations and/or for the general public's entertainment. The only people left are those already acclimatized to the glare of public life. We hadda take what we get, till we grow up. :lol:

Postby Gladiator » May 26th, 2020, 9:27 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ok serious question here, what are the odds the PNM even losing this election what have they done to p!ss off voters to that extent exactly?

Remember PNM legalize weed, that was a big sacrifice considering 99% of their voting base was against that because is church people for the most part. So that was a really progressive move on the PNM's part and it shows that Dr Rowley doesn't care about superstitious nonsense, he trusts the SCIENCE. He has time and time again and again shown that he puts SCIENCE over his own church going voting base.

This along gives Dr Rowley a massive amount of respect he doesn't behave like a politician. This is a major part of the reason people even voted for him in the first place....

I don't know about allyuh but when I look at this, I don't see the same swing voters voting for Coonilal and them not until them fellas leave politics. The kinda racket Rambachan and them run the swing voters voted against people like them for that very same reason to send a message.

The message has clearly not gone through the same Cabal is there firmly planted in the UNC, Panday said the very same thing just recently.

Are we living in denial here on tuner? do we seriously believe the same people who voted for PNM just to get rid of the UNC is suddenly going to vote back for UNC?

Oh the irony of brainless trinis.... pelt out Kamala for plant like substances and support Rowley for making weed legal for all to smoke. Isn't this circular logic or some schit so???

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 26th, 2020, 10:08 pm

shogun wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Nothing wrong with someones former profession once they competent in the political one. And tbh it doesn't take much to be at least an MP.

Not to mention all the perfectly capable people who could genuinely contribute, but getting scared away by the level of bacchanal and demonization and don't want their families/reputations spitefully dragged through chit for someone else's shallow political aspirations and/or for the general public's entertainment. The only people left are those already acclimatized to the glare of public life. We hadda take what we get, till we grow up. :lol:

Yeah, that's definitely something to factor in. I think my main gripe was that it all seems very deliberate and gimmicky with the choices so far as a whole, not really with the individuals themselves but the approach.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 27th, 2020, 6:15 am

IMG-20200527-WA0008.jpg

Postby gastly369 » May 27th, 2020, 7:16 am

Mc