Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Do you support a Shift System for all schools?

Yes
50%
No
50%

Total votes: 30

Re: Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 21st, 2022, 7:56 pm

Dave wrote:Thanks all.
As an update they called and said he was in no immediate threat of contracting and was given the all clear to return tomorrow.
I am sure this isn't the last of this going into the future.

Somewhat of a relief.
Did the school send the schoolwork to you at home or any online interaction while he was quarantined at home?

Postby Dave » April 21st, 2022, 8:27 pm

Yes they did. They have their own group for the kids and realised a fair amount of kids were not in attendance given this occurrence.
I am happy with the outcome this time.
Let's see what the future holds as we navigate!

Postby sMASH » April 22nd, 2022, 6:12 am

what is the OFFICIAL policy on if children not wearing mask/properly? like it always on they chin,

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 22nd, 2022, 3:41 pm

sMASH wrote:what is the OFFICIAL policy on if children not wearing mask/properly? like it always on they chin,

I have observed teachers/school staff correcting pupils on mask wearing. this is primary school where the students are much more receptive to discipline.

Dunno about the Wild West that is secondary school tbh

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 22nd, 2022, 7:43 pm

I pass by a school today at lunch time and absolutely no one was wearing a mask

Postby paid_influencer » April 22nd, 2022, 8:27 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:I pass by a school today at lunch time and absolutely no one was wearing a mask

mask usage kinda pointless in that environment. them children packed like sardines for 6hrs/day x 5 days a week, eating lunch and snacks indoors together. they going to get every variant that pass through under those conditions. The only thing the masks maybe training them not to touch their face / bite orf pencil eraser during class.

all the handwashing and mask announcements over the PA good to hear, but is straight "Safety theater." It does get me vex when the MoE official talking about "being safe" when their actions are indistinguishable from a straight herd immunity strategy.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 22nd, 2022, 8:33 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:I pass by a school today at lunch time and absolutely no one was wearing a mask

mask usage kinda pointless in that environment. them children packed like sardines for 6hrs/day x 5 days a week, eating lunch and snacks indoors together. they going to get every variant that pass through under those conditions. The only thing the masks maybe training them not to touch their face / bite orf pencil eraser during class.

all the handwashing and mask announcements over the PA good to hear, but is straight "Safety theater." It does get me vex when the MoE official talking about "being safe" when their actions are indistinguishable from a straight herd immunity strategy.

The theatre is paramount

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2022, 3:55 am

i hearing that plenty children getting a kinda flu?
u guys notice that?

Postby Dave » April 23rd, 2022, 4:59 am

I haven't but typical when kids return to school and mingling among everyone again especially with the dust levels we have been experiencing.
News and other agencies reported close to 7 schools has kids with covid cases again that's expected.

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2022, 6:17 am

so nothing out of the ordinary .

Postby Dave » April 23rd, 2022, 7:13 am

Imo not really but something to keep a look at.

Postby Chimera » April 23rd, 2022, 7:52 am

Yup plenty kids have the cold or flu

My nephew stay home from.primary school this week and had to get a doctors clearance to go back to school for Monday. $200

Postby sMASH » April 23rd, 2022, 8:11 am

^^he got ti from school or before?

Postby pete » April 23rd, 2022, 3:30 pm

We ordered a large amount of kf94 masks for our kids to use this term. Much better seal on their face than the surgical mask, decent air flow, more space around mouth and nose and supposed to have good filtration. Wish they were available locally but til they are, can just order more on Amazon.

Postby Chimera » April 23rd, 2022, 3:46 pm

sMASH wrote:^^he got ti from school or before?
Before looks like. He didn't go out to school as yet.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 23rd, 2022, 7:52 pm

I am hearing of covid cases in schools, why are these five year olds so irresponsible! They can't just keep on a mask for eight hours and shut up?? They don't know how to wash their hands!?! Steups.

Postby S_2NR » April 23rd, 2022, 7:56 pm

Why five yrs olds irresponsible?
That must be sarcasm

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 23rd, 2022, 8:16 pm

S_2NR wrote:Why five yrs olds irresponsible?
That must be sarcasm

Yes, it's a way of showing how farcical the situation is.

Postby adnj » April 23rd, 2022, 9:58 pm

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 23rd, 2022, 10:46 pm

Postby paid_influencer » April 24th, 2022, 8:08 am

^yup.

MoE/MoH decided on nature's vaccine after they failed to procure Pfizer for the 5-11 age group. Lewwe not smoke, it is what it is.

Postby Ben_spanna » April 26th, 2022, 12:39 pm

Yet another school in the POS area sent out official memo informing that there have been 2 confirmed cases with several being sent home to quarantine!

Postby paid_influencer » April 26th, 2022, 8:32 pm

you know I've been thinking about this herd immunity/nature's vaccine strategy the MoE/MoH is operating on. All the restrictions are gone, they putting students in an environment where they know covid will spread. Classes eating lunch indoors together, spreading the covid. And we know it is spreading - one week gone and clusters already springing up in multiple schools.

back to herd immunity. anybody play Farcry 5 on Playstation? There's this level where one of the sub-bosses - Jacob Seed - pulls you out of the open world and puts you in a building where you have to kill all the other prisoners to escape. "Cull the herd" he says, whenever you clear the room. "The weak have their purpose." "Good, Cull the herd" as you kill the other prisoners. The game makes you do that a few times before it ends.

Now the first time you do that, it feels bad. Because the other prisoners are your people - the ones you are trying to save in the rest of the game. But by the third time you get locked in that room, you don't feel bad. You don't even think about it. You only think about escaping. It feels good even. It feels good to "cull the herd." Jacob Seed gives you a speech about classical conditioning and it makes sense, but I feel it is greater than just that.

We all want to cull the herd. But only long as we are the ones that end up winning. And that's how I am beginning to think why this herd immunity strategy is so popular around the world. It's eugenics dressed up and given a fancy name. Nobody cares about medically vulnerable kids, certainly not enough to wait until vaccines are available for age 5-11 kids before sending them out. Cull the herd.

Postby redmanjp » April 26th, 2022, 8:43 pm

why eat indoors when we know outdoors is safer? is it that it have no where to sit outdoors?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 27th, 2022, 5:07 am

paid_influencer wrote:you know I've been thinking about this herd immunity/nature's vaccine strategy the MoE/MoH is operating on. All the restrictions are gone, they putting students in an environment where they know covid will spread. Classes eating lunch indoors together, spreading the covid. And we know it is spreading - one week gone and clusters already springing up in multiple schools.

back to herd immunity. anybody play Farcry 5 on Playstation? There's this level where one of the sub-bosses - Jacob Seed - pulls you out of the open world and puts you in a building where you have to kill all the other prisoners to escape. "Cull the herd" he says, whenever you clear the room. "The weak have their purpose." "Good, Cull the herd" as you kill the other prisoners. The game makes you do that a few times before it ends.

Now the first time you do that, it feels bad. Because the other prisoners are your people - the ones you are trying to save in the rest of the game. But by the third time you get locked in that room, you don't feel bad. You don't even think about it. You only think about escaping. It feels good even. It feels good to "cull the herd." Jacob Seed gives you a speech about classical conditioning and it makes sense, but I feel it is greater than just that.

We all want to cull the herd. But only long as we are the ones that end up winning. And that's how I am beginning to think why this herd immunity strategy is so popular around the world. It's eugenics dressed up and given a fancy name. Nobody cares about medically vulnerable kids, certainly not enough to wait until vaccines are available for age 5-11 kids before sending them out. Cull the herd.

One third of the way through 2022 and not one country on Earth has achieved this mythical thing called, "Herd Immunity".

Postby adnj » April 27th, 2022, 7:37 am

DTAC wrote:One third of the way through 2022 and not one country on Earth has achieved this mythical thing called, "Herd Immunity".

Herd immunity depends on the transmissibility (R0) of the virus. The formula for calculating the herd-immunity threshold is 1–1/R0 — meaning that the more people who become infected by each individual who has the virus, the higher the proportion of the population that needs to be immune to reach herd immunity.

R0 for different variants:
Alpha - 2.8
Delta - 5.8
Omicron BA.1 - 8.2
Omicron BA.1 - 12

Herd immunity threshold for different variants:
Alpha - 64%
Delta - 83%
Omicron BA.1 - 88%
Omicron BA.1 - 93%

Only one country comes close, Cuba.

Cuba has a vaccination rate of 88% and a booster rate of 57%. Cuba had one of the highest COVID death rates in the world but now has about one death per day for a population of more than 11 million.

Herd immunity is no myth. I've ignored many other measures and issues but ow vaccination uptake, no vaccinations for children, and evolving transmissibility have made herd immunity much less likely.

https://academic.oup.com/cid/article-pd ... aFtAoMUf03

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2022, 7:55 am

part of the problem with getting the so called herd immunity is the expiration of both natural and vax antibodies
which just makes a moving target even harder to achieve

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » April 27th, 2022, 7:59 am

So the real solution is to stop caring so much and go along with our lives this whole time?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2022, 8:00 am

Postby adnj » April 27th, 2022, 8:01 am

Herd immunity doesn't mean that there will never be outbreaks.