Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Do you support a Shift System for all schools?

Yes
50%
No
50%

Total votes: 30

Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2022, 8:08 am

One week after all schools physically reopened their doors to pupils, some worried parents are calling on the Ministry of Education to revert to online classes given the rise in Covid-19 cases among pupils.

However, education stakeholders say they want the physical classes to continue.

Pupils of at least six primary schools have tested positive for the virus since schools reopened on April 19, while several other schools have had to send home children with flu-like symptoms .

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 8ad15.html

Re: Issues with reopening Schools in T&T , Vaccines for Children etc

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2022, 8:10 am

it certainly seems there may never be a comfortably herd immunity with the high transmission and short antibody life
and now it would appear taking jabs are not a priority anymore so that just adds to it

it may end being a constant case of circulating
hopefully less dangerous variants more akin to a cold than serious flu

Postby S_2NR » April 27th, 2022, 8:16 am

Revert to online classes?

LOL

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2022, 9:18 am

Keep visibly/obviously sick children home, all OK.

Yes, there are more infections, but is it causing a problem?
Treat those who NEED treatment.

Or so we need a zero covid policy like China?

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 27th, 2022, 11:33 am

Lol @ herd immunity.

Just fyi this thing isn't going away until all the mask wearing and prevention measures are all dropped.
Unless you plan to wear a mask for the rest of your life the only thing you're doing is delaying the inevitable and that is exactly why 2+ years later we're still talking about this.

If we had never worn masks, lockdown e.t.c and let this thing run through the country we would have been over this in a couple of months and back to normal over 2 years ago. Yes there would have been lots of pain but not prolonged and drawn out for 2+ years. If anyone knows the number of people saved by these measures please let us know.

Wearing masks is the problem not the solution and as long as we keep babying and incubating Covid with these measures it will be here to stay in some form or another.

Herd immunity has to be the dumbest sheit I have ever heard.
You take a virus and lockdown a population and incubate that virus and expect it to go away because the majority of the population
is vaccinated?

It will just mutate to survive obviously and in ways in which your vaccines become ineffective against it.
Life finds a way.

School reopening is exactly a step in the right direction.

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2022, 11:43 am

Skanky wrote:Lol @ herd immunity.

If we had never worn masks, lockdown e.t.c and let this thing run through the country we would have been over this in a couple of months and back to normal over 2 years ago. Yes there would have been lots of pain but not prolonged and drawn out for 2+ years. If anyone knows the number of people saved by these measures please let us know.

we would have had thousands and thousands more deaths though

the government made a lot of bad decisions throughout the whole pandemic

could never understand that madness with taking so long to give people back their PCR results and losing people results while they happily (government workers) stayed home with full pay

they opened back up when they shouldnt with regards to easter 2021 and allowed elections etc

they real waste money too

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 27th, 2022, 12:03 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

Really? How do you know this?
I actually think we would have had less deaths but just like you i don't know....we're both guessing.

Postby redmanjp » April 27th, 2022, 12:11 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

the government made a lot of bad decisions throughout the whole pandemic

could never understand that madness with taking so long to give people back their PCR results and losing people results while they happily (government workers) stayed home with full pay

they opened back up when they shouldnt with regards to easter 2021 and allowed elections etc

they real waste money too

exactly why we can just 'let it rip through the country'. u would have massive deaths tools perhaps twice or more, but this time it would not just be covid deaths, but since the health system would have collapsed, plenty ppl who had non covid emergencies would have also died, either by not getting care, or if a bed was available they end up getting covid in hospital and dying from that. Some sacrifices had to be made to our way of life to save life itself. you or me may not be at high risk but think that several family members, relatives which could have died.

i sure if the govt had let it rip how much of you all would be complaining how d Govt mad to let several of your family members die of covid, especially before vaccines were available. now the lockdown in 2020 was likely too long, given the fact that it wasn't nearly as contagious as now. but 2021 was far worse as from the time a variant started spreading in the community cases started to skyrocket.

testing was a failure with ppl waitng weeks for results (some still haven't gotten it back after a year including a coworker of mine)- they should have hired more staff for that.

they could have started sourcing vaccines earlier in 2020- but if we have half the country hesitant to take a WHO approved vaccine - u cud imagine if we got vaccines which were not even approved yet?

another failure is with treatments, including ones u cud take at home- how long d US have monoclonals? since 2020. they now have paxlovid so even antivax could have a much better chance of survival, which allows u to really 'live with the virus'. up to today we have basically paracetamol.

Postby redmanjp » April 27th, 2022, 12:12 pm

Skanky wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

I actually think we would have had less deaths but just like you i don't know....we're both guessing.

exactly how does NOT taking any precautions result in LESS deaths? :roll:

that's like saying lewwe do away with speeding fines and DUI laws and road accidents will reduce :roll:

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 27th, 2022, 12:31 pm

^Time.
Not taking precautions isn't saying every person in the country is going to get it...It's saying we as humans aren't going to interfere and fcuk with the natural course of things.

If we hadn't interfered and it lasted say 2 months and then died off would all the people who contracted it and died after that 2 month period have contracted it and died?
All we did was incubate this thing and allow it to grow spread flourish and now mutate for 2 going on 3 years.

Less people would have died in 2 months than 2+ years.

Postby redmanjp » April 27th, 2022, 12:39 pm

lol where u get that 2 months from? the virus would have continued to spread and mutate for YEARS, killing ppl every month, every week. thousands. all past pandemics lasted years including the Spanish Flu. a virus this contagious will not just die off, especially in 2 months- u may be thinking of less contagious ones like SARS, and even that lasted several months and required quarantines to stop the spread.
Last edited by redmanjp on April 27th, 2022, 8:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby teems1 » April 27th, 2022, 12:43 pm

Skanky wrote:^Time.
Not taking precautions isn't saying every person in the country is going to get it...It's saying we as humans aren't going to interfere and fcuk with the natural course of things.

If we hadn't interfered and it lasted say 2 months and then died off would all the people who contracted it and died after that 2 month period have contracted it and died?
All we did was incubate this thing and allow it to grow spread flourish and now mutate for 2 going on 3 years.

Where is your proof to back it up? Are you educated about how viruses and pandemics work?

Postby adnj » April 27th, 2022, 12:56 pm

Skanky wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

No. You're wrong.

All things being equal, every nonpharmaceutical intervention (NPI) will extend the period of infection prevalence and reduce the total number of deaths.

This does not take into effect the lives saved by increasing the time available to roll out new treatments or new vaccines, or to reduce healthcare system burden. It does not account for the economic losses or psychological burdens caused by the NPI, either.

Just sheltering in place for the ancestral COVID strain showed significant life-saving effects.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7276010/

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » April 27th, 2022, 3:05 pm

CXC just announced that they are delaying exams for 3 weeks. Exams now due to start on May 23rd

Postby hover11 » April 27th, 2022, 4:48 pm

A child with COVID-19 was sent to school in Tobago. Now the entire class, including the teacher, has to quarantine.

Postby Chimera » April 27th, 2022, 5:18 pm

Skanky wrote:^Time.

Skanks yuh izza madman yes.

School now opening back after 2 years and covid sweeping through. Many people are vaccinated and the health system isn't overburdened so we can treat with that.

You feel we could have handled that 2 years ago?

Postby De Dragon » April 27th, 2022, 5:22 pm

hover11 wrote:A child with COVID-19 was sent to school in Tobago. Now the entire class, including the teacher, has to quarantine.

But, but the 98% recovery rate, and the resiliency of children eh go make these things "small ting?" :roll:

Postby adnj » April 27th, 2022, 6:55 pm

hover11 wrote:A child with COVID-19 was sent to school in Tobago. Now the entire class, including the teacher, has to quarantine.

But, but the 98% recovery rate, and the resiliency of children eh go make these things "small ting?" :roll:

TTUTA insisted on face-to-face classes. At least the kids won't die from vaccinations in another 15 years.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 27th, 2022, 10:13 pm

All covid measures should have only applied to people at risk (old and/or unhealthy). If this approach was taken, we would have only 10% of deaths we have today.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 27th, 2022, 10:16 pm

Ripe Chenette wrote:So the real solution is to stop caring so much and go along with our lives this whole time?

The problem is that these measures were never a solution. It was a globalist agenda. Look at how many children getting covid normal normal. A few months a ago, a child (who is at zero risk) getting covid was the worst thing ever.

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2022, 10:25 pm

Contracting covid and suffering from it different.

In UK and America, plenty covid infections, but few hospitalizations.

Most infections are incidental, meaning, they went on for sumting, and happen to test positive for covid too. If they did go hospital, they would not know they had covid

An infection is not a case, and we overreacting at the infections,

Look at the death rate, that would tell u how srs the covid is... It's mild.

Just like the flu, plenty people get infected by flu, but not many people get hospitalized for it.. So it's not srs.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2022, 10:31 pm

^ we have no data on the long term effects of contracting covid, even if it is a mild case.

"Shingles is caused by the reactivation of the varicella-zoster virus, which is the virus that causes chickenpox. After you have had chickenpox, the varicella-zoster virus lies dormant (inactive) inside your body. It can become reactivated at a later stage in life and cause shingles. Shingles is a viral infection that causes a painful rash. Although shingles can occur anywhere on your body, it most often appears as a single stripe of blisters that wraps around either the left or the right side of your torso."

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2022, 10:36 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ we have no data on the long term effects of contracting covid, even if it is a mild case.

"Shingles is caused by the reactivation of the varicella-zoster virus, which is the virus that causes chickenpox. After you have had chickenpox, the varicella-zoster virus lies dormant (inactive) inside your body. It can become reactivated at a later stage in life and cause shingles. Shingles is a viral infection that causes a painful rash. Although shingles can occur anywhere on your body, it most often appears as a single stripe of blisters that wraps around either the left or the right side of your torso."

neither the vax. but hey...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2022, 11:15 pm

sMASH wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ we have no data on the long term effects of contracting covid, even if it is a mild case.

neither the vax. but hey...

"The technology used to develop the new mRNA COVID-19 vaccines isn’t new. It’s been studied and used for cancer research, and the original research on messenger RNA (mRNA) vaccines is decades old. The other vaccine platform uses a weakened adenovirus, which has been studied extensively for other vaccines."
https://www.aafp.org/dam/AAFP/documents ... -Myths.pdf

Postby sMASH » April 27th, 2022, 11:31 pm

we goh hear bout allyuh. aint use it as a mass vaccine. used to research.

Postby redmanjp » April 27th, 2022, 11:51 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:All covid measures should have only applied to people at risk (old and/or unhealthy). If this approach was taken, we would have only 10% of deaths we have today.

it have old ppl living with young ppl too yuh know. or young ppl visting dey tanty and hugging ang kissing. and even if u only ockdwon old ppl at some point they still have to go out to buy dey grocery and other essentials.

Postby Chimera » April 28th, 2022, 12:11 am

sMASH wrote:we goh hear bout allyuh. aint use it as a mass vaccine. used to research.
Smash I hope you didn't convince ppl not to take vaccine and then they end up dying because they trust you more than science

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2022, 12:31 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
sMASH wrote:we goh hear bout allyuh. aint use it as a mass vaccine. used to research.
Smash I hope you didn't convince ppl not to take vaccine and then they end up dying because they trust you more than science
Half people I interact with vaxed and unvaxed, and most of the vaxed got covid to varying intensities. Non of the unvaxed got covid,
Most of the vaxed, had bad reactions and did not go fur boosters.

My experience,

I doh beg nobody, I tell u what is what, and walk away. up to u to do what ever.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » April 28th, 2022, 5:49 am

child get covid and spend 2 weeks home will fall behind as they miss 2 weeks of class.
social distancing at school does noting for their social development.

that whole pnm decision is dotish just like all the rest of decision they made.

Postby Ben_spanna » April 28th, 2022, 7:10 am

Kids have been home for more than 2 years, we really do need to move past the fear, kids more than anything seem to be least effected by this virus. Still dont understand the awful delay and procrastination in the government getting the vaccines here for their young age groups.