PlayStation 5 PS5

Dohplaydat

Re: PlayStation 5

Postby Dohplaydat » June 22nd, 2020, 2:11 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:PS4 games are at that point of "Good enough"

It uses a 8 core jaguar CPU from AMD a crappy tablet CPU but it works, the GPU was REALLY good it is a HD 7870 video card with pretty much 8GB GDDR5 RAM. Prior console only had 0.5GB RAM

PS5 games look barely any better than PS4 because as we speak 95% of Developers out there still do not have the budget to make games with the graphical fedelity to take full advantage of the PS4 hardware

Cause the PS4 hardware is "good enough" this means it looks almost real so you don't need much better than that.

Same reason 40% of Steam Gamers use 4 Core CPU i5 from like 10 years ago and they never upgraded cause it's good enough.

Problem with console is the sh!tty 30 FPS but PS5 just might solve that problem I know Series X certainly will, when console gamers are exposed to 120 FPS @ 120HZ then they will know what they have been missing out these last 10 years. When allyuh see 120 FPS on that PS5 then allyuh go see how much dog sh!t 30 FPS is

Honestly your complaints are non factors, might be nice for nerds to debate but in the real world of sales only two things matter, price and exclusives.

Rumors that the PS5 will launch at $399 are heating up. They already have a huge leg up on exclusives too.

What does xbone have? Gaylo?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 22nd, 2020, 2:49 am

Sony, the studio, and another 3rd party company were actively copyright striking twitter posts/YouTube videos that mentioned anything about the leak of the game material. Just discussing it got banned.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Last of Us 2 get real bad reviews I not sure why

It was blamed on them going full SJW tho, have you noticed this? is the Woke SJW situation in TLOU2 really as bad as reviewers make it out to be?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 24th, 2020, 2:04 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Honestly your complaints are non factors, might be nice for nerds to debate but in the real world of sales only two things matter, price and exclusives.

Rumors that the PS5 will launch at $399 are heating up. They already have a huge leg up on exclusives too.

What does xbone have? Gaylo?

if you don't know what you are missing then it doesn't matter much at all.

That still doesn't mean that people should always have to settle for reading in the dark when the technology for the light bulb exists. This is the equivalent of high refresh rate, it has NOTHING at all to do with "nerd" jargon as you claim, literally nothing at all.

Higher refresh rate shows more things on screen when moving it literally is the default standard for Esports for a reason.
It wasn't by guess it is literally trying to look through glasses smeared in Vaseline vs 20/20 vision. Low refresh rate = lag and seeing less of everything putting you at a disadvantage.

Has nothing to do with "nerd" it has to do with commonsense.

This argument is console fanboy nonsense, Sony and MS wouldn't be pushing 120 FPS on new consoles if it wasn't actually important.

With that said I agree Xbox has GayLo literally the worst pile of sh!t ever made, all Xbox First Party games are 100% trash. Because such is American culture, ugly and uninteresting sh!t and women covered from head to toe.

But new Xbox is indeed the superior design both in terms of looks and hardware, it is just a shame it is a dead worthless platform because it has NO games

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 23rd, 2020, 8:01 pm

Lol at XBSX graphics looking worse than PS4. Wtf was Microsoft thinking, they had more than a month to prepare for this reveal event.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » July 23rd, 2020, 8:16 pm

LOL...

'...but muh TERAFLOPS!'

Postby stev » July 24th, 2020, 12:22 am

LMAO...would still buy both though...always loved the Halo series.

Postby aaron17 » July 24th, 2020, 3:42 am

Skip next gen and wait for the other war yes.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 7th, 2020, 12:14 pm

PS5 Teardown:
turn on english subtitles

Postby st7 » October 27th, 2020, 1:49 pm

Postby maj. tom » October 27th, 2020, 2:08 pm

$399 USD is quite cheap for all that.

Postby Rovin » October 27th, 2020, 2:19 pm

havent followed on VGs in while , that ps5 looks big to me

i jes google it ...

Sony actually released these details at the PS5 showcase last week, revealing that the PS5 measures 390mm (15.4 inches) tall, 260mm (10.24 inches) deep, and 104mm (4.09 inches) wide, but it's difficult to envision just how large that is with no point of reference.Sep 21, 2020

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » October 27th, 2020, 2:49 pm

maj. tom wrote:$399 USD is quite cheap for all that.

Seems like a its hard to go wrong . These things gunna sell like crazy!

Postby teems1 » October 27th, 2020, 3:36 pm

It follows the razor and blade model

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Razor_and_blades_model

Sell the console upfront at a loss but make money on the games.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 27th, 2020, 3:49 pm

teems1 wrote:

All consoles follow this model including the Xbox with Game Pass.

The PS5 and XBSX as of right now in off the shelf parts would cost close to $1000 USD or more. Even with economies of scale, both consoles are losing money in hardware sales.

But obviously selling games, especially Digital games (controlled pricing) means they stand to make a lot! I myself, in the last 2 years have spent over $400 US on digital games and PS Plus subscriptions.

However, MS is taking a large bet with Game Pass as developers stand to lose a lot of money, Game Pass can only maintain that low pricing once they enough subscribers so time will tell but it looks optimistic so far for MS.

It'd be interesting to see if Sony goes this route as well as it does certainly have promise.

Re: PlayStation 5 PS5

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 27th, 2020, 11:29 pm

The PS5 is YUGE
Screenshot 2020-10-27 at 11.29.17 PM.jpg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 27th, 2020, 11:35 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The PS5 is YUGE

The box is huge too, like a frigging desktop tower!

Anyone here get through with a pre-order?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2020, 12:07 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The PS5 is YUGE

The box is huge too, like a frigging desktop tower!

Anyone here get through with a pre-order?

yeah would increase shipping costs by a bit

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » November 5th, 2020, 12:42 am

By my preliminary calculations, it might cost between 16-1800 in fees to import a PS5, depending on courier.

In other words... oil up from now. Customs waiting... tool in hand.

I say cater for about 1700 extra, on top of the PS5 cost.

Already seeing a local Facebook store quoting 6300 TT.
Please don't overpay these imps.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » November 5th, 2020, 6:12 am

I’m ready for next week ..in Canada it’s $710 taxes in ,already sold my PS4 pro for $300 with games so win win for me , already line up a spot at Best Buy

Postby aaron17 » November 5th, 2020, 7:03 am

Not interested...better buy a ps2.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 5th, 2020, 9:55 am

aaron17 wrote:Not interested...better buy a ps2.

There's a market for used PS3s still?
If I'm able to get rid of mine I would seriously consider a PS5.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 8th, 2020, 10:44 am

ruffrider27 wrote:Image

I’m ready for next week ..in Canada it’s $710 taxes in ,already sold my PS4 pro for $300 with games so win win for me , already line up a spot at Best Buy

imagine if it sold out by the time you reach in.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 8th, 2020, 10:45 am

Arcmanov wrote:By my preliminary calculations, it might cost between 16-1800 in fees to import a PS5, depending on courier.

In other words... oil up from now. Customs waiting... tool in hand.

I say cater for about 1700 extra, on top of the PS5 cost.

Already seeing a local Facebook store quoting 6300 TT.
Please don't overpay these imps.

places in trinidad getting it on launch day? which group it is on fb? I know someone who willing to get it.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » November 8th, 2020, 10:47 am

Good question.

I suspect you might see a few.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 8th, 2020, 10:55 am

Arcmanov wrote:Good question.

I suspect you might see a few.

which local fb store is it?

Postby K74T » November 8th, 2020, 12:57 pm

Titan?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 8th, 2020, 1:06 pm

K74T wrote:Titan?

Titan say he getting but I not sure how right that is.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 8th, 2020, 4:49 pm

Like ollour forget people paid TT$10,000 to get the PS4 on day one?

And that was with one controller and no game.
It right there in the Console thread.

Dohplaydat wrote:
teems1 wrote:

All consoles follow this model including the Xbox with Game Pass.

The PS5 and XBSX as of right now in off the shelf parts would cost close to $1000 USD or more. Even with economies of scale, both consoles are losing money in hardware sales.

But obviously selling games, especially Digital games (controlled pricing) means they stand to make a lot! I myself, in the last 2 years have spent over $400 US on digital games and PS Plus subscriptions.

However, MS is taking a large bet with Game Pass as developers stand to lose a lot of money, Game Pass can only maintain that low pricing once they enough subscribers so time will tell but it looks optimistic so far for MS.

It'd be interesting to see if Sony goes this route as well as it does certainly have promise.

earlier comment
Blaze d Chalice wrote:I dont think the 400-500 estimate is wrong.

It might start off with 3 or 4 versions covering that range.
2 digital versions with different storage (maybe 1TB and 2 TB)

2 Bluray version with same ^ storage options. OR one Bluray version with 1TB.

maj. tom wrote:That's the price to expect. It's always on par with the flagship phones of the day.

PS3 base model was $499 for 20GB and $599 for 60GB
PS3 was a totally new architecture (Cell) with lots of R&D, and even at those prices Sony was still making a loss on each console.
It was estimated to be around $250-300 loss per console, and Sony claimed they started to break even around May 2010
(nearly 4 years later).

I not so sure about the PS5hardware cost.
Most (if not all) the hardware is just customised PC hardware (less R&D and less mass-producing costs)
Bloomberg reported earlier this year that the PS5 costs $450 per unit on Sony's end and that the console would at least have to be at least $470 to have a profitable gross margin. Analyst Daniel Ahmad backed this report up on Twitter. "Build cost is not the retail price," he said. "As the article states, a $450 build cost would probably result in a retail price close to $500.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-02-14/sony-is-struggling-with-playstation-5-price-due-to-costly-parts
The date on that is quite February so it may not apply now. I also couldn't find any other article about component prices.
Same analyst said the OneX was about $500 to manufacture.
I find PS5 looking like it might sell faster than PS4 (worldwide, not TT) so they should break even faster.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 8th, 2020, 9:47 pm

It have men who ok with paying that price

Postby aaron17 » November 9th, 2020, 12:23 pm

I learnt my lesson never to buy a new system again at launch of first year..got the ylod on it. You have to wait til they iron out the bugs. First year ppl are test mules.