Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Do you support a Shift System for all schools?

Yes
50%
No
50%

Total votes: 30

Re: Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Postby hover11 » September 29th, 2021, 1:52 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:
hover11 wrote:Word is that Fatima College has decided to discontinue parallel online classes for unvaccinated students.
According to sources:

"... this is essentially the stance taken. The online streaming and parallel approach while teachers are in active teaching sessions in the classroom does not seem feasible at this time. Father Gregory explained to the parent body that extensive discussions have occurred and unfortunately the unvaccinated children in forms 4-6 will receive their material over the google classroom but the zoom face to face sessions will not be able to occur. It was a very long meeting and some parents were upset. They simply cannot do both. Many many questions and suggestions came forward. Father Gregory was firm on his position. For the younger /junior group - online zoom live and asynchronous sessions will continue as usual."

Taken from newsauce.

Waiting for the fools who said it is possible

Simple fix, vaccinate your child and then they will be allowed to go to school. otherwise shut up and hire a good tutor... live is full of choices, choosing to not vaccinate you have to live with consequences..cant have your cake and eat it!
You can implement change for new students however you cannot implement that for CURRENT students, people like you don't know the law and waiting patiently for a legal mind to take up this matter, you cannot deny a child an education if he is currently enrolled in your institution

Postby Ben_spanna » September 29th, 2021, 1:54 pm

hover11 wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:
hover11 wrote:Word is that Fatima College has decided to discontinue parallel online classes for unvaccinated students.
According to sources:

"... this is essentially the stance taken. The online streaming and parallel approach while teachers are in active teaching sessions in the classroom does not seem feasible at this time. Father Gregory explained to the parent body that extensive discussions have occurred and unfortunately the unvaccinated children in forms 4-6 will receive their material over the google classroom but the zoom face to face sessions will not be able to occur. It was a very long meeting and some parents were upset. They simply cannot do both. Many many questions and suggestions came forward. Father Gregory was firm on his position. For the younger /junior group - online zoom live and asynchronous sessions will continue as usual."

Taken from newsauce.

Simple fix, vaccinate your child and then they will be allowed to go to school. otherwise shut up and hire a good tutor... live is full of choices, choosing to not vaccinate you have to live with consequences..cant have your cake and eat it!
You can implement change for new students however you cannot implement that for CURRENT students, people like you don't know the law and waiting patiently for a legal mind to take up this matter, you cannot deny a child an education if he is currently enrolled in your institution

The ministry cannot say there is to be a parallel system if it is NOT feasible, many experienced Principals have discussed this at length and it is just not possible. vaccinate your child or get left behind until something better can come around. thats life

Postby hover11 » September 29th, 2021, 2:06 pm

Meanwhile rumors about some Operation Blackout by TTUTA for teachers to 'rest and reflect' tomorrow and next week Tuesday.Let's see how that goes

Postby adnj » September 29th, 2021, 2:21 pm

hover11 wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:
According to sources:

Taken from newsauce.

Uh, yes you can. But unhappy students can call their union representative.

Postby hover11 » September 29th, 2021, 3:00 pm

So it seems I was right....Its about time a union with some testicular fortitude stand their ground enough of these 2013 salaries and these ridiculous conditions about teaching physical and online classes. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH
FB_IMG_1632941920674.jpg

Postby adnj » September 29th, 2021, 3:13 pm

hover11 wrote:So it seems I was right....Its about time a union with some testicular fortitude stand their ground enough of these 2013 salaries and these ridiculous conditions about teaching physical and online classes. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH
FB_IMG_1632941920674.jpg

Postby st7 » September 29th, 2021, 3:24 pm

hover11 wrote:So it seems I was right....Its about time a union with some testicular fortitude stand their ground enough of these 2013 salaries and these ridiculous conditions about teaching physical and online classes. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH FB_IMG_1632941920674.jpg

it obvious you fake that picture. on top is some text not belonging to the whatsapp text below

all this for attention from men on an online forum? wow. go on grindr nah

Postby hover11 » September 29th, 2021, 3:24 pm

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:So it seems I was right....Its about time a union with some testicular fortitude stand their ground enough of these 2013 salaries and these ridiculous conditions about teaching physical and online classes. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH FB_IMG_1632941920674.jpg

it obvious you fake that picture. on top is some text not belonging to the whatsapp text below

Uhhh ok guy, guess we will see tomorrow huh

Postby st7 » September 29th, 2021, 3:27 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:

Uhhh ok guy, guess we will see tomorrow huh

oh yea that will show the world...tmr...a black out.. not during on-prem schooling. but u still fake the picture, still trying to get attention. your mother must be glad she raise a boy like u.

Postby adnj » September 30th, 2021, 7:27 am

No online classes as teachers begin virtual black out protest against ‘disrespect’

September 29, 2021

All laptops, tablets and cell phones used to conduct online classes daily will today remain off and disconnected as thousands of pre-school, primary and secondary school teachers embark on a day of rest and reflection.

The Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association (TTUTA) has declared September 30 and October 5 as two full black-out days and advised parents and students that no online classes will be conducted on today, nor will class material be posted for students to complete.

The TTUTA president has declared that if teachers decided to rest “then there is nothing that anybody can say.”

In a social media communication disseminated to teachers and members following an emergency meeting last week, TTUTA discussed protests to be taken in response to several issues.

Chief among them was the alleged disrespect by the Ministry of Education (MOE) after officials “refused to discuss with TTUTA the way forward in reopening of schools safely.”

But not all teachers may be participating in staying offline.

The Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha (SDMS) said it was unaware of this call to protest and in a memo advised teachers at SDMS run schools to report for duty as usual.

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced the resumption of physical classes for only vaccinated students in Forms Four to Six, on October 4.

Unvaccinated students are to remain at home, with their classes continuing virtually.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/no-online-classes/

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 30th, 2021, 7:31 am

Fatima College is one of the most technology advanced Secondary Schools in the Caribbean.

The proposed system of teaching cannot work for Fatima, so how does the MOE expect the hybrid of online and face to face happen , in the absence of basic wifi for the school, segregated class rooms?

In your school days any one could have stopped you from playing with your friends? Now we have vaccinated and unvaccinated children how should the school deal with that.

The fact is that many schools lack basic infrastructure its the parents and teacher from fund raisers and their own pockets, that see to the needs of the schools. The MOE could make whatever policy its wants unless it addresses the technology gap between schools a a first step we are spinning top in mud with these pronouncements.

You know what really irks me? We knew that this day was coming we had money to give laptops then but we can't install whole school wifi?

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2021, 7:59 am

I say let them carry on

I am sure the antivaxxer teachers and parents will come together and open their own schools and excel

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » September 30th, 2021, 8:56 am

I like how facebook graduate researcher doctor hover11 stink lying muddarat run with he facebook story and everybody on the thread jump with him and start to run marathon with he bullshiet. hover11 is just here to spread misinformation and puff up he fat ccntface. he gettin paid to do this. he done take the vaccine long time despite all this bullshiet. he getting paid to do this like habit7. you all dont remember how uml was paid to infiltrate a car forum and pretned to be a man? stop replying to hover11 bullerfatcnthole nah.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/fatima-college-says-there-will-be-online-classes-for-unvaccinated-students-6.2.1392624.baf5de44b0

The principal of Fatima College, Mucurapo says there is no truth to claims being shared in the public domain that the College, is set to discontinue parallel online classes for unvaccinated students from October 4.

Labelling such rumours as untrue and mischievous, principal Father Gregory Augustine yesterday said, “That is not true and it is a lot of misinformation.”

An excerpt from a post on social media yesterday claimed the school had decided that “The online streaming and parallel approach while teachers are in active teaching sessions does not seem feasible at this time.”

It was stated that school officials would ensure educational material be made available for unvaccinated students in Forms Four to Six via the Google Classroom, while face-to-face sessions via Zoom would not be possible.

Dismissing these claims as simply rumours, Augustine said, “Anybody could put up any foolishness there.”

With students now returning to the physical classroom after being home since March 16, 2020, the principal assured, “The senior school of which only vaccinated students are going to be here will take place, while online school will continue for Forms One, Two and Three.”

He added, “We are not discontinuing anything. There will be no interruption in the education system for any of our children.”

On the issue of vaccinated students interacting with unvaccinated teachers in the physical classroom as teachers are not mandated to be vaccinated in order to operate - Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association (TTUTA) president, Antonia Tekah-De Freitas said it was against the law to change the terms and conditions of teachers’ employment.

Meanwhile, some parents are taking issue with physical classes being conducted on select days.

A parent of a student attending a secondary school in south Trinidad wrote on social media, “My husband and I took it upon ourselves to do the right thing and get vaccinated and ensure that our two daughters were also vaccinated in the hopes as the government said, that schools will re-open to return to some level of normalcy. Excited for this prospect, we received our timetable from one of my daughter’s schools, only to realise that the teaching body plans to bring the kids out only one day per week. As parents, we are shocked and appalled at this half-hearted attempt at teaching our kids.”

Postby hover11 » September 30th, 2021, 9:10 am

bamfo_dennis wrote:I like how facebook graduate researcher doctor hover11 stink lying muddarat run with he facebook story and everybody on the thread jump with him and start to run marathon with he bullshiet. hover11 is just here to spread misinformation and puff up he fat ccntface. he gettin paid to do this. he done take the vaccine long time despite all this bullshiet. he getting paid to do this like habit7. you all dont remember how uml was paid to infiltrate a car forum and pretned to be a man? stop replying to hover11 bullerfatcnthole nah.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/fatima-college-says-there-will-be-online-classes-for-unvaccinated-students-6.2.1392624.baf5de44b0

The principal of Fatima College, Mucurapo says there is no truth to claims being shared in the public domain that the College, is set to discontinue parallel online classes for unvaccinated students from October 4.

Labelling such rumours as untrue and mischievous, principal Father Gregory Augustine yesterday said, “That is not true and it is a lot of misinformation.”

An excerpt from a post on social media yesterday claimed the school had decided that “The online streaming and parallel approach while teachers are in active teaching sessions does not seem feasible at this time.”

It was stated that school officials would ensure educational material be made available for unvaccinated students in Forms Four to Six via the Google Classroom, while face-to-face sessions via Zoom would not be possible.

Dismissing these claims as simply rumours, Augustine said, “Anybody could put up any foolishness there.”

With students now returning to the physical classroom after being home since March 16, 2020, the principal assured, “The senior school of which only vaccinated students are going to be here will take place, while online school will continue for Forms One, Two and Three.”

He added, “We are not discontinuing anything. There will be no interruption in the education system for any of our children.”

On the issue of vaccinated students interacting with unvaccinated teachers in the physical classroom as teachers are not mandated to be vaccinated in order to operate - Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association (TTUTA) president, Antonia Tekah-De Freitas said it was against the law to change the terms and conditions of teachers’ employment.

Meanwhile, some parents are taking issue with physical classes being conducted on select days.

A parent of a student attending a secondary school in south Trinidad wrote on social media, “My husband and I took it upon ourselves to do the right thing and get vaccinated and ensure that our two daughters were also vaccinated in the hopes as the government said, that schools will re-open to return to some level of normalcy. Excited for this prospect, we received our timetable from one of my daughter’s schools, only to realise that the teaching body plans to bring the kids out only one day per week. As parents, we are shocked and appalled at this half-hearted attempt at teaching our kids.”
Again dotish Bimbo Dennis is opening his legs looking for attention, was I wrong about the Blackout, clearly you don't understand what PR is , that is PR at it's finest, when school reopens then we will see. At this moment we cannot speak on it as school is closed for physical students so until then PLEASE Stfu

Postby Ben_spanna » September 30th, 2021, 12:52 pm

hover- do YOU even have kids? do any of them attend Fatima? if not why is it then any of your concern? and please spare me you really care syndrome.

hover11 wrote:
bamfo_dennis wrote:I like how facebook graduate researcher doctor hover11 stink lying muddarat run with he facebook story and everybody on the thread jump with him and start to run marathon with he bullshiet. hover11 is just here to spread misinformation and puff up he fat ccntface. he gettin paid to do this. he done take the vaccine long time despite all this bullshiet. he getting paid to do this like habit7. you all dont remember how uml was paid to infiltrate a car forum and pretned to be a man? stop replying to hover11 bullerfatcnthole nah.

Again dotish Bimbo Dennis is opening his legs looking for attention, was I wrong about the Blackout, clearly you don't understand what PR is , that is PR at it's finest, when school reopens then we will see. At this moment we cannot speak on it as school is closed for physical students so until then PLEASE Stfu

Postby redmanjp » September 30th, 2021, 4:02 pm

does google classroom have interactive features? because that is what zoom is for. if there isnt any zoom is it that those students would just receive work to do and cant ask questions?

Postby adnj » September 30th, 2021, 4:11 pm

redmanjp wrote:does google classroom have interactive features? because that is what zoom is for. if there isnt any zoom is it that those students would just receive work to do and cant ask questions?
The integrated service is called Google Meet. The are many video conference/classroom services available. Many are superior to Zoom.

--------

Start a video meeting for education

This article is for teachers.

With Google Meet, you can start class video meetings in Classroom, Meet, Google Calendar, and Gmail on your computer or mobile device.

https://support.google.com/edu/classroo ... %3DDesktop

Postby redmanjp » September 30th, 2021, 4:18 pm

but are they actually using it? why did they stop using zoom- is it because they would be busy teaching the physical class? in which case salt for online students?

Postby st7 » September 30th, 2021, 4:27 pm

redmanjp wrote:but are they actually using it? why did they stop using zoom- is it because they would be busy teaching the physical class? in which case salt for online students?

yeah the teacher friends i know are using google classroom

Postby adnj » September 30th, 2021, 4:52 pm

redmanjp wrote:but are they actually using it? why did they stop using zoom- is it because they would be busy teaching the physical class? in which case salt for online students?
You may want to get up to speed on what Google Classroom is and is not. Zoom is video conferencing. Google Classroom offers video conferencing and much, much more.

https://edu.google.com/products/classroom/

Postby adnj » September 30th, 2021, 7:53 pm

Ministry reports 44% teacher turnout after online ‘blackout’

The Education Ministry said the approximate turnout at the primary and secondary school level today was around 44 per cent, following a call for teachers not to conduct online classes today.

Speaking at a media briefing today, the Ministry said that at the primary and secondary school level there was a 44 per cent teacher turnout today.

Education Minister Dr Nyan Gadbsy-Dolly said she received no official correspondence and acknowledged that the situation "isn't perfect", but assured that the Ministry has done its best to ensure teachers are provided for. 

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/ministr ... e-blackout

Postby hover11 » October 3rd, 2021, 1:08 pm

How certain ppl want underpaid teachers to be overworked, slave drivers yes
FB_IMG_1633280803836.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 3rd, 2021, 9:44 pm

PM: Covid19 vaccine may be mandatory for 5-year-olds to start school

The Prime Minister says if a covid19 vaccine is approved by the World Health Organization for children five years and older, once it is available, it will be put on the list of mandatory vaccines for children to attend public school.

Speaking at a press conference at the Diplomatic Centre in St Ann’s on Saturday, Dr Rowley said there have been good results of the use of Pfizer in children five and older. Once the WHO sanctions it, the government will accept the authorisation.

“Once there is a vaccine that is available for this infection and it’s sanctioned by the WHO, the government of TT will make efforts to get that vaccine for our children and such a vaccine would be added to the list of vaccines for children, which we have grown up with, because it is the same response.”

He added that school would physically open on Monday for vaccinated students in forms four to six.

He said when children went out to school before there were vaccines, it was something that had to be done, but now there were vaccines and the country was taking the next step.

He added that, before the Pfizer vaccine arrived in TT, many people were expressing concern about children being deprived of physical school where interaction was important to their development. Therefore, the government indicated if there was a high uptake of the vaccine in children ages 12 to 18, there would be a low risk of spreading the virus among themselves, and schools would reopen.

“We’ve made a firm decision that we will vaccinate as many of our children who have to go to school as possible. Initially, I must admit, I expected that there would have been a greater response to that, because it was such an integral part of the planning programme in fighting covid19.”

He expressed the hope that some or most of the unvaccinated children would join the vaccinated in physical school later on.

“But in the mean time an alternative will be available and we’ll try to make sure that alternative is useful.”

Rowley stressed that the covid19 delta variant is already in the population and TT will not get a pass from the affects of the more infectious variant.

“The rest of the world where the delta variant became present, was propagated, they suffered some significant increases and in some cases, some calamities. I’m not saying that we are automatically going to get there. I’m saying if we don’t do the best that we can do, then there is a high possibility that we too can become a casualty like those countries where the delta variant swept through the population with all its consequences.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/10/02/pm-cov ... rt-school/

Postby adnj » October 4th, 2021, 3:52 am

Pfizer submits preliminary data to Health Canada for kids' COVID-19 vaccine

A formal filing of the submission for authorization of a vaccine for children is expected in mid-October, according to an email from Health Canada.

Authorization of a vaccine for children between the ages of five and 11 years old would be a major step. There are currently no COVID-19 vaccines authorized for children under 12 years old in Canada.

Earlier in the week, Pfizer submitted data on its study for a vaccine for children to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, with a formal request for emergency use authorization there also expected in the coming weeks.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/pfizer ... -1.6197758

Postby matr1x » October 4th, 2021, 4:01 am

So before it's even approved, he want to make mandates?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 4th, 2021, 4:46 am

Honestly, kids don't need this vaccine. And if we do insist on vaccinating them, it should be a single and lower dose (which evidence has shown works just as well in teens as the double dose regime).

The issue here is, if all adults (over 16s) took the vaccine then we'd almost achieve herd immunity and if it does spread amongst kids, it will be harmless and they'll build up natural immunity anyway. It's a safer, more cost-effective strategy.

However, because we have so many moron adults who fall for anti-vax BS, we are in this position where in order to keep the Rnaught down, we need to vaccinate kids.

Postby matr1x » October 4th, 2021, 4:51 am

Before they administered the phizer vaccines, did they aspirate the needles?

Postby adnj » October 4th, 2021, 4:53 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Honestly, kids don't need this vaccine. And if we do insist on vaccinating them, it should be a single and lower dose (which evidence has shown works just as well in teens as the double dose regime).

The issue here is, if all adults (over 16s) took the vaccine then we'd almost achieve herd immunity and if it does spread amongst kids, it will be harmless and they'll build up natural immunity anyway. It's a safer, more cost-effective strategy.

However, because we have so many moron adults who fall for anti-vax BS, we are in this position where in order to keep the Rnaught down, we need to vaccinate kids.
Should we vaccinate children against COVID-19? We asked 5 experts

Four out of five experts said yes

https://theconversation.com/should-we-v ... rts-165316

Postby matr1x » October 4th, 2021, 5:10 am

Online learning was going fine. They just want to vaccinate without dealing with long term consequences

Penguin

Postby Penguin » October 4th, 2021, 5:14 am

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Honestly, kids don't need this vaccine. And if we do insist on vaccinating them, it should be a single and lower dose (which evidence has shown works just as well in teens as the double dose regime).

Should we vaccinate children against COVID-19? We asked 5 experts

Four out of five experts said yes

https://theconversation.com/should-we-v ... rts-165316

I agree with vacinating children. Once it's approved.

However, I do see where dpd is coming from, the focus should be on getting the adult population vacinated first rather than kids where there is little benefit other than reducing the R0.